We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of YMCA Hostel

Hostel | Cnr Pitt street and Greys Ave, Auckland, New Zealand 1010

83.3% Overall Rating

19 out of 21 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/08/2014)

"The bathrooms and showers are pristine! Can't imagine cleaner bathrooms in a budget-level dorm setting."

Read all YMCA Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Elevator / lift(s)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Auckland

City Lodge Backpacker
28.25 USD

Hostel 87.2% 228 reviews
Silverfern Backpackers
16.26 USD

Hostel 72.0% 172 reviews
BK Hostel
23.58 USD

Hostel 83.1% 237 reviews
K Road City Travellers
23.58 USD

Hostel 86.4% 237 reviews
Auckland City Hotel
48.78 USD

Hotel 4 star 84.9% 7 reviews
Freemans Backpackers
22.77 USD

Hostel 83.2% 100 reviews
Newton Lodge
19.51 USD

Hostel 83.1% 49 reviews
YHA Auckland International
13.82 USD

Hostel 81.1% 247 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.3%

Overall Rating

19 out of 21 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'YMCA Hostel'

Atmosphere
70.5%
Location
89.5%
Facilities
77.1%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
92.4%
Value
81.9%
Safety
86.7%
Refine your results Showing 16 of 21 reviews
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Solo

Come backpacker / anno sabbatico
Visitare una cittá
Festa / vita notturna
Turismo culturale

28 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bathrooms and showers are pristine! Can't imagine cleaner bathrooms in a budget-level dorm setting.

Disliked: When I first got to my room, there was a bit of a funky odor that went away after a while. It may be something that the cleaning staff uses when they clean rooms. My window also didn't stayed closed, which would be a problem for most people in the winter, but fortunately I didn't mind it getting a little brisk at night. The rooms are spartan (and the lighting not so great), but it's a perfectly acceptable place to spend a few nights.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Solo

Come backpacker / anno sabbatico
Visitare una cittá
Turismo culturale

19 June 2014

Liked: Clean room. Nice bed though bedclothes not so good.

Disliked: Kitchen was very small and on different floor to cupboard containing cooking utensils, pots & pans. Also on different floor to dining area (which was also very small). Lift was very slow.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Solo

Come backpacker / anno sabbatico

06 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -stuff were friendly -other ppl were great

Disliked: -the kitchen in the 2nd and 3rd floor are quiet small and you need to have a good timing to get a pot

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vivek Batra

Solo

Lavoro / volontariato

21 March 2014 Vivek would recommend this property

Liked: They got exceptional hospitality . I would say there is nothing which i could find wrong with this hostel . If you look at Auckland city , there are plenty of options and in the peak season other back papers fluctuate their rates and sometimes policies too. But YMCA is very clear about their policies , rules and regulations. Apart from it their location is best in terms of proximity to the city.

Disliked: None

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Solo

Turismo culturale

16 January 2014

Liked: It was clean

Disliked: Rooms were too small and not enough facilities for the price charged

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kirsi Paivinen

Solo

Come backpacker / anno sabbatico

13 January 2014 Kirsi would recommend this property

Liked: Fridge in room was really nice

Disliked: Kirsi left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Steve Stables

Solo

Lavoro / volontariato

09 December 2013 Steve would recommend this property

Liked: I thought is was very good, an the staff were excellent

Disliked: Steve left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lee Kueh Lian

Solo

Vacanze in famiglia
Relax/Trattamenti di benessere
Shopping
Visitando amici o famiglia

16 October 2013 Lee would recommend this property

Liked: no.

Disliked: no.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Renata Campos-Moreira

Come una famiglia con bambini

Eventi / festival

03 August 2013 Renata would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff , nice rooms

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hamish Woodley

Solo

Come backpacker / anno sabbatico

05 May 2013 Hamish would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome place

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Con amici / altri viaggiatori

Eventi / festival
Festa / vita notturna

10 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: Shower

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Faizal Hussain

Solo

Come backpacker / anno sabbatico

19 January 2013 Faizal would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good

Disliked: Faizal left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Solo

Visitando amici o famiglia

12 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location close to City

Disliked: Noisy from the road.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gregory Doane

Solo

Turismo culturale
Visitando amici o famiglia

10 January 2012 Gregory would recommend this property

Liked: I was hardly there but when I would arrive it was comfortable. It had adequate facilities for cooking and was only 10 minute walk from heart of downtown. It had an apparently nice physical fitness area for $10NZ (I think) and too bad it didn't have a pool; pools are such great places after lots of walking. Also, if I were designing such a place, I'd put a friendly bar with lagers and ales made on premises, but no drunks, it's the YMCA after all.

Disliked: For the price, I can't think of anything wrong. If I were designing it, I'd put a British pub and an Indian restaurant right on premises, with lots of Hindu statues. But it's the YMCA, after all.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Solo

Visitando amici o famiglia
Lavoro / volontariato

10 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, good value for money, clean, helpful staff.

Disliked: Bit of a dismal atmosphere I'm afraid, but fine for a couple of nights!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Solo

Come backpacker / anno sabbatico

30 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean!

Disliked: Not so secure, bathrooms are inconvenient, showers don't lock etc.