We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Auckland, New Zealand

92.3%
173 reviews Book Now 
1

Ponsonby Backpackers

Hostel
2 Franklin Rd, Ponsonby, Auckland, New Zealand 1011

169 out of 173 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Ponsonby Backpackers

Atmosphere - 95% Staff - 96% Facilities - 85% Safety - 92%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 90%
Customer review
Alone
Work / volunteering
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 21 August 2014

Extremely friendly staff, and probably one of the cleanest hostels I have stayed in. Very good location, small and cosy rooms and nice people :-)

James Deuschle
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
James would recommend this property 23 April 2014

I love this hostel. I stayed here upon arrival in New Zealand, and for the night prior to my departure. It's very clean, and has a nice and friendly atmosphere. The kitchen is fantastic, and there is a new world supermarket down the street. Also lots of good cafés on ponsonby , right near the hostel. Green bus picks up and drops off nearby, allowing cheap and easy transit into and around the city. The garden behind the hostel is also very relaxing, and the tv lounge is cozy--both are good spots to chill for a few hours.

92.2%
83 reviews Book Now 
2

The Attic Backpackers

Hostel
15-31 Wellesley Street, Auckland, New Zealand 1010

80 out of 83 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Attic Backpackers

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 96% Facilities - 88% Safety - 94%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 89%
James Catchpole
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
James would recommend this property 09 September 2014

It is nice, clean and appealing in all areas . Facilities are all here and the location is as good as any if not perfect. A little further down queens street and it may be a lot noisier.

Elizabeth Creek
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
91.4%
Elizabeth would recommend this property 05 August 2014

All areas were clean and spacious. There was a good amount of communal soace and the kitchen was one of the best Ive seen in a hostel.

89.6%
35 reviews Book Now 
3

Verandahs Backpackers Lodge

Hostel
4-6 Hopetoun Street, Auckland Central, Auckland, New Zealand 1011

34 out of 35 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Verandahs Backpackers Lodge

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 92% Facilities - 88% Safety - 89%
Location - 84% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 88%
Darren Low
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation/spa, Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Darren would recommend this property 24 August 2014

One of the owners, Campbell, has been very friendly and accommodating with the requests of the guests. Not to mention the regular movie nights, walk-around excursions, BBQs and other various activities contribute to the cosy atmosphere.

Customer review
Alone
City break
68.6%
10 July 2014

The owner/manager was friendly enough and enough. Nicely decorated (recently refurbished). There wasn't much atmosphere despite it being sold out! It would be an amazing location in the summer, but does suck in the winter.

88.0%
441 reviews Book Now 
4

Nomads Auckland Backpackers

Hostel
16 - 20 Fort Street, Auckland, New Zealand 1010

366 out of 441 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Nomads Auckland Backpackers

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 96% Facilities - 80% Safety - 89%
Location - 97% Cleanliness - 82% Value - 84%
Rachael Barrow
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Rachael would recommend this property 18 August 2014

Stayed in awful accommodation prior to this for more/same price, so felt like we won the lottery staying here! So clean and welcoming. Really helpful that you can leave bags next door as we had to do this and free wifi in there was an amazing bonus. Showers really clean and general vibe was the nicest we have stayed in so far.

Customer review
Alone
City break
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 01 July 2014

Great facilities. Cleaned daily. Had a great time. Nothing more I could ask for.

87.6%
24 reviews Book Now 
5

Ibis Budget Auckland Airport

2 star Hotel
2 Leonard Isitt Drive, Auckland Airport, Auckland, New Zealand 2150

23 out of 24 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Ibis Budget Auckland Airport

Atmosphere - 75% Staff - 81% Facilities - 75% Safety - 97%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 90%
Florence DeLoree
Alone
Partying / nightlife, Relaxation/spa, Shopping
100.0%
Florence would recommend this property 11 September 2014

Close to airport, have flight data board right there and ticket machine for the shuttle service. Very friendly and helpful at reception. There is also a very nice shopping centre across the road and great eating bars attached to hotel. It is my second stay there.

Aditya Sinha
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
62.9%
Aditya would recommend this property 22 November 2013

Location - this is right next to the airport, perfect for transit or before you pick up or after dropping off your car/campervan. Basic rooms but great after 2 weeks in a camper!

87.2%
228 reviews Book Now 
6

City Lodge Backpacker

Hostel
150 Vincent Street, Auckland, New Zealand .

214 out of 228 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend City Lodge Backpacker

Atmosphere - 76% Staff - 87% Facilities - 88% Safety - 90%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 84%
Customer review
Alone
City break, Events / festivals, Shopping
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 22 September 2013

I couldn't be happier with my stay. It was super clean, modern, and the staff was friendly. I had a private single and while it wasn't large it wasn't a closet either, plenty of room for the bed, a desk and chair, fridge, and small wardrobe. There was a jug with tea and coffee selections, a small tv with basic channels (1,2,3,4,Maori,Prime), and a heater. No A/C but the large window opened good enough for a breeze. I had a great view from the 6th floor of sky tower and out over most of Queen St. Didn't use the common areas so can't comment on that.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Romantic getaway
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 11 January 2013

The City Lodge in Auckland is more like a hotel than a hostel. Very professional check in (aside from the receptionist charging us too much which he rectified immediately). We were on the 7th floor so it was very big for a hostel. Our room was lovely with a fridge, tea/coffee making facilities and plenty of plug sockets. The only thing wrong was no air con and the room was unbearably hot when we walked in which only got worse. We opened windows and then woke up freezing in the night. The kitchen and lounge area was in the basement and was very well equipped with multiple sinks, lots of work surface space and cooking utensils. There were nice touches around the hostel like free sun cream at every exit. We would definitely stay here again.

