We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of K Road City Travellers

Hostel | 146 Karangahape Road, Auckland, New Zealand 68884

84.6% Overall Rating

225 out of 241 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/01/2015)

Ryan Ulatowski thinks…

"Clean, helpful, quiet good location. Free simple breakfast. Good free wifi. Computers"

Read all K Road City Travellers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 7.78

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Auckland

Newton Lodge
18.67 USD

Hostel 84.3% 52 reviews
BK Hostel
22.56 USD

Hostel 84.3% 240 reviews
YHA Auckland City
19.45 USD

Hostel 85.8% 157 reviews
YHA Auckland International
20.23 USD

Hostel 82.2% 249 reviews
City Lodge Backpacker
27.04 USD

Hostel 87.2% 228 reviews
YMCA Hostel
24.90 USD

Hostel 83.3% 21 reviews
Silverfern Backpackers
17.90 USD

Hostel 74.4% 178 reviews
Columbia Hostel
21.79 USD

Hostel 51.8% 14 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/01/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/01/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.6%

Overall Rating

225 out of 241 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'K Road City Travellers'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
83.2%
Value
84.8%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 203 of 233 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryan Ulatowski

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2015 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, helpful, quiet good location. Free simple breakfast. Good free wifi. Computers

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and very friendly staff, free breakfast and wifi, nice kitchen. had a good time and nothing to complain

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christelle Williams

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

16 September 2014 Christelle would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly service with quick response to questions via email

Disliked: I could not find the free breakfast that was supposed to be on offer in the morning however I did leave very early in the morning for a flight

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kevin jones

Alone

Business / conference
Shopping
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

05 September 2014 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Nice central location

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2014

Liked: Facilities were regularly cleaned, lockers in rooms and free toast and wifi provided.

Disliked: No consideration for room allocation placing female on crutches in top bunk of male room. If you arrive after hours you are not advised of the facilities available unlike when you arrive when check in is open. Despite facilities being cleaned the property smells like an unpleasant tower block.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ciaran Head

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2014 Ciaran would recommend this property

Liked: Good quality, clean and does the job! Pretty good location

Disliked: Not great atmosphere as it's not that big

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Eleanor Lerning

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2014 Eleanor would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, 2 kitchens to use, good showers with hot water. Breakfast included- toast and jam/peanut butter, tea and coffee. The staff let us into the room when we arrived at 09.30am, which was so nice as we had flown overnight with huge delays from Chile. And free WIFI!! Most other hostels charge cor this extra. So if you have lots of online stuff to do this is great.

Disliked: Not much of an atmosphere.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice friendly

Disliked: a little far from the city,

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Secure, clean, quiet, excellent location and staff were friendly and helpful!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

10 April 2014

Liked: Single room was okay - very basic but alright. Kitchen was usually cleanish.

Disliked: NO HAND SOAP IN BATHROOMS - is that even legal? My friend and I thought it was totally gross that there was only one grubby old bar of soap in one of the 4 bathrooms downstairs (never went upstairs). Toilet was not clean. "Free breakfast" = a loaf of bread and pot of coffee.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HSUN-HSIEN CHI

Alone

Visiting friends or family

03 April 2014 HSUN-HSIEN would recommend this property

Liked: 交通便利, 服務佳, 清潔衛生很棒

Disliked: 非常enjoy

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire McNicholls

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2014 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: Short walk into the city. Free fast wifi and breakfast. One kitchen on each floor. Useful even though it seemed like a small hostel. There was also a balcony you could eat/drink on. Seemed quiet with a few couples and a mix of guest age ranges.

Disliked: They had computers to use free of charge but seemed slow at times.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Samuel Thomas Hanger

Alone

Events / festivals

18 January 2014 Samuel Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Polite and friendly staff.

Disliked: Samuel Thomas left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kai Ammerich

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2014 Kai would recommend this property

Liked: free breakfast, it is easy, but fair enough. location is nice, just 10 walking minutes to city centre, very clean

Disliked: wifi is incredible slow.. well it is for free, but this way it is just no fun at all

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice hostel - we enjoyed our stay

Disliked: everything was fine

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly staff and clean bathrooms. Staff were helpful and free breakfast and wifi is always a good thing!

Disliked: Kitchen was rather small but adequate for the time we were there

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nizar Walji

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2013 Nizar would recommend this property

Liked: The facility was very clean and the rooms were spacious. Really enjoyed our stay here

Disliked: Just a little far from the center of town as it was on the edge of the CBD. None the less, busses are available if you don't want to walk.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kieran parker

Alone

Romantic getaway

14 September 2013 kieran would recommend this property

Liked: Great stay tv in room and free wifi is awesome

Disliked: kieran left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Nice clean rooms and common areas. Friendly staff,

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Small enough so it has a family atmosphere. Nice people working and staying there. Clean bathrooms and showers and always hot water. Washing machine and dryer available. Great location - across the street from the red bus that takes you downtown in minutes. Plenty of food and drink places on the block. Free wifi!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mariane Borges Pereira

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2013 Mariane would recommend this property

Liked: I really loved the clean bathrooms and rooms. Definally I'll be back!

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Juancho Labayo

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife

22 June 2013 Juancho would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money

Disliked: Juancho left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Florent Yorke

Alone

Relaxation/spa

15 May 2013 Florent would recommend this property

Liked: Super convenient location, clean and nice environment, helpful staffs make me feel at home. Free WIFI greatly supported my work during the stay. will definitely comeback and recommend my stay to other travelers.

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rose Wismer

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 May 2013 Rose would recommend this property

Liked: Free and unlimited WIFI Free breakfast Good location, easy to access supermarkets, restaurants, entertainment, etc. Staffs there are very helpful and friendly, always tried to sort problems out for us. My friend recommended it to me, and i will definitely recommend to other friends.

Disliked: Rose left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very sunny balcony with a good view! free internet and free breakfast! good location and very helpful staff!(Charles) very clean and tidy! most of the people that stay here are tourist and will share traveling experience! would totally reccommend to friends!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.