HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Auckland, New Zealand

93.3%
29 reviews Book Now 
1

Airport Bed & Breakfast

Guesthouse
1 Westney Road, Cnr Westney and Kirkbride Rds, Mangere, Auckland, New Zealand 2022

28 out of 29 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Airport Bed & Breakfast

Atmosphere - 89% Staff - 96% Facilities - 92% Safety - 96%
Location - 87% Cleanliness - 99% Value - 91%
Sharon Andrews
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
71.4%
Sharon would recommend this property 28 September 2012

Very close to airport, Owner was very friendly even suprised me with some sandwiches for my onward journey.

susan cupples
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Family Holiday
94.3%
susan would recommend this property 10 March 2012

Laurel is great . Best place to stay if transitioning from AKL airport for one night stay then back to airport for connecting flgiht. Great to be picked up by Laurel and redilivered next day to airport. Yummy breakfast included. If you are light sleeper do bring ear plugs.

93.1%
78 reviews Book Now 
2

The Attic Backpackers

Hostel
15-31 Wellesley Street, Auckland, New Zealand 1010

75 out of 78 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Attic Backpackers

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 97% Facilities - 88% Safety - 93%
Location - 97% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 90%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 03 July 2014

Good location, wifi was good - some free on arrival and more available at a reasonable price.

misa kalinova
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
85.7%
misa would recommend this property 07 June 2014

Good location, not too big so friendly atmosphere, great kitchen and helpful staff

91.4%
171 reviews Book Now 
3

Ponsonby Backpackers

Hostel
2 Franklin Rd, Ponsonby, Auckland, New Zealand 1011

167 out of 171 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Ponsonby Backpackers

Atmosphere - 93% Staff - 96% Facilities - 84% Safety - 91%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 90%
James Deuschle
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
James would recommend this property 23 April 2014

I love this hostel. I stayed here upon arrival in New Zealand, and for the night prior to my departure. It's very clean, and has a nice and friendly atmosphere. The kitchen is fantastic, and there is a new world supermarket down the street. Also lots of good cafés on ponsonby , right near the hostel. Green bus picks up and drops off nearby, allowing cheap and easy transit into and around the city. The garden behind the hostel is also very relaxing, and the tv lounge is cozy--both are good spots to chill for a few hours.

Customer review
Alone
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 11 March 2014

The staff was very helpful with how to negotiate the city. She called to ask about the bus schedule for me.

89.0%
33 reviews Book Now 
4

Verandahs Backpackers Lodge

Hostel
4-6 Hopetoun Street, Auckland Central, Auckland, New Zealand 1011

32 out of 33 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Verandahs Backpackers Lodge

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 92% Facilities - 85% Safety - 88%
Location - 85% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 88%
Customer review
Alone
City break
68.6%
10 July 2014

The owner/manager was friendly enough and enough. Nicely decorated (recently refurbished). There wasn't much atmosphere despite it being sold out! It would be an amazing location in the summer, but does suck in the winter.

Glenda Satiro
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
88.6%
Glenda would recommend this property 30 April 2014

Nice garden and balconies with beautiful views of the city center and skytower. Quiet location but at the same time near to the city center and to K Road and Ponsonby Rd. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Hostel seems to be very safe. For late arrivals (at night) they have a combination box outside the entrance where they put the roomkey for you. The sunday I stayed there they had a "social event" in the evening: everybody cooked a meal for dinner to share with the others (free to join the event or not). Thanks to the pretty small size of the hostel (compared to yha and others in the center) there is a nice atmosphere. In the lounge there is a guitar and a piano.

88.6%
232 reviews Book Now 
5

K Road City Travellers

Hostel
146 Karangahape Road, Auckland, New Zealand 68884

218 out of 232 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend K Road City Travellers

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 87% Facilities - 88% Safety - 93%
Location - 86% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 88%
Eleanor Lerning
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
80.0%
Eleanor would recommend this property 11 June 2014

Very clean, 2 kitchens to use, good showers with hot water. Breakfast included- toast and jam/peanut butter, tea and coffee. The staff let us into the room when we arrived at 09.30am, which was so nice as we had flown overnight with huge delays from Chile. And free WIFI!! Most other hostels charge cor this extra. So if you have lots of online stuff to do this is great.

Claire McNicholls
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Claire would recommend this property 13 February 2014

Short walk into the city. Free fast wifi and breakfast. One kitchen on each floor. Useful even though it seemed like a small hostel. There was also a balcony you could eat/drink on. Seemed quiet with a few couples and a mix of guest age ranges.

87.4%
431 reviews Book Now 
6

Nomads Auckland Backpackers

Hostel
16 - 20 Fort Street, Auckland, New Zealand 1010

358 out of 431 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Nomads Auckland Backpackers

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 88% Facilities - 83% Safety - 89%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 83% Value - 85%
Customer review
Alone
City break
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 01 July 2014

Great facilities. Cleaned daily. Had a great time. Nothing more I could ask for.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 27 June 2014

Nice clean rooms, although window latch was broken which made the room freezing because it's winter! Good facilities and really great location, close to everything you could need.

87.2%
228 reviews Book Now 
7

City Lodge Backpacker

Hostel
150 Vincent Street, Auckland, New Zealand .

214 out of 228 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend City Lodge Backpacker

Atmosphere - 76% Staff - 87% Facilities - 88% Safety - 90%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 84%
Customer review
Alone
City break, Events / festivals, Shopping
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 22 September 2013

I couldn't be happier with my stay. It was super clean, modern, and the staff was friendly. I had a private single and while it wasn't large it wasn't a closet either, plenty of room for the bed, a desk and chair, fridge, and small wardrobe. There was a jug with tea and coffee selections, a small tv with basic channels (1,2,3,4,Maori,Prime), and a heater. No A/C but the large window opened good enough for a breeze. I had a great view from the 6th floor of sky tower and out over most of Queen St. Didn't use the common areas so can't comment on that.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Romantic getaway
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 11 January 2013

The City Lodge in Auckland is more like a hotel than a hostel. Very professional check in (aside from the receptionist charging us too much which he rectified immediately). We were on the 7th floor so it was very big for a hostel. Our room was lovely with a fridge, tea/coffee making facilities and plenty of plug sockets. The only thing wrong was no air con and the room was unbearably hot when we walked in which only got worse. We opened windows and then woke up freezing in the night. The kitchen and lounge area was in the basement and was very well equipped with multiple sinks, lots of work surface space and cooking utensils. There were nice touches around the hostel like free sun cream at every exit. We would definitely stay here again.

87.1%
23 reviews Book Now 
8

Ibis Budget Auckland Airport

2 star Hotel
2 Leonard Isitt Drive, Auckland Airport, Auckland, New Zealand 2150

22 out of 23 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Ibis Budget Auckland Airport

Atmosphere - 74% Staff - 80% Facilities - 74% Safety - 97%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 90%
Aditya Sinha
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
62.9%
Aditya would recommend this property 22 November 2013

Location - this is right next to the airport, perfect for transit or before you pick up or after dropping off your car/campervan. Basic rooms but great after 2 weeks in a camper!

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Events / festivals
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 10 July 2013

Open all hours, clean, quiet and dark windows. Excellent value and I have recommended it lots already.

86.6%
151 reviews Book Now 
9

YHA Auckland City

Hostel
Cnr Liverpool Street and City, Auckland Central, Auckland, New Zealand 1001

128 out of 151 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend YHA Auckland City

Atmosphere - 74% Staff - 87% Facilities - 86% Safety - 92%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 88%
Charlotte Flook
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife
88.6%
Charlotte would recommend this property 09 June 2014

Clean We booked a 10 bed dorm and ended up with our own room with single beds instead of bunks!

Sotiris Falieris
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Sotiris would recommend this property 02 June 2014

Nice location, with comfortable beds and good kitchen with lots of stuff available to use.

84.6%
10 reviews Book Now 
10

Arena Hotel

2.5 star Hotel
131 Beach Road, Auckland, New Zealand 1010

9 out of 10 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Arena Hotel

Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 98% Facilities - 74% Safety - 84%
Location - 84% Cleanliness - 76% Value - 96%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Events / festivals
65.7%
Customer would recommend this property 04 December 2013

Arena Hotel provided us with the ultimate Auckland experience. The kind Hotel Management only took us to one wrong room before showing us to our actual room. And what a room it was. First impressions are important and the half-filled rubbish bin certainly provided us with a good one. Plenty of space left for us to dispose of anything we wished! Shout out to the previous occupants for being so considerate. The television had not yet been switched over to Freeview. A good reminder of days gone by. The static and low volume made watching repeats of New Zealand's Got Talent a real treat. The remote came with a blob of jam which was great as it forced us to get up and change the channel. Who needs Wii Fit when you have that? The bedding only had minimal stains and the pillows didn't smell overwhelming bad. This made for an excellent sleep. The carpet looked like it had been vacuumed at least once in the last three months. Will probably last through to the New Year before it requires another. The bathroom was a highlight. Of the two nights we stayed, we were lucky enough to have one semi-warm shower each. The mould that featured on all walls reminded us how fickle life is. Once upon a time, we were all just small organisms! It was a hot weekend so thankfully the window couldn't fully close. This was excellent when drunk revellers were loitering on the streets. We felt like we were really part of the big city life. While milk, tea and coffee were not provided, the cupboards and fridge did come with an unusual smell that more than made up for it. Who needs a kettle when you have a musty aroma? Once we were able to leave our room/paradise, we ventured out and explored the rest of the hotel (see photos). We were fortunate enough to witness renovation/demolition magic in process. Many of the rooms were out of order (the doors were kept wide open - we can only assume this was to invite guests in and make them feel like part of the process). The hallways were filled with rubble and debris. We discovered that obstacle courses are fun at any age. The lobby provided us with multiple choices for seating in an arrangement that most would call post-modernism. Overall, the enigma that is the Arena Hotel was an experience that should not be missed. Book now - you probably won't get a disease (we didn't!).

priscilla lee
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
88.6%
priscilla would recommend this property 16 November 2013

a bit further out than the central locations and old building but lovely mattress service and very good value for price

Auckland

42 Hostels from 14.79 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Auckland hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Auckland. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.