HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of City Lodge Auckland Hostel

150 Vincent Street, Auckland, New Zealand

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 98%

Facilities 92%

Location 93%

Safety 91%

Staff 91%

Value 89%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Parking
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

Please note that after you have made a booking on the website the hostel will do a pre-authorization on your bank card.

Notice of renovation: Please be advised that City Lodge will undergo a small refurbishment of our reception area starting from Monday, 6 June 2016 for approximately 4 weeks. The work will take place between 8.30am and 5pm, Monday to Sunday. Any inconvenience will be minimal. A temporary reception area has been created during this renovation so it is business as usual.

Exterior painting of City Lodge: Please be advise that City Lodge has engaged Flemings LTD a professional contractor to wash and apply 2 coats of new paint to the exterior surfaces of the building. This work will be starting from Monday, 30 May for approximately 6 weeks, between Monday to Sunday from 8:30am and 5pm. Any inconvenience will be minimal as only the exterior building walls will be painted.

This is not a charge, but a validity check on your card to guarantee your booking. The pre-authorization will then be removed from your card within a few days.


Please Note: The person registering at Check In must be a minimum 18 years of age and at least one adult of 18 years or older staying in booked accommodation room(s)

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 98%

Facilities 92%

Location 93%

Safety 91%

Staff 91%

Value 89%

Showing 11-5 of 5 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: The City Lodge in Auckland is more like a hotel than a hostel. Very professional check in (aside from the receptionist charging us too much which he rectified immediately). We were on the 7th floor so it was very big for a hostel. Our room was lovely with a fridge, tea/coffee making facilities and plenty of plug sockets. The only thing wrong was no air con and the room was unbearably hot when we walked in which only got worse. We opened windows and then woke up freezing in the night. The kitchen and lounge area was in the basement and was very well equipped with multiple sinks, lots of work surface space and cooking utensils. There were nice touches around the hostel like free sun cream at every exit. We would definitely stay here again.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: helpful staff, clean room. great location

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This is like a mix between hotel and hostel. The rooms are like in a hotel with own fridge, coffee/tea making facilities (great teas on offer and also hot chocolate - really nice!), own very clean bathroom. But they also have all the practical facilities of a hostel with a very big good kitchen, washing machines, book exchange, computers and so on. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Unfortunately wifi is not free but costs 3$ for 100MB.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Very clean. Car park available. Easy access.

Disliked: Misleading advertising via your internet site.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Cleanly and friendly

Disliked: Noisy traffic and work from street

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Central, very clean, downstairs kitchen and communal area nice and roomy.

Disliked: The drain in the bathroom smelled pretty bad. I had to leave the window open all the time to combat it.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Good value for money

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The accomodation was safe, clean and has the basics of what you need.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your comments about City Lodge, we hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and that we will see you again at City Lodge. Best wishes Glenn Gairdner

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location and room was very nice and clean

Disliked: i had a ground floor room which was very noisy with guests chatting by the lifts, and also the smokers outside. Last smoker departed approx 0000hrs.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your comments about City Lodge, we hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and that we will see you again at City Lodge. Best wishes Glenn Gairdner

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The staff could answer all questions and were friendly and polite. The room was spacious, clean and had everything that was needed.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Hollie, thanks for your comments about City Lodge, it is great to hear you enjoyed your stay and we will see you again at City Lodge. Best wishes Glenn Gairdner

Check Availability