HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of City Lodge Backpacker

Hostel | 150 Vincent Street, Auckland, New Zealand .

87.2% Overall Rating

214 out of 228 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/09/2013)

"I couldn't be happier with my stay. It was super clean, modern, and the staff was friendly. I had a private single and while it wasn't large it wasn't a closet either, plenty of room for the bed, a desk and chair,…"

Read all City Lodge Backpacker reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that after you have made a booking on the website the hostel will do a pre-authorization on your bank card. This is not a charge, but a validity check on your card to guarantee your booking. The pre-authorization will then be removed from your card within a few days. Please Note: The person registering at Check In must be a minimum 18 years of age and at least one adult of 18 years or older staying in booked accommodation room(s)

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Auckland

Silverfern Backpackers
17.12 USD

Hostel 72.0% 172 reviews
YMCA Hostel
22.56 USD

Hostel 83.3% 21 reviews
Auckland City Hotel
51.74 USD

Hotel 4 star 84.9% 7 reviews
BK Hostel
22.56 USD

Hostel 83.1% 237 reviews
K Road City Travellers
22.56 USD

Hostel 86.4% 237 reviews
YHA Auckland International
17.90 USD

Hostel 81.1% 247 reviews
YHA Auckland City
13.23 USD

Hostel 86.1% 153 reviews
Newton Lodge
18.67 USD

Hostel 83.1% 49 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.2%

Overall Rating

214 out of 228 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'City Lodge Backpacker'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
87.2%
Value
84.0%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 169 of 174 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good valua for an ensuite single room, these are difficult to find in NZ.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I couldn't be happier with my stay. It was super clean, modern, and the staff was friendly. I had a private single and while it wasn't large it wasn't a closet either, plenty of room for the bed, a desk and chair, fridge, and small wardrobe. There was a jug with tea and coffee selections, a small tv with basic channels (1,2,3,4,Maori,Prime), and a heater. No A/C but the large window opened good enough for a breeze. I had a great view from the 6th floor of sky tower and out over most of Queen St. Didn't use the common areas so can't comment on that.

Disliked: Hiking back up the hill at the end of the night! However, the location was just a little off the main drag so it was quieter. That probably makes the little hike worth it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Business / conference

08 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to the conference venue at Aotea square

Disliked: noise from the street, I wasnt aware that I had to book parking for car

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandra Ly

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 July 2013 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, private bathrooms. Modern.

Disliked: No free wifi, quite expensive to buy wifi.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

14 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to city and not too expensive

Disliked: Was uphill a bit from the city centre

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

11 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The City Lodge in Auckland is more like a hotel than a hostel. Very professional check in (aside from the receptionist charging us too much which he rectified immediately). We were on the 7th floor so it was very big for a hostel. Our room was lovely with a fridge, tea/coffee making facilities and plenty of plug sockets. The only thing wrong was no air con and the room was unbearably hot when we walked in which only got worse. We opened windows and then woke up freezing in the night. The kitchen and lounge area was in the basement and was very well equipped with multiple sinks, lots of work surface space and cooking utensils. There were nice touches around the hostel like free sun cream at every exit. We would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

James McLaughlin

With my spouse / partner

City break

08 January 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: Location was very good, 10min. walk from the waterfront.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandra Berry

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2012 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: helpful staff, clean room. great location

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sanjay Valavil

With friends / other travellers

City break

30 August 2012 Sanjay would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money

Disliked: Sanjay left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marcel Lang

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2012 Marcel would recommend this property

Liked: This is like a mix between hotel and hostel. The rooms are like in a hotel with own fridge, coffee/tea making facilities (great teas on offer and also hot chocolate - really nice!), own very clean bathroom. But they also have all the practical facilities of a hostel with a very big good kitchen, washing machines, book exchange, computers and so on. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Unfortunately wifi is not free but costs 3$ for 100MB.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

29 July 2012

Liked: Very clean. Car park available. Easy access.

Disliked: Misleading advertising via your internet site.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanly and friendly

Disliked: Noisy traffic and work from street

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

30 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central, very clean, downstairs kitchen and communal area nice and roomy.

Disliked: The drain in the bathroom smelled pretty bad. I had to leave the window open all the time to combat it.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The accomodation was safe, clean and has the basics of what you need.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and room was very nice and clean

Disliked: i had a ground floor room which was very noisy with guests chatting by the lifts, and also the smokers outside. Last smoker departed approx 0000hrs.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff could answer all questions and were friendly and polite. The room was spacious, clean and had everything that was needed.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was excellent. Right around the corner both from town and a stip of little restaurants.

Disliked: No AC meant open windows, Temperature was fine, but loud birds. Bed was right up against the wall so one of the two was stuck. Nothing tragic.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the cleanest hostels we've ever stayed at. Bathroom ensuite was very convenient. Great location.

Disliked: Double bed was a bit saggy

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -bath, fridge, teabags and boiling water in the room -quiet -between K'road and city center -close to a free link bus stop

Disliked: -could be cleaner -one staff member was unfriendly (5 others were friendly)

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the kitchen was well equipped, bathroom was clean, the fridge was in the room

Disliked: not much space for luggage, walls are thin to your neighbour, only one lift and no stairs inside

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

louisa stewart

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2011 louisa would recommend this property

Liked: great, quiet, warm with free tea and coffee and fridge and tv in rooms. very near intercity bus station. towels provided. more like a travelodge with a kitchen. very clean

Disliked: wouldn't have an extended stay but perfect for a stop over

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely nice new building, very clean and has everything you need

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

10 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Single room en suite Kettle in room Towels

Disliked: Adjacent to a very noisy hostel which made sleeping almost impossible

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nicole Lace

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2011 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: Decent, well priced private room.

Disliked: The staff were unhelpful and the floor/room smelt damp and moldy.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

alison ashley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2011 alison would recommend this property

Liked: within walking distance to city centre.rooms were also fairly quiet.

Disliked: bunk beds are fun when you're a kid but not so much when you reach adulthood, very hard to sit down and watch tv.