86.4%
237 reviews Book Now 
7

K Road City Travellers

Hostel
146 Karangahape Road, Auckland, New Zealand 68884

222 out of 237 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend K Road City Travellers

Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 83% Facilities - 86% Safety - 93%
Location - 85% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 85%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
77.1%
31 August 2014

Facilities were regularly cleaned, lockers in rooms and free toast and wifi provided.

Eleanor Lerning
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
80.0%
Eleanor would recommend this property 11 June 2014

Very clean, 2 kitchens to use, good showers with hot water. Breakfast included- toast and jam/peanut butter, tea and coffee. The staff let us into the room when we arrived at 09.30am, which was so nice as we had flown overnight with huge delays from Chile. And free WIFI!! Most other hostels charge cor this extra. So if you have lots of online stuff to do this is great.

86.2%
152 reviews Book Now 
8

YHA Auckland City

Hostel
Cnr Liverpool Street and City, Auckland Central, Auckland, New Zealand 1001

129 out of 152 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend YHA Auckland City

Atmosphere - 74% Staff - 86% Facilities - 85% Safety - 92%
Location - 86% Cleanliness - 89% Value - 88%
Charlotte Flook
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife
88.6%
Charlotte would recommend this property 09 June 2014

Clean We booked a 10 bed dorm and ended up with our own room with single beds instead of bunks!

Sotiris Falieris
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Sotiris would recommend this property 02 June 2014

Nice location, with comfortable beds and good kitchen with lots of stuff available to use.

84.3%
16 reviews Book Now 
9

Brown Kiwi

Hostel
7 Prosford Street, Auckland, New Zealand 1011

14 out of 16 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Brown Kiwi

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 92% Facilities - 75% Safety - 81%
Location - 83% Cleanliness - 87% Value - 80%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 13 April 2014

Friendly staff and clean rooms! You are around Ponsonby, which is a nice part of Auckland, but still like a 30 minute walk from downtown (or take a bus). But on the other hand it is a quite and relaxing, so if you want some day off, go for it!

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 02 April 2014

We got a double room, in a separate apartment to the right - was great privacy. Kitchen bathroom all clean.

84.0%
12 reviews Book Now 
10

Arena Hotel

2.5 star Hotel
131 Beach Road, Auckland, New Zealand 1010

11 out of 12 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Arena Hotel

Atmosphere - 78% Staff - 95% Facilities - 75% Safety - 83%
Location - 86% Cleanliness - 75% Value - 95%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Events / festivals
65.7%
Customer would recommend this property 04 December 2013

Arena Hotel provided us with the ultimate Auckland experience. The kind Hotel Management only took us to one wrong room before showing us to our actual room. And what a room it was. First impressions are important and the half-filled rubbish bin certainly provided us with a good one. Plenty of space left for us to dispose of anything we wished! Shout out to the previous occupants for being so considerate. The television had not yet been switched over to Freeview. A good reminder of days gone by. The static and low volume made watching repeats of New Zealand's Got Talent a real treat. The remote came with a blob of jam which was great as it forced us to get up and change the channel. Who needs Wii Fit when you have that? The bedding only had minimal stains and the pillows didn't smell overwhelming bad. This made for an excellent sleep. The carpet looked like it had been vacuumed at least once in the last three months. Will probably last through to the New Year before it requires another. The bathroom was a highlight. Of the two nights we stayed, we were lucky enough to have one semi-warm shower each. The mould that featured on all walls reminded us how fickle life is. Once upon a time, we were all just small organisms! It was a hot weekend so thankfully the window couldn't fully close. This was excellent when drunk revellers were loitering on the streets. We felt like we were really part of the big city life. While milk, tea and coffee were not provided, the cupboards and fridge did come with an unusual smell that more than made up for it. Who needs a kettle when you have a musty aroma? Once we were able to leave our room/paradise, we ventured out and explored the rest of the hotel (see photos). We were fortunate enough to witness renovation/demolition magic in process. Many of the rooms were out of order (the doors were kept wide open - we can only assume this was to invite guests in and make them feel like part of the process). The hallways were filled with rubble and debris. We discovered that obstacle courses are fun at any age. The lobby provided us with multiple choices for seating in an arrangement that most would call post-modernism. Overall, the enigma that is the Arena Hotel was an experience that should not be missed. Book now - you probably won't get a disease (we didn't!).

priscilla lee
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
88.6%
priscilla would recommend this property 16 November 2013

a bit further out than the central locations and old building but lovely mattress service and very good value for price

Auckland

43 Hostels from 13.23 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Auckland hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Auckland. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.