We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Fat Cat Travellers Community

Hostel | 2 A Sherrybrooke Place, Sunnyvale, Waitakere Auckland, New Zealand 0612

76.8% Overall Rating

21 out of 24 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/03/2014)

Eva Mischner thinks…

"The people are awesome! Everyone treats each other like a big family :) Unfortunately we could only stay for 1 night which is way too short for this place. I think it's better if you stay for a…"

Read all Fat Cat Travellers Community reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • BBQ area
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 35.01
  • Breakfast USD 2.33

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Auckland

Kiwi Heritage Homestay
31.90 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Brown Kiwi
23.34 USD

Hostel 84.3% 16 reviews
Uenuku Lodge
20.23 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Ponsonby Backpackers
22.56 USD

Hostel 92.3% 173 reviews
Pentlands Backpackers Hostel
18.67 USD

Hostel 83.4% 17 reviews
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
22.56 USD

Hostel 89.6% 35 reviews
Freemans Backpackers
21.79 USD

Hostel 83.2% 100 reviews
BK Hostel
22.56 USD

Hostel 83.1% 237 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.8%

Overall Rating

21 out of 24 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Fat Cat Travellers Community'

Atmosphere
85.8%
Location
71.7%
Facilities
70.0%
Cleanliness
70.8%
Staff
84.2%
Value
76.7%
Safety
78.3%
Refine your results Showing 19 of 24 reviews
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Eva Mischner

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 March 2014 Eva would recommend this property

Liked: The people are awesome! Everyone treats each other like a big family :) Unfortunately we could only stay for 1 night which is way too short for this place. I think it's better if you stay for a longer time so can really get know everyone :)

Disliked: Nothing about the property, but there are no trains late at night if you want to go to Auckland city.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

20 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people there are very friendly and kind. There kitchen is good. This is one of the better hostels I've stayed at in New Zealand and I would stay there again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had a nice property, and a good atmosphere. A good place to meet some nice people.

Disliked: It was a fairly run down house. Too many people staying at one time with only one shower. Internet was extremely limited. If you didn't want to stay up late and party that's to bad cause everyone else is and will keep you up. No permanent person in charge so there's often confusion over prices and bookings.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Joe Norseen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

20 November 2013 Joe would recommend this property

Liked: If you're looking to party and hook up, Fat Cat is not for you. However if you're looking for genuine connections, community, and a launching point for a long term stay in New Zealnd than Fat Cat is the place. Thankfully Fat Cat was the first hostel that I booked in Auckland but during my five days there, there were at least six people who came to Fat Cat after being dissapointed by other hostels in downtown Auckland. Fat Cat is a place for Global travelers not for holiday partiers. Not that there isn't a party to be had at Fat Cat, there was plenty of wine and merriment during my stay but it wasn't a kind of "lets get drunk and party" atmosphere but more the "lets drink wine and talk about what matters in life". :) If you're looking to meet people from all around the globe Fat Cat is the place. The managers there were super helpful in everything from opening a bank account to buying groceries, they won't give you hand outs, but they will certainly give you the local tips in order to save you money here and there. The community there was great, after the third day I felt like part of a family . Each night there is a big community dinner which was so fun to be a part of each night. So many people from so many different places and so many backgrounds, all sitting down to enjoy a meal together. If I hadn't booked myself at other places in New Zealand I would of certainly stayed there longer, and I absolutely plan to stay there again before I head home. Stay at Fat Cat at least once in your life. While you're there please check out their fire bath, that's right they have an outdoor bathtub heated by fire. Of the five nights I was there I was in the fire bath for four of them, it is as amazing as it sounds. :) Thank you Fat Cat Community for being such a unique place in the world. Keep the fire going, and keep spreading your Love. :)

Disliked: The community dinners were great. However sometimes they got too big and there was not enough room to sit and very rarely there was just enough food to go around. The Fat Cat managers know this tho and they are doing what they can in order to manage it.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good concept!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 November 2013

