We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/04/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/04/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Christchurch, New Zealand

90.9%
5 reviews Book Now 
1

Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport

4 star Hotel
Cnr Memorial Ave & Orchard Rod, PO BOX 14 043, Christchurch, New Zealand 8053

5 out of 5 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport

Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 96% Facilities - 80% Safety - 96%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 84%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation/spa
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 27 December 2013

I liked the fact that the Hotel was not to far from anything Around the city. We were able to choose to stay and eat at the hotel or go to the airport and eat there. Plus the conciers at the hotel were very friendly and informative.

bernadette johnson
Alone
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
bernadette would recommend this property 19 June 2012

good location and great facilities. close to public transport to city and shopping malls

90.6%
60 reviews Book Now 
2

Dorset House Backpackers

Hostel
1 Dorset Street, Central City, Christchurch, Christchurch, New Zealand 8144

59 out of 60 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Dorset House Backpackers

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 96% Facilities - 92% Safety - 89%
Location - 84% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 87%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 24 April 2015

Clean and fresh hostel which has a very nice character. It does not feel like a typical hostel, more like a bed and breakfast. Lovely rooms, and no bunk beds which was a nice change! Nice place all in all, I would have liked to stay longer.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 18 April 2015

Great place, nice rooms. Good facilities. Arrived really late and check-in was made easy.

89.8%
9 reviews Book Now 
3

YHA Christchurch - Rolleston House

Hostel
5 Worcester Boulevard, Christchurch, New Zealand 8013

9 out of 9 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend YHA Christchurch - Rolleston House

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 93% Facilities - 91% Safety - 95%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 82%
Kaja Emilie Walsh
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
80.0%
Kaja Emilie would recommend this property 03 April 2015

Great location, right where all the buses stop. The Re:Start Container city is only a few minutes away. Big kitchen and dining/living room. Good sized rooms.

Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 29 August 2014

The hostel was very warm which I didn't expect in a historic house. Everything was kept clean, there was a very large kitchen, showers had good pressure and they offered cheap food packs at reception

87.6%
6 reviews Book Now 
4

YHA Christchurch

Hostel
36 Hereford Street, Christchurch, New Zealand 8013

5 out of 6 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend YHA Christchurch

Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 90% Facilities - 83% Safety - 96%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 83% Value - 80%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 10 April 2015

Nice clean hostel, great kitchens with good pots and pans for cooking, enough space for everyone's food in the fridge. Nice, helpfull staff. Renovated wonderfully and very cosy common areas. Enough locked cupboRds for food etc.free sunscreen, maps.

Dominique Gagnon
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
85.7%
Dominique would recommend this property 20 March 2015

I just stayed there for one nigth. I arrived really late and I had to book a shuttle for the airport. The staff was really helpul. They booked for me and it was cheaper then the other companies I knew. It was clean and the ambiance was nice!

87.5%
46 reviews Book Now 
5

Haka Lodge

Hostel
518 Linwood Ave, Linwood, Christchurch, New Zealand 8062

43 out of 46 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Haka Lodge

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 91% Facilities - 88% Safety - 93%
Location - 62% Cleanliness - 98% Value - 88%
Lee Ornsby
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals
100.0%
Lee would recommend this property 02 January 2015

Great common areas. Really friendly staff. Super clean. Amazing location in an amazing place!

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 05 February 2014

Cosy and warm, very modern hostel (more like a home than many others I've stayed in). Loved the free vegetables from the garden, as well as the two housecats!

85.7%
324 reviews Book Now 
6

Jailhouse Accommodation

Hostel
338 Lincoln Road, Christchurch, New Zealand 8024

309 out of 324 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Jailhouse Accommodation

Atmosphere - 87% Staff - 89% Facilities - 83% Safety - 92%
Location - 73% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 79%
Lukas Kessler
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Lukas would recommend this property 16 April 2015

Das Jailhouse ist mit das beste Hostel in dem ich bisher gewesen bin. Man kann sich vorstellen wie es hier früher mal aussah. Daraus haben sie aber ein super Hostel gemacht. Die Zimmer/zellengröße hat sich nicht geändert, aber das gibt einem den Flair eines Gefängnisses. Damit es aber ein schönes Erlebnis bleibt geben sich die Mitarbeiter sehr viel Mühe um den Aufenthalt so angenehm wie möglich zu machen. Man hat 2 Bettdecken + eine Wärmflasche, damit einem warm bleibt, denn die dicken Gefängnismauern sind natürlich etwas kalt. Die Küche ist sehr groß und wird 3 mal am Tag gesäubert. Genau wie die duschen und WCs. Dazu ein riesiger Kinoraum mit Beamer und Netflix Zugang. Also alle Filme die man schauen möchte. 500mb Internet sind auch inklusive. Dazu echt nette Mitarbeiter die einem bei jeder Frage zur Seite stehen. Echt empfehlenswert!

