We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Silverfern Backpackers

Hostel | 234 Hobson Street, Auckland, New Zealand 1010

66.4% Overall Rating

142 out of 187 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/03/2015)

"The atmosphere was quite nice. At night everybody's staying at the lounge talking and drinking. Showers are okay, rooms aren't that noisy, beds are okay as well."

Read all Silverfern Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.07
  • Towel USD 2.30

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Auckland

City Lodge Backpacker
26.63 USD

Hostel 88.8% 230 reviews
YMCA Hostel
22.22 USD

Hostel 84.0% 22 reviews
Auckland City Hotel
49.81 USD

Hotel 4 star 84.9% 7 reviews
BK Hostel
22.22 USD

Hostel 85.4% 243 reviews
Freemans Backpackers
21.46 USD

Hostel 84.3% 104 reviews
YHA Auckland International
20.69 USD

Hostel 83.7% 251 reviews
K Road City Travellers
22.22 USD

Hostel 82.4% 252 reviews
The Attic Backpackers
22.22 USD

Hostel 90.9% 90 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
66.4%

Overall Rating

142 out of 187 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Silverfern Backpackers'

Atmosphere
62.4%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
60.8%
Cleanliness
63.2%
Staff
68.0%
Value
64.0%
Safety
68.8%
Refine your results Showing 146 of 178 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2015

Liked: M

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was quite nice. At night everybody's staying at the lounge talking and drinking. Showers are okay, rooms aren't that noisy, beds are okay as well.

Disliked: You have to pay for wifi. no air conditioning, so it gets very hot sometimes. No free lockers.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2015

Liked: Location

Disliked: Lack of windows-very hot! Not very clean bathrooms and smelt. Lack of crockery for 160 people- no cups or glasses to drink out of.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2015

Liked: clean bathroom

Disliked: more charges than expected, huge key

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2015

Liked: Absolutely nothing...

Disliked: The room wasn't a room, drunk people were speaking very loudly until 2 am and bathroom was very dirty... Worst place we ever stayed in!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Work / volunteering

19 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are very friendly and willing to give helps.

Disliked: Just the bathing water is a little bit hot during summer.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Matthew Towers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2015

Liked: Other guests were pretty cool

Disliked: The overall cleanliness was disgusting. I was in the room when the cleaners came in to clean an thy literally did nothing. Room full of rubbish and a bag full of mouldy rotten food.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money. Friendly and helpful staff. A relaxed enjoyable atmosphere and in a really good location about 10 minute walk into the centre

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Patrick Brophy

Alone

City break

30 June 2014 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: The bathrooms were fairly clean and the shower was decent. The receptionist (french girl) was friendly.

Disliked: $50 key deposit is just ridiculous. There were people sleeping in the dorms all day with curtains closed and lights off. Bedding is below standard for price paid, especially the pillows.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lenny Thackeray

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2014 Lenny would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel was good value for the money I paid. Far better than the other city hostels. I felt safe as the security was good and they had a good CCTV system. Good book library in the lounge. Kitchen and bathrooms are clean. Overall a good place to stay.

Disliked: Lenny left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sasha Icon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2014 Sasha would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were helpful, location was fairly central , other guests at the hostel were nice and friendly. The free breakfast was also a nice start to the day.

Disliked: Sasha left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Larry Zuzu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2014 Larry would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were helpful, location was very central, hostel had nice lounges, very clean.

Disliked: Larry left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people and big kitchen

Disliked: - I arrived at 6 in the morning and the reception wasnt open until 7. I sent an email about my early check in but no answer - only 30 mins of internet free a day

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: easy convenient value for money

Disliked: Shame there isn't a place to seclude the smokers from the rest of the guests.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

25 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was booked into a 4 bunk room which I had all to myself. The staff were very helpful and kind. The kitchen was well set up and the showers were great!

Disliked: It was a bit far from the main city.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean bathroom

Disliked: Staff sometimes

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Henry Highest

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2014 Henry would recommend this property

Liked: Central location and value for money.

Disliked: Henry left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Batter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2014 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: This was the second time I stayed here, the hostel has good fun staff, the location is a short walk to the city centre, kitchen has everything you need, no noisy bar here unlike other city hostels,so you can get good sleep at night. If you need a good quality hostel to stay then this is for you.

Disliked: Nothing bad.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Daniel Petersen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2014

Liked: Nice tv room.

Disliked: The service from the manager and the staff was very bad! I checked in at 11. And they said there was a bed in the room waiting for me, witch there wasn't! And then they started looking for bed for me, and I finally got a bed at 5 pm. But it the service was so bad, and they didn't even care. And they are never smiling or anything they just look so mad.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Daniel Hawes

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 February 2014 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: There were some cool people staying while I was there. It's a pretty sociable kind of area, there are plenty of spots to go and seek out other guests and spark up a conversation.

Disliked: It's HOT! My room is like a Sauna, the common room is like an oven. Makes it quite difficult to sleep and almost impossible to spend more than 10 minutes in the kitchen or the upstairs common area. You need Air con ASAP! $50 for a key deposit? In what world does a key cost $50 to replace. This is a pretty outrageous amount to take from travelling backpackers.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

09 January 2014

Liked: The location was pretty convenient and there was a good amount of space in the main rooms. The pre-boiled water dispenser was also good for saving time when grabbing a tea in the morning!

Disliked: Although the location was great, it was also near a City Mission, which we frequently had to pick longer ways back to the hostel to avoid at night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kevin Long

Alone

Work / volunteering

21 November 2013 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is comfortable and clean, staff are helpful, its best to book early as it is a popular hostel.

Disliked: Kevin left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Janet Perry

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2013 Janet would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is newish and very clean, nice pictures on the walls, the kitchen is tidy and spacious with actual ovens. The bathrooms were clean and well maintained. Plenty of mirrors. The TV room is great just like a small cinema. The main lounge has a good range of books which can be swopped. The dorm I was in was tidy and clean, not to noisy and plenty of tables and chairs in the room. The staff were super helpful and showed me how to get to the sites in Auckland. Only hostel in Auckland with a car park which is great for me and my luggage, I will be back in December

Disliked: Janet left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Karl Frendo Cumbo

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 November 2013

Liked: Nothing really

Disliked: Cheeky..

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013

Liked: This property was filthy the staff attitude stank, this free Internet didn't work or was rubbish, coffee was horrible ip

Disliked: This property was filthy the staff attitude stank, this free Internet didn't work or was rubbish, coffee was horrible i don't even rate properties because I hate people who do just for the sake of a moan but I really didn't like this place so much I thought I would save a few people from having a horrible experiance

The property's response is...