HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Auckland, New Zealand

95.9%
62 reviews Book Now 
1

The Attic Backpackers

Hostel
15-31 Wellesley Street, Auckland, New Zealand 1010

60 out of 62 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Attic Backpackers

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 97% Facilities - 94% Safety - 95%
Location - 99% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 97%
Julia Parkhouse
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Julia would recommend this property 19 April 2014

I stayed in a 4 bed female dorm. The rooms were probably the most spacious I've found in a hostel in New Zealand. There were plenty of showers and toilets too for the amount of people staying in the hostel. The kitchen facilities were fantastic and always kept really clean. A good, central Location for exploring the city.

Jeremy Smith
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
Jeremy would recommend this property 16 March 2014

Good, central location just a couple of blocks from the Sky tower. All the facilities are clean and new, and the staff is very friendly.

93.3%
29 reviews Book Now 
2

Airport Bed & Breakfast

Guesthouse
1 Westney Road, Cnr Westney and Kirkbride Rds, Mangere, Auckland, New Zealand 2022

28 out of 29 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Airport Bed & Breakfast

Atmosphere - 89% Staff - 96% Facilities - 92% Safety - 96%
Location - 87% Cleanliness - 99% Value - 91%
Sharon Andrews
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
71.4%
Sharon would recommend this property 28 September 2012

Very close to airport, Owner was very friendly even suprised me with some sandwiches for my onward journey.

susan cupples
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Family Holiday
94.3%
susan would recommend this property 10 March 2012

Laurel is great . Best place to stay if transitioning from AKL airport for one night stay then back to airport for connecting flgiht. Great to be picked up by Laurel and redilivered next day to airport. Yummy breakfast included. If you are light sleeper do bring ear plugs.

91.5%
170 reviews Book Now 
3

Ponsonby Backpackers

Hostel
2 Franklin Rd, Ponsonby, Auckland, New Zealand 1011

166 out of 170 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Ponsonby Backpackers

Atmosphere - 93% Staff - 96% Facilities - 84% Safety - 91%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 91%
James Deuschle
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
James would recommend this property 23 April 2014

I love this hostel. I stayed here upon arrival in New Zealand, and for the night prior to my departure. It's very clean, and has a nice and friendly atmosphere. The kitchen is fantastic, and there is a new world supermarket down the street. Also lots of good cafés on ponsonby , right near the hostel. Green bus picks up and drops off nearby, allowing cheap and easy transit into and around the city. The garden behind the hostel is also very relaxing, and the tv lounge is cozy--both are good spots to chill for a few hours.

Customer review
Alone
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 11 March 2014

The staff was very helpful with how to negotiate the city. She called to ask about the bus schedule for me.

90.5%
31 reviews Book Now 
4

Verandahs Backpackers Lodge

Hostel
4-6 Hopetoun Street, Auckland Central, Auckland, New Zealand 1011

31 out of 31 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Verandahs Backpackers Lodge

Atmosphere - 93% Staff - 92% Facilities - 87% Safety - 89%
Location - 85% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 92%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
71.4%
Customer would recommend this property 31 January 2014

It felt like you were staying in someone's home and not just a hotel room. Plus point that they had single beds in the dorm room I stayed in.

Hannah Atwell
With friends / other travellers
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
97.1%
Hannah would recommend this property 12 December 2013

Very large rooms, very clean bathrooms. We stayed in a triple bedroom and it was the largest room we'd stayed in our whole trip. Huge Kitchen and lounge room area that has everything you need. Very nice buildings, great staff (super helpful). Only a short walk into the city centre. Surrounding suburb Ponsonby was very nice, lots of nice shops and restaurants as well as a shopping centre and supermarket nearby.

88.1%
230 reviews Book Now 
5

K Road City Travellers

Hostel
146 Karangahape Road, Auckland, New Zealand 68884

216 out of 230 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend K Road City Travellers

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 88% Facilities - 86% Safety - 92%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 85%
Claire McNicholls
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Claire would recommend this property 13 February 2014

Short walk into the city. Free fast wifi and breakfast. One kitchen on each floor. Useful even though it seemed like a small hostel. There was also a balcony you could eat/drink on. Seemed quiet with a few couples and a mix of guest age ranges.

Kai Ammerich
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
77.1%
Kai would recommend this property 18 January 2014

free breakfast, it is easy, but fair enough. location is nice, just 10 walking minutes to city centre, very clean

87.2%
228 reviews Book Now 
6

City Lodge Backpacker

Hostel
150 Vincent Street, Auckland, New Zealand .

214 out of 228 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend City Lodge Backpacker

Atmosphere - 76% Staff - 87% Facilities - 88% Safety - 90%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 84%
Customer review
Alone
City break, Events / festivals, Shopping
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 22 September 2013

I couldn't be happier with my stay. It was super clean, modern, and the staff was friendly. I had a private single and while it wasn't large it wasn't a closet either, plenty of room for the bed, a desk and chair, fridge, and small wardrobe. There was a jug with tea and coffee selections, a small tv with basic channels (1,2,3,4,Maori,Prime), and a heater. No A/C but the large window opened good enough for a breeze. I had a great view from the 6th floor of sky tower and out over most of Queen St. Didn't use the common areas so can't comment on that.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Romantic getaway
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 11 January 2013

The City Lodge in Auckland is more like a hotel than a hostel. Very professional check in (aside from the receptionist charging us too much which he rectified immediately). We were on the 7th floor so it was very big for a hostel. Our room was lovely with a fridge, tea/coffee making facilities and plenty of plug sockets. The only thing wrong was no air con and the room was unbearably hot when we walked in which only got worse. We opened windows and then woke up freezing in the night. The kitchen and lounge area was in the basement and was very well equipped with multiple sinks, lots of work surface space and cooking utensils. There were nice touches around the hostel like free sun cream at every exit. We would definitely stay here again.

86.9%
145 reviews Book Now 
7

YHA Auckland City

Hostel
Cnr Liverpool Street and City, Auckland Central, Auckland, New Zealand 1001

123 out of 145 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend YHA Auckland City

Atmosphere - 79% Staff - 90% Facilities - 84% Safety - 90%
Location - 85% Cleanliness - 87% Value - 91%
Wen Guo
With my spouse / partner
Family Holiday, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture
82.9%
Wen would recommend this property 27 February 2014

Very close to CBD. Next to a great grocery shop and a cool breakfast bagel place.

Shane Walshe
Alone
Work / volunteering
94.3%
Shane would recommend this property 01 February 2014

Great location. .friendly staff,good kitchen that is open 24/7 unlike other Hostels.

86.4%
21 reviews Book Now 
8

Ibis Budget Auckland Airport

2 star Hotel
2 Leonard Isitt Drive, Auckland Airport, Auckland, New Zealand 2150

20 out of 21 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Ibis Budget Auckland Airport

Atmosphere - 73% Staff - 79% Facilities - 74% Safety - 97%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 89%
Aditya Sinha
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
62.9%
Aditya would recommend this property 22 November 2013

Location - this is right next to the airport, perfect for transit or before you pick up or after dropping off your car/campervan. Basic rooms but great after 2 weeks in a camper!

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Events / festivals
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 10 July 2013

Open all hours, clean, quiet and dark windows. Excellent value and I have recommended it lots already.

85.9%
15 reviews Book Now 
9

The Station Backpackers

Hostel
Level 5, 131 Beach Road, Auckland City, Auckland, New Zealand 1010

13 out of 15 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Station Backpackers

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 93% Facilities - 80% Safety - 89%
Location - 86% Cleanliness - 82% Value - 85%
Anna Hendrey
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Anna would recommend this property 18 March 2014

I loved this hostel!! The owner is the sweetest man, always has a smile and is very helpful. The description doesn't do the place justice. My 8 bed dorm was bigger than any 12 bed I've ever had, the bathrooms are modern and light, and everything is well cleaned. This communal area is good, with a large TV and iPod Dock. The kitchen has everything you need, plus communal tea, coffee and even pasta, rice, flour, sugar, salt, oil etc. are provided, he even gave out loads of free postcards - now that's value for money! It has a lovely atmosphere, and is in a good location with transport and plenty of shopping opportunities. Would reckomend to anyone! Thanks for a great stay!

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 15 March 2014

A lift to get you to the 5th floor was good. The bathrooms were ridiculously clean and brand new. Pretty impressive. Bed were comfy and lockers were free to use although I didnt use them.

84.6%
18 reviews Book Now 
10

YMCA Hostel

Hostel
Cnr Pitt street and Greys Ave, Auckland, New Zealand 1010

17 out of 18 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend YMCA Hostel

Atmosphere - 71% Staff - 91% Facilities - 80% Safety - 87%
Location - 91% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 82%
Vivek Batra
Alone
Work / volunteering
100.0%
Vivek would recommend this property 21 March 2014

They got exceptional hospitality . I would say there is nothing which i could find wrong with this hostel . If you look at Auckland city , there are plenty of options and in the peak season other back papers fluctuate their rates and sometimes policies too. But YMCA is very clear about their policies , rules and regulations. Apart from it their location is best in terms of proximity to the city.

Gregory Doane
Alone
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family
82.9%
Gregory would recommend this property 10 January 2012

I was hardly there but when I would arrive it was comfortable. It had adequate facilities for cooking and was only 10 minute walk from heart of downtown. It had an apparently nice physical fitness area for $10NZ (I think) and too bad it didn't have a pool; pools are such great places after lots of walking. Also, if I were designing such a place, I'd put a friendly bar with lagers and ales made on premises, but no drunks, it's the YMCA after all.

Auckland

42 Hostels from 16.24 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Auckland hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Auckland. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.