We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/01/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/01/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Auckland, New Zealand

93.3%
178 reviews Book Now 
1

Ponsonby Backpackers

Hostel
2 Franklin Rd, Ponsonby, Auckland, New Zealand 1011

174 out of 178 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Ponsonby Backpackers

Atmosphere - 95% Staff - 97% Facilities - 86% Safety - 94%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 92%
Customer review
Alone
Work / volunteering
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 21 August 2014

Extremely friendly staff, and probably one of the cleanest hostels I have stayed in. Very good location, small and cosy rooms and nice people :-)

James Deuschle
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
James would recommend this property 23 April 2014

I love this hostel. I stayed here upon arrival in New Zealand, and for the night prior to my departure. It's very clean, and has a nice and friendly atmosphere. The kitchen is fantastic, and there is a new world supermarket down the street. Also lots of good cafés on ponsonby , right near the hostel. Green bus picks up and drops off nearby, allowing cheap and easy transit into and around the city. The garden behind the hostel is also very relaxing, and the tv lounge is cozy--both are good spots to chill for a few hours.

90.5%
88 reviews Book Now 
2

The Attic Backpackers

Hostel
15-31 Wellesley Street, Auckland, New Zealand 1010

84 out of 88 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Attic Backpackers

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 93% Facilities - 86% Safety - 92%
Location - 98% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 88%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 20 January 2015

A nice kitchen and eating area where you can easily meet people. Everything was quite clean. Bags could be stored for free on departure day.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
80.0%
Customer would recommend this property 24 December 2014

The location was awesome. It was 5 minutes walk from the bus station and close to the art museum, the airport shuttle and a lot of good restaurants.

89.6%
36 reviews Book Now 
3

Verandahs Backpackers Lodge

Hostel
4-6 Hopetoun Street, Auckland Central, Auckland, New Zealand 1011

35 out of 36 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Verandahs Backpackers Lodge

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 92% Facilities - 88% Safety - 89%
Location - 84% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 88%
Darren Low
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation/spa, Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Darren would recommend this property 24 August 2014

One of the owners, Campbell, has been very friendly and accommodating with the requests of the guests. Not to mention the regular movie nights, walk-around excursions, BBQs and other various activities contribute to the cosy atmosphere.

Customer review
Alone
City break
68.6%
10 July 2014

The owner/manager was friendly enough and enough. Nicely decorated (recently refurbished). There wasn't much atmosphere despite it being sold out! It would be an amazing location in the summer, but does suck in the winter.

87.6%
24 reviews Book Now 
4

Ibis Budget Auckland Airport

2 star Hotel
2 Leonard Isitt Drive, Auckland Airport, Auckland, New Zealand 2150

23 out of 24 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Ibis Budget Auckland Airport

Atmosphere - 75% Staff - 81% Facilities - 75% Safety - 97%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 90%
Florence DeLoree
Alone
Partying / nightlife, Relaxation/spa, Shopping
100.0%
Florence would recommend this property 11 September 2014

Close to airport, have flight data board right there and ticket machine for the shuttle service. Very friendly and helpful at reception. There is also a very nice shopping centre across the road and great eating bars attached to hotel. It is my second stay there.

Aditya Sinha
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
62.9%
Aditya would recommend this property 22 November 2013

Location - this is right next to the airport, perfect for transit or before you pick up or after dropping off your car/campervan. Basic rooms but great after 2 weeks in a camper!

87.2%
228 reviews Book Now 
5

City Lodge Backpacker

Hostel
150 Vincent Street, Auckland, New Zealand .

214 out of 228 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend City Lodge Backpacker

Atmosphere - 76% Staff - 87% Facilities - 88% Safety - 90%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 84%
Customer review
Alone
City break, Events / festivals, Shopping
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 22 September 2013

I couldn't be happier with my stay. It was super clean, modern, and the staff was friendly. I had a private single and while it wasn't large it wasn't a closet either, plenty of room for the bed, a desk and chair, fridge, and small wardrobe. There was a jug with tea and coffee selections, a small tv with basic channels (1,2,3,4,Maori,Prime), and a heater. No A/C but the large window opened good enough for a breeze. I had a great view from the 6th floor of sky tower and out over most of Queen St. Didn't use the common areas so can't comment on that.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Romantic getaway
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 11 January 2013

The City Lodge in Auckland is more like a hotel than a hostel. Very professional check in (aside from the receptionist charging us too much which he rectified immediately). We were on the 7th floor so it was very big for a hostel. Our room was lovely with a fridge, tea/coffee making facilities and plenty of plug sockets. The only thing wrong was no air con and the room was unbearably hot when we walked in which only got worse. We opened windows and then woke up freezing in the night. The kitchen and lounge area was in the basement and was very well equipped with multiple sinks, lots of work surface space and cooking utensils. There were nice touches around the hostel like free sun cream at every exit. We would definitely stay here again.

85.8%
157 reviews Book Now 
6

YHA Auckland City

Hostel
Cnr Liverpool Street and City, Auckland Central, Auckland, New Zealand 1001

134 out of 157 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend YHA Auckland City

Atmosphere - 76% Staff - 87% Facilities - 86% Safety - 92%
Location - 81% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 88%
Charlotte Flook
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife
88.6%
Charlotte would recommend this property 09 June 2014

Clean We booked a 10 bed dorm and ended up with our own room with single beds instead of bunks!

Sotiris Falieris
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Sotiris would recommend this property 02 June 2014

Nice location, with comfortable beds and good kitchen with lots of stuff available to use.

84.6%
241 reviews Book Now 
7

K Road City Travellers

Hostel
146 Karangahape Road, Auckland, New Zealand 68884

225 out of 241 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend K Road City Travellers

Atmosphere - 76% Staff - 83% Facilities - 85% Safety - 92%
Location - 83% Cleanliness - 87% Value - 84%
Ryan Ulatowski
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Ryan would recommend this property 20 January 2015

Clean, helpful, quiet good location. Free simple breakfast. Good free wifi. Computers

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 25 December 2014

Nice and very friendly staff, free breakfast and wifi, nice kitchen. had a good time and nothing to complain

84.5%
32 reviews Book Now 
8

City Garden Lodge

Hostel
25 St Georges Bay Road, Parnell, Auckland, New Zealand 1052

30 out of 32 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend City Garden Lodge

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 89% Facilities - 77% Safety - 85%
Location - 82% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 82%
Customer review
Alone
Work / volunteering
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 01 May 2013

The staff exuded friendliness and went above and beyond to make my stay a pleasant one: they were so eager to be helpful, I almost felt bad for not needing their assistance more! Truly wonderful people. The atmosphere was great too -lovely communal spaces warm and open and full of laughter.

katinka verhagen
With my spouse / partner
Family Holiday
91.4%
katinka would recommend this property 30 April 2013

the people who run this lodge were extra friendly. (helpfull with finding me a parkings spot for the car). the room was nice of size. there even was a 2-person couch in our room! the showers were well thought of (devided by a door, not a shower curtain) so no water on the floor after you had showered.

84.3%
104 reviews Book Now 
9

Freemans Backpackers

Hostel
65 Wellington Street, Freemans Bay, Auckland, New Zealand .

98 out of 104 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Freemans Backpackers

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 88% Facilities - 80% Safety - 88%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 85% Value - 82%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 25 December 2014

private lockers in rooms, close to new world supermarket, clean, garden access, free WiFi (was ok)

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Events / festivals
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 02 February 2014

Bed was great and the atmosphere between guests was fantastic. Quiet at night. Central but away from traffic noise. We would stay here again over going to a central city motel.

84.3%
240 reviews Book Now 
10

BK Hostel

Hostel
3 Mercury Lane, Cnr. Karangahape Road & Mercury Lane, Auckland, New Zealand .

208 out of 240 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend BK Hostel

Atmosphere - 70% Staff - 90% Facilities - 77% Safety - 94%
Location - 86% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 82%
Natalie Baker
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
80.0%
Natalie would recommend this property 11 January 2015

Excellent set up, shared kitchen and bathroom which were never busy and always clean. Very friendly and helpful staff. Reasonable price for being in a major city. It even had a laundrette which was a bonus.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
62.9%
Customer would recommend this property 03 September 2014

Rooms were cool and quirky and clean. Common kitchen was clean and living space -though not overly a social place.

Auckland

45 Hostels from 17.12 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Auckland hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Auckland. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.