We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Christchurch, New Zealand

93.3%
3 reviews Book Now 
1

YHA Christchurch - Rolleston House

Hostel
5 Worcester Boulevard, Christchurch, New Zealand 8013

3 out of 3 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend YHA Christchurch - Rolleston House

Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 93% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 86% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 93%
Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 29 August 2014

The hostel was very warm which I didn't expect in a historic house. Everything was kept clean, there was a very large kitchen, showers had good pressure and they offered cheap food packs at reception

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 16 July 2013

Nice staff, very close to bus pick up locations around NZ, good kitchen facilities, very quiet

90.9%
5 reviews Book Now 
2

Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport

4 star Hotel
Cnr Memorial Ave & Orchard Rod, PO BOX 14 043, Christchurch, New Zealand 8053

5 out of 5 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport

Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 96% Facilities - 80% Safety - 96%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 84%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation/spa
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 27 December 2013

I liked the fact that the Hotel was not to far from anything Around the city. We were able to choose to stay and eat at the hotel or go to the airport and eat there. Plus the conciers at the hotel were very friendly and informative.

bernadette johnson
Alone
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
bernadette would recommend this property 19 June 2012

good location and great facilities. close to public transport to city and shopping malls

89.6%
57 reviews Book Now 
3

Dorset House Backpackers

Hostel
1 Dorset Street, Central City, Christchurch, Christchurch, New Zealand 8144

56 out of 57 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Dorset House Backpackers

Atmosphere - 91% Staff - 96% Facilities - 89% Safety - 88%
Location - 85% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 84%
Jarrett Bacani
Alone
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
82.9%
Jarrett would recommend this property 16 August 2014

Really like the character of the house making it feel like I was staying in someone's home.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 03 August 2014

Lovely building with character; no bunks!; really lovely staff who put the heaters on in your room in the evenings; nice and friendly guests.

87.4%
42 reviews Book Now 
4

Haka Lodge

Hostel
518 Linwood Ave, Linwood, Christchurch, New Zealand 8062

40 out of 42 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Haka Lodge

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 86% Facilities - 90% Safety - 93%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 99% Value - 88%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 05 February 2014

Cosy and warm, very modern hostel (more like a home than many others I've stayed in). Loved the free vegetables from the garden, as well as the two housecats!

Stefanie Goris
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Stefanie would recommend this property 27 November 2013

Super mooie plek om te slapen, alles helemaal netjes, genoeg ruimte, grote kast om je spullen op te bergen, nette douches...

85.0%
318 reviews Book Now 
5

Jailhouse Accommodation

Hostel
338 Lincoln Road, Christchurch, New Zealand 8024

303 out of 318 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Jailhouse Accommodation

Atmosphere - 86% Staff - 88% Facilities - 82% Safety - 92%
Location - 71% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 78%
Amy Colvin
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Amy would recommend this property 05 August 2014

It's got great character and the manager could not have been more helpful. She upgraded our room for us free of charge and also helped book our kiwi experience.

Scott Williams
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Scott would recommend this property 31 July 2014

Attention to detail. Willing to go the extra mile for their customers (inmates). Clearly run by people who have travelled and understand the needs of a backpacker!

81.3%
95 reviews Book Now 
6

Canterbury House

Hostel
257 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch, New Zealand 8013

90 out of 95 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Canterbury House

Atmosphere - 72% Staff - 84% Facilities - 76% Safety - 84%
Location - 78% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 83%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
71.4%
Customer would recommend this property 29 May 2014

The warmness of the owner, the house's quiet atmosphere but easy to locate, and Melody the cat :)

Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 14 May 2014

It was lovely. Nice and quiet. Perfect after a day of traveling. It was clean and the owners were really helpful and kind.

79.5%
243 reviews Book Now 
7

The Old Countryhouse

Hostel
437 Gloucester Street, Christchurch, New Zealand 8011

224 out of 243 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Old Countryhouse

Atmosphere - 82% Staff - 76% Facilities - 85% Safety - 83%
Location - 64% Cleanliness - 89% Value - 75%
Miku Kawakami
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
71.4%
Miku would recommend this property 15 April 2014

Lots of people left the comment "The staffs were unkind", but I didn't feel it, even I felt they are very kind and helpfull!! and every cotage has a big kitchen and big bathrooms, you never look for a place to cook and take a shower. and those are very clean.

john butcher
Alone
Work / volunteering
82.9%
john would recommend this property 31 March 2014

Great facilities, fantastic pet dog!! Staff were fine. very good crowd of travellers. Very clean. Hostel has a secure electronic door opening system.

79.0%
81 reviews Book Now 
8

YMCA Christchurch

Hostel
12 Hereford Street, Christchurch, New Zealand -

69 out of 81 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend YMCA Christchurch

Atmosphere - 65% Staff - 74% Facilities - 73% Safety - 87%
Location - 89% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 82%
ian ottaway
With friends / other travellers
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture
82.9%
ian would recommend this property 26 April 2014

location was convenient to the centre of town and the 24 hour check in was what we needed as we flew in on a late night flight

Customer review
Alone
Business / conference
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 25 September 2013

Great location considering the rebuild of the centre. Easy location for bus to the airport. Good facilities and the room was clean and comfortable. Good staff as well.

76.0%
5 reviews Book Now 
9

Bealey Avenue Motel

Hostel
229 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch, New Zealand .

5 out of 5 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Bealey Avenue Motel

Atmosphere - 72% Staff - 68% Facilities - 76% Safety - 80%
Location - 76% Cleanliness - 84% Value - 76%
katinka verhagen
With my spouse / partner
Family Holiday
100.0%
katinka would recommend this property 30 April 2013

ultra good !! really large room. large bed. (could fit 3 people if needed) best bathroom of this vacation. small kitchen. (2 electrical pits) very good pottery. little fridge. 2 lounge chairs. a dining table with 3 chairs. private parking about right in front of your room. i wanted to take this room with me during the rest of the vacation, but it would not fit in the trunk of the rental car. LOL

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family
65.7%
Customer would recommend this property 19 January 2012

Clean, tidy and well-equipped room. Shared balcony, plus table and chairs, for breakfast.

71.1%
147 reviews Book Now 
10

KIWI basecamp

Hostel
69 Bealey Avenue, City Centre, Christchurch, New Zealand 8013

124 out of 147 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend KIWI basecamp

Atmosphere - 70% Staff - 78% Facilities - 68% Safety - 76%
Location - 75% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 69%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
74.3%
12 May 2014

Chris the owner was fantastic and very helpful. The wifi was good quality. The lounge was warm and cosy. The free bread was great.

James Bell
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
74.3%
James would recommend this property 22 December 2013

Fresh homemade bread for breakfast, helpful staff, comfy bed. Handy to route 29 for airport - seriously, don't use a shuttle, just ask for Orchard Road (next to airport) or the fare more than doubles - airport rip-off which can be avoided, but which no one will tell you about.

Christchurch

17 Hostels from 11.67 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Christchurch hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Christchurch. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.