HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Kiwi Airport Backpackers Auckland Hostel

144 McKenzie Road, Mangere, Auckland, New Zealand

Atmosphere 49%

Cleanliness 58%

Facilities 54%

Location 65%

Safety 62%

Staff 70%

Value 62%

Facilities

  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Restaurant
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Vending Machines

Important Information

Hostelbookers Sale
Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”].

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 49%

Cleanliness 58%

Facilities 54%

Location 65%

Safety 62%

Staff 70%

Value 62%

Showing 1-10 of 36 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating


14 Jul 2017

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Age Range:
41+

Liked: Handy to the function that I attended.

Customer would recommend this property

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Aug 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: The man at the front desk was kind

Disliked: I slept fully clothes because I did t feel comfortable sleeping on the sheets. Everything was nasty.

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Chip

Disliked: Airless

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: The hostel has basic facilities;my bunk was comfortable and the desk staff helpful.

Disliked: The bathroom and kitchen areas were untidy.This is no reflection on the staff,but on the casual and careless attitude of some hostel guests,who do not clean up their own mess.

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: location was good. reception staff were fairly friendly.

Disliked: the backpackers was really dirty and they had allowed obviously people to smoke in the accommodation because it stank.

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: Close to airport so no stressfull travel to the airport after a sleepless night.

Disliked: This is the first time review accomodation but I realy want to prevent people from going there! I checked in late (around 12 in the night) to spend my last night in NZ before taking my flight early in the morning. It was nice and clean at the hotel reception. The closer I came to the hostel building the more dirt and cigarette tips were lying on the ground. Entering the building I saw a untidy kitchen with stacks of dirty plates and cups. Luckily I ate before. When I entered the 5 bed dorm a strong smell of mold came into my nose! It was realy a very strong and intensiv smell of mold, like when you put your nose close to a sandwich you forgot anywhere 2 or 3 weeks before. (I don't know how the two other guys were able to sleep there) but I'll never spend a night in such a disgusting and even unhealthy environment. So I went to the guy at the receiption to ask for another bed. He wasn't helpful at all. Told me that it must be another traveler and that its normal when you take a dorm. Also told me that there is no spare bed in the backpackers. Only option he offered was to pay a motel unit for $60. (What I expect in such a situation is that he is very sorry, then goes to the room to check it, and then he offers a free upgrade.) To make the story short: I went to the dorm next door where I found 5 spare beds. Didn't sleep at all because I was so angry and also it was very cold because there was only a thin wool blanket. Toilet was dirty. I was shaking under the shower because it wasnt warm enough. asked shuttle guy to drive carefully because I had surfboard between many bags in the trailer. He drove very aggresive: 80kph in max. 30 kph zone! I've sleept in a lot hostels on my travel and I never expect high standards. But strong smell of mold is unacceptable. Worst hostel ever! This stay made my parting from New Zealand easy!

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Vicinity to the airport

Disliked: Everything besides the location

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: It is near the airport,and transportation To Airport Auckland and beyond is nearby

Disliked: You have to pay for internet

Customer would recommend this property

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Television was good.

Disliked: No duvetsNot enough bathroomsNo washing up liquidHobs did not get hot enoughVery small for the number of beds in the unit

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Close to the airport

Disliked: Small rooms

Check Availability