We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Canterbury House

Hostel | 257 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch, New Zealand 8013

85.4% Overall Rating

98 out of 104 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/12/2014)

Malte Greulich thinks…

"Very friendly hostel owner, family atmosphere, no huge hostel, everything was clean and tidy"

Read all Canterbury House reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

CREDIT CARDS NOT ACCEPTED. CASH ONLY

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Christchurch?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Christchurch

Bealey Avenue Motel
27.18 USD

Hostel 76.0% 5 reviews
Tranquil Lodge
16.47 USD

Hostel 54.2% 143 reviews
KIWI basecamp
19.11 USD

Hostel 67.8% 158 reviews
The Old Countryhouse
25.04 USD

Hostel 82.1% 246 reviews
Dorset House Backpackers
21.09 USD

Hostel 90.5% 64 reviews
YHA Christchurch - Rolleston House
20.43 USD

Hostel 87.4% 12 reviews
YMCA Christchurch
20.87 USD

Hostel 82.7% 86 reviews
YHA Christchurch
21.09 USD

Hostel 86.4% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.4%

Overall Rating

98 out of 104 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Canterbury House'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
92.0%
Value
86.4%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 96 of 104 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very home like, was clean and extremely peaceful.

Disliked: Internet was free however only 50mb. You're limited for time on social media.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

09 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly staff, quiet

Disliked: A long walk from the center of town, you only get 50MB of internet usage per day

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Isabelle Tscherrig

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2015 Isabelle would recommend this property

Liked: clean, nice lounge and kitchen

Disliked: no free wifi (50mb?!?), a lot of rules to follow (take of your shoes etc.), only two showers and two toilets

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: So pretty property and kind owners. I could relax and release my stress!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Malte Greulich

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2014 Malte would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly hostel owner, family atmosphere, no huge hostel, everything was clean and tidy

Disliked: Malte left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The warmness of the owner, the house's quiet atmosphere but easy to locate, and Melody the cat :)

Disliked: I think they need to power up the heater a little bit. Or, its probably because the temperature was extremely low when we get there, so i could not feel it. Apart from that, everything was perfect.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was lovely. Nice and quiet. Perfect after a day of traveling. It was clean and the owners were really helpful and kind.

Disliked: N/a

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heather Schofield

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 May 2014 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful owners. Nice garden.

Disliked: A bit far from the center of town, but so are many of the hostels.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: no dislikes

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

21 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, location, comfortable bed

Disliked: just 50MB free internet usage, only 2 bathrooms/toilets dont go to christchurch, its a ruined city with nothing to see (besides ruins, roadblocks and destroyed cathedral)

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Ben Maloney

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

11 February 2014

Liked: Located convenient to centre of Christchurch. Off-street parking. Pretty gardens. Spacious.

Disliked: Staff weren't very helpful, facilities a bit limited. Expensive for what it was.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

fleur kloppenberg

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 January 2014 fleur would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly owners. Real homestay location. Beautiful garden.

Disliked: A bit messy (they were redecorating some rooms). Small room but comfortable. Not really wheelchair accessible due to stairs at the front door.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property was clean and the hosts were very warm to the people staying there. Beautiful garden.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Simple but cosy, you really feel comfortable in this little house !

Disliked: Shared bathrooms are a bit small but very clean !

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine Dixon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 November 2013 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: It was nice and quiet, my bed was really comfy and just felt like I was staying at someone's house. Very clean and homely. Plenty of off street parking an about 15 minute walk into town. The hosts were very helpful and Allan knew a lot about South Island with some great tips for where to go. Oh and Melody the cat!

Disliked: Nothing really. I suppose it's not the usual hostel vibe as it is their home too. But this was what I was looking for.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked how there was other backpackers staying in the accommodation so it was easy to speak to other people and make friends. I also liked how Alan was so friendly and gave me all the information I needed.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sylvia Bagnall

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

25 October 2013 Sylvia would recommend this property

Liked: Although central this is a quiet and secluded place, looking onto a beautiful garden, with friendly and helpful hosts.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

27 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in this hostel whilst looking for a more permanent abode in Christchurch. It was like a home away from home. It was quiet, immaculately clean and friendly. If you are looking for these qualities in a place to stay then I would highly recommend it.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Property was very clean. They picked us up at the Bus Stop when requested on the Day. Friendly owners.

Disliked: Schedule time to use the Shower and Laundry.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Amy Picot

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2013 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: Alan and Keiko were very nice and helpful. Good kitchen, room's were nice and well kept and there was a little treat waiting on your pillow!

Disliked: One bathroom was shut for half the time I was there.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Matti Tornio

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 July 2013 Matti would recommend this property

Liked: Decent heaters, cat

Disliked: Bit of a walk to city center, male owner is cranky

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Matti Tornio

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 July 2013 Matti would recommend this property

Liked: Nice cat, decent facilities

Disliked: Male owner is quite cranky, rest of the staff is fine

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very homely!!

Disliked: Minimal internet connection

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Luca Isaia Fantoni

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013

Liked: good position; the old man is helpful and friendly; very clean

Disliked: it is more a home than an hostel. too many rules that can't be applied to an hostel where you pay to be in. I'm not a guest and you are not doing me a favour, I'm paying to stay there!! i.e. it would be nice if the owners have a television for themselves and don't pretend to use the TV in the common area to watch their christian programs; I don't understand why it takes 4 hours to clean a kitchen and a bathroom, and whereas in all the other hostel you can still use them, here you are not supposed to use them during those 4 long hours. The hostel itself is safe, but the only dorm has no lockers, that's why the "average" security. If you use the "hostel" just to sleep and eventually cook your meals, it's ok. If you like to socialise there, forget it.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place could be a little bit warmer in winter time.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.