HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Nomads Fat Camel

Hostel | 38 Fort Street, Downtown Area, Auckland, New Zealand .

73.6% Overall Rating

212 out of 314 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/03/2014)

Lindsey Pearson thinks…

"The layout of the kitchen on each floor was handy. Reception 24hrs. Nice bunch of ppl staying. Staff were really nice and friendly."

Read all Nomads Fat Camel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.72
  • Towel USD 4.30

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Auckland

Nomads Auckland Backpackers
16.35 USD

Hostel 79.3% 413 reviews
Jucy Hotel (Prev. Aspen House)
21.51 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.7% 131 reviews
Frienz.com Backpackers Accommodation Auckland
19.79 USD

Hostel 81.1% 137 reviews
ibis Styles Auckland (prev. All Seasons Auckland)
32.27 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.6% 15 reviews
Surf'N'Snow Backpackers
17.21 USD

Hostel 67.4% 76 reviews
City Travellers Auckland
24.09 USD

Hostel 72.3% 37 reviews
The Station Backpackers
22.37 USD

Hostel 85.9% 15 reviews
Choice Plaza Backpackers
16.35 USD

Hostel 73.9% 109 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.6%

Overall Rating

212 out of 314 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Nomads Fat Camel'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
66.4%
Cleanliness
62.4%
Staff
81.6%
Value
69.6%
Safety
71.2%
Refine your results Showing 204 of 218 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

16 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, good facilities, good value

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

emily kate Blocki

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2014

Liked: Staff were friendly and there was a lift.

Disliked: Disliked having 2 showers and one toilet between 32 people, the self contain kitchens are good idea but no air conditioning so room smelt of what ever people were cooking, I shared with long term guest, who had taken over the room, my bunk bed was missing lots of slats and the ones that it did have poked in my back as the matress was so thin. Finally there were no steps to get on top bunk, i had to use my suitcase, the bunk bed rocked more than most been in so did not sleep well.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Lindsey Pearson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2014

Liked: The layout of the kitchen on each floor was handy. Reception 24hrs. Nice bunch of ppl staying. Staff were really nice and friendly.

Disliked: It wasn't very clean. They don't change the duvets. My room was stinking had to keep window open but the noise of the night club was mental. Internet is very expensive $3 dollars and hour or $12 a day.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

damon mclaren

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

04 March 2014

Liked: good location

Disliked: budget double rooms have no window , was about 40 degrees and very hard to sleep , also only one double bed and i had to share with my mate , pretty rundown needsalot of maintence , also luggage room had a broken padlock not very safe

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jiri Masata

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 February 2014 Jiri would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: small rooms

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2014

Liked: Fairly cheap

Disliked: Onsite bar had misleading ads, eg 2 for 1 drinks. When asked for this, bar staff said 'we haven't done that for ages'

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The apartment style set up

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Georgina Gordon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014 Georgina would recommend this property

Liked: It was available, and cheap.

Disliked: The room was hot and stuffy and smelled. But that's to be expected for a backpackers room with no window.

The property's response is...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2014

Liked: Separate small kitchens, free snack meals, good laundry and nice sheets.

Disliked: NOISE, NOISE, NOISE and ceaseless intrusions by people not staying in the dorm.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Keith Sorensen

Alone

Work / volunteering

16 January 2014 Keith would recommend this property

Liked: Downtown location close to the bus and rail transport was great, friendly helpful staff, clean, tidy, we'll presented accommodation, and friendly foreign traveler guests. Having first started staying in hostels overseas, the NZ hostels were not measuring up until I stayed here, I am so happy I have just booked another four day stay.

Disliked: I was not able to extend my stay, they need to grow bigger, so more can enjoy the real hostel experience on a world class level.:)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aaron Conners Pascua

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2014 Aaron would recommend this property

Liked: Central location

Disliked: The wifi was very very expensive.

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2013

Liked: good located

Disliked: 80 bucks for a double is way to expensive

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

02 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, price, helpful staff

Disliked: could be a bit cleaner, really squeeky beds

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2013

Liked: Self contained units are good for getting to know people you're sharing with.

Disliked: Facilities are very worn and in need of renovation. Only one toilet/shower room. Now curtains.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were awesome and super friendly. The location was close to most of downtown Auckland. Rooms were fairly quiet too which was nice.

Disliked: Movie room smelt of marijuana.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is perfect.

Disliked: no free wifi

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

James Murdoch

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2013

Liked: Location and layout of apartment style.... Place has alot of potential. Had a problem with room we were placed in and staff were very good in replacing us into a new room.

Disliked: First room was awful....damp and mouldy smell was so bad ,wall was coming away from its post ! Moved to a room I thought was much better only to find out later on was riddled with bed bugs.....

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

miriam simon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 May 2013

Liked: Friendly staff, Central

Disliked: Bed Bugs! I was eaten alive. Dirty bathrooms and kitchen

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Levi Knipe

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

29 April 2013

Liked: leaving finally

Disliked: just about missed our flight because our bags were locked up and they didnt have the key, also they had only booked us for one night and we had booked 3 nights.

The property's response is...

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Laura Adams

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2013

Liked: The free snack at dinnertimes.

Disliked: The guests do not know how to clean up for themselves. Used condoms on the floors. Not to mention tissues overflowing from the toilets, nowhere to prepare food (literally no space anywhere), the fridge looked like you could grow stuff on the bottom shelf. I actually threw stuff out, out of sheer frustration. Oh and did I forget to mention the people in our dorm (which was only a 4 bed dorm that you couldn't swing a cat in) having sex, not discreetly. Completely naked and me and my fiance were in the same room witnessing it! The hostel took no measures to throw them out. We had to move rooms. This place is by far the worse and so far we have stay in a lot of hostels.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

25 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really helpful, Chilled out atmosphere

Disliked: Kitchens in dorm floors were really small and couldnt really cook anything, Also lack of cups, etc, Private floors were much better spacewise but not amazing on plates still

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

robert burton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2013

Liked: it was right in the centre of Auckland next to Queens street.

Disliked: The staff weren't particularly helpful and told us nothing about the hostel or the local area. Said the room would be ready at 1. came back at 1.30 still not ready. came back at 2 they were still finishing off. Bathroom wasn't very nice either.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Gary Hill

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2013

Liked: It's cheap and cheerful!!

Disliked: The dorms are strange, each one has it's own kitchen, sounds good but it's not very sociable! The building is very run down and tired, it really needs a spruce up.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Debbie Watton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2013 Debbie would recommend this property

Liked: Like the apartment layout. Great free snack meal. Dorms and bathrooms clean. Only way to improve Would be free wifi!!

Disliked: Debbie left no negative feedback.