We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Canterbury House

Hostel | 257 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch, New Zealand 8013

81.3% Overall Rating

90 out of 95 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/05/2014)

"The warmness of the owner, the house's quiet atmosphere but easy to locate, and Melody the cat :)"

Read all Canterbury House reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

CREDIT CARDS NOT ACCEPTED. CASH ONLY

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Christchurch?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Christchurch

Bealey Avenue Motel
32.10 USD

Hostel 76.0% 5 reviews
Tranquil Lodge
19.45 USD

Hostel 64.2% 132 reviews
Courtesy Court Motel
46.69 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
KIWI basecamp
22.56 USD

Hostel 71.1% 147 reviews
The Old Countryhouse
34.24 USD

Hostel 79.5% 243 reviews
Dorset House Backpackers
28.01 USD

Hostel 89.6% 57 reviews
YHA Christchurch - Rolleston House
29.57 USD

Hostel 93.3% 3 reviews
YMCA Christchurch
24.64 USD

Hostel 79.0% 81 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.3%

Overall Rating

90 out of 95 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Canterbury House'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
84.8%
Value
83.2%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 91 of 95 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The warmness of the owner, the house's quiet atmosphere but easy to locate, and Melody the cat :)

Disliked: I think they need to power up the heater a little bit. Or, its probably because the temperature was extremely low when we get there, so i could not feel it. Apart from that, everything was perfect.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was lovely. Nice and quiet. Perfect after a day of traveling. It was clean and the owners were really helpful and kind.

Disliked: N/a

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heather Schofield

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 May 2014 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful owners. Nice garden.

Disliked: A bit far from the center of town, but so are many of the hostels.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: no dislikes

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

21 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, location, comfortable bed

Disliked: just 50MB free internet usage, only 2 bathrooms/toilets dont go to christchurch, its a ruined city with nothing to see (besides ruins, roadblocks and destroyed cathedral)

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Ben Maloney

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

11 February 2014

Liked: Located convenient to centre of Christchurch. Off-street parking. Pretty gardens. Spacious.

Disliked: Staff weren't very helpful, facilities a bit limited. Expensive for what it was.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

fleur kloppenberg

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 January 2014 fleur would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly owners. Real homestay location. Beautiful garden.

Disliked: A bit messy (they were redecorating some rooms). Small room but comfortable. Not really wheelchair accessible due to stairs at the front door.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property was clean and the hosts were very warm to the people staying there. Beautiful garden.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Simple but cosy, you really feel comfortable in this little house !

Disliked: Shared bathrooms are a bit small but very clean !

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine Dixon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 November 2013 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: It was nice and quiet, my bed was really comfy and just felt like I was staying at someone's house. Very clean and homely. Plenty of off street parking an about 15 minute walk into town. The hosts were very helpful and Allan knew a lot about South Island with some great tips for where to go. Oh and Melody the cat!

Disliked: Nothing really. I suppose it's not the usual hostel vibe as it is their home too. But this was what I was looking for.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked how there was other backpackers staying in the accommodation so it was easy to speak to other people and make friends. I also liked how Alan was so friendly and gave me all the information I needed.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sylvia Bagnall

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

25 October 2013 Sylvia would recommend this property

Liked: Although central this is a quiet and secluded place, looking onto a beautiful garden, with friendly and helpful hosts.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

27 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in this hostel whilst looking for a more permanent abode in Christchurch. It was like a home away from home. It was quiet, immaculately clean and friendly. If you are looking for these qualities in a place to stay then I would highly recommend it.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Property was very clean. They picked us up at the Bus Stop when requested on the Day. Friendly owners.

Disliked: Schedule time to use the Shower and Laundry.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Amy Picot

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2013 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: Alan and Keiko were very nice and helpful. Good kitchen, room's were nice and well kept and there was a little treat waiting on your pillow!

Disliked: One bathroom was shut for half the time I was there.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Matti Tornio

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 July 2013 Matti would recommend this property

Liked: Decent heaters, cat

Disliked: Bit of a walk to city center, male owner is cranky

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Matti Tornio

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 July 2013 Matti would recommend this property

Liked: Nice cat, decent facilities

Disliked: Male owner is quite cranky, rest of the staff is fine

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very homely!!

Disliked: Minimal internet connection

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Luca Isaia Fantoni

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013

Liked: good position; the old man is helpful and friendly; very clean

Disliked: it is more a home than an hostel. too many rules that can't be applied to an hostel where you pay to be in. I'm not a guest and you are not doing me a favour, I'm paying to stay there!! i.e. it would be nice if the owners have a television for themselves and don't pretend to use the TV in the common area to watch their christian programs; I don't understand why it takes 4 hours to clean a kitchen and a bathroom, and whereas in all the other hostel you can still use them, here you are not supposed to use them during those 4 long hours. The hostel itself is safe, but the only dorm has no lockers, that's why the "average" security. If you use the "hostel" just to sleep and eventually cook your meals, it's ok. If you like to socialise there, forget it.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place could be a little bit warmer in winter time.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Lamberton

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 May 2013 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Very homely place with lovely hosts Alan and Keiko, they are much more helpful than the average hostel owner and I miss staying there already. Highly recommended!

Disliked: Ben left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sinead Griffin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2013 Sinead would recommend this property

Liked: Alan was so helpful when I arrived, gave me a map and told me what to go see in Christchurch.... really kind!

Disliked: Was a little cold - but that may have been me being used to Aussie temperatures before I arrived!!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

emily mcgarry

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2013 emily would recommend this property

Liked: This was a lovely place to stay. it was like staying in someones house. The staff were lovely, especially Alan who very kindly drove us down to where our coach was leaving from in the morning so that we wouldn't have to "waste our money on a taxi". They were very kind and geniune, and made us feel very welcome. You also get given a bit of free internet which is nice. We would definitely recommend staying here!

Disliked: emily left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Alan and Keiko were knowledgable and helpful and the hostel was immaculately clean. The pub next door, which showed the rugby league, was a bonus!

Disliked: Nothing!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nothing specail....

Disliked: well... Service: Honestly, I can't say the owners is un-friendly but is really hard to see the smile on their face. This is my 1st time to Christuchurch, and I was expected they can tell me something about the Christuchurch (I know they don't have to do that, but if they do, it will makes me fell better), but they just gave me a map. Location: This backpack is located at the southernmost area of the city, only route 44 bus can take you there (route 29 can only takes you to Victoria str, you may need walk around 20minutes to there). I walked around the Christuchurch city for 2days, and I found it's really hard to find restrant / bar around this backpack. The shops normally closed at 6pm? (can't remenber the exactly time)