HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Old Countryhouse Christchurch Hostel

437 Gloucester Street, Christchurch, New Zealand

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 88%

Location 63%

Safety 86%

Staff 82%

Value 78%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Hot Tub
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Important Information

1.Payment is to be in cash on arrival 2. Please remember that you Must Arrive Before 8 PM as our reception will be closed after this time. BBH CARD HOLDERS: BBH Member Prices can only be guaranteed for direct telephone bookings. NO GROUPS: MAXIMUM 5 PEOPLE ONLY. IF YOU BOOK FOR MORE THAN 5 PEOPLE THEN THE BOOKING WILL BE CANCELLED. YOU DEPOSIT IS NON REFUNDABLE.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Christchurch?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 88%

Location 63%

Safety 86%

Staff 82%

Value 78%

Showing 1-10 of 12 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: nice dorms, nice people, value for money, nice and clean facilities

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice staff

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation / spa, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It has a really great atmosphere and all details are just lovely.

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation / spa, Work / volunteering

Liked: Spa, people

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Large well equipped kitchen

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Lots of people left the comment "The staffs were unkind", but I didn't feel it, even I felt they are very kind and helpfull!!and every cotage has a big kitchen and big bathrooms, you never look for a place to cook and take a shower. and those are very clean.

Disliked: little bit far from the central, but can walk.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for reviewing us yes we are 1500 meters from the centre of the cityand we now have great staff.

Kind regards
Andrew

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Great facilities, fantastic pet dog!! Staff were fine. very good crowd of travellers. Very clean. Hostel has a secure electronic door opening system.

Disliked: No sheet just a duvet. No lockers!!!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for reviewing us.

we provid clean sheets and duvet covers for every guest.

As for safety we we have electronic locks for the property plus cameras in all the public places and most important "No ID no bed" we take the value of your safey and your possesions very seriously.

And we do love the dog :)

Kind regards
Andrew

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good ratio of pwople to kitchen space

Disliked: Abrupt and rude staffExpensive - but way out of center and didnt offer anything you could feel justidied the high lrice like other snall hostels like free breakfast or computer usage!


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

The abrupt staff member is no longer with us.
we are 1500 meters from the centre of the city.
Prices in Christchurch are higher now than the rest of the country due to the insurance companies charging more plus all the engineering stuff that we have to do to satisfy the goverment.

As for free internet what a great idea ,Every body can now have FREE UNLIMETED WIFI while staying here.

Kind regards
Andrew

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Clean and quiet

Disliked: Incredibly unfriendly staff at reception

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we agree we did have an unfriendly staff member on reception and now we don't hope to see you again some time.

Kind regards
Andrew

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Clean, nice setting, comfortable.

Disliked: Rude staff who couldn't wait to get out of the door at 8pm (I arrived at 7.50pm) suggest reception stays open until at least 10pm.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability