We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Columbia Hostel

Hostel | 15 Whitaker Place, Grafton, Auckland, New Zealand 1010

52.2% Overall Rating

6 out of 18 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/02/2015)

"i like the security they had, you knew that you were safe with the access of a swipe card and i really liked the dairy/shop connected to the hostel, it was very convenient."

Read all Columbia Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Accommodation Information Please note property close at 11:00 pm daily. For check in later than 11:00pm, please contact us for other check in arrangement.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Auckland

University Hall
89.53 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
YHA Auckland City
19.73 USD

Hostel 83.5% 160 reviews
YHA Auckland International
20.49 USD

Hostel 83.7% 251 reviews
K Road City Travellers
22.00 USD

Hostel 79.9% 253 reviews
Newton Lodge
18.21 USD

Hostel 82.7% 57 reviews
Choice Backpackers
15.17 USD

Hostel 71.7% 118 reviews
The Attic Backpackers
22.00 USD

Hostel 90.9% 90 reviews
City Lodge Backpacker
26.37 USD

Hostel 88.8% 230 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
52.2%

Overall Rating

6 out of 18 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Columbia Hostel'

Atmosphere
42.2%
Location
76.7%
Facilities
42.2%
Cleanliness
36.7%
Staff
53.3%
Value
46.7%
Safety
67.8%
Refine your results Showing 11 of 16 reviews
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Karel Svitavský

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2015 Karel would recommend this property

Liked: Very good place, near center city, friendly staff, accetable price.

Disliked: Dirty facilities.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Emma-Jane McIntosh

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

22 February 2015

Liked: swpie card security from the fro t door was good

Disliked: God where to start. Firstly when we arrived there was noone on front dwsk and no bell or anytibg to call one. We waited neatly 30 min before someone showed up. At the time i was on the phone to another hostel to see if they had room for us. No apology or query ad to how long we had been waiting. The room was way smaller then the site had us belive. The bed was poorly made and the matress was upside down meani g we had to flip it and remake the bed ourselves which was tricky with the limeted room. Bathroom was poorly lit with a oversized shower curtain that either flooded the floor or encroahed oN your shower space. When we went to leave they tried to make us pay again because aparenlty the fact we paid on arraival wasnt in the system. As no recipt was offered i hav to log onto my oersonal banking to prive to them i had indeed already paid. This took another 30 mins which very nearly cost us a parking ticket at the nearest parking building wich is not free on weekends like adverstied but rather tiny and very expensive. I have stayed in other backpackers in the city for the same rates and muh better service. There was also alot of loitering goin on out front by other geusts i assume. Ther were drinking and smoking and generaly making alot of people uncomfortable

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

08 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i like the security they had, you knew that you were safe with the access of a swipe card and i really liked the dairy/shop connected to the hostel, it was very convenient.

Disliked: It didn't have all the facilities offered and the place wasn't very clean. First impressions was not good at all.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Dominic Notley

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

18 January 2015

Liked: It's close to the city. 15 min walk to the CDB. Free car parking outside after 6pm on Saturday and all day Sunday.

Disliked: The bed if you got to close to the edge the mattress wasn't supported and you could easily fall out of bed. It had a damp smell. Carpet had stains on it. The view consisted of a dirty wall and air conditioning pipes.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2015

Liked: really x 100000bad

Disliked: staff was really rude and room was very noisy. Every time I asked a simething to a bold staff he acts like a angry to me. and If someone in the next door make the loud noisy and I can hear that every noisy . so I can't have a sleep. It's really sucks the bold staff and the room structure

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

15 March 2014

Liked: Nothing was interesting.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Elrasheid Elkhidir

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 March 2014 Elrasheid would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Only one elevator Dirty carpets though clean linen

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

20 January 2014

Liked: The security was so good that we could not get in (see below).

Disliked: The swipe card did not work, so we cannot get in after hours. No one was at reception to help. We had to walk 7 stories high, after waiting for a resident to help us get in. We booked for 2 people to stay there but only 1 pillow, 1 towel, and 1 set of toiletries were provided. We ordered a double room but got a single bed instead. Was not impressed.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2013

Liked: You only had to share your kitchen and bathroom with one or two person.

Disliked: The bathroom and kitchen were really dirty. The kitchen was also really bad equipped: there were not enough plates or glasses. Nobody of the hostel cared, if the last person who rented the room did leave the kitchen clean. There was also bad food in the kitchen cupboard. In the night it was also really loud because of some ventilator or something at the house.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2012

Liked: The lift worked.

Disliked: We checked out of this hostel 3 hours after we checked in after deciding that paying again to stay somewhere cleaner, quieter and less like a halfway house was preferable to staying there. After asking to move rooms away from a rather intimidating "guest" who was clearly smoking drugs in his room and swearing at us, we were told that staff would need to try and resolve the issue with the other person first. They seemed limited in how they could help us. We felt that this would probably inflame an already quite uncomfortable situation and advised staff not to speak to the other resident whilst we were there. We instead booked a taxi and went to stay elsewhere. Not snobby, not antisocial and not overly fussy but this place was not what we'd expected at all, even at such a cheap price. We've stayed in cheaper, better and much safer feeling places since!

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2012

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Not clean, not friendly.

The property's response is...