We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/02/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/02/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Christchurch, New Zealand

93.7%
5 reviews Book Now 
1

YHA Christchurch - Rolleston House

Hostel
5 Worcester Boulevard, Christchurch, New Zealand 8013

5 out of 5 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend YHA Christchurch - Rolleston House

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 92% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 88%
Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 29 August 2014

The hostel was very warm which I didn't expect in a historic house. Everything was kept clean, there was a very large kitchen, showers had good pressure and they offered cheap food packs at reception

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 16 July 2013

Nice staff, very close to bus pick up locations around NZ, good kitchen facilities, very quiet

90.9%
5 reviews Book Now 
2

Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport

4 star Hotel
Cnr Memorial Ave & Orchard Rod, PO BOX 14 043, Christchurch, New Zealand 8053

5 out of 5 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport

Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 96% Facilities - 80% Safety - 96%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 84%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation/spa
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 27 December 2013

I liked the fact that the Hotel was not to far from anything Around the city. We were able to choose to stay and eat at the hotel or go to the airport and eat there. Plus the conciers at the hotel were very friendly and informative.

bernadette johnson
Alone
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
bernadette would recommend this property 19 June 2012

good location and great facilities. close to public transport to city and shopping malls

90.7%
58 reviews Book Now 
3

Dorset House Backpackers

Hostel
1 Dorset Street, Central City, Christchurch, Christchurch, New Zealand 8144

57 out of 58 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Dorset House Backpackers

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 96% Facilities - 91% Safety - 89%
Location - 86% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 86%
Aila Franck
With friends / other travellers
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Aila would recommend this property 31 January 2015

Everything was great! Clean bathrooms, good showers, spacious dorms, cozy kitchen area, perfect location, friendly staff. Super great value!

Jarrett Bacani
Alone
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
82.9%
Jarrett would recommend this property 16 August 2014

Really like the character of the house making it feel like I was staying in someone's home.

87.5%
46 reviews Book Now 
4

Haka Lodge

Hostel
518 Linwood Ave, Linwood, Christchurch, New Zealand 8062

43 out of 46 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Haka Lodge

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 91% Facilities - 88% Safety - 93%
Location - 62% Cleanliness - 98% Value - 88%
Lee Ornsby
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals
100.0%
Lee would recommend this property 02 January 2015

Great common areas. Really friendly staff. Super clean. Amazing location in an amazing place!

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 05 February 2014

Cosy and warm, very modern hostel (more like a home than many others I've stayed in). Loved the free vegetables from the garden, as well as the two housecats!

85.3%
319 reviews Book Now 
5

Jailhouse Accommodation

Hostel
338 Lincoln Road, Christchurch, New Zealand 8024

304 out of 319 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Jailhouse Accommodation

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 88% Facilities - 83% Safety - 92%
Location - 72% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 78%
Mark Cox
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Mark would recommend this property 28 January 2015

It's very quirky and unique. Clean with friendly staff and excellent facilities. Well recommended.

Amy Colvin
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Amy would recommend this property 05 August 2014

It's got great character and the manager could not have been more helpful. She upgraded our room for us free of charge and also helped book our kiwi experience.

82.7%
102 reviews Book Now 
6

Canterbury House

Hostel
257 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch, New Zealand 8013

96 out of 102 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Canterbury House

Atmosphere - 76% Staff - 87% Facilities - 77% Safety - 88%
Location - 76% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 85%
Malte Greulich
With my spouse / partner
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Malte would recommend this property 10 December 2014

Very friendly hostel owner, family atmosphere, no huge hostel, everything was clean and tidy

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
71.4%
Customer would recommend this property 29 May 2014

The warmness of the owner, the house's quiet atmosphere but easy to locate, and Melody the cat :)

82.1%
246 reviews Book Now 
7

The Old Countryhouse

Hostel
437 Gloucester Street, Christchurch, New Zealand 8011

227 out of 246 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Old Countryhouse

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 81% Facilities - 88% Safety - 86%
Location - 64% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 77%
Miku Kawakami
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
71.4%
Miku would recommend this property 15 April 2014

Lots of people left the comment "The staffs were unkind", but I didn't feel it, even I felt they are very kind and helpfull!! and every cotage has a big kitchen and big bathrooms, you never look for a place to cook and take a shower. and those are very clean.

john butcher
Alone
Work / volunteering
82.9%
john would recommend this property 31 March 2014

Great facilities, fantastic pet dog!! Staff were fine. very good crowd of travellers. Very clean. Hostel has a secure electronic door opening system.

81.5%
85 reviews Book Now 
8

YMCA Christchurch

Hostel
12 Hereford Street, Christchurch, New Zealand -

72 out of 85 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend YMCA Christchurch

Atmosphere - 72% Staff - 79% Facilities - 77% Safety - 89%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 81% Value - 81%
ian ottaway
With friends / other travellers
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture
82.9%
ian would recommend this property 26 April 2014

location was convenient to the centre of town and the 24 hour check in was what we needed as we flew in on a late night flight

Customer review
Alone
Business / conference
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 25 September 2013

Great location considering the rebuild of the centre. Easy location for bus to the airport. Good facilities and the room was clean and comfortable. Good staff as well.

76.0%
5 reviews Book Now 
9

Bealey Avenue Motel

Hostel
229 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch, New Zealand .

5 out of 5 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Bealey Avenue Motel

Atmosphere - 72% Staff - 68% Facilities - 76% Safety - 80%
Location - 76% Cleanliness - 84% Value - 76%
katinka verhagen
With my spouse / partner
Family Holiday
100.0%
katinka would recommend this property 30 April 2013

ultra good !! really large room. large bed. (could fit 3 people if needed) best bathroom of this vacation. small kitchen. (2 electrical pits) very good pottery. little fridge. 2 lounge chairs. a dining table with 3 chairs. private parking about right in front of your room. i wanted to take this room with me during the rest of the vacation, but it would not fit in the trunk of the rental car. LOL

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family
65.7%
Customer would recommend this property 19 January 2012

Clean, tidy and well-equipped room. Shared balcony, plus table and chairs, for breakfast.

69.9%
151 reviews Book Now 
10

KIWI basecamp

Hostel
69 Bealey Avenue, City Centre, Christchurch, New Zealand 8013

127 out of 151 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend KIWI basecamp

Atmosphere - 70% Staff - 74% Facilities - 68% Safety - 76%
Location - 73% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 67%
steven robertson
Alone
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
54.3%
19 February 2015

Free freshly baked bread (although not available until later than most backpackers would have their breakfast).

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 21 January 2015

I really liked it here! As promised they serve self baked bread every morning. Furthermore they provide towels. It's really useful, if you have to pack your bag and don't want to stuff your own wet towel in it. The hostel staff is like a little family.

Christchurch

16 Hostels from 18.87 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Christchurch hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Christchurch. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.