We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Tranquil Lodge

Hostel | 440 Manchester St., St. Albans, Christchurch, New Zealand 8014

64.2% Overall Rating

102 out of 132 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/09/2014)

Mery Bernabei thinks…

"Very quiet accommodation. Graham, the staff of tranquil lodge was lovely and helpful."

Read all Tranquil Lodge reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Christchurch?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Christchurch

Bealey Avenue Motel
32.10 USD

Hostel 76.0% 5 reviews
Canterbury House
27.23 USD

Hostel 81.3% 95 reviews
KIWI basecamp
22.56 USD

Hostel 71.1% 147 reviews
Dorset House Backpackers
28.01 USD

Hostel 89.6% 57 reviews
YHA Christchurch - Rolleston House
29.57 USD

Hostel 93.3% 3 reviews
YMCA Christchurch
24.64 USD

Hostel 79.0% 81 reviews
The Old Countryhouse
34.24 USD

Hostel 79.5% 243 reviews
YHA Christchurch
28.21 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
64.2%

Overall Rating

102 out of 132 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Tranquil Lodge'

Atmosphere
62.4%
Location
64.8%
Facilities
60.8%
Cleanliness
47.2%
Staff
81.6%
Value
68.0%
Safety
64.8%
Refine your results Showing 103 of 111 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Mery Bernabei

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 September 2014 Mery would recommend this property

Liked: Very quiet accommodation. Graham, the staff of tranquil lodge was lovely and helpful.

Disliked: Mery left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2014

Liked: staff was very friendly

Disliked: dirty bathrooms, very old and messy

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Homey and affordable

Disliked: A little worn out

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Krzysztof Dopierala

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2014

Liked: We booked dorm, got upgrade to double. Big advantage, as due to loud people at night I wouldn't like to stay in one.

Disliked: Lots of drunk people, super noisy, facilities not well maintained and not too clean. Definitely not a traveller vibe place.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

robertq penitz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

05 July 2014 robertq would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly helpful owner, we got a free upgrade to a 2 bed room, good kitchen facilities, very quiet at night

Disliked: it was a bit cold

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hans Joy Albano

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway

16 June 2014 Hans Joy would recommend this property

Liked: Its friendly staff :)

Disliked: There is none that i can think of so far.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Ryan Payne

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2014 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay if planning on working in Christchurch. Was there only one night and offered a job

Disliked: Sad thing is a lot of guys backpacking use this place as a month long crash pad and therefore don't really care about anything other than drinking till midnight and being up at eight for work. Place doesn't offer much other than a free map. (Christchurch as a whole is really a one day city to visit FYI)

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 March 2014

Liked: The manager seemed friendly enough, as did the other people staying there. My one night there was fairly quiet after 11pm, and it wasn't too far a walk to the supermarkets and shops

Disliked: Very dirty, especially the kitchen and lounge. Run down, rubbish everywhere, damp smell and there was still garbage left in my room from the people before me. The taps had broken knobs so they were very difficult to turn on/off, the lounge was filled with video tapes, a ripped up sofa and general mess. When I got in touch to change my booking I specifically asked the manager not to change anything without confirming with me first, but instead had an email back saying it was all done. The free washing was non existent and I booked that hotel specifically because it offered that. When I asked the manager laughed and said I had a basin in my room, which didn't even have a plug.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Luco Overvoorde

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2014 Luco would recommend this property

Liked: Helpfull staff, close to public transport

Disliked: it was ok

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Maria Melegova

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 February 2014

Liked: Location was quite good, 20 min walk to centre, 5min by car. Room and facilities were decent.

Disliked: Our room was in the middle between toilets, kitchen and outside meeting area, so we were constantly surrounded by noise.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

francisco molinero

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2014

Liked: The people in the hostel were really nice

Disliked: It can be more clean and better preserve

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Aya Okubo

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

08 January 2014 Aya would recommend this property

Liked: little far from city center , but environment of around here is nice. peaceful n quiet place.

Disliked: kitchen n lounge is not clean.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

10 December 2013

Liked: Friendly Manager

Disliked: Alot of things wrong with the place, needs to have significant funds spent on it,

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

06 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Manager was efficient, efffective and very helpful and pleasant and worked very hard cleaning up dirty dishes etc after workers staying there (for Christchurch re-build).

Disliked: The owner had much trouble with permanent dirty workers staying at the hostel who would not clean up after themselves.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Michael Goczol

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Only 20 minutes walking distance to (former) city center and botanic garden. Quiet place in a neighborhood area.

Disliked: Nothing, everything in order.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2013

Liked: Relatively close to the city

Disliked: It was very dirty, doesn't look like the photo, messy and it smelled awful in the room. Mould in the bathroom and wasn't a pleasant experience

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Thea Mercer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 September 2013 Thea would recommend this property

Liked: The owner Graham was very flexible and helpful with our very late check in, booking airport shuttles and allowing us flexibility with checking out.

Disliked: Very quiet and relaxed. Not a party hostel so probably not ideal for meeting other travellers (but a good quiet/relaxing place to stay).

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

sofiane chaibi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2013 sofiane would recommend this property

Liked: The people very good

Disliked: Is dirty in the shower

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2013

Liked: helpful staff,

Disliked: construction area, very dirty,Internet 10 min...1$

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2013

Liked: The staff are nice I think that is its only good point.

Disliked: Not clean. People are very loud and and the reception is just a box with no one there. The staff doesn't even check to see who I was, I could have stole anything and nobody would know who I was where as other hostels ask for some phone ID like a passport.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Patricia Mathison

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 January 2013 Patricia would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is extremely trusting and kind. He was very understanding about our late arrival and worked to make sure we were comfortable. He also allowed us to stay an extra hour to catch our bus to the airport. Very flexible and kind and it was a great and family feel atmosphere. It was great to be able to support a business in Christchurch as they had been affected by the earthquakes.

Disliked: Not so clean.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2013

Liked: The owner was nice

Disliked: The dirtyness, location could have been a bit better, but yet the central area is now more or less damaged it is not so important, but a long walk into central areas ( garden,museum etc.)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly owner, directly upgraded our room and brought us to the bus stop by car, very hospitable :)

Disliked: Dirty kitchen and sometimes cold water

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Matthew Doran

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly owner and was also very helpful. Nice big TV lounge

Disliked: It has been damaged by the earthquakes. Not their fault in the slightest but whilst they are waiting for the insurance money the place feels old and tired and clearly needs loads of work.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2012

Liked: No bed bugs

Disliked: everything