HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Fat Cat Travellers Community Auckland Hostel

2A Sherrybrooke Place, Auckland, New Zealand

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 69%

Facilities 66%

Location 67%

Safety 76%

Staff 82%

Value 76%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 33.49USD
  • Breakfast 2.23USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 69%

Facilities 66%

Location 67%

Safety 76%

Staff 82%

Value 76%

Showing 1-10 of 19 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Work / volunteering

Liked: Staying here was a wonderful experience, it was more like staying with a friend than staying in a hostel. They do "family dinner" and everyone participates.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Company and the cats

Disliked: It's cold sometimes

Customer would recommend this property

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Almost nothing

Disliked: Spiders in the room, second hand furniture, overall cleanliness, location is far from the nearest train station, nothing around to get some food or groceries, this was really bad.


The property's response is

Dear HK,
we enjoyed having you stay with us and wished getting a personal feedback so wen can improve. Indeed our location is 5 minutes walk to the train station and the mall is one train station away, but as dinner and breakfast are incl most backpackers don't need to go shopping and do some hiking in the Waitakere Ranges or surfing on Piha beach instead. Did you see our Eco-bike-washing machine, our compost toilets and our mulch-shower? We hope to create a happier stay next time
Safe travels

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: I like the atmosphere there. Its a nice place to meet alternative people with open minded views and either everyone is doing little job but you get free breakfast and dinner and that is awesome. They have a nice place where are some instruments which you can use and have a big jam in the night or playing some card games or whatever you want or just relaxing and read a book.

Disliked: Nothing its probably not for everyone its alternative but everyone is welcome.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Real travelling community feel to the place! Run by backpackers for backpackers, very nomadic.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The people are awesome! Everyone treats each other like a big family :)Unfortunately we could only stay for 1 night which is way too short for this place. I think it's better if you stay for a longer time so can really get know everyone :)

Disliked: Nothing about the property, but there are no trains late at night if you want to go to Auckland city.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: The people there are very friendly and kind. There kitchen is good. This is one of the better hostels I've stayed at in New Zealand and I would stay there again.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It had a nice property, and a good atmosphere. A good place to meet some nice people.

Disliked: It was a fairly run down house. Too many people staying at one time with only one shower. Internet was extremely limited. If you didn't want to stay up late and party that's to bad cause everyone else is and will keep you up. No permanent person in charge so there's often confusion over prices and bookings.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very good concept!

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: If you're looking to party and hook up, Fat Cat is not for you. However if you're looking for genuine connections, community, and a launching point for a long term stay in New Zealnd than Fat Cat is the place.Thankfully Fat Cat was the first hostel that I booked in Auckland but during my five days there, there were at least six people who came to Fat Cat after being dissapointed by other hostels in downtown Auckland. Fat Cat is a place for Global travelers not for holiday partiers. Not that there isn't a party to be had at Fat Cat, there was plenty of wine and merriment during my stay but it wasn't a kind of "lets get drunk and party" atmosphere but more the "lets drink wine and talk about what matters in life". :) If you're looking to meet people from all around the globe Fat Cat is the place. The managers there were super helpful in everything from opening a bank account to buying groceries, they won't give you hand outs, but they will certainly give you the local tips in order to save you money here and there. The community there was great, after the third day I felt like part of a family . Each night there is a big community dinner which was so fun to be a part of each night. So many people from so many different places and so many backgrounds, all sitting down to enjoy a meal together. If I hadn't booked myself at other places in New Zealand I would of certainly stayed there longer, and I absolutely plan to stay there again before I head home.Stay at Fat Cat at least once in your life. While you're there please check out their fire bath, that's right they have an outdoor bathtub heated by fire. Of the five nights I was there I was in the fire bath for four of them, it is as amazing as it sounds. :)Thank you Fat Cat Community for being such a unique place in the world. Keep the fire going, and keep spreading your Love. :)

Disliked: The community dinners were great. However sometimes they got too big and there was not enough room to sit and very rarely there was just enough food to go around. The Fat Cat managers know this tho and they are doing what they can in order to manage it.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability