HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Anchor Lodge Backpackers Coromandel Hostel

448 Wharf Road, Coromandel, New Zealand

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 91%

Location 91%

Safety 91%

Staff 92%

Value 88%

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Luggage Storage
  • Parking
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Linen 1.47USD
  • Towel 0.73USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Coromandel?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 91%

Location 91%

Safety 91%

Staff 92%

Value 88%

Showing 1-10 of 13 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Feb 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: The friendliness of staff and the cleanliness.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Social, really nice staff, nice buildings, liked our double room.

Disliked: Wifi wasn't free, it was $5 per day up until 10 am. If you arrive at night the wifi expires at 10 am the next day, not 24 hours later. Also, Internet was slow and would drop in and out in the evening when a lot of people were using it. You could use the wifi on multiple devices at the same time though, which was good. Would also have been better if the showers had a private section you could put your stuff in and change in.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: We really enjoyed our stay!!! Thank you to the staff who helped us with the spa ;-) a very relaxing stay!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Close to town, nice location and entry direct to double room from outside.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Friendly staff, value for money, laundry facilities, spa, close to town

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Locality, good bed, friendly staff.

Disliked: Some guests left the female toilets in a bit of a state at times.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: The location of hostel was prime and it was really clean and tidy!

Disliked: Bathrooms could do with a bench I put cloths on whilst showering.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Good facilities, nice pool, spa, BBQ and free bikes. It was nice and quiet and nicely decorated and the kitchen is well equipped.

Disliked: They charge extra for a duvet which I think, when you're paying for a bed should be included too. Internet access is too expensive $2 for 15mins on the computer and $7 for WiFi until 10am the next morning. Also there are no lockers.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff were really good and helpful and was only a couple of minutes into the centre of town. We stayed in a private with shared bathroom which was nice and felt very cosy.

Disliked: The communal kitchen was pretty grubby (but I know this is the fault of inconsiderate guests in the most part!).The bedroom walls are paper thin so you can everything next door (including them snoring!)

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was one the best quality backpackers I have ever stayed in. The motel side of the lodge was lovely with lights, trees and plants everywhere. Free use of BBQ, a small pool and jacuzzi.

Disliked: Nothing, there is nothing negative I can say about this hostel. It was excellent.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability