We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Freemans Backpackers

Hostel | 65 Wellington Street, Freemans Bay, Auckland, New Zealand .

83.2% Overall Rating

94 out of 100 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/02/2014)

"Bed was great and the atmosphere between guests was fantastic. Quiet at night. Central but away from traffic noise. We would stay here again over going to a central city motel."

Read all Freemans Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

“Please note that after booking you will receive our e mail address. You’ll need to send your card security code of the card you used when booking (this is the last 3 digits number on the back of your card) in order to fully secure your booking. Failure to do so may result in losing your reservation”.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Auckland

YMCA Hostel
19.45 USD

Hostel 83.3% 21 reviews
Silverfern Backpackers
15.56 USD

Hostel 70.5% 173 reviews
City Lodge Backpacker
23.34 USD

Hostel 87.2% 228 reviews
Auckland City Hotel
45.52 USD

Hotel 4 star 84.9% 7 reviews
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
22.56 USD

Hostel 89.6% 35 reviews
BK Hostel
22.56 USD

Hostel 83.1% 237 reviews
Ponsonby Backpackers
22.56 USD

Hostel 93.3% 174 reviews
K Road City Travellers
22.56 USD

Hostel 86.4% 238 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.2%

Overall Rating

94 out of 100 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Freemans Backpackers'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
89.6%
Value
84.0%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 90 of 95 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2014

Liked: It is within walking distance to city.

Disliked: The bedding wasn't clean and the bathroom had leaks while we were there.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

02 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bed was great and the atmosphere between guests was fantastic. Quiet at night. Central but away from traffic noise. We would stay here again over going to a central city motel.

Disliked: Street parking only

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tracey Cox

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2013 Tracey would recommend this property

Liked: Great room, comfortable bed, radiator :). The manager/ owner was incredibly helpful and introduced herself shortly after we arrived - a nice personal touch. The location is close to the sky tower, the intercity bus terminal and 10 minutes from Ponsonby, so perfect. Free wifi and powerful, hot, clean showers. I only used the Kitchen once, but it seemed to have everything I needed and a nice big range to cook on. Cannot fault it, we loved staying here.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

emily mcgarry

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2013 emily would recommend this property

Liked: We enjoyed our stay at Freemans Lodge; the hostel was clean and the staff were friendly. The free wifi they give you is a definite perk, and the connection is pretty good. It's a small friendly place to stay, and we felt safe and secure throughout our stay. We were also upgraded each time from a private twin to a private double, which worked out well for us. I would definitely recommend this place.

Disliked: It was a bit of a walk from the centre of Auckland, maybe 20-30 minutes when you're carrying cases! But definitely worth the walk :)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Luke Oldfield

Alone

Partying / nightlife

26 April 2013 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: Best Backpackers i have stayed in when comparing value with what's provided. Whilst in technically Freemans Bay it's only a 500m walk to AKL Central and definitely better than staying in and among the constant noise of Queens Street.

Disliked: I got a room next to what must be the cleaners quarters, seen as i was hungover it was a bit difficult to sleep during the day with all the talking, but this was 11am afterall.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Chelsea Ahmann

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2013 Chelsea would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice manager!

Disliked: Chelsea left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely helpful.

Disliked: Needs a paint job.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Mahn

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2013 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: free internet, free parking

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything about this hostel is amazing, the staff the location,everything! Must be one of the best places to stay in Auckland if not anywhere. Thank to Seema the owner my trip to NZ starts better than I could ever of hoped. Thank you!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Visiting friends or family

21 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and manager were very friendly and helpful. The place is old in style, and it's a nice place to stay in. The place is kept very clean and the atmosphere is great. Being "not a party" lodge, it deters many troublemakers, and you can actually get a decent nights sleep here because of it. The bathrooms and kitchens were all great. There are a couple of kitchens, which I did find small, but seemed to meet the needs of the lodge easily (as there are also a small number of guests). The free WiFi requires voucher-codes through a third-party portal company, which I found absolutely fine if you're not a bandwidth hog. Safe and secure place. I have stayed here several times now, and would definitely recommend it, and will return if I need a place to stay in future.

Disliked: Not much, it's a really good place to stay. I'd definitely recommend it.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

05 January 2012

Liked: Freeman's Staff were genuinely really helpful and friendly and the place has a Homely feel to it. It's over-zealously kept clean (Vacuuming starts at about 8am, every day). Not a party hostel, but is very family/child-friendly. The Wireless Internet is absolutely terrible - the worst I've seen at a hostel in a very, very long time. The free Tea and Coffee runs out and doesn't get replaced for days. There are two small kitchens, which are really not big enough for the amount of guests that can be accommodated. Not the worst place I've stayed but has plenty of room for improvement.

Disliked: Freeman's Staff were genuinely really helpful and friendly and the place has a Homely feel to it. It's over-zealously kept clean (Vacuuming starts at about 8am, every day). Not a party hostel, but is very family/child-friendly. The Wireless Internet is absolutely terrible - the worst I've seen at a hostel in a very, very long time. The free Tea and Coffee runs out and doesn't get replaced for days. There are two small kitchens, which are really not big enough for the amount of guests that can be accommodated. Not the worst place I've stayed but has plenty of room for improvement.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the garden

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was really clean.

Disliked: The internet connection doesn't work always.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lovely staff, very clean, quite small, wifi internet (voucher based for 1 hr at a time)

Disliked: really quite far from the centre - too far if you plan on staying only a couple of days

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean; no bunks in the dorm I stayed in; free wifi

Disliked: Two very small kitchens; no shoes inside; Have to dash across the courtyard to the shower

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Perttu Ojanperä

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2011 Perttu would recommend this property

Liked: Very comfortable place to stay. Staff was very helpful. We reeally liked this place and it was even quite affordable.

Disliked: It was a bit too far from the bus stops. The distance was like 1-2km

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful owner, very good location, clean, safe

Disliked: average value fo money but guess this applies to all NZ, i.e. accomodation being a bit more expanesive than in other places round the world

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mario Dal Ponte

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2011 Mario would recommend this property

Liked: cleaned daily and large garden

Disliked: not a lot of information when I arrived but after asking the staff I got everything I needed

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed for three nights in a doulbe (shared bathroom): Free wifi internet that works in the room as well. You can walk downtown (10-15min) easily. Parking on street is possible. Many first time work-and-travel guests. Nice and clean rooms.

Disliked: Kitchen was small and not very clean,

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Manager is really helpful and friendly. Hostel is very clean.

Disliked: Very small common room. Not the best place to meet a lot of people.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

13 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel in an old city house with personal touch; free internet and free wifi vouchers! (had a TV in our shared bathrooom room)

Disliked: Kitchen not the cleanest currently

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Luis Otavio Esteves

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

23 August 2010 Luis Otavio would recommend this property

Liked: Facilities and services offered.

Disliked: there is not a good place, in the house, to talk and meet people.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location just outside Auckland's CBD and barely a 10 minute bus drive when you want to go in. Clean and friendly, with helpful staff.

Disliked: If you have a very heavy backpack and you're using the buses, you are going to hate the hill this place is on.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2010

Liked: The staff

Disliked: The location and atmosphere

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect manager. helpfull staff

Disliked: room