We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Birdsong Backpackers

Hostel | 124 Kumara Junction Highway, Hokitika, New Zealand 7882

90.7% Overall Rating

75 out of 78 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/05/2012)

"Very cute hostel! Well-stocked kitchen with dishware and other amenities, large communal area with tables for eating, couches for hanging out, etc. Queen bed was very comfortable"

Read all Birdsong Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hokitika?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.7%

Overall Rating

75 out of 78 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Birdsong Backpackers'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
99.2%
Value
90.4%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 73 of 76 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Visiting friends or family

07 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, helpful owner, beautiful location. Lovey artwork. The best place we have stayed in in NZ.

Disliked: Nothing at all

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quirky and fun decorations/paintings of the rooms. Use of recycled materials everywhere. Lovely, friendly relief manager. Excellent kitchen and lounge area which looks out to the ocean and sunsets.

Disliked: Can't think of anything really!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kris Jungbluth

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 January 2011 Kris would recommend this property

Liked: The owners were very nice and pleasant to talk to

Disliked: The location is right on the highway... traffic is a little loud at night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The uniqueness of the rooms. Central kitchen and lounge was great for meeting people. Very well equipped kitchen. Extremely helpful and friendly hosts. Comfortable bed. Lovely garden.

Disliked: Slatted window in the bathroom would be better with a screen as there are mosquitoes around. An easy fix.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Robyn McLennan

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 January 2011 Robyn would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the paintings around the property. Good kitchen

Disliked: The freezers were hopeless - the icecream melted. I mean, why else do you come to NZ - it's the icecream!! I would suggest removing one fridge, and having a decicated freezer. Also, the room we had was really noisy at night, with the trucks and trains going by close to the window!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price is very cheap. The room is fine. The kitchen is good. The dinning room is good ,too.

Disliked: No

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wendy Oswald

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2011 Wendy would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, really nice welcome and tour of the place. Loved our room!!

Disliked: n/a

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

24 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere, well made beds, clean and nice.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great place, feel at home there! thanks

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness of the hostel.

Disliked: Signboard of Birgsong Backpackers is confusing and almost impossible to see when there nightfalls. As the hostel is on the highway, we missed the hostel after we drove past it at 100km/h. The owners should consider putting some light on their signboard as we could have missed the hostel again in dark if not for the kitchen lights.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

29 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice rooms, good view, friendly people

Disliked: main street in front of the room

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities were very clean and well kept, the beds and rooms were comfortable, with the added quirk of the bird themes in each room. The staff were very friendly and helpful, overall a very pleasant place to stay, and one I'd happily revisit.

Disliked: Nothing stands out.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rodney smith

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2010 rodney would recommend this property

Liked: neil is the funnest man in the place, defo should stay here, it is lovly.

Disliked: rodney left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

28 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property is beautiful and has a great view. All of the rooms are very comfortable. The stay was extremely friendly and helpful. Even when we had a package arrive after we checked out.

Disliked: Nothing.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2010

Liked: Location

Disliked: Somewhat dirty and worn.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well located and very cosy.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

21 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly people, good facilities

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tina Nirmal

07 June 2010 Tina would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing place. I loved everything about it. I wish I had stayed there longer. It's the best hostel I've stayed in so far

Disliked: Tina left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Rodda

30 May 2010 David would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome view. Great character.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hesham Elnagar

23 May 2010 Hesham would recommend this property

Liked: The owner, Niel was wonderful, helpful, kind, and a great reflection of his facility!

Disliked: Hesham left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the warmth and friendliness of the staff, the cosy, comfortable atmosphere and being just across the road from that magnificent beach.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ralf Wingen

17 April 2010 Ralf would recommend this property

Liked: Came to pick me up in town, saved me 2km walk; friendly staff, bikes there if needed to get to town quickly, really clean and coosy and nicely decorated with paintings and lots of collors. Stayed there one night, but liked it a lot, although maybe a bit overpriced.

Disliked: Ralf left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kathleen Reinecke

01 April 2010 Kathleen would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and homely

Disliked: Kathleen left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

leeann pereira

22 March 2010 leeann would recommend this property

Liked: I loved it here, the rooms were clean and the kitchen and lounge area relaxing, clean and well appointed. I will definitely stay here again !!

Disliked: leeann left no negative feedback.