HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Freemans lodge Auckland

Hostel

65 Wellington street, Freemans bay,Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 78%

Location 86%

Safety 88%

Staff 90%

Value 84%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Important Information

“Please note that after booking you will receive our e mail address. You’ll need to send your card security code of the card you used when booking (this is the last 3 digits number on the back of your card) in order to fully secure your booking. Failure to do so may result in losing your reservation”.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 78%

Location 86%

Safety 88%

Staff 90%

Value 84%

Showing 11-13 of 13 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Best Backpackers i have stayed in when comparing value with what's provided. Whilst in technically Freemans Bay it's only a 500m walk to AKL Central and definitely better than staying in and among the constant noise of Queens Street.

Disliked: I got a room next to what must be the cleaners quarters, seen as i was hungover it was a bit difficult to sleep during the day with all the talking, but this was 11am afterall.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very nice manager!

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff were extremely helpful.

Disliked: Needs a paint job.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Everything about this hostel is amazing, the staff the location,everything! Must be one of the best places to stay in Auckland if not anywhere. Thank to Seema the owner my trip to NZ starts better than I could ever of hoped. Thank you!

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: free internet, free parking

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, City break, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The staff and manager were very friendly and helpful. The place is old in style, and it's a nice place to stay in. The place is kept very clean and the atmosphere is great. Being "not a party" lodge, it deters many troublemakers, and you can actually get a decent nights sleep here because of it. The bathrooms and kitchens were all great. There are a couple of kitchens, which I did find small, but seemed to meet the needs of the lodge easily (as there are also a small number of guests). The free WiFi requires voucher-codes through a third-party portal company, which I found absolutely fine if you're not a bandwidth hog. Safe and secure place. I have stayed here several times now, and would definitely recommend it, and will return if I need a place to stay in future.

Disliked: Not much, it's a really good place to stay. I'd definitely recommend it.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Freeman's Staff were genuinely really helpful and friendly and the place has a Homely feel to it. It's over-zealously kept clean (Vacuuming starts at about 8am, every day). Not a party hostel, but is very family/child-friendly. The Wireless Internet is absolutely terrible - the worst I've seen at a hostel in a very, very long time. The free Tea and Coffee runs out and doesn't get replaced for days. There are two small kitchens, which are really not big enough for the amount of guests that can be accommodated. Not the worst place I've stayed but has plenty of room for improvement.

Disliked: Freeman's Staff were genuinely really helpful and friendly and the place has a Homely feel to it. It's over-zealously kept clean (Vacuuming starts at about 8am, every day). Not a party hostel, but is very family/child-friendly. The Wireless Internet is absolutely terrible - the worst I've seen at a hostel in a very, very long time. The free Tea and Coffee runs out and doesn't get replaced for days. There are two small kitchens, which are really not big enough for the amount of guests that can be accommodated. Not the worst place I've stayed but has plenty of room for improvement.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the garden

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability