We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of K Road City Travellers

Hostel | 146 Karangahape Road, Auckland, New Zealand 68884

86.4% Overall Rating

222 out of 237 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/08/2014)

"Facilities were regularly cleaned, lockers in rooms and free toast and wifi provided."

Read all K Road City Travellers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 7.78

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Auckland

Newton Lodge
18.67 USD

Hostel 83.1% 49 reviews
BK Hostel
22.56 USD

Hostel 83.1% 237 reviews
YHA Auckland City
19.45 USD

Hostel 85.7% 154 reviews
YHA Auckland International
18.67 USD

Hostel 81.1% 247 reviews
City Lodge Backpacker
27.04 USD

Hostel 87.2% 228 reviews
YMCA Hostel
24.12 USD

Hostel 83.3% 21 reviews
Silverfern Backpackers
17.12 USD

Hostel 72.0% 172 reviews
Columbia Hostel
21.79 USD

Hostel 54.3% 12 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.4%

Overall Rating

222 out of 237 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'K Road City Travellers'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
83.2%
Value
85.6%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 201 of 229 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mark Phelan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2011 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Helpfulness of staff. I arrived much earlier than expected, but they allowed me to store my luggage until the room was ready. Free breakfast. FREE Wi-Fi! Common room to socialise with fellow travelers.

Disliked: Showers weren't always hot.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay. Apparently free WIFI is rare in NZ, and this place had it. Clean too.

Disliked: It's about a 15 min walk to downtown

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds were really comfortable, lots of extra blankets if needed which was nice with the cold weather! The free wifi was great too! Really friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice warm room with TV, great free breakfast - lots of choice and free WIFI. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Good location, not far from the city centre.

Disliked: Communal areas are very compact!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Monica Ho

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2011 Monica would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, very good location, just so convinient to get the airbus, not even two minutes away.

Disliked: none

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and a good location

Disliked: no safety deposit boxes, free wifi but charge for using computers

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

11 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Decent breakfast, hot shower

Disliked: Very small kitchen

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good value

Disliked: Pretty quiet

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bruce Hibberd

Alone

City break

09 June 2011 Bruce would recommend this property

Liked: my single room had tv, comfortable bed, and was clean and overall I was quite happy - definitely better value and with more inclusions than the other hostel nearby on K Rd

Disliked: no real dislikes

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lewis hutchinson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2011 Lewis would recommend this property

Liked: it was very clean and friendly

Disliked: room no.8 was a bit noisey but other than that nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked this place. Easy to meet people, free wifi, free breakfast! The breakfast is eggs, ham, toast, juice (a real breakfast)! I like smaller hostels so I can meet the people and this one was smaller so I really liked it. You can bring your own alcohol. A great place! I would easily go back! Brand new bathroom!

Disliked: The computers were $2 an hour. Otherwise nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very Clean

Disliked: The doors do not lock automatically, so you must manually lock them from the inside, this is a problem if someone repeatedly keeps the door open. They should try and put people in rooms together of equal disposition. The guy above me had sex with a girl in his bunk with everyone else in the room getting a little show, and he had his friends coming in and out of the room, so I had no sleep, cuz of all the random people in the room.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Patrick Skilton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2011 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: We booked a private room and were delighted that there was a T.V. in the room! All the English Premier League games live as well as 2 movie channels so that was a nice bonus for the times when you can't afford to go out or as i was ill we could just chill in peace.Also free breakfast which you can't go wrong with- eggs, toast, spreads etc. Nice deck area.

Disliked: The bed was old and uncomfortable. Little bit clicky but on the whole a nice place to stay.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Claire Durham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2011 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: The K road is a cool place to hang out. It's about 30 mins from the main centre but easy enough to walk to. You had to pay for the internet but there were a lot of computers. the free breakfast was great and the roof terrace to eat it on was cool.

Disliked: I was supposed to be in a doem room but it was overbooked so they did me a 'favour' of moving me to a shared 2 bed room which was very small, hot and windowless but my room mate was lovely so it was fine.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quite, small hostel, clean

Disliked: no place for meet people - no good room for beeing together

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

26 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good valuable stuff, convenience location, free breakfast is great and free internet.

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean. Good bathrooms. Dorms are well arranged. The place us not too big which is nice. Free wifi.

Disliked: Kitchen is too small

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms here were very nice and spacious and there were not too many either, so the shared facilties were clean and not overcrowded. The staff were really nice and happy to help with anything. There was a book exchange in the common area which proved very useful! The central location was also a plus point, being at the intersection with Queen Street which leads right into town and down to the harbour area.

Disliked: The free breakfast was a bit basic, so I would recommend going to the great cafe right next door.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lydia Pike

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2011 Lydia would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms seemed to be faily new, or newly refurbished, and had a TV (that was the double room anyway). The bathrooms were really clean, but they were mixed - would have preferred same sex ones.

Disliked: On the 2nd floor the kitchen was tiny. It wasn't too much of a problem for us as it was fairly quiet. The walls were fairly thin.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Katie Lowe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2011 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy beds, clean rooms and bathrooms, good showers, free use of hairdryers and free breakfast included. Pretty good location at the top of queen street on K road.

Disliked: No free internet

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

02 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lots of shops and cafes, supermarkets along the road, very clean place, friendly staff, and the terrace is wonderful, also breakfast is amazing

Disliked: sometimes the internet a bit slow, but normally is ok, can do skype even with camera properly

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was hassel free.

Disliked: If you have a problem walking up and down stairs this place is not for you.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to city center, friendly staff, didn't feel too crowded

Disliked: communal areas a bit small, doesn't encourage mixing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

davide pangrazzi

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2011 davide would recommend this property

Liked: the staff is very good and friendly,the atmosphere is easy going and peaceful.rooms are very clean and you have internet 24h free and breakfast free also...what can ask more???

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I found the front desk to be very helpful. I also was in a room with only one other roommate. Showers were nice and clean.

Disliked: My room was right on the street so outside was really loud. K rd is known for a party street but I travelled all day so sleeping came easy.