We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Haka Lodge

Hostel | 518 Linwood Ave, Linwood, Christchurch, New Zealand 8062

87.4% Overall Rating

40 out of 42 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/02/2014)

"Cosy and warm, very modern hostel (more like a home than many others I've stayed in). Loved the free vegetables from the garden, as well as the two housecats!"

Read all Haka Lodge reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

*The nightly rate for the Deluxe Family Ensuite room is $160.00 for 1 or 2 guests, each additional person will be an extra $25. The room can hold a maximum of 6 people so the maximum fee will be $260.00 for any given night.*

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Christchurch?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Christchurch

Avon City Backpackers
11.67 USD

Hostel 54.9% 148 reviews
The Old Countryhouse
34.24 USD

Hostel 79.5% 243 reviews
Canterbury House
27.23 USD

Hostel 81.3% 95 reviews
Point Break Backpackers
19.45 USD

Hostel 65.4% 143 reviews
Bealey Avenue Motel
32.10 USD

Hostel 76.0% 5 reviews
Tranquil Lodge
19.45 USD

Hostel 64.2% 132 reviews
Courtesy Court Motel
46.69 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
YHA Christchurch
28.01 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.4%

Overall Rating

40 out of 42 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Haka Lodge'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
60.8%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
99.2%
Staff
86.4%
Value
88.8%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 35 of 41 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2014

Liked: really nice private rooms...bed, tv, closet. clean bathrooms.

Disliked: far from airport if you need it for that. kind of confusing to get too, not very nice atmosphere espeially on arrival.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cosy and warm, very modern hostel (more like a home than many others I've stayed in). Loved the free vegetables from the garden, as well as the two housecats!

Disliked: Only issues were that there aren't enough bathrooms, frequently had to wait for one to become free. Also noise in the house travels a long way, so we were kept up one night by people constantly going up and down the stairs and closing doors. Might just have been where our room was positioned though.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

peter Wynter

As a family with children

Family Holiday

20 January 2014

Liked: Private

Disliked: Contradictory amount specified on book in sheet

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sam palmer

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

18 December 2013 sam would recommend this property

Liked: Google

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stefanie Goris

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2013 Stefanie would recommend this property

Liked: Super mooie plek om te slapen, alles helemaal netjes, genoeg ruimte, grote kast om je spullen op te bergen, nette douches...

Disliked: Helemaal niks, het was volkomen volgens verwachting, zelfs beter!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Dury

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: This place is amazing and was the best private room of our trip. Free fast WiFi (rare in NZ) helpful staff, close to supermarket and bus stops.

Disliked: The hostel is perfect. Unfortunately Christchurch is being rebuilt slowly therefore I would interconnects a day or two here. Botanical gardens are nice to chill in. We didn't do any but tours offered at hostel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

emily mcgarry

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2013 emily would recommend this property

Liked: This was a great place to stay; the place is very clean and has really nice interior decorating (which can be rare in backpackers!). The staff were friendly and didn't seem to mind that we were checking in quite late. You also get give quite a lot of free wifi, and the tv lounge has sky. We would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: The only down side of this hostel is that it's quite far out of the way, which probably wouldn't be a problem if you were staying for more than a few days, but we were only staying the night, and because we were leaving early in the morning, had to get a taxi to where our coach was leaving from. Having said that, there is a bus that stops basically outside, and it's worth the travelling.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steve Calcott

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2013 Steve would recommend this property

Liked: I was lucky enough to be given a twin room in the (wheelchair friendly) apartment which was great - wonderfully clean and looked recently decorated. The whole property feels well looked after and I had a brief meeting with Cola the cat.

Disliked: It is a little way out of the centre though of course this is an issue with a lot of properties in Christchurch. Some eating options locally and near a couple of bus routes but not particularly easy for if you're not familiar with the city.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Wu

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 March 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly, and with character; smaller sized hostel with good non-bunk beds for the dorms.

