HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Point Break Backpackers Christchurch Hostel

6 Union Street, New Brighton, Christchurch, New Zealand

Atmosphere 68%

Cleanliness 67%

Facilities 70%

Location 60%

Safety 81%

Staff 82%

Value 74%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • ATM
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 2.54USD

Important Information

Hostel Conditions: Office hours: 8.00 a.m. to 22:00 . daily Check-in time: 13:00. Check-out time: 10.00 a.m.
If arriving after 22:00. please contact the hostel to arrange a late check-in. Early check-in between 9:00 a.m. to 13:00. will depend on room availability.
A copy of your confirmation paper and cash payment balance due is required at check-in time. $50 key deposit is required at check-in time.
Group bookings are welcome.
Cancellation Policy
Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 2 days before arrival (local time). Payments made to Agency are non-refundable.
Check-in / Check-out
13:00 / 10:00

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Christchurch?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 68%

Cleanliness 67%

Facilities 70%

Location 60%

Safety 81%

Staff 82%

Value 74%

Showing 1-10 of 17 reviews

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Staff were friendly.

Disliked: Really far out of town.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Feb 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: ok

Disliked: - On our last morning (end of Febuary), we didnt have time to eat breakfast so we decided to check out and eat after. Wrong idea... the manager (a lady) learned it went literally crazy screaming at us saying we could not stay in the hostel once we had checked out. She also threatened to charge us for a late check out (which i think she did). - They close the kitchen at ridiculous hours for cleaning (always when people need to eat)

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was really near the beach and poor.

Disliked: ..

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great staff, good atmosphere, people super friendly.

Disliked: Really far out of central christchurch

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation / spa

Liked: Close to beach

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Low prices and nice staff

Disliked: cold at night because heat works only for 20 min and we didn't have an extra blanket.

Customer would recommend this property

26% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
26% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I didn't like anything

Disliked: - Ubicacion muy mala, esta completamente fuera de Christchurch, mas de 30 minutos en bus, muy incomodo. (Lo positivo es que el bus para en la puerta).- No recomiendo un hostel tan alejado, incluso si es un poco mas barato que los demas, uno se gasta la diferencia en el ticket del bus.-Me cargaron, sin avisarme, mi estadia en mi tarjeta de credito porque creian que llegaria luego de las 10 pm (cuando recepcion cierra), pero llegue ahi 10 pm en punto...No es mas amigable que el viajero pague al retirarse en ese caso? -Estaba en el banio de planta baja y me pidieron que me fuera porque lo tenian que limpiar, no podian esperar 5 minutos ?-Por lo demas todo el hostel luce sucio, cuartos y banios, ademas a el cuarto se lo veia descuiado y viejo.-El wifi no funcionaba correctamente. No tuve una buena calidad de descanso en la noche que pase alli.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Liegt nahe am Strand, free breakfast

Disliked: The kitchen was a mess

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: So friendly, always happy staff

Disliked: Location a little out of town, but local bus just outside.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Close to the beach

Disliked: The bathrooms didn't seem very clean

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability