We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of K Road City Travellers

Hostel | 146 Karangahape Road, Auckland, New Zealand 68884

80.7% Overall Rating

238 out of 255 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/06/2015)

"Very helpful and friendly staff. Ok breakfast, free wifi. I was upgraded to a better room the first night as there was no more space in the kind of room I booked and they finally even left me there the 2nd nights. You…"

Read all K Road City Travellers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 6.58

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Auckland

Newton Lodge
15.80 USD

Hostel 82.7% 57 reviews
BK Hostel
20.40 USD

Hostel 85.4% 243 reviews
YHA Auckland City
11.19 USD

Hostel 82.7% 162 reviews
YHA Auckland International
13.82 USD

Hostel 85.4% 253 reviews
City Lodge Backpacker
25.01 USD

Hostel 89.8% 231 reviews
YMCA Hostel
19.09 USD

Hostel 84.6% 24 reviews
Silverfern Backpackers
11.85 USD

Hostel 66.7% 190 reviews
Columbia Hostel
19.75 USD

Hostel 54.3% 20 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.7%

Overall Rating

238 out of 255 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'K Road City Travellers'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
84.0%
Value
80.0%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 215 of 247 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff. Ok breakfast, free wifi. I was upgraded to a better room the first night as there was no more space in the kind of room I booked and they finally even left me there the 2nd nights. You can hear some noise from the street but you are in town. Good value for money

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

24 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good hostel, nice people and nice staff! Reccomend! ;)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Lucas Costa Chapman

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 April 2015 Lucas would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel

Disliked: Lucas left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

18 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really nice, friendly and respectful. The atmosphere is quiet and calm at dormitories. Facilities are always cleaned and location is also good. I've been one week here and I've feeling very comfortable.

Disliked: Not so easy to find space at the fridge.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Susan Gorman

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2015 Susan would recommend this property

Liked: We spent two nights in a simple but comfortable double bed room, shared bathroom. We were out exploring the city so we did not spend much time there except to sleep. Staff was friendly and helpful. The neighborhood has plenty of cafes, bars, shops, and it's easy to hop on the red city link buses to ride to the CBD.

Disliked: The hostel could use some fix up but it is functional for a short stay

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elias Ramirez Sapin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2015 Elias would recommend this property

Liked: Candy and Serina were very friendly and helpful, if one day I´ve got a hostel I would like staff like them. Thanks for everything.

Disliked: Nothing...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Amy Jablkowski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2015 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: There are lots of takeaway food options nearby. The hostel was quiet. Wifi worked great.

Disliked: Bathroom shower curtains were very dirty and possibly moldy. It really lacks a community atmosphere and it is hard to meet other travelers that you are not sharing a room with. It is also at the top of Queen St which is a nice little incline.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: K'Road City Travelers got in contact via email with us to confirm the booking, ask about our arrival time and answered very fast on every email from us. You got towels for a deposit. Coffee and tea are free.

Disliked: The kitchen facilities are not that clean. But this depends also on the other guests.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

24 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, got a room upgrade, free wifi & breakfast, communal computers to use for free, clean kitchens, comfy bed.

Disliked: Room was like a hotbox! Fan on wall did nothing & just circulated the hot air around. Small waste bin in room not emptied for 4 days so was overflowing. No lockers in room, although was advertised.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Bianca Lear

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2015 Bianca would recommend this property

Liked: Free internet and breakfast was great, we also got upgraded to a double room which was spacious and really nice

Disliked: Bathrooms were a bit dirty but nothing too bad

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Robert Behn

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2015 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: It is a lovely little hostel with a nice atmosphere, cozy double rooms, nice patio and free wifi. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Kitchen area is a little bit small. 15min walk to town centre.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly, helpfull staff! Informations for walks in the City. Free breakfast an WiFi.

Disliked: Some of the rooms have no windows! The fan is not enough!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryan Ulatowski

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2015 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, helpful, quiet good location. Free simple breakfast. Good free wifi. Computers

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and very friendly staff, free breakfast and wifi, nice kitchen. had a good time and nothing to complain

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christelle Williams

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

16 September 2014 Christelle would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly service with quick response to questions via email

Disliked: I could not find the free breakfast that was supposed to be on offer in the morning however I did leave very early in the morning for a flight

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kevin jones

Alone

Business / conference
Shopping
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

05 September 2014 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Nice central location

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2014

Liked: Facilities were regularly cleaned, lockers in rooms and free toast and wifi provided.

Disliked: No consideration for room allocation placing female on crutches in top bunk of male room. If you arrive after hours you are not advised of the facilities available unlike when you arrive when check in is open. Despite facilities being cleaned the property smells like an unpleasant tower block.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ciaran Head

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2014 Ciaran would recommend this property

Liked: Good quality, clean and does the job! Pretty good location

Disliked: Not great atmosphere as it's not that big

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Eleanor Lerning

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2014 Eleanor would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, 2 kitchens to use, good showers with hot water. Breakfast included- toast and jam/peanut butter, tea and coffee. The staff let us into the room when we arrived at 09.30am, which was so nice as we had flown overnight with huge delays from Chile. And free WIFI!! Most other hostels charge cor this extra. So if you have lots of online stuff to do this is great.

Disliked: Not much of an atmosphere.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice friendly

Disliked: a little far from the city,

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Secure, clean, quiet, excellent location and staff were friendly and helpful!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

10 April 2014

Liked: Single room was okay - very basic but alright. Kitchen was usually cleanish.

Disliked: NO HAND SOAP IN BATHROOMS - is that even legal? My friend and I thought it was totally gross that there was only one grubby old bar of soap in one of the 4 bathrooms downstairs (never went upstairs). Toilet was not clean. "Free breakfast" = a loaf of bread and pot of coffee.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HSUN-HSIEN CHI

Alone

Visiting friends or family

03 April 2014 HSUN-HSIEN would recommend this property

Liked: 交通便利, 服務佳, 清潔衛生很棒

Disliked: 非常enjoy

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire McNicholls

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2014 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: Short walk into the city. Free fast wifi and breakfast. One kitchen on each floor. Useful even though it seemed like a small hostel. There was also a balcony you could eat/drink on. Seemed quiet with a few couples and a mix of guest age ranges.

Disliked: They had computers to use free of charge but seemed slow at times.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Samuel Thomas Hanger

Alone

Events / festivals

18 January 2014 Samuel Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Polite and friendly staff.

Disliked: Samuel Thomas left no negative feedback.