We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Verandahs Backpackers Lodge

Hostel | 4-6 Hopetoun Street, Auckland Central, Auckland, New Zealand 1011

89.5% Overall Rating

37 out of 38 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2015)

Mike Knowles thinks…

"Unbelievable backpackers. More like a hotel. Around the corner from lots of bars and about a 25 minute walk into town. Extremely clean and quiet, plus the staff are great."

Read all Verandahs Backpackers Lodge reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Office Hours are: 0800 hrs to 1200 hrs. 1400 hrs to 1900 hrs. Late arrivals can be arranged. Please note we do not allow arrivals after 2300 hrs for shared rooms.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Auckland

Freemans Backpackers
21.22 USD

Hostel 84.3% 104 reviews
BK Hostel
21.98 USD

Hostel 85.4% 243 reviews
YMCA Hostel
21.98 USD

Hostel 84.0% 22 reviews
Ponsonby Backpackers
21.98 USD

Hostel 93.7% 182 reviews
Silverfern Backpackers
15.92 USD

Hostel 66.4% 187 reviews
City Lodge Backpacker
26.34 USD

Hostel 88.8% 230 reviews
Newton Lodge
18.19 USD

Hostel 82.7% 57 reviews
Uenuku Lodge
19.70 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.5%

Overall Rating

37 out of 38 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Verandahs Backpackers Lodge'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
90.4%
Value
88.0%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 30 of 38 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mike Knowles

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2015 Mike would recommend this property

Liked: Unbelievable backpackers. More like a hotel. Around the corner from lots of bars and about a 25 minute walk into town. Extremely clean and quiet, plus the staff are great.

Disliked: WiFi is pricey compared to other places. It's decent though and can handle Skype etc.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tamie Mead

As a family with children

Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

12 April 2015 Tamie would recommend this property

Liked: My family and I like the atmosphere. Casual and easy. The house and the room have a high ceiling, so it's so spacious. Our room was next to the shower room and toilet, but noise didn't bother our sleep.

Disliked: Only thing I disliked was that rubbish bin in the kitchen was so full at the second morning.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Darren Low

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2014 Darren would recommend this property

Liked: One of the owners, Campbell, has been very friendly and accommodating with the requests of the guests. Not to mention the regular movie nights, walk-around excursions, BBQs and other various activities contribute to the cosy atmosphere.

Disliked: Wifi leaves something to be desired. I took it as an introduction to the NZ ISP services.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 July 2014

Liked: The owner/manager was friendly enough and enough. Nicely decorated (recently refurbished). There wasn't much atmosphere despite it being sold out! It would be an amazing location in the summer, but does suck in the winter.

Disliked: I would have stayed longer if they had free or cheap Wi-Fi and breakfast, but they didn't. I think it was $1 for 1 hour, $7 for 24 hours and $24 for 7 days of Internet... Unbelievable... I moved to a hostel on K Road that was cheaper, with free Wi-Fi & PCs, and breakfast every day, and found it equally satisfactory.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Glenda Satiro

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2014 Glenda would recommend this property

Liked: Nice garden and balconies with beautiful views of the city center and skytower. Quiet location but at the same time near to the city center and to K Road and Ponsonby Rd. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Hostel seems to be very safe. For late arrivals (at night) they have a combination box outside the entrance where they put the roomkey for you. The sunday I stayed there they had a "social event" in the evening: everybody cooked a meal for dinner to share with the others (free to join the event or not). Thanks to the pretty small size of the hostel (compared to yha and others in the center) there is a nice atmosphere. In the lounge there is a guitar and a piano.

Disliked: Kitchen is not the best and the eating area could be a little more cozy, it's a little bold. Wifi is expensive.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The garden and views are brilliant!

Disliked: Nothing.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff! Well functioning kitchen and clean bathrooms are always a plus.

