We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of K Road City Travellers

Hostel | 146 Karangahape Road, Auckland, New Zealand 68884

80.7% Overall Rating

238 out of 255 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/06/2015)

"Very helpful and friendly staff. Ok breakfast, free wifi. I was upgraded to a better room the first night as there was no more space in the kind of room I booked and they finally even left me there the 2nd nights. You…"

Read all K Road City Travellers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 6.34

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Auckland

Newton Lodge
15.22 USD

Hostel 82.3% 58 reviews
BK Hostel
19.66 USD

Hostel 85.4% 243 reviews
YHA Auckland City
13.95 USD

Hostel 82.7% 162 reviews
YHA Auckland International
12.05 USD

Hostel 85.6% 254 reviews
City Lodge Backpacker
24.10 USD

Hostel 89.8% 232 reviews
YMCA Hostel
20.30 USD

Hostel 84.6% 24 reviews
Silverfern Backpackers
13.32 USD

Hostel 67.0% 191 reviews
Columbia Hostel
19.03 USD

Hostel 54.3% 20 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.7%

Overall Rating

238 out of 255 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'K Road City Travellers'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
84.0%
Value
80.0%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 215 of 247 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Catherine Chaplin

Alone

Visiting friends or family

27 September 2011 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: Good cheap accommodation

Disliked: Too small a sign out the front without their name on it - very hard to find

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2011

Liked: The beds are good, you get free internet

Disliked: Kitchen and toilets were not very clean and very small. Kitchen is not so well-equiped (still ok) and the furnitures are ugly

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free Wifi, Helpful staff, Clean

Disliked: Price

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marta Amoros Sanchez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2011 Marta would recommend this property

Liked: I would like to say thank you! Specially to the staff who speak my lenguage and was extremly friendly and helpful! I recomend this place! The breakfast it is also very good and the location is excelent!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

12 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff,nice location,value for money,it's awesome to stay there.

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff!!!

Disliked: -

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

05 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Great staff. Great free breakfast. Fast free wifi.

Disliked: Not the most atmosphere in the place but perfect if you want to relax.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

26 August 2011

Liked: The location was central.

Disliked: Cleanliness, atmosphere

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

16 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its quiet but your in downtown in 5 min and got lots of shops, bars, cafes, food places right on k road...clean...very helpful and friendly staff

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stuart Clarke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2011 Stuart would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff, nice breakfast and great free wifi!

Disliked: .

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great rooms, nice chill ot area, excellent help from the staff who were kind enough to provide me breakfast slightly outside the normal hours!

Disliked: Directions could be more helpful from the airport bus

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lara Mucha

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011 Lara would recommend this property

Liked: This is what backpacking should be! :) I loved that the first thing I was asked was whether or not I wanted a quiet (or a noisy :D) room, as they're all varying distances from the lounge. Showers were hot, breakfast was good (who can complain about eggs and bacon? Really?), cable TV.

Disliked: I was there during off-peak, only about half full; I can imagine it being quite crowded at capacity.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Desideria murti

Alone

Business / conference

15 July 2011 Desideria would recommend this property

Liked: they have free hotspot, free breakfast, and laundry (not free but still good) located in the downtown K road, which have so many cheap food and easy to go everywhere

Disliked: the food for breakfast is about the same every morning, they need to improve the variety

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mark Phelan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2011 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Helpfulness of staff. I arrived much earlier than expected, but they allowed me to store my luggage until the room was ready. Free breakfast. FREE Wi-Fi! Common room to socialise with fellow travelers.

Disliked: Showers weren't always hot.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay. Apparently free WIFI is rare in NZ, and this place had it. Clean too.

Disliked: It's about a 15 min walk to downtown

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds were really comfortable, lots of extra blankets if needed which was nice with the cold weather! The free wifi was great too! Really friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice warm room with TV, great free breakfast - lots of choice and free WIFI. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Good location, not far from the city centre.

Disliked: Communal areas are very compact!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Monica Ho

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2011 Monica would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, very good location, just so convinient to get the airbus, not even two minutes away.

Disliked: none

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and a good location

Disliked: no safety deposit boxes, free wifi but charge for using computers

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

11 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Decent breakfast, hot shower

Disliked: Very small kitchen

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good value

Disliked: Pretty quiet

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bruce Hibberd

Alone

City break

09 June 2011 Bruce would recommend this property

Liked: my single room had tv, comfortable bed, and was clean and overall I was quite happy - definitely better value and with more inclusions than the other hostel nearby on K Rd

Disliked: no real dislikes

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lewis hutchinson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2011 Lewis would recommend this property

Liked: it was very clean and friendly

Disliked: room no.8 was a bit noisey but other than that nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked this place. Easy to meet people, free wifi, free breakfast! The breakfast is eggs, ham, toast, juice (a real breakfast)! I like smaller hostels so I can meet the people and this one was smaller so I really liked it. You can bring your own alcohol. A great place! I would easily go back! Brand new bathroom!

Disliked: The computers were $2 an hour. Otherwise nothing