We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of K Road City Travellers

Hostel | 146 Karangahape Road, Auckland, New Zealand 68884

86.4% Overall Rating

222 out of 237 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/08/2014)

"Facilities were regularly cleaned, lockers in rooms and free toast and wifi provided."

Read all K Road City Travellers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 7.78

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Auckland

Newton Lodge
18.67 USD

Hostel 83.1% 49 reviews
BK Hostel
22.56 USD

Hostel 83.1% 237 reviews
YHA Auckland City
13.23 USD

Hostel 86.2% 152 reviews
YHA Auckland International
13.23 USD

Hostel 81.1% 247 reviews
City Lodge Backpacker
27.04 USD

Hostel 87.2% 228 reviews
YMCA Hostel
22.56 USD

Hostel 83.3% 21 reviews
Silverfern Backpackers
15.56 USD

Hostel 72.0% 172 reviews
Columbia Hostel
21.79 USD

Hostel 54.3% 12 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.4%

Overall Rating

222 out of 237 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'K Road City Travellers'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
83.2%
Value
85.6%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 201 of 229 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mike Perkins

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 February 2011 Mike would recommend this property

Liked: An excellent hostel. All the important things in life (wifi, tea, coffee, breakfast) were free. The bedrooms, bathrooms, and communal areas were all of an excellent standard, the staff were very friendly, and K Road is a good location.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

faye capenerhurst

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2011 faye would recommend this property

Liked: modern, clean rooms, free breakfast, sky movies in bedrooms, outdoor terrace, close to the airport shuttle

Disliked: Very noisey at night, as the street is always busy and the rooms look over it, you get very little sleep due to this

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Emma Kempe

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

03 February 2011 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are incredibly helpful and kind. They greeted us with smiles and were more than willing to help out with almost everything, from buying a car to finding directions. There is a free - though basic - breakfast and the opportunity to get cheap dinner and lunch items on K-Road outside. The location is very close to Queen Street, but out of the way enough not to be overwhelmingly busy. This is the place to be if you need a quiet, basic place to stay.

Disliked: Rather bland in appearance; do not come here if you want a party, although you can find that outside on K Road. Also, the blankets on the beds are kind of ugly and uncomfortable, and there was a stain on our bedsheet. When I mentioned this to the clerk, however, he replaced it immediately and sent the cleaning staff in the next morning to change the entire bedding. So, the bad experience ended very well!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shannon Turnbull

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2011 Shannon would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap Internet! Great breakfast, really clean bathrooms, not too loud but easy to meet people!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Udesh Naidoo

Alone

Work / volunteering

31 January 2011 Udesh would recommend this property

Liked: It's fantastically located on the airport bus routes, and the staff were unbelievably helpful and friendly, esp since i arrived at 01h30 and had left my wallet in Perth. Glad they helped me get stuff sorted.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

james andrews

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

20 January 2011 james would recommend this property

Liked: very good value for money, from now on we will stay there again and fantastic breakfast

Disliked: nothing to dislike, we are very pleased with everything

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2011

Liked: It was nice and clean. Helpful staff.

Disliked: It was ok but way to expensive.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping

09 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were meant to arrive at the hostel just after midnight but our flight was delayed so we turned up at 4am and had no way of contacting the hostel, but the receptionist stayed up all night waiting for us, and let us in the hostel at 4am when we were worried we would be stranded! Also the breakfast was the best we've had and free-there were eggs and fresh juice and free herbal tea and normal tea and coffee as well. The place was really homely and very clean. The room and bathrooms were nice and they had nice communal areas.

Disliked: the kitchen was a little small when lots of people were cooking.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Apart from the fact that this hostel provides everything a traveler needs inclusive in the price (towel, linen, breakfast, 24hr shower), i liked that the traveler had a choice to socialize or not - for example single travelers or groups, there was a lounge to hang out and for couples, they could have their own time.

Disliked: nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lilian acuña

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

13 December 2010 lilian would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast and wifi free. You can use the kitchen. Excellent disposition. Very well located. Quiet.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, free breakfast, free wifi

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Louise Brasenell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2010 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: Nice clean place in a great arty/bar/coffee shop area.Short walk to to the centre and lots of buses.Planning to stay again on our return.

Disliked: Louise left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

01 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: all

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

29 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap and the location was good!

Disliked: It was a bit run down and the sheets were not new. Also there weren't any towels

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

16 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free breakfast, clean bathrooms

Disliked: no atmosphere, very noisy

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: you get free wi-fi.

Disliked: not really a great place to meet people.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast

Disliked: ntng

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very clean, spacious and the bathrooms were great. It also feels very safe and the location is perfect. Sky TV is the room was also a bonus.

Disliked: Nothing.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Paul Thorpe

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

18 October 2010 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen facilities are good. Bathrooms are VERY clean (as are rooms). Free breakfast includes eggs, ham, salad, bread, orange juice, tea/coffee etc.

Disliked: There wasn't really much atmosphere- this is an ideal place for couples/people who want to keep themselves to themselves (like in a hotel). But it's not a good place for individual backpackers.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kimberly Howlett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 October 2010 Kimberly would recommend this property

Liked: The fact that the bathrooms were really clean.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ruby Morrissey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2010 Ruby would recommend this property

Liked: Really freindly and helpful staff. Very central and cool location. Very nice, vegan friendly cafe downstairs. Great value spacious room.

Disliked: Was a little noisy from the road outside and other travellers retuning late (in other rooms but still woke me up).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anabella Monaco

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2010 Anabella would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were GREAT, always helpful and nice, willing to give directions and make recommendations. Super clean facilities. Free internet access in the room and free breakfast. Good location, minutes away from the CBD.

Disliked: Nothing. They could have a lift, haha. Anyway, the staff helped me take my luggage upstairs.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

fukushima yuka

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2010 fukushima would recommend this property

Liked: recepteionist is very kind! thank you!

Disliked: nothing!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

22 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, helpfull staff. Breakfast and WiFi for free! Hostel not to big! Clean and relative quiet. Was fine! Thank you!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.