Disliked: No lockers, felt bit uneasy leaving everything in the room while out.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It felt like you were staying in someone's home and not just a hotel room. Plus point that they had single beds in the dorm room I stayed in.

Disliked: There was no bathroom on the floor of the dorm rooms. You had to go upstairs to reach a bathroom.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Atwell

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 December 2013 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: Very large rooms, very clean bathrooms. We stayed in a triple bedroom and it was the largest room we'd stayed in our whole trip. Huge Kitchen and lounge room area that has everything you need. Very nice buildings, great staff (super helpful). Only a short walk into the city centre. Surrounding suburb Ponsonby was very nice, lots of nice shops and restaurants as well as a shopping centre and supermarket nearby.

Disliked: Nothing. Loved staying there. Will be back.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Malcolm Ordish

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2013 Malcolm would recommend this property

Liked: Location good facilities good staff

Disliked: Malcolm left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Helen Prior

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2013 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful location and lots to see and do. Facilities good at hostel and clean

Disliked: Room had double window onto a first floor veranda, meaning bedroom was overlooked by anyone on the verandah.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Pekka Vehviläinen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 November 2013 Pekka would recommend this property

Liked: I've got a family room even I was alone. The house(s) is pittoresque, location nearby Ponsonby Roads lively restaurants and bars but still beside a peaceful park is ideal. Traccic connection with innerline bus is good.

Disliked: Some updating for buildings and rooms could be necessary.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Stephanie Wrigley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2013 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Huge kitchen with everything you need, helpful owners, clean rooms

Disliked: Room for improvement, ie small bed lamps in the dorm, a mirror would also be good. Not enough toilets/showers at peak times.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great buildings, very clean, spacious and well maintained, brilliant location very friendly owner who made us welcome and very well priced.

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, nice people, great bed

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dana Jones

As a family with children

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

10 July 2013 Dana would recommend this property

Liked: It's clean , well run and offers a wide variety of different options of accommodation .

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The most comfortable and cleanest BPs ever !

Disliked: Nothing !!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Fulton

Alone

Visiting friends or family

07 April 2013 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious clean rooms, cool garden and lounge area. Good location for inner city Auckland.

Disliked: Robert left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: No bunk beds! Nice facilities. Very clean.

Disliked: Internet a bit expensive, and it didnt connect very well.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karen Gardner

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

31 March 2013 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: Superb location - walk to fabulous Ponsonby Rd for shopping and eating, backs onto beautiful large park; crisp, clean bedrooms/bathrooms/common areas. Old world charm and cosy atmosphere; spacious - mingle if you like or find a nook to be alone. We stayed an extra night because we didn't want to leave. Incredible value for money.

Disliked: Not a thing to dislike.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Toller Blick auf die Stadt Schönes Gebäude Freundliche und hilfsbereite Mitarbeiter

Disliked: Dusche und Toilette in einem Raum, daher lange Wartezeiten

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

15 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quite clean environment and availlable resources pretty much for all day-day things. There are also many areas one can relax outside one's bedroom.

Disliked: There was no TV and I think the cost of using their Wi-fi is pretty expensive. Also a bit unfortunate that one has to go to another building to use the kitchen

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Foster

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: This place was beautiful. The building had character, lovely surroundings, nice furniture. I had a single bed, not bunk bed. great showers, nice garden and park at the rear. This was one of the nicest hostels I have ever stayed in.

Disliked: The internet was ridiculoulsy slow, even though I paid for half an hour I abandoned it after ten minutes.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful building, tasteful decor, centre of Auckland - great location at top of Ponsonby Rd, friendly staff, very quite for a hostel.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing. One of the best hostels I've ever stayed in.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natahl Thomason

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

09 January 2013 Natahl would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely old building and sympathetically adapted to its current use. Very helpful staff - welcoming and friendly. An easy walk to the quay and other areas of interest. Top notch views and a bit of peace and quiet to sleep in the city centre.

Disliked: Nothing, really.