We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Birdsong Backpackers

Hostel | 124 Kumara Junction Highway, Hokitika, New Zealand 7882

90.7% Overall Rating

75 out of 78 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/05/2012)

"Very cute hostel! Well-stocked kitchen with dishware and other amenities, large communal area with tables for eating, couches for hanging out, etc. Queen bed was very comfortable"

Read all Birdsong Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hokitika?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.7%

Overall Rating

75 out of 78 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Birdsong Backpackers'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
99.2%
Value
90.4%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 73 of 76 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

IVAN NOVICHOK

01 March 2010 IVAN would recommend this property

Liked: nice motel with very pretty location. we were lucky with weather so even could to swim in the Tasman sea which is very close to this motel.we also liked personal approach to the rooms design. Kerry, your paintings are beautiful!

Disliked: IVAN left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Definitely liked the location. We did not stay long, checked in early evening and out next day. We did not interact with others or enter main building where dorms and kitchen, communal areas, etc., so can't comment on that. We stayed in 1 bedroom ensuite room - lots of room, bathroom good sized, etc. All very clean. Would recommend!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

25 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Style and character.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

21 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a doubleroom with our own balcony and great sea view! Very homly and cosy hostel. Just a pitty that the street runs infront of the window.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are very cozy without being cramped.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

02 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely, homely atmosphere, small and friendly, great location with beach view.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Conrad Shiba

26 January 2010 Conrad would recommend this property

Liked: Owners were great, really friendly and helpful! Very nice room, attractively decorated, spacious, clean, and comfortable. Homey atmosphere. Fantastic view of the sea. One of the nicest backpackers I've ever stayed in.

Disliked: Conrad left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joanna Lawrence

23 January 2010 Joanna would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely smallish hostel. Very clean, friendly and well run. We had a double room with a sea view - close to Hokitika but not in the town, which makes it lovely and peaceful. I'd definitely stay here again if I'm ever out this way again.

Disliked: Joanna left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

22 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location close to the beach. Very helpful and friendly staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Christopher Chittum

12 January 2010 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Unique layout set within gardens.

Disliked: Christopher left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good fun

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas Coleborn

01 January 2010 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff. Good accommodation

Disliked: Nicholas left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Hiller

29 December 2009 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best (if not the best) hostels we have stayed in - great service, facilities and atmosphere. I would recommend Birdsong to anyone.

Disliked: Alex left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marie Lavelle

25 December 2009 Marie would recommend this property

Liked: We loved Syd the dog. We were made to feel extremely welcome straight away. Is the best place we've stayed so far on our travels - and we've stayed in some great places.

Disliked: Marie left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

23 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice friendly and colorful hostel. a place to chill out not far away from the center of everything!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bed was fantastically comfortable, the kitchen was well-equipped and spotlessly clean and the welcome was warm and friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Monika Hubler

15 November 2009 Monika would recommend this property

Liked: nice, cosy, a little bit too loud, but we enjoyed it too.

Disliked: Monika left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Incredible location. The cleanest hostel I have ever visited.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

02 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was so cozy and cute! The beds were really comfortable and they were so friendly. The beach is really close and so is the glow worms. Definitely recommended!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Bishop

01 November 2009 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Fabulous property. helpful owners. Lovely and clean.

Disliked: Elizabeth left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Morgan

27 July 2009 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely amazing hostel!!!! Would highly recommend this to anyone looking to stay in Hokitika and if you're not planning on going there then this hostel should change you mind!!!! Just sad we couldn't stay there longer. The artwork painted by the owner is brilliant and the staff are fantastic!!!! Absolutley amazing, already planning our return stay!!!!!!!!!!

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.