Disliked: The doors slam really loudly...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

robyn alderson

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

10 March 2013 robyn would recommend this property

Liked: We had the 2 bedroom apartment and it was great, spacious, comfortable and quiet, very good

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The dorm was really nice - no bunk beds and every two beds were separated. There were free vegetables in the kitchen which was really clean. The whole hostel was very friendly and bright.

Disliked: The internet was not working when I stayed there.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

patrick veit

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2012 patrick would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was just perfect!

Disliked: If you dont have a car it is a bit far away from everything but there is a busstop in front of the hostel! Doable!!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super clean! Staff was very friendly. No bunks, and lots of locker space to keep your stuff safe.

Disliked: No public computer, but they do give you free wifi. Everyone pretty much just lounges around the TV room all day.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Dähne

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa

14 September 2012 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: nice people

Disliked: the windows are thin and you can hear the nearby street a bit

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic communal area which was like being in a cosy living room with a huge TV and wood burning stove. The bedroom we were in was a little small but immaculate, with balcony. The bathrooms were modern and spotless.

Disliked: The kitchen was a little small, hard for more than one person to cook at once so you have to wait. It is a little way out of town, but there is a bus stop right outside the hostel and a supermarket 10mins walk away.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cosy

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

BRONA MCCORMACK

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2012 BRONA would recommend this property

Liked: Gorgeous property on the outskirts of Christchurch. Hot showers. Comfy beds. Roaring fire every evening and sky television foe everyone to watch! Such a comfortable place to stay!!

Disliked: After 5 months of travelling this was the first place we had an issue with the staff. We were greeted by a lovely girl who was so helpful and welcoming but the manager Sarah was quite inappropriate at times, after asking if they had a towel service Sarah told me I should say "please ta and thankyou" even though i was only asking if they had the service as some hostels do not offer this service! and when we were 30 mins late for the 10am checkout she came into our room and asked us" what we thought we were doing and to get cracking its past checkout time", we have never had an issue with a late checkout, most being between 11-12am, especially when we came downstairs expecting a queue of people and there was absolutely nobody!! I do not believe this is how you speak to paying customers and to be honest we felt a bit like we were being given out to in school! She made us feel very uncomfortable. Not what I expect when paying $25 dollars a night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very homely, a lovely living space with a log fire and big television> Very clean kitchen, helpful staff, couldn't recommend it enough

Disliked: slightly soft beds, bit out of town but considering there isn't much of a town left this really isn't a massive issue

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

michael harwood

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2012 michael would recommend this property

Liked: Very homely, log fire, comfortable sofas, modern kitchen and best of all it's not over crowded

Disliked: The location is a little too far to walk into town from. But given that the town is under reconstruction anyway it means you're away from the noise.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lyndsay McCann

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2012 Lyndsay would recommend this property

Liked: This is luxury accommodation for travellers, it's by far the nicest place I've stayed in whilst travelling. The beds were comfy, the bathrooms immaculate & a lovely lounge area. Home from home! Close to bus stops for the city, the airport & the Antarctic centre.

Disliked: Lyndsay left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Pieter Verhoeven

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2012 Pieter would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice new hostel, friendly staff, great kitchen and common room.

Disliked: One of the staff members seemed not to like it to much that I stayed in the evening until 7:30 because I had to catch a late flight and there was no one in the common room... It is also strange because after the earthquake Christchurch is mostly used as a transfer city instead of being a destination by itself.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Lundstrom

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

14 March 2012 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Nice real beds in the doorms. Nice staff.

Disliked: The kitchen was a bit small

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a double twin room, and the propeties two twin double room are located in a separate cottage. This meant that we shared a very nice bathroom, kitchen and living room with just two other people! The staff were friendly and the free food shelf was huuuge(and well filled).

Disliked: A little far away from town, but then again Christchurch has no centre anymore so it was fine.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lionel Reygner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2012 Lionel would recommend this property

Liked: Really helpfull and friendly staff, kind of a family for all the residents. A must to stay. Cosy place. No bunk beds !!!! Single beds on the dorms :). Private lockers, bed lights. AWESOME !

Disliked: nothing, all good

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Shaw

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2012 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: best backpackers ive ever stayed at. great atmosphere

Disliked: nothing