Sam Charles
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Sam would recommend this property 25 March 2015

This is comfortably the best hostel I have stayed in! Great history behind the place and the facilities are great. Plenty of chill out zones, tv room, cinema a nice kitchen and Free wifi which is rare for hostels! We stayed in a 10 bed dorm and were assigned beds, shown to our room and it had a seperate toilet and sink as well! Location is good a short 20 minute walk through the park to the city and close to a bar and food places! We didn't mind the walk at all and would much prefer the hostel location to the centre of Christchurch. Staff were also excellent! Thanks!!

83.8%
103 reviews Book Now 
7

Canterbury House

Hostel
257 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch, New Zealand 8013

97 out of 103 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Canterbury House

Atmosphere - 76% Staff - 89% Facilities - 79% Safety - 89%
Location - 76% Cleanliness - 89% Value - 85%
Malte Greulich
With my spouse / partner
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Malte would recommend this property 10 December 2014

Very friendly hostel owner, family atmosphere, no huge hostel, everything was clean and tidy

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
71.4%
Customer would recommend this property 29 May 2014

The warmness of the owner, the house's quiet atmosphere but easy to locate, and Melody the cat :)

82.7%
86 reviews Book Now 
8

YMCA Christchurch

Hostel
12 Hereford Street, Christchurch, New Zealand -

73 out of 86 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend YMCA Christchurch

Atmosphere - 73% Staff - 79% Facilities - 80% Safety - 91%
Location - 89% Cleanliness - 83% Value - 82%
ian ottaway
With friends / other travellers
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture
82.9%
ian would recommend this property 26 April 2014

location was convenient to the centre of town and the 24 hour check in was what we needed as we flew in on a late night flight

Customer review
Alone
Business / conference
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 25 September 2013

Great location considering the rebuild of the centre. Easy location for bus to the airport. Good facilities and the room was clean and comfortable. Good staff as well.

82.1%
246 reviews Book Now 
9

The Old Countryhouse

Hostel
437 Gloucester Street, Christchurch, New Zealand 8011

227 out of 246 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Old Countryhouse

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 81% Facilities - 88% Safety - 86%
Location - 64% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 77%
Miku Kawakami
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
71.4%
Miku would recommend this property 15 April 2014

Lots of people left the comment "The staffs were unkind", but I didn't feel it, even I felt they are very kind and helpfull!! and every cotage has a big kitchen and big bathrooms, you never look for a place to cook and take a shower. and those are very clean.

john butcher
Alone
Work / volunteering
82.9%
john would recommend this property 31 March 2014

Great facilities, fantastic pet dog!! Staff were fine. very good crowd of travellers. Very clean. Hostel has a secure electronic door opening system.

76.0%
5 reviews Book Now 
10

Bealey Avenue Motel

Hostel
229 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch, New Zealand .

5 out of 5 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Bealey Avenue Motel

Atmosphere - 72% Staff - 68% Facilities - 76% Safety - 80%
Location - 76% Cleanliness - 84% Value - 76%
katinka verhagen
With my spouse / partner
Family Holiday
100.0%
katinka would recommend this property 30 April 2013

ultra good !! really large room. large bed. (could fit 3 people if needed) best bathroom of this vacation. small kitchen. (2 electrical pits) very good pottery. little fridge. 2 lounge chairs. a dining table with 3 chairs. private parking about right in front of your room. i wanted to take this room with me during the rest of the vacation, but it would not fit in the trunk of the rental car. LOL

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family
65.7%
Customer would recommend this property 19 January 2012

Clean, tidy and well-equipped room. Shared balcony, plus table and chairs, for breakfast.

Christchurch

16 Hostels from 11.38 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Christchurch hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Christchurch. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.