We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Avon City Backpackers

Hostel | 563 Worchester Street, Christchurch, New Zealand 8011

43.3% Overall Rating

93 out of 159 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/03/2014)

"The atmosphere and it is a kind of a hippie place where you could stay with tents in the backyard."

Read all Avon City Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 13.18

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Christchurch?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Christchurch

The Old Countryhouse
25.04 USD

Hostel 82.1% 246 reviews
Haka Lodge
17.13 USD

Hostel 87.5% 46 reviews
Canterbury House
23.06 USD

Hostel 85.4% 104 reviews
Bealey Avenue Motel
27.18 USD

Hostel 76.0% 5 reviews
Tranquil Lodge
16.47 USD

Hostel 54.2% 143 reviews
KIWI basecamp
19.11 USD

Hostel 67.8% 158 reviews
YHA Christchurch
21.09 USD

Hostel 86.4% 8 reviews
YMCA Christchurch
20.87 USD

Hostel 82.7% 86 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
43.3%

Overall Rating

93 out of 159 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Avon City Backpackers'

Atmosphere
41.6%
Location
47.2%
Facilities
43.2%
Cleanliness
35.2%
Staff
50.4%
Value
44.0%
Safety
41.6%
Refine your results Showing 114 of 135 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

23 February 2015

Liked: not very much

Disliked: its not really a hostel, just a house thats had a bunch of beds thrown into and tents pitched in the garden, its poorly governed as the owners show up now and then, tidy a bit and take money off people. its dirty, small, always flies everywhere and very unsafe. every other hostel is $30 a night, its completeley worth that extra 5 bucks to not be in this place.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphäre

Disliked: Küche zu klein

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

claire mcintyre

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2015

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere, cheap and not far away from the city center.

Disliked: Sometimes a little bit dirty.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2014

Liked: Nothing!

Disliked: Everything. It was dirty and cluttered. The bed I slept on was a rustic bunk bed that almost crushed my friend who was sleeping under me. My other friend was sleeping on an old hospital bed. The linens were stained. The kitched was an absolute mess. The people living/staying there were extremely creepy. It looked like they wanted to eat us... The location was bad. It was not well lit and you weren't allowed to use the front door. There weren't many street lights so it was rather ominous. Not to mention they don't warn you that you have to pay in cash. Which is rather sketchy in of itself.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Michelle Patton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2014

Liked: There was a free pick from the city.

Disliked: The owners of the hostel wanted me to pay cash only- this was not stated on their website and caused to have to go back out in order to get cash out. When i was picked up from town this was viewed as being an inconvenience and the woman was very rude. She arrived in a very messy, dirty and smelly car and left me standing around for about 30 minutes until she showed me into my room- a small, unclean room with long term guests. This was because she seemed to have no idea what guests were going in what rooms. The kitchen was horrible- there was dirt everywhere. I would suggest travellers pay the extra and stop at other hostels in town.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Syed Sarosh Sohail

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 April 2014 Syed Sarosh would recommend this property

Liked: Owners were very good and cooperative...

Disliked: Nothing...

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Julian Francis Toelle

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2014

Liked: Maybe the price was alright Showers

Disliked: A mess, its like hippies meets drug addicts. There is a prostitute massage right across the street. I had no idea that a hostel like this existed in New Zealand. Its the backside of Christchurch, only reason to stay would be to experience that or as in my case when there were no other dorms available anywhere in town (speaks for itself) However the dorm was alright and if there is no other choice its doable.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

03 March 2014

Liked: The free tea and coffee

Disliked: Everything else!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2014

Liked: The atmosphere and it is a kind of a hippie place where you could stay with tents in the backyard.

Disliked: The beds were very old and didn't look that clean. Rooms were very humid.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 February 2014

Liked: the price

Disliked: unclean and a bit messy

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2013

Liked: Bathrooms were good and clean.

Disliked: Far from City Center. Beds were very uncomfortable. Kitchen was dirty and not very well equipped.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Guoguang He

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 November 2013 Guoguang would recommend this property

Liked: good!

Disliked: Guoguang left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Taiki Miura

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2013

Liked: Close to the shopping mall

Disliked: Smell of path

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Lenette Breytenbach

Alone

Events / festivals

11 October 2013 Lenette would recommend this property

Liked: Very home-y feel

Disliked: Very very cold at night!!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

THAO HO

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2013

Liked: Warm welcome & sharing among guests

Disliked: Small kitchen Look like a desert house from outside

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its a very nice place peacefull and handy to shoping mall

Disliked: nothing

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2013

Liked: There was not much to like about this hostel, it was badly run noise. The guy who was running the place was abit crazy, the phone rang at 2.30 am and he decided to have a half hour conversation outside our room.

Disliked: Dislikes where pretty much everything, it smells of cat piss, its basically a run down shack where the owner is renting out rooms. I would avoid unless desperate.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2013

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: Bad organisation and the building is pretty run-down

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

22 July 2013

Liked: Clean, tidy.

Disliked: Further out than I expected, girls dorm building was totally empty except for myself and the kitchen being used at all hours by everyone.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Zelenka

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2013 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Amazingly warm welcome. I was picked up from the city center and informed of all the damage and reconstruction going on as we drove back to the hostel. The owner helped me arrange my trip to the airport, introduced me to other guests, and instantly made me feel right at home!

Disliked: It's a bit small and a bit of a walk to the city, but I think that is part of its charm

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2013

Liked: Nothing!

Disliked: To many to mention!! Dirty, smells, kitchen was really bad

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Liam Rathbone

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2013 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: Funny owners, real character, and a really sociable hostel.

Disliked: Quite a long distance from the city centre, but this isn't really a big problem as there is nothing to do in CBD at present due to the 2011 earthquake.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Lourdes Guerrero

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Lourdes left no negative feedback.