HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Canterbury House Christchurch Christchurch Hostel

257 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch, Christchurch, New Zealand

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 82%

Location 77%

Safety 91%

Staff 88%

Value 89%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Card Phones
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Important Information

CREDIT CARDS NOT ACCEPTED. CASH ONLY

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Christchurch?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 82%

Location 77%

Safety 91%

Staff 88%

Value 89%

Showing 1-10 of 25 reviews

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: very clean, nice garden

Disliked: unfriendly owners


The property's response is

Sorry to hear your comment.
We all helped you and welcomed you.
We gave you a city map and showed you around the house as you didn’t have a good understanding of English. I emailed to your daughter for you, Alan helped you to use a prepaid phone card when you wanted to call. One of our staff went with you to the nearest bus stop so you would get the correct bus. We all helped you and gave a hand. We thanked you for your stay and you looked very happy on the outside so we believed you were.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Visiting friends or family

Liked: It is a nice, peaceful house. Great place to relax!

Disliked: Two owners with two style

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 May 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very home like, was clean and extremely peaceful.

Disliked: Internet was free however only 50mb. You're limited for time on social media.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Clean, friendly staff, quiet

Disliked: A long walk from the center of town, you only get 50MB of internet usage per day

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: clean, nice lounge and kitchen

Disliked: no free wifi (50mb?!?), a lot of rules to follow (take of your shoes etc.), only two showers and two toilets

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: So pretty property and kind owners. I could relax and release my stress!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Nov 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very friendly hostel owner, family atmosphere, no huge hostel, everything was clean and tidy

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The warmness of the owner, the house's quiet atmosphere but easy to locate, and Melody the cat :)

Disliked: I think they need to power up the heater a little bit. Or, its probably because the temperature was extremely low when we get there, so i could not feel it. Apart from that, everything was perfect.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was lovely. Nice and quiet. Perfect after a day of traveling. It was clean and the owners were really helpful and kind.

Disliked: N/a

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Helpful owners. Nice garden.

Disliked: A bit far from the center of town, but so are many of the hostels.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability