We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/05/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/05/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Auckland, New Zealand

92.5%
187 reviews Book Now 
1

Ponsonby Backpackers

Hostel
2 Franklin Rd, Ponsonby, Auckland, New Zealand 1011

182 out of 187 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Ponsonby Backpackers

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 95% Facilities - 87% Safety - 96%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 90%
Laura Maidment
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Laura would recommend this property 22 May 2015

Great kitchen facilities, clean rooms, homely feeling hostel, friendly atmosphere and helpful staff

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
40.0%
19 May 2015

Room was OK, we were lucky to have a car to drive into city as only took 5/10 mins but would of been much longer walk.

90.7%
92 reviews Book Now 
2

The Attic Backpackers

Hostel
15-31 Wellesley Street, Auckland, New Zealand 1010

88 out of 92 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Attic Backpackers

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 92% Facilities - 85% Safety - 92%
Location - 98% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 89%
chelsea cartmel
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering
94.3%
chelsea would recommend this property 30 April 2015

This property is very clean and very welcoming, it is all on one floor like a huge flat but that helps bring everyone together and easier to meet new people. It is a short walk away from the main street and quiet enough to get a great nights sleep.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 20 January 2015

A nice kitchen and eating area where you can easily meet people. Everything was quite clean. Bags could be stored for free on departure day.

89.8%
231 reviews Book Now 
3

City Lodge Backpacker

Hostel
150 Vincent Street, Auckland, New Zealand .

217 out of 231 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend City Lodge Backpacker

Atmosphere - 79% Staff - 91% Facilities - 91% Safety - 91%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 87%
Customer review
Alone
City break, Events / festivals, Shopping
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 22 September 2013

I couldn't be happier with my stay. It was super clean, modern, and the staff was friendly. I had a private single and while it wasn't large it wasn't a closet either, plenty of room for the bed, a desk and chair, fridge, and small wardrobe. There was a jug with tea and coffee selections, a small tv with basic channels (1,2,3,4,Maori,Prime), and a heater. No A/C but the large window opened good enough for a breeze. I had a great view from the 6th floor of sky tower and out over most of Queen St. Didn't use the common areas so can't comment on that.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Romantic getaway
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 11 January 2013

The City Lodge in Auckland is more like a hotel than a hostel. Very professional check in (aside from the receptionist charging us too much which he rectified immediately). We were on the 7th floor so it was very big for a hostel. Our room was lovely with a fridge, tea/coffee making facilities and plenty of plug sockets. The only thing wrong was no air con and the room was unbearably hot when we walked in which only got worse. We opened windows and then woke up freezing in the night. The kitchen and lounge area was in the basement and was very well equipped with multiple sinks, lots of work surface space and cooking utensils. There were nice touches around the hostel like free sun cream at every exit. We would definitely stay here again.

89.6%
40 reviews Book Now 
4

Verandahs Backpackers Lodge

Hostel
4-6 Hopetoun Street, Auckland Central, Auckland, New Zealand 1011

39 out of 40 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Verandahs Backpackers Lodge

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 90% Facilities - 87% Safety - 90%
Location - 87% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 88%
Angela Ormsby
Alone
Business / conference
97.1%
Angela would recommend this property 08 May 2015

A very well run accommodation in a beautifully renovated property. Offers a peaceful stay, well thought out and clean facilities. Staff are friendly and accommodating. Good location close to cafes, restaurants and shops with a short walk to city.

Mike Knowles
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Mike would recommend this property 14 April 2015

Unbelievable backpackers. More like a hotel. Around the corner from lots of bars and about a 25 minute walk into town. Extremely clean and quiet, plus the staff are great.

87.6%
24 reviews Book Now 
5

Ibis Budget Auckland Airport

2 star Hotel
2 Leonard Isitt Drive, Auckland Airport, Auckland, New Zealand 2150

23 out of 24 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Ibis Budget Auckland Airport

Atmosphere - 75% Staff - 81% Facilities - 75% Safety - 97%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 90%
Florence DeLoree
Alone
Partying / nightlife, Relaxation/spa, Shopping
100.0%
Florence would recommend this property 11 September 2014

Close to airport, have flight data board right there and ticket machine for the shuttle service. Very friendly and helpful at reception. There is also a very nice shopping centre across the road and great eating bars attached to hotel. It is my second stay there.

Aditya Sinha
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
62.9%
Aditya would recommend this property 22 November 2013

Location - this is right next to the airport, perfect for transit or before you pick up or after dropping off your car/campervan. Basic rooms but great after 2 weeks in a camper!

85.4%
243 reviews Book Now 
6

BK Hostel

Hostel
3 Mercury Lane, Cnr. Karangahape Road & Mercury Lane, Auckland, New Zealand .

211 out of 243 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend BK Hostel

Atmosphere - 72% Staff - 91% Facilities - 77% Safety - 94%
Location - 87% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 84%
Natalie Baker
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
80.0%
Natalie would recommend this property 11 January 2015

Excellent set up, shared kitchen and bathroom which were never busy and always clean. Very friendly and helpful staff. Reasonable price for being in a major city. It even had a laundrette which was a bonus.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
62.9%
Customer would recommend this property 03 September 2014

Rooms were cool and quirky and clean. Common kitchen was clean and living space -though not overly a social place.

85.3%
14 reviews Book Now 
7

Arena Hotel

2.5 star Hotel
131 Beach Road, Auckland, New Zealand 1010

13 out of 14 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Arena Hotel

Atmosphere - 77% Staff - 95% Facilities - 77% Safety - 85%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 77% Value - 95%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Events / festivals
65.7%
Customer would recommend this property 04 December 2013

Arena Hotel provided us with the ultimate Auckland experience. The kind Hotel Management only took us to one wrong room before showing us to our actual room. And what a room it was. First impressions are important and the half-filled rubbish bin certainly provided us with a good one. Plenty of space left for us to dispose of anything we wished! Shout out to the previous occupants for being so considerate. The television had not yet been switched over to Freeview. A good reminder of days gone by. The static and low volume made watching repeats of New Zealand's Got Talent a real treat. The remote came with a blob of jam which was great as it forced us to get up and change the channel. Who needs Wii Fit when you have that? The bedding only had minimal stains and the pillows didn't smell overwhelming bad. This made for an excellent sleep. The carpet looked like it had been vacuumed at least once in the last three months. Will probably last through to the New Year before it requires another. The bathroom was a highlight. Of the two nights we stayed, we were lucky enough to have one semi-warm shower each. The mould that featured on all walls reminded us how fickle life is. Once upon a time, we were all just small organisms! It was a hot weekend so thankfully the window couldn't fully close. This was excellent when drunk revellers were loitering on the streets. We felt like we were really part of the big city life. While milk, tea and coffee were not provided, the cupboards and fridge did come with an unusual smell that more than made up for it. Who needs a kettle when you have a musty aroma? Once we were able to leave our room/paradise, we ventured out and explored the rest of the hotel (see photos). We were fortunate enough to witness renovation/demolition magic in process. Many of the rooms were out of order (the doors were kept wide open - we can only assume this was to invite guests in and make them feel like part of the process). The hallways were filled with rubble and debris. We discovered that obstacle courses are fun at any age. The lobby provided us with multiple choices for seating in an arrangement that most would call post-modernism. Overall, the enigma that is the Arena Hotel was an experience that should not be missed. Book now - you probably won't get a disease (we didn't!).

priscilla lee
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
88.6%
priscilla would recommend this property 16 November 2013

a bit further out than the central locations and old building but lovely mattress service and very good value for price

84.5%
17 reviews Book Now 
8

Brown Kiwi

Hostel
7 Prosford Street, Auckland, New Zealand 1011

15 out of 17 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Brown Kiwi

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 92% Facilities - 75% Safety - 82%
Location - 83% Cleanliness - 87% Value - 80%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 13 April 2014

Friendly staff and clean rooms! You are around Ponsonby, which is a nice part of Auckland, but still like a 30 minute walk from downtown (or take a bus). But on the other hand it is a quite and relaxing, so if you want some day off, go for it!

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 02 April 2014

We got a double room, in a separate apartment to the right - was great privacy. Kitchen bathroom all clean.

84.2%
23 reviews Book Now 
9

YMCA Hostel

Hostel
Cnr Pitt street and Greys Ave, Auckland, New Zealand 1010

21 out of 23 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend YMCA Hostel

Atmosphere - 73% Staff - 93% Facilities - 78% Safety - 87%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 86% Value - 82%
Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 19 February 2015

The staff is very helpful, cheerful and friendly. I really appreciate the luggage storage. The facilities are clean and tidy. Thank you. I also liked the elevator as I had a lot of luggage.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 28 August 2014

The bathrooms and showers are pristine! Can't imagine cleaner bathrooms in a budget-level dorm setting.

83.7%
251 reviews Book Now 
10

YHA Auckland International

Hostel
5 Turner Street, Auckland, New Zealand .

224 out of 251 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend YHA Auckland International

Atmosphere - 77% Staff - 85% Facilities - 80% Safety - 87%
Location - 86% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 80%
Pablo Cuneo
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
62.9%
31 January 2015

The staff was very helpful. They had no penmen checking me in at 4 am. The beds were decent

bindi bilimoria
Alone
Visiting friends or family
100.0%
bindi would recommend this property 18 November 2014

It was a very good experience. Room mates were very nice to me and I enjoyed 1 night a lot. And will sure come back

Auckland

43 Hostels from 13.83 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Auckland hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Auckland. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.