HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of K Road City Travellers Auckland Hostel

146 Karangahape road, Auckland City, Auckland, New Zealand

Atmosphere 72%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 78%

Location 80%

Safety 85%

Staff 85%

Value 79%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Postal Service
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 7.04USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 72%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 78%

Location 80%

Safety 85%

Staff 85%

Value 79%

Showing 51-60 of 150 reviews

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Me and my boyfriend liked the fact that it had free internet and that it was quite close to the city centre. We also appreciated the cleanliness of the common bathrooms.

Disliked: We did not like the breakfast: cheapest possible white toast, cheapest possible jam and peanut butter, no real coffee or cereal, and the room definitely was not cosy. Some members of the staff seemed a tad phlegmatic, though some very nice. There were neither hand towels in all of the bathrooms and toilets nor hygienic soap.


The property's response is

Thanks Rjurik for your commons. We will add hand towels and soap in each bathroom. But for breakfast, we can not do much more about it as it is totally free staffs. You might pay couple of dollars more than other hostels, but you get free and unlimited WIFI internet which is very rare in New Zealand. You paid nothing for the breakfast. It is really a bonus for our customers. So please always thanks God for the FREE staffs no matter it is the cheapest one or not.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Really useful to have free WiFi and breakfast

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: clean, quiet and good location and Staff

Disliked: Bunk beds new but a bit shakey

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Friendly staff, close to Airbus stop, clean facilities, nice rooftop terrace

Disliked: A little far from city center but still close to many restaurants and bars in K road

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: internet access, location

Disliked: staff on checkout rude, had to wait over an hour to get our towel deposit back as the staff member we gave it to did not log on computer....staff did not care and were not helpful

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Free wifi, free breakfast, great location in the CBD- close to everything, friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: Not many other people staying when I was there, so a bit quiet. But, that's not the fault of the hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping

Liked: Environment is very clean and the staffs are very friendly considerate and enthusiasm.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: - Free WiFi- Breakfast included- Rooms have small lockers for valuables, with locks provided- Very clean- Staff friendly and helpful

Disliked: - Easy to miss from street level (a clearer sign might help)- Shared entrance with a massage parlour (although this did not affect us in ANY way, some people might find it something to note)

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Good location on the K road next to Queen Street. Eggs, toast and juice for breakfast included and free Wifi which is reasonably quick. Great place if you are in Auckland to get things sorted for a long term stay, to meet other people who are trying the set themselves up in NZ for an extended period of time. Also, cheap scanning and photocopying.

Disliked: Doesn't have the greatest of character but you probably won't stay there for that anyway (it isn't a little beech hidaway after all). Blink and you miss it as well.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Very clean and nicely decorated. Close to the city centre and bus stops for the airbus. Free wifi with a good connection :) I was lucky enough to have a room to myself even though I was in a dorm, which was fantastic as I was really only there to sleep before catching a bus up to Northland the next morning. Was good to have extra blankets in the cupboard as well. Coming from Brisbane, the winter feels a little cooler in Auckland!

Disliked: I don't like leaving my passport and cash anywhere I go without fully being able to lock it up, so prob would have been good to have a locker in the dorms even though I was in a room by myself. Just for a little more peace of mind!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability