HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of K Road City Travellers

Hostel | 146 Karangahape Road, Auckland, New Zealand 68884

87.5% Overall Rating

220 out of 234 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/06/2014)

Eleanor Lerning thinks…

"Very clean, 2 kitchens to use, good showers with hot water. Breakfast included- toast and jam/peanut butter, tea and coffee. The staff let us into the room when we arrived at 09.30am, which was so…"

Read all K Road City Travellers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 8.44

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Auckland

Newton Lodge
20.27 USD

Hostel 82.9% 48 reviews
BK Hostel
24.49 USD

Hostel 83.4% 236 reviews
YHA Auckland City
14.35 USD

Hostel 86.2% 152 reviews
YHA Auckland International
19.42 USD

Hostel 81.1% 247 reviews
City Lodge Backpacker
32.09 USD

Hostel 87.2% 228 reviews
YMCA Hostel
21.11 USD

Hostel 83.3% 20 reviews
Silverfern Backpackers
16.04 USD

Hostel 71.0% 171 reviews
Columbia Hostel
23.64 USD

Hostel 52.9% 10 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.5%

Overall Rating

220 out of 234 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'K Road City Travellers'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
85.6%
Value
87.2%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 198 of 226 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ciaran Head

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2014 Ciaran would recommend this property

Liked: Good quality, clean and does the job! Pretty good location

Disliked: Not great atmosphere as it's not that big

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Eleanor Lerning

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2014 Eleanor would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, 2 kitchens to use, good showers with hot water. Breakfast included- toast and jam/peanut butter, tea and coffee. The staff let us into the room when we arrived at 09.30am, which was so nice as we had flown overnight with huge delays from Chile. And free WIFI!! Most other hostels charge cor this extra. So if you have lots of online stuff to do this is great.

Disliked: Not much of an atmosphere.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice friendly

Disliked: a little far from the city,

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Secure, clean, quiet, excellent location and staff were friendly and helpful!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

10 April 2014

Liked: Single room was okay - very basic but alright. Kitchen was usually cleanish.

Disliked: NO HAND SOAP IN BATHROOMS - is that even legal? My friend and I thought it was totally gross that there was only one grubby old bar of soap in one of the 4 bathrooms downstairs (never went upstairs). Toilet was not clean. "Free breakfast" = a loaf of bread and pot of coffee.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HSUN-HSIEN CHI

Alone

Visiting friends or family

03 April 2014 HSUN-HSIEN would recommend this property

Liked: 交通便利, 服務佳, 清潔衛生很棒

Disliked: 非常enjoy

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire McNicholls

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2014 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: Short walk into the city. Free fast wifi and breakfast. One kitchen on each floor. Useful even though it seemed like a small hostel. There was also a balcony you could eat/drink on. Seemed quiet with a few couples and a mix of guest age ranges.

Disliked: They had computers to use free of charge but seemed slow at times.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Samuel Thomas Hanger

Alone

Events / festivals

18 January 2014 Samuel Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Polite and friendly staff.

Disliked: Samuel Thomas left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kai Ammerich

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2014 Kai would recommend this property

Liked: free breakfast, it is easy, but fair enough. location is nice, just 10 walking minutes to city centre, very clean

Disliked: wifi is incredible slow.. well it is for free, but this way it is just no fun at all

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice hostel - we enjoyed our stay

Disliked: everything was fine

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly staff and clean bathrooms. Staff were helpful and free breakfast and wifi is always a good thing!

Disliked: Kitchen was rather small but adequate for the time we were there

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nizar Walji

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2013 Nizar would recommend this property

Liked: The facility was very clean and the rooms were spacious. Really enjoyed our stay here

Disliked: Just a little far from the center of town as it was on the edge of the CBD. None the less, busses are available if you don't want to walk.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kieran parker

Alone

Romantic getaway

14 September 2013 kieran would recommend this property

Liked: Great stay tv in room and free wifi is awesome

Disliked: kieran left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Nice clean rooms and common areas. Friendly staff,

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Small enough so it has a family atmosphere. Nice people working and staying there. Clean bathrooms and showers and always hot water. Washing machine and dryer available. Great location - across the street from the red bus that takes you downtown in minutes. Plenty of food and drink places on the block. Free wifi!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mariane Borges Pereira

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2013 Mariane would recommend this property

Liked: I really loved the clean bathrooms and rooms. Definally I'll be back!

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Juancho Labayo

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife

22 June 2013 Juancho would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money

Disliked: Juancho left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Florent Yorke

Alone

Relaxation/spa

15 May 2013 Florent would recommend this property

Liked: Super convenient location, clean and nice environment, helpful staffs make me feel at home. Free WIFI greatly supported my work during the stay. will definitely comeback and recommend my stay to other travelers.

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rose Wismer

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 May 2013 Rose would recommend this property

Liked: Free and unlimited WIFI Free breakfast Good location, easy to access supermarkets, restaurants, entertainment, etc. Staffs there are very helpful and friendly, always tried to sort problems out for us. My friend recommended it to me, and i will definitely recommend to other friends.

Disliked: Rose left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very sunny balcony with a good view! free internet and free breakfast! good location and very helpful staff!(Charles) very clean and tidy! most of the people that stay here are tourist and will share traveling experience! would totally reccommend to friends!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Virginia Wills

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

10 April 2013 Virginia would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here for a month in the mixed dorm and was very pleased with my stay. The bathrooms were very clean and I hardly ever had to wait for a shower. The lockers in the rooms were very convenient and there were also drawers to keep extra things in. The balcony was so nice, it was a great place to sit and have a beer in the evening. The location was good, Queen Street is a few steps away and K road has a great atmosphere with little shops and restaurants. Having two kitchens really helped and it was rare that I had to wait to cook anything. The breakfast was very basic but it's better than nothing. The Internet was free with no limits but it could be slow sometimes. I was able to Skype back hope but it lagged a little. They have a washer and dryer on site that was very convenient and only three dollars per load. Its not a party hostel, the vibe is very chill and relaxed. Overall, I would definitely recommend this place.

Disliked: The bunk beds are very noisy and they move a lot, so anytime your bed mate moves you will feel it. The television only has two useful channels, a movie and a sports channel. The Internet doesn't work out on the porch. It can get quite hot in the summertime even with the window open, but if you open the dorm door you can get a cross breeze going that will lower the temperature some.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

17 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very good hostel. Perfect position in the middle of Kroad, clean and the staff was really friendly. I enjoyed a lot my stay there.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

11 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet, clean, really nice bathrooms and frienly staff.

Disliked: Only 2 showers and 3 toilets a floor but it didn't seem a problem, we were ever kept waiting. Free wifi was slow, but at least they don't charge for it.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

24 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good kitchen and deck to sit and eat.

Disliked: The noise from the local night clubs

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Troy WHITMARSH

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2013

Liked: Wifi in rooms.

Disliked: Terrible atmosphere.