We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Columbia Hostel

Hostel | 15 Whitaker Place, Grafton, Auckland, New Zealand 1010

54.3% Overall Rating

4 out of 12 customers would recommend this property

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Auckland

YHA Auckland City
17.12 USD

Hostel 85.7% 154 reviews
YHA Auckland International
17.12 USD

Hostel 81.6% 248 reviews
K Road City Travellers
22.56 USD

Hostel 86.4% 237 reviews
Newton Lodge
18.67 USD

Hostel 83.1% 49 reviews
Choice Plaza Backpackers
15.56 USD

Hostel 72.8% 114 reviews
The Attic Backpackers
22.56 USD

Hostel 92.3% 84 reviews
City Lodge Backpacker
23.34 USD

Hostel 87.2% 228 reviews
BK Hostel
22.56 USD

Hostel 83.1% 237 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
54.3%

Overall Rating

4 out of 12 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Columbia Hostel'

Atmosphere
43.3%
Location
76.7%
Facilities
43.3%
Cleanliness
38.3%
Staff
56.7%
Value
53.3%
Safety
68.3%
Refine your results Showing 6 of 11 reviews
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

15 March 2014

Liked: Nothing was interesting.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Elrasheid Elkhidir

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 March 2014 Elrasheid would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Only one elevator Dirty carpets though clean linen

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

20 January 2014

Liked: The security was so good that we could not get in (see below).

Disliked: The swipe card did not work, so we cannot get in after hours. No one was at reception to help. We had to walk 7 stories high, after waiting for a resident to help us get in. We booked for 2 people to stay there but only 1 pillow, 1 towel, and 1 set of toiletries were provided. We ordered a double room but got a single bed instead. Was not impressed.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2013

Liked: You only had to share your kitchen and bathroom with one or two person.

Disliked: The bathroom and kitchen were really dirty. The kitchen was also really bad equipped: there were not enough plates or glasses. Nobody of the hostel cared, if the last person who rented the room did leave the kitchen clean. There was also bad food in the kitchen cupboard. In the night it was also really loud because of some ventilator or something at the house.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2012

Liked: The lift worked.

Disliked: We checked out of this hostel 3 hours after we checked in after deciding that paying again to stay somewhere cleaner, quieter and less like a halfway house was preferable to staying there. After asking to move rooms away from a rather intimidating "guest" who was clearly smoking drugs in his room and swearing at us, we were told that staff would need to try and resolve the issue with the other person first. They seemed limited in how they could help us. We felt that this would probably inflame an already quite uncomfortable situation and advised staff not to speak to the other resident whilst we were there. We instead booked a taxi and went to stay elsewhere. Not snobby, not antisocial and not overly fussy but this place was not what we'd expected at all, even at such a cheap price. We've stayed in cheaper, better and much safer feeling places since!

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2012

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Not clean, not friendly.

The property's response is...