HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Fat Camel Hostel Auckland Hostel

38 Fort Street, Downtown, Auckland, New Zealand

Atmosphere 68%

Cleanliness 63%

Facilities 66%

Location 93%

Safety 72%

Staff 82%

Value 71%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 3.51USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 68%

Cleanliness 63%

Facilities 66%

Location 93%

Safety 72%

Staff 82%

Value 71%

Showing 1-10 of 61 reviews

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Mar 2017

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: The location.

Disliked: The frontdesk staff was very uninterested and not really helpful.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Feb 2017

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Rooms have electric locks that you need a swipe key for. And A bar next to hostel

Disliked: Room was extremely hot even on a rainy day. Only had a standing fan to cool down the room which didn't help cool the room even when left on for the entire time we were there. Also, the elevator was broken so we were forced to carry our bags up 4 flights of stairs

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 May 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: The bar thats connected to the hostel

Disliked: Too small rooms, windowless, not very clean

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: kitchen for each room

Disliked: no free WiFinot so cleanuncomfortable beds

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very helpful staff! Location is great. Very good value for money

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey Fanny,
Thanks for leaving feedback, we really do appreciate it, and we're stoked to see you enjoyed your stay with us.

Good luck and have fun with the rest of your travels.

Fatty Crew

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: The location is really good, close to the waterfront and lot of food options.

Disliked: There's no wifi in the apartments.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,

We are currently working on upgrading the wifi throughout the whole building which will make it available everywhere. Hopefully if you ever come back you will be able to see it for yourself :o)

Have a good trip.

Nomads Fatty Crew

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location and some free chips

Disliked: It was filthy, the walls are v thin so you can hear everything in the next room. Bed had two mattresses which seemed too old , sank in the middle horizontally. The heater didn't work, there was a wardrobe but no hangers. Toilet was so awful I actually went out to the loo. It was no smoking but smelt of smoke. You have to pull the doors to which makes them slam so everyone is slamming doors all evening!

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Ease of access 24 hours

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Not safe at all! I got money and documents stolen from inside my bag, inside my dorm room.

Check Availability