HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Dorset House Backpackers

Hostel | 1 Dorset Street, Central City, Christchurch Christchurch, New Zealand 8144

88.5% Overall Rating

54 out of 55 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/04/2014)

Ricardo Leonardo thinks…

"Even though I couldn't checkin or checkout during the desk opening hours, the staff was attentive and sorted it out promptly"

Read all Dorset House Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.70

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 2 days before arrival (local time). For clarity - a reservation made for a Wednesday night must be cancelled prior to close of our reception (6pm) on the Sunday night to be considered outside the cancellation period. Reservations cancelled less than '2 full days' will be charged for any nights that fall within the cancellation period. Non-arrivals will be charged for nights within the cancellation period. Reservations that are made for arrival within '2 full days' are strictly non-cancellable.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Christchurch?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Christchurch

KIWI basecamp
24.65 USD

Hostel 71.3% 146 reviews
YHA Christchurch - Rolleston House
30.59 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
YMCA Christchurch
27.19 USD

Hostel 77.6% 80 reviews
Courtesy Court Motel
50.99 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Tranquil Lodge
21.25 USD

Hostel 66.1% 128 reviews
Bealey Avenue Motel
35.06 USD

Hostel 76.0% 5 reviews
Canterbury House
25.50 USD

Hostel 81.3% 95 reviews
Central Park Motor Lodge
50.99 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.5%

Overall Rating

54 out of 55 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Dorset House Backpackers'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
92.8%
Value
83.2%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 51 of 54 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It s charming and has a nice atmosphere..

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Suzanne Flynn

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

25 June 2014 Suzanne would recommend this property

Liked: Feels more like home than a hostel

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

26 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was clean and tidy like it says on the description

Disliked: Nothing that I can think of at the top of my head

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

25 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bed !

Disliked: There is no staff after 6or 8?

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Ricardo Leonardo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2014 Ricardo would recommend this property

Liked: Even though I couldn't checkin or checkout during the desk opening hours, the staff was attentive and sorted it out promptly

Disliked: the socket (only available of the few in the ) wasnt working

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karen Goh

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2014 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty little place.

Disliked: Karen left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

09 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Enjoyed the older style building, rooms were great and the separate toilet shower idea

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the place, big and friendly. Good location too.

Disliked: Slightly on the pricey side

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has no bunk beds, which was really nice, so we were not packed into the room. The kitchen was nice and bright.

Disliked: It could use a paint job on the stairs. No bad though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: House has a lot of character, great location, nice beds, large kitchen and nice staff. Highly recommended!!

Disliked: Small point is that the rooms don't have secure lockers and the wifi broke on the second day.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Denise Nguyen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2014 Denise would recommend this property

Liked: No bunks! Central location, very quiet

Disliked: The Wifi was a bit rubbish

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

wang yu phua

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2014 wang yu would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: no lift, slightly far if you have to carry your heavy luggage to town centre

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ashish mazumdar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2013 ashish would recommend this property

Liked: The stay was very peaceful and 100mb free wifi internet is a real sweetener.... Well done

Disliked: Creeky floor noise... that's about it.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Mads Kristesen

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

05 November 2013 Mads would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and helpful

Disliked: Our room was too far away from the wifi and could not pick up the signal, the window would not close properly and the heater did not work, so it was a little cold.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Therese Gallagher

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2013 Therese would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean, love the old travel letters etc throughout the hallways!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals

13 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent Staff, very pleasant vibe, central to all our needs in the city.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Charming. Staff was great.

Disliked: There was no shopping close by.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very clean communal unisex bathrooms with hair dryers. Quiet at night, really comfortable beds. Everything you want in a backpackers!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice place with nice people, good location

Disliked: only 100Mb internet free, cold in winter inside

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Heated blanket. Towels provided.

Disliked: No free breakfast.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mark Wilson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2013 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has a friendly and inviting feel to it and, although I arrived to late to speak to any of the staff, they were easily contactable and very helpful and pleasant.I hope to stay here again.

Disliked: There's really very little I could find fault with. Perhaps longer reception opening hours?

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2013

Liked: Lounge room looked comfortable, electric blankets a good touch in a really cold room.

Disliked: 100Mb wifi limit or expensive top ups. Reception closed more hours than open, also unmanned during the day for two hours on a Sunday. TV broken in my room and no one on duty to notify. I didn't see one member of staff during my whole stay.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Monika Molander

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2013 Monika would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice, staff was ok but not very friendly.

Disliked: Unfriendly stuff, no safety lockers (I was travelling in a group so it was ok)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Dorset House Backpackers was a charming and cozy place to stay with a lot of personality. I loved the old building and its character. The kitchen was big and if you´re there when it´s warm outside you can enjoy your dinner on the nice balcony. I definitly think we got what we paid for!

Disliked: For me who is a freezing kind of person the building itself was way too cold! In our room we could put the radiator on so that was fine, but the tv-room, the kitchen area and the bathrooms were just too cold for me! The kitchen was a bit messy because people just didn´t clean properly, but that wasn´t Dorset´s fault (they cleaned properly!). More the people who stayed there at the same time that we did.