We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Surf'N'Snow Backpackers

Hostel | Corner Victoria St. & Albert St, Auckland, New Zealand .

66.3% Overall Rating

50 out of 81 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/02/2015)

jesse james Goodger thinks…

"I liked that the staf were very nice an easy to talk. The people staying there were very friendly an the location is really really good right in the heart of aucklands cbd"

Read all Surf'N'Snow Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.51
  • Towel USD 0.75

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

From airport:phone 363-8889 or touch 60 on the freephone at Auckland International Airport and Domestic Airport arrival hall, and we'll tell you how to get here.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Auckland

ibis Styles Auckland (prev. All Seasons Auckland)
44.85 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.2% 19 reviews
Base Auckland
21.11 USD

Hostel 77.5% 349 reviews
The Attic Backpackers
21.86 USD

Hostel 90.6% 91 reviews
Choice Backpackers
15.08 USD

Hostel 71.7% 118 reviews
Frienz.com Backpackers Accommodation Auckland
18.09 USD

Hostel 82.9% 155 reviews
Queen Street Backpackers
20.35 USD

Hostel 77.8% 9 reviews
Nomads Auckland Backpackers
15.83 USD

Hostel 77.9% 463 reviews
Auckland City Hotel
48.24 USD

Hotel 4 star 84.9% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
66.3%

Overall Rating

50 out of 81 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Surf'N'Snow Backpackers'

Atmosphere
54.4%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
58.4%
Cleanliness
53.6%
Staff
77.6%
Value
60.0%
Safety
66.4%
Refine your results Showing 51 of 57 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Nicolas Kuenzel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

17 March 2015

Liked: Nothing!

Disliked: It's the worst hostel I saw in New Zealand! I don't get why people write good reviews here. The toilets in the second floor are a thousand years old and dirty, the rooms are old, dirty and you have tubes going through the dorm room so you can always here when somebody flushs the toilet. The "lounge" is direct at the reception and has only a few sofas around with nothing to do and without any flair! The kitchen is pretty old to so two of three ovens are disgusting and not really working. There where no glasses so we had to drink out of bowls. And there where nearly no plates and stuff at all. The receptionists where friendly. That's probably the only good thing but that should be a normal standard! So a big dislike and don't stay there! There are many hostels in Auckland for the same price which are much much better!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2015

Liked: Location

Disliked: Kitchen area is dirty, showers are poor and doors do not lock. Showers did not work at all Friday morning.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

jesse james Goodger

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

03 February 2015 jesse james would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that the staf were very nice an easy to talk. The people staying there were very friendly an the location is really really good right in the heart of aucklands cbd

Disliked: The ventilation wasnt very good an the kitchen was to small

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Steven Garratt

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2015 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Showers weren't great

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

19 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, cheap, friendly staff and a nice place to relax in the big city .

Disliked: The bathrooms could be more clean and the carpet in the room

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: When i arrived the reception team was really nice to me and give me a lot of informations about auckland and NZ in generally, what was really usefull for me, because was the first day in NZ for me. It's a good place to meet other people, special in the kitchen and in the TV room. The Hostel is really clean. The housekeeping is cleaning every couple of hours the kitchen and bathrooms, special after lunch and dinner times. I plan to travel around NZ and if all hostel, where i will stay in the futuere, are like this i am really happy!! I suggest that hostel, special people who are new in Auckland!!

Disliked: Nothing

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Jack Wiseman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 December 2013

Liked: Was a decent sized room, location was good and there was also a lockable storage box in room

Disliked: Facilities such as bathrooms were outdated, cramped and dirty. Mattress on the bed was also very old and uncomfortable and needs changing.window permanently jammed open so noisy from outside roads. Kitchen too small and dingy for hostel of that size, felt like staff main priority in kitchen with little room if any to store things in kitchen

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

16 September 2013

Liked: Only location.

Disliked: Rooms stink, beds are uncomfortable, the kitchen is messy and people are loud at night.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals

16 September 2013

Liked: Very close to the CBD; central.

Disliked: You can hear the water going through the pipes.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2013

Liked: Great location

Disliked: No atmosphere, over priced room with no windows. Had worst nights sleep in any hostel I've ever stayed. They should not have been renting the room.... Rediculous.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2012

Liked: There were good security measures in place, most of the staff were eager to help

Disliked: It was very dirty. Bed was horrible. External noise.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

PIK KWAN LUI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2011 PIK KWAN would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good and easy to find

Disliked: Toilet , kitchen are located at different floor . It is inconvenient ! The kitchen is too small and not enough space to let you do eating and chatting

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Robyn games

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 October 2011

Liked: The location was really good, being in the town centre

Disliked: Everything was very loud. Bedding smelt bad. Heard running water all night from the pipes above. A number of people staying there warned me about theft as staff weren't locking doors.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

18 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was amazing

Disliked: The security was not always the best

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Philip Guerrero

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2011 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a pretty good area...generally nice facilities.

Disliked: The rooms smelled a bit odd initially but I got used to it haha

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

01 June 2011

Liked: The locación is great and the people That work there are very friendly.

Disliked: The place is dirty and the beds are really uncomfortable. It is very noise and there are only 2 showers for the entire hostel.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2011

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Staff were rubbish, rooms weren't great and certainly wasn't worth the money.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were extremely helpful, good location!

Disliked: Need to fix the washing machines!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

07 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room and bathrooms were decently clean. The location was perfect in the center of the city.

Disliked: The rooms didn't have much in them and not a very good way of meeting other people.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

08 March 2010

Liked: The hostel is right in the city centre which is a plus, but the rooms are smelly cause a lack of airco. One very small window in the room. The bathrooms are allright, but in need of some refurbishment. The staff is friendly but even behind reception a lot of backpackers who just don't know much about auckland. Asked a few questions and the staff was looking it up in the Lonely Planet. They need some professional staff behind reception. Kitchen pretty small, but allright. I stayed 3 nights, but didn't extend, went to the YHA which is better

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

06 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to all services

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christiane Koch

21 January 2010 Christiane would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place with very super cool helpful stuff which is always helpful and concerned about you. I have never been to a hostel where you get Free Food and so much help in every case. Also the Location is fantastic, if I rate it overall it is for sure one of the best places I have been in Town. I would highly recommend that place to people who are able to accept the Japanese way of living. The atmosphere is very familiar and is a silent place in a city full of trouble. Enjoy your stay - Christiane

Disliked: Christiane left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

jacqui laidlaw

19 January 2010 jacqui would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location, right opposite the sky tower. Staff are helpful and friendly and there are loads of leafletsetc on stuff to do. Bathrooms are clean and fans in the bedroom. People sleep in the reception and tv room and there are signs up everywhere saying do not disturb which we found a bit strange!? Never got into the tv room beacuse there was always people sleeping there?

Disliked: jacqui left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SEBASTIAN BARROS

26 October 2009 SEBASTIAN would recommend this property

Liked: Folks,Before my stay at 'Surf n' Snow', I stay at "Travellers Rest" (Sydney Hostel in Kings Cross) and I could see the difference in everything. You were GREAT. The reception and staff were very friendliness and helpfulness. Hope to see you again. Many thanks and cheers from Brazil.Miss Auckland.

Disliked: SEBASTIAN left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

14 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.