We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Kiwi Airport Backpackers

Hostel | 144 McKenzie Road, Auckland, New Zealand 2022

66.4% Overall Rating

22 out of 38 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/05/2015)

Leonard Conlan thinks…

"It is near the airport,and transportation To Airport Auckland and beyond is nearby"

Read all Kiwi Airport Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Lounge area
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 3.61
  • Towel USD 1.44

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Auckland

Airport Skyway Lodge
28.84 USD

Hostel 79.1% 123 reviews
Sudima Auckland Airport
54.45 USD

Hotel 4.5 star Not yet rated
Ibis Budget Auckland Airport
21.45 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.6% 24 reviews
Mount Richmond Hotel
41.47 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Sai Motels
69.23 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Yaping House
15.87 USD

Hostel 66.5% 159 reviews
City Garden Lodge
20.19 USD

Hostel 82.9% 36 reviews
Newton Lodge
17.31 USD

Hostel 82.7% 57 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
66.4%

Overall Rating

22 out of 38 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Kiwi Airport Backpackers'

Atmosphere
57.6%
Location
69.6%
Facilities
57.6%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
72.8%
Value
66.4%
Safety
70.4%
Refine your results Showing 29 of 36 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leonard Conlan

Alone

Business / conference

20 May 2015 Leonard would recommend this property

Liked: It is near the airport,and transportation To Airport Auckland and beyond is nearby

Disliked: You have to pay for internet

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Henry Gittins

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2015

Liked: Television was good.

Disliked: No duvets Not enough bathrooms No washing up liquid Hobs did not get hot enough Very small for the number of beds in the unit

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2015

Liked: Close to the airport

Disliked: Small rooms

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

23 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in the hostel for a short overnight layover in Auckland. The hostel was a good value for a short night's sleep, given how expensive lodgings are around the Auckland Airport. The shuttle was fine, as were the reception staff, although with driving and check in, it took longer than I'd hoped to actually get to my room. I happened to be the only one in the room, which was great. The room itself was clean, the beds were fine, but very basic, and they provided a blanket, which I needed. Having separate men's and women's dorms is nice, and the doors have a secure lock. In short, it was spartan, but serviceable, and a good price. I would stay here again for a similarly very short overnight layover, but would make the effort to go into town for a nicer hostel if I expected to spend any more time in the area.

Disliked: Even though it's relatively close to the airport, it does still take a while to get picked up, drive, check in, and get to bed (took me maybe 1.5 hours?). The dorm rooms would be quite crowded if full - I have a hard time imagning where everyone would put their luggage. The bathrooms were not particularly well fitted out, even for a hostel - I couldn't find soap, nor did they have hand towels, and there were not separate men's and women's toilets, as far as I could tell. If the facility were full, it would be hard getting time in the toilet in the morning, I suspect. The building is older, the walls are thin and the rooms and common kitchen area are set close to each other, so I suspect it could get noisy, but since I arrived late and left early it wasn't particularly a problem for me.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Julia Marthe Kristina Wengeler

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2015

Liked: proximity to the airport.

Disliked: The bathroom was very simple. The facilities in the kitchen were very old.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

June Haist

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2015

Liked: Close proximity to airport

Disliked: Rooms were small, open windows in room, means no air conditioning and one window that opens right o the designated smoking area in room I was in. They pick you up at airport free, but there is no drop off free and all the ones staying the same night as myself needed to get to airport. If you expect to sleep well, forget that. With 20 travellers you have a lot of different times for shuttles. My stay alone we had 3 am, 4am, 5am and 6am. In a small dorm room you don't get much sleep with so much activity happening through the night. Bathrooms, are unisex, were large as stated, 2 for the 20 beds, and outdated. And Lastly and most important they give NO TOP Sheet, you get a sheet for the mattress but nothing for on top except a blanket you know doesn't get washed daily. Very unhygienic. Only hostel I've ever stayed at with no top sheet.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

emanuele ramello

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2014 emanuele would recommend this property

Liked: Nice

Disliked: emanuele left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

ASHLEE OSWALD

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2014 ASHLEE would recommend this property

Liked: Even though I was only there for one night waiting for a connecting flight, it was a decent hostel room, the heater and blankets provided in the room was nice as it got a bit cold at night. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Not as close to the airport as was described, definitely not within walking distance, wifi , breakfast and shuttle bus were all extra costs so not the best value for money considering the cost of the room.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient

Disliked: Didn't spend much time here, so not much.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and easy access to the airport. Clean kitchen but not much to work with.

Disliked: No towels or sheets provided, only a scratchy wool blanket. Super cramped room. Wifi didn't work on my phone.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

06 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheao, convenient, good staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location to the airport

Disliked: I arrived at 1am, and someone was sleeping in my allocated bed...it would be easier if beds were not allocated. Also where people in my room had stored their bags it was a bit of a squeeze to get into the room with my luggage without disturbing everyone.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

19 February 2014

Liked: Proximity to airport.

Disliked: The assumption by the staff that it was fine to not provide a service advertised.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2013

Liked: I was alone in the room due to no-shows

Disliked: You get only bottom sheet and a thin blanket and have to pay for a top sheet or extra blankets,you have to pay for airport transfer although they make you think you can walk to the hostel which is completely misleading, badly equipped kitchen,old bathroom

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

15 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy transition to and from the airport, shuttle service ran smoothly, value for $!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Jennifer Gauthier

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2013

Liked: Airport shuttle being only $5 is nice

Disliked: Very dirty, tv didnt work, tiny kitchen, very thin walls

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

10 October 2013

Liked: The setting is quite good. Very convenient to catch the bus to the city. The young man at the front desk was most helpful.

Disliked: Facilities at the backpacker are quite limited. The bathroom door (the 2nd one at the back) doesn't lock. and the ceiling has lots of cobwebs and insects.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: bathroom

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location near airport is ideal for a brief stopover in Auckland.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

17 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good price value, handy to the Airport

Disliked: No complaint

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: easy booking and 24 hour front desk

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kaitlyn Ortiz

Alone

City break

01 July 2013 Kaitlyn would recommend this property

Liked: convenient and good value for money

Disliked: it was cold if the heater wasnt on. I turned off the heater for just 30-60 min and the room was extremely cold in that short time.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

giselle wansa

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 June 2013 giselle would recommend this property

Liked: convenience

Disliked: cold

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2013

Liked: The hostel building is adjacent to their hotel, and it is quite large and was clean.

Disliked: The dorm room smelled AWFUL, like wet dog + something moldy. I didn't get a towel and they only had very thin blankets although it was freezing. Getting to the city from here with public transport takes quite some time, as the buses only go every hour - plan well. The guy at the front desk was not super helpful.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very near airport and no issues with Kiwi Hotel providing transport to and from airport Staff friendly

Disliked: no wifi - although you could purchase but for the short time I was staying it was too expensive