Liked: Free 30MB WIFI

Disliked: This place is definitely too overcrowded. There is No table & chair for dining. Everyone just sits on the floor eating, which you have to take caution from stepping on somebody else all the time. There is definitely not enough space at all to accommodate that many people. With more than 30 people staying here, there's only one shower room and toilet, which is always a long queue for shower or brushing your teeth. The shower was almost cold and the water pressure was very low. The drainage was blocked and the water flooded in the bathroom. The kitchen is very tiny which cannot even fit in two people cooking at the same time. Most of the time all the facilities were occupied by Wwoofers (more than 10) e.g. kitchen, dining area and bathroom. Originally I made a booking for a double room in a caravan, but the staff changed my booking without my agreement and we ended up in dormitory beds (even I paid for the deposit for caravan already). It was a huge disappointment. With the serious overload of all facilities, we were scared and chose to stay out late until coming back for sleeping. However I couldn't sleep well because of the noise from common area, Besides, my bed was too soft and my pillow was too thin. This is a horrible place after all. Strongly don't recommend this backpackers and definitely won't come back again.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a great place to start my backpacking adventure. I met friendly, easy going people who was happy to share their experiences and culture. Wonderful shared, vegetarian meals or total privacy if you want to. The place is also easy to find from the city.

Disliked: If you come to Fat Cat in the winter, be sure to bring warm clothes and blankets because they don't have any isolation.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Karen Gray

Alone

Work / volunteering

29 September 2013 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: Welcoming staff.

Disliked: Karen left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price and location.

Disliked: Overcrowded which possibly meant it was too popular.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was great! The atmosphere is amazing, lots of travelers, lots of activities. The veggie food was delicious, and the communal meals always something to look forward to! Fat Cat is my NZ family, I feel very lucky to have chosen them for my visit!

Disliked: Nothing!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place has a real laid back vibe, has a well maintained kitchen, lots of space to sit down and relax in, with free tea and coffee throughout the day. The shower was always hot when we used it. You can walk to the nearest town easily.

Disliked: we stayed in one of the caravans which was OK but was very damp because of the previous bad weather. When it rained the roof leaked and it was pretty cold at night (although we had plenty of blankets so it was fine). We had breakfast the first day which was cheap ($3) but really not worth it - some cornflakes mixed with porridge oats. It would be massively improved by offering bread and fresh coffee, which might have been available but we weren't offered it if it was. Sometimes the place felt a bit dirty, the shower wasn't very clean when we used it for instance.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

danya simons

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2013 danya would recommend this property

Liked: This place is amazing. its beautiful, friendly and happy place to stay. not at all like a hostel. much more amazing community vibes. will definitely staying here again.

Disliked: Nothing

34.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

21 May 2013

Liked: nothing

Disliked: there is only a dirty hole with many many people on a very small space

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: smiley, friendly people. so chilled.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: O albergue aqui e demais!! Gente jovem e alegre de toda parte do mundo. Como se fosse uma grande familha vivendo em comunidade. Colher vegetais da horta, buscar ovos do galinheiro. Provar o mel puro das abelhar... Agora ate tem uma vaquinha que nos da leite fresco todos os dias... O albergue esta perto das praias e do parque nacional, fora da cidade. Para quem gosta de surfar tem muito boas opcoes como piha beach. O trem que vai para o centro de Auckland passa na porta de casa... Recomendo muito o lugar. Eu ainda estou tentando sair daqui!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Marisol Espinoza

Alone

Business / conference
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 March 2013 Marisol would recommend this property

Liked: I think was an experience like no other. Extremely friendly people there. Communitarian food, games. The owner is a lovely person!!! She offer to take us to the bus station because was heavily rainning.

Disliked: Just took a little of time the pick up service.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luanne Reeks

Alone

Visiting friends or family

18 March 2013 Luanne would recommend this property

Liked: It's heaven on earth a must for those in search of soul food

Disliked: Stay too short

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

J Blakeburn

Alone

Visiting friends or family

05 March 2013 J would recommend this property

Liked: It felt like home. Staff and guests were all so warm, welcoming and inclusive. Loved the eco aspect of it with gardens growing vegetables, herbs and fruit trees. Various composting including worm. Solar shower and fire heated bath. The owner gave a great tour and explanation of it all too, which was insightful, fun, tasty and useful. I recommend this place, especially if you're a friend of the earth.

Disliked: J left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

02 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing! A little piece of heaven; gardens, trees, community, soul, music, food - and good people. A rare find ...... a real travellers home

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.