HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Nomads Fat Camel

Hostel | 38 Fort Street, Downtown Area, Auckland, New Zealand .

74.9% Overall Rating

215 out of 318 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/04/2014)

"Great city centre location, cheapest you will find in the area that has positive reviews, friendly staff, kitchens and bathrooms on each floor are convenient and a free snack in the evenings if you get in quick enough…"

Read all Nomads Fat Camel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.71
  • Towel USD 4.27

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Auckland

Nomads Auckland Backpackers
16.24 USD

Hostel 87.4% 431 reviews
Jucy Hotel (Prev. Aspen House)
22.52 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.8% 132 reviews
Frienz.com Backpackers Accommodation Auckland
18.81 USD

Hostel 80.1% 139 reviews
ibis Styles Auckland (prev. All Seasons Auckland)
46.60 USD

Hotel 3 star 78.1% 18 reviews
Surf'N'Snow Backpackers
17.10 USD

Hostel 67.5% 77 reviews
City Travellers Auckland
18.81 USD

Hostel 72.3% 37 reviews
The Station Backpackers
19.66 USD

Hostel 82.6% 23 reviews
Choice Plaza Backpackers
16.24 USD

Hostel 72.3% 112 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.9%

Overall Rating

215 out of 318 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Nomads Fat Camel'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
65.6%
Staff
82.4%
Value
71.2%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 208 of 222 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Fernandez Alvide

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2014 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: Confortable, clean, friendly staff, free meal every night

Disliked: nothing really

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

04 May 2014

Liked: The flat layout

Disliked: It was dirty. I ended up staying for two nights during which time I didn't see anyone come into clean - the towel in the bathroom wasn't changed, neither was the dishcloth. If was incredibly noisy at night and almost impossible to sleep - it felt like I was actually in the bar rather than several floors above it. The rooms were hot and stuffy so consequently smelly - there didn't seem to be any proper form of ventilation. The beds with painfully thin - i could feel every bar of the bed frame. Between five flats there was only one working toilet - the other was blocked with a broken toilet seat and completely disgusting.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jade clark

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2014 Jade would recommend this property

Liked: Seperate toilets. Nice atmosphere everyone so friendly

Disliked: Was very noisy and I stayed on a Monday.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

28 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great city centre location, cheapest you will find in the area that has positive reviews, friendly staff, kitchens and bathrooms on each floor are convenient and a free snack in the evenings if you get in quick enough is a bonus! Rooms with a window are good but the biggest downside was the "massage parlour" next door that blasts really awful cheesy music through the night until pretty much 8am, so if you like your sleep you may prefer to put up with the smell and dampness of a windowless room for a bit less noise.

Disliked: A little bit anti-social as you only really meet the people on your own floor in the kitchens. There is a common room with TV but everyone while I was here just sat in silence and ignored one another. The luggage room was left unlocked for most of the day when we had left our valuables in there (we knew because we sat in the common room beside the luggage room for most of the day as we had to wait around). There was a robbery while we were here in one of the rooms on our floor, not by a fellow traveller but by a randomer who wandered in from the street so security is an issue. The kitchen on the floor we stayed on was messy and didn't have much usable cookware or utensils and the fridge was completely overpacked and in need of a good clearing out, to the point where we just bought dry foods and kept them in our room instead. That being said we had stayed before on a level with the private rooms and the kitchen and fridge were immaculate and there was lots of space for our food, so I suppose it can't be helped when you've only got 2 small fridges to 20 something guests. As I already mentioned the noise from the strip club/brothel next door is pretty horrendous, but that's not really the hostels fault and I expect both other hostels on this street would have the same issue.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

16 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, good facilities, good value

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

emily kate Blocki

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2014

Liked: Staff were friendly and there was a lift.

Disliked: Disliked having 2 showers and one toilet between 32 people, the self contain kitchens are good idea but no air conditioning so room smelt of what ever people were cooking, I shared with long term guest, who had taken over the room, my bunk bed was missing lots of slats and the ones that it did have poked in my back as the matress was so thin. Finally there were no steps to get on top bunk, i had to use my suitcase, the bunk bed rocked more than most been in so did not sleep well.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Lindsey Pearson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2014

Liked: The layout of the kitchen on each floor was handy. Reception 24hrs. Nice bunch of ppl staying. Staff were really nice and friendly.

Disliked: It wasn't very clean. They don't change the duvets. My room was stinking had to keep window open but the noise of the night club was mental. Internet is very expensive $3 dollars and hour or $12 a day.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

damon mclaren

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

04 March 2014

Liked: good location

Disliked: budget double rooms have no window , was about 40 degrees and very hard to sleep , also only one double bed and i had to share with my mate , pretty rundown needsalot of maintence , also luggage room had a broken padlock not very safe

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jiri Masata

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 February 2014 Jiri would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: small rooms

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2014

Liked: Fairly cheap

Disliked: Onsite bar had misleading ads, eg 2 for 1 drinks. When asked for this, bar staff said 'we haven't done that for ages'

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The apartment style set up

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Georgina Gordon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014 Georgina would recommend this property

Liked: It was available, and cheap.

Disliked: The room was hot and stuffy and smelled. But that's to be expected for a backpackers room with no window.

The property's response is...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2014

Liked: Separate small kitchens, free snack meals, good laundry and nice sheets.

Disliked: NOISE, NOISE, NOISE and ceaseless intrusions by people not staying in the dorm.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Keith Sorensen

Alone

Work / volunteering

16 January 2014 Keith would recommend this property

Liked: Downtown location close to the bus and rail transport was great, friendly helpful staff, clean, tidy, we'll presented accommodation, and friendly foreign traveler guests. Having first started staying in hostels overseas, the NZ hostels were not measuring up until I stayed here, I am so happy I have just booked another four day stay.

Disliked: I was not able to extend my stay, they need to grow bigger, so more can enjoy the real hostel experience on a world class level.:)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aaron Conners Pascua

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2014 Aaron would recommend this property

Liked: Central location

Disliked: The wifi was very very expensive.

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2013

Liked: good located

Disliked: 80 bucks for a double is way to expensive

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

02 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, price, helpful staff

Disliked: could be a bit cleaner, really squeeky beds

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2013

Liked: Self contained units are good for getting to know people you're sharing with.

Disliked: Facilities are very worn and in need of renovation. Only one toilet/shower room. Now curtains.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were awesome and super friendly. The location was close to most of downtown Auckland. Rooms were fairly quiet too which was nice.

Disliked: Movie room smelt of marijuana.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is perfect.

Disliked: no free wifi

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

James Murdoch

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2013

Liked: Location and layout of apartment style.... Place has alot of potential. Had a problem with room we were placed in and staff were very good in replacing us into a new room.

Disliked: First room was awful....damp and mouldy smell was so bad ,wall was coming away from its post ! Moved to a room I thought was much better only to find out later on was riddled with bed bugs.....

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

miriam simon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 May 2013

Liked: Friendly staff, Central

Disliked: Bed Bugs! I was eaten alive. Dirty bathrooms and kitchen

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Levi Knipe

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

29 April 2013

Liked: leaving finally

Disliked: just about missed our flight because our bags were locked up and they didnt have the key, also they had only booked us for one night and we had booked 3 nights.

The property's response is...

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Laura Adams

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2013

Liked: The free snack at dinnertimes.

Disliked: The guests do not know how to clean up for themselves. Used condoms on the floors. Not to mention tissues overflowing from the toilets, nowhere to prepare food (literally no space anywhere), the fridge looked like you could grow stuff on the bottom shelf. I actually threw stuff out, out of sheer frustration. Oh and did I forget to mention the people in our dorm (which was only a 4 bed dorm that you couldn't swing a cat in) having sex, not discreetly. Completely naked and me and my fiance were in the same room witnessing it! The hostel took no measures to throw them out. We had to move rooms. This place is by far the worse and so far we have stay in a lot of hostels.