HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Surf 'N' Snow Backpackers Auckland Hostel

Level 1, 102 Albert Street, Auckland, New Zealand

Atmosphere 54%

Cleanliness 50%

Facilities 57%

Location 92%

Safety 63%

Staff 79%

Value 63%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 1.44USD
  • Towel 0.72USD

Important Information

From airport:phone 363-8889 or touch 60 on the freephone at Auckland International Airport and Domestic Airport arrival hall, and we'll tell you how to get here.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 54%

Cleanliness 50%

Facilities 57%

Location 92%

Safety 63%

Staff 79%

Value 63%

Showing 1-10 of 11 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location, friendly atmosphere

Disliked: Not enough showers and laundry not great

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very good location in the city. Walking distance to everywhere.

Disliked: Room was very unclean

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Work / volunteering

Liked: Nothing!

Disliked: It's the worst hostel I saw in New Zealand! I don't get why people write good reviews here.The toilets in the second floor are a thousand years old and dirty, the rooms are old, dirty and you have tubes going through the dorm room so you can always here when somebody flushs the toilet.The "lounge" is direct at the reception and has only a few sofas around with nothing to do and without any flair!The kitchen is pretty old to so two of three ovens are disgusting and not really working. There where no glasses so we had to drink out of bowls. And there where nearly no plates and stuff at all.The receptionists where friendly. That's probably the only good thing but that should be a normal standard!So a big dislike and don't stay there! There are many hostels in Auckland for the same price which are much much better!

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location

Disliked: Kitchen area is dirty, showers are poor and doors do not lock. Showers did not work at all Friday morning.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife

Liked: I liked that the staf were very nice an easy to talk. The people staying there were very friendly an the location is really really good right in the heart of aucklands cbd

Disliked: The ventilation wasnt very good an the kitchen was to small

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location

Disliked: Showers weren't great

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: Great location, cheap, friendly staff and a nice place to relax in the big city .

Disliked: The bathrooms could be more clean and the carpet in the room

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: When i arrived the reception team was really nice to me and give me a lot of informations about auckland and NZ in generally, what was really usefull for me, because was the first day in NZ for me. It's a good place to meet other people, special in the kitchen and in the TV room.The Hostel is really clean. The housekeeping is cleaning every couple of hours the kitchen and bathrooms, special after lunch and dinner times.I plan to travel around NZ and if all hostel, where i will stay in the futuere, are like this i am really happy!! I suggest that hostel, special people who are new in Auckland!!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Was a decent sized room, location was good and there was also a lockable storage box in room

Disliked: Facilities such as bathrooms were outdated, cramped and dirty. Mattress on the bed was also very old and uncomfortable and needs changing.window permanently jammed open so noisy from outside roads. Kitchen too small and dingy for hostel of that size, felt like staff main priority in kitchen with little room if any to store things in kitchen

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Only location.

Disliked: Rooms stink, beds are uncomfortable, the kitchen is messy and people are loud at night.

Check Availability