HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Silverfern Backpackers

Hostel | 234 Hobson Street, Auckland, New Zealand 1010

65.9% Overall Rating

128 out of 163 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/03/2014)

Jessica Batter thinks…

"This was the second time I stayed here, the hostel has good fun staff, the location is a short walk to the city centre, kitchen has everything you need, no noisy bar here unlike other city hostels,so…"

Read all Silverfern Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.46
  • Towel USD 2.60

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Auckland

City Lodge Backpacker
32.88 USD

Hostel 87.2% 228 reviews
YMCA Hostel
23.36 USD

Hostel 84.6% 18 reviews
Auckland City Hotel
47.59 USD

Hotel 4 star 90.0% 6 reviews
BK Hostel
25.09 USD

Hostel 83.4% 236 reviews
Freemans Backpackers
24.23 USD

Hostel 83.2% 100 reviews
YHA Auckland International
22.50 USD

Hostel 78.2% 244 reviews
K Road City Travellers
25.09 USD

Hostel 87.2% 229 reviews
The Attic Backpackers
22.50 USD

Hostel 95.5% 61 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.9%

Overall Rating

128 out of 163 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Silverfern Backpackers'

Atmosphere
63.2%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
56.8%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
58.4%
Value
60.8%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 131 of 155 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean bathroom

Disliked: Staff sometimes

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Henry Highest

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2014 Henry would recommend this property

Liked: Central location and value for money.

Disliked: Henry left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Batter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2014 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: This was the second time I stayed here, the hostel has good fun staff, the location is a short walk to the city centre, kitchen has everything you need, no noisy bar here unlike other city hostels,so you can get good sleep at night. If you need a good quality hostel to stay then this is for you.

Disliked: Nothing bad.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Daniel Petersen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2014

Liked: Nice tv room.

Disliked: The service from the manager and the staff was very bad! I checked in at 11. And they said there was a bed in the room waiting for me, witch there wasn't! And then they started looking for bed for me, and I finally got a bed at 5 pm. But it the service was so bad, and they didn't even care. And they are never smiling or anything they just look so mad.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Daniel Hawes

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 February 2014 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: There were some cool people staying while I was there. It's a pretty sociable kind of area, there are plenty of spots to go and seek out other guests and spark up a conversation.

Disliked: It's HOT! My room is like a Sauna, the common room is like an oven. Makes it quite difficult to sleep and almost impossible to spend more than 10 minutes in the kitchen or the upstairs common area. You need Air con ASAP! $50 for a key deposit? In what world does a key cost $50 to replace. This is a pretty outrageous amount to take from travelling backpackers.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

09 January 2014

Liked: The location was pretty convenient and there was a good amount of space in the main rooms. The pre-boiled water dispenser was also good for saving time when grabbing a tea in the morning!

Disliked: Although the location was great, it was also near a City Mission, which we frequently had to pick longer ways back to the hostel to avoid at night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kevin Long

Alone

Work / volunteering

21 November 2013 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is comfortable and clean, staff are helpful, its best to book early as it is a popular hostel.

Disliked: Kevin left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Janet Perry

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2013 Janet would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is newish and very clean, nice pictures on the walls, the kitchen is tidy and spacious with actual ovens. The bathrooms were clean and well maintained. Plenty of mirrors. The TV room is great just like a small cinema. The main lounge has a good range of books which can be swopped. The dorm I was in was tidy and clean, not to noisy and plenty of tables and chairs in the room. The staff were super helpful and showed me how to get to the sites in Auckland. Only hostel in Auckland with a car park which is great for me and my luggage, I will be back in December

Disliked: Janet left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Karl Frendo Cumbo

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 November 2013

Liked: Nothing really

Disliked: Cheeky..

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013

Liked: This property was filthy the staff attitude stank, this free Internet didn't work or was rubbish, coffee was horrible ip

Disliked: This property was filthy the staff attitude stank, this free Internet didn't work or was rubbish, coffee was horrible i don't even rate properties because I hate people who do just for the sake of a moan but I really didn't like this place so much I thought I would save a few people from having a horrible experiance

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Samantha Reiter

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 October 2013

Liked: It was affordable.

Disliked: I was not confident my belonging were safe.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Frankie Nevin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2013 Frankie would recommend this property

Liked: really good value for money clean and convenient.

Disliked: Frankie left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in one of the dorms. It was clean and comfortable. No individual light made it difficult to see when everyone was asleep. Lots of room but no lockers unless you want to pay at reception. I had to pay $4 to leave my bags there for the day after checking out at 10am. Kitchen is good and even has an oven. Breakfast is early between 8-9 and is just toast and cornflakes. Free tea and coffee was nice but no milk. Helpfulness of staff is hit and miss. There were 4 different receptionists in the 2 nights i stayed. Internet is terrible and you'll be lucky to connect. You only get 100mb per day which doesn't last long although i didn't get to use mine up as it was never on. There was a TV room and a common room with pool table but no-one seemed to hang out here. I made more friends in the dorm than social areas. Hot showers are pretty good. I would probably stay here again.

Disliked: If you ask for extra nights once there, they force to upgrade your room so you pay more. They also won't let you book further nights on the internet and are really strict about check out times. One guy in my dorm was 20mins late and they came knocking on the door to find him!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kristin Lundquist

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

15 July 2013 Kristin would recommend this property

Liked: Good kitchen and friendly atomsphere to meet other travellers. Location is good as well. Bed was comfortable and the cleanliness was definitely acceptable.

Disliked: The girl in the reception was not very helpful and did not made me feel particularly welcome. There were no lockers in the dorms and the hostel charged you for luggage storage on departure. There was also only 100 mbit free wifi.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good facilities

Disliked: Poor atmosphere

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Visiting friends or family

27 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean and expected facilities

Disliked: they should be able to better use the small room mabe copy airport budget Ibis.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Emmi Hiivola

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2013 Emmi would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen was spacey and well-equipped. There was plenty of room for hanging out, because in addition to the lounge and TV room the hallways also had sofas and armchairs.

Disliked: The floors in the common areas (kitchen, bathrooms, showers, hallways) were so dirty that I felt really uncomfortable walking around without shoes. If I'd had slippers it may have been bearable.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2013

Liked: The book exchange

Disliked: The unfriendly and unhelpful staff, the crappy bedstuff (holes in your blankets) and crappy bathrooms, no soap, nothing to dry

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

22 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's OK, value for money.

Disliked: Nothing.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

15 April 2013

Liked: The ubication

Disliked: The bathrooms were not clean, when I arrived it still had hairs on the toilet, shower and the washbasin. They had only set up the bed

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean and quiet

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Laura Adams

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: The diner style kitchen. Newness of property. Less tan two years old.

Disliked: The hostel was clean at first. We stayed for three nights and nothing was cleaned in that time. The toilet/shower area got steadily worse while we were there. Also on one day we had access to a common room and then it was closed for the remainder of the time.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Poh Choo Loo

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2013 Poh Choo would recommend this property

Liked: The well plan interior (plenty of room along the walkway with seats for leisure and toilet (including the bathrooms). The colour of the wall and warm wooden stairs.

Disliked: Not very understanding receptionist because I was not left with any message and actually I was left outside the property due to my late arrival (10:35pm on 23 March) and I walked around 2 hrs along Queen st to look for another backpacker for that night and yet when I explain to the receptionist the next morning when I reached, she just told me , I was charged for 2 night even I stayed only for one night and without a pleasing face and voice, in other words she is not friendly....... I'm dissapointed.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent staff and service very accommodating

Disliked: was too hot even though the fan hand windows had been left open for us