HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of K Road City Travellers Auckland Hostel

146 Karangahape road, Auckland City, Auckland, New Zealand

Atmosphere 72%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 78%

Location 80%

Safety 85%

Staff 85%

Value 79%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Postal Service
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 72%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 78%

Location 80%

Safety 85%

Staff 85%

Value 79%

Showing 61-70 of 150 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: i was very happy with the cleanliness of the place. The kitchen, bathrooms and common areas were cleaned very well every day. I also enjoyed having access to free breakfast items in the morning (eggs, coffee, toast, jam, ham, etc) which you would prepare yourself but nonetheless, i always had enough to eat and could breakfast on my own schedule. I also was very happy with the crowd staying at the hostel: they were all very welcoming and easy to talk to and found myself able to go out with several of them to explore the town together on several occasions. I think the hostelers here are less the very young, backpacker type, and more the 20-30s work-visa, in-transition crowd which is nice.The hostel was also very quiet at night so i always had a good nights sleep (i had a room on the second floor). Overall, i was very happy with this hostel and would def stay here again!! the value for price is terrific!!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice location, right in the middle of Auckland. 15-20 min walk to the Ferries and Downtown via Queen Street! Friendly staff and good value for money, especially due to free internet.

Disliked: Parking spots for the car are an issue and expensive close to the Hostel. But it is also Auckland Central.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Clean, hot showers, breakfast provided, FREE WIFI (rare in NZ), good tourist information.

Disliked: No ensuite rooms, but shared showers were very clean.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 20%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The bathroom and kitchens were clean, its a decent enough area and the staff are pretty friendly.

Disliked: Our double room just wasn't what we expected, due to the description and we have stayed in a lot of hostels.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, free breakfast and right near all the eateries and pubs down K road/

Disliked: Hard to find until you know what your looking for, could maybe do with a clearer sign.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I love this hostel! Internet is free (if you don't have your own laptop or wi-fi device, there are a handful of computers set up in the lobby), and a satisfying breakfast was included. I arrived earlier than the check-in time, and a very nice staff member checked me in early, offered me breakfast, and showed me around. This hostel is small and cozy, and it's very easy to meet people if you hang out in the common areas. I also had to check out early, and when I informed the staff, they made sure breakfast still available to me in the morning. My room was very clean, and lockers were available in each room. It's located right at the end of the main road in Auckland (Queen Street and K Road), so I was easily able to walk anywhere in town. Great hostel! Very friendly and helpful staff!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Relaxation / spa

Liked: Really clean and nice small dormrooms..

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: friendly staff, free internet access, clean dorms and general areas

Disliked: doors of dorms not lockable

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff was really helpful and the option to make your own breakfast was great.we even had a barbecue which was a lot of fun!definatly recommend the hostel!

Disliked: non

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: A good property, in a good location, nice clean bathrooms and rooms are good quality

Disliked: The kitchen area is pretty small and can only really have a couple of people in at one time.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability