We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of K Road City Travellers

Hostel | 146 Karangahape Road, Auckland, New Zealand 68884

79.4% Overall Rating

234 out of 251 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/03/2015)

Susan Gorman thinks…

"We spent two nights in a simple but comfortable double bed room, shared bathroom. We were out exploring the city so we did not spend much time there except to sleep. Staff was friendly and helpful.…"

Read all K Road City Travellers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 7.56

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Auckland

Newton Lodge
18.15 USD

Hostel 83.5% 53 reviews
BK Hostel
21.93 USD

Hostel 85.4% 243 reviews
YHA Auckland City
19.66 USD

Hostel 84.7% 159 reviews
YHA Auckland International
20.42 USD

Hostel 83.7% 251 reviews
City Lodge Backpacker
22.68 USD

Hostel 87.9% 229 reviews
YMCA Hostel
21.93 USD

Hostel 84.0% 22 reviews
Silverfern Backpackers
15.88 USD

Hostel 69.1% 186 reviews
Columbia Hostel
21.17 USD

Hostel 52.2% 18 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.4%

Overall Rating

234 out of 251 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'K Road City Travellers'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
81.6%
Value
79.2%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 211 of 243 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great location, lots of food options nearby (Sal's Pizza - amazing!), free wifi, free do-it-yourself breakfast with eggs, etc., comfy beds, lots of locker space in the dorm.

Disliked: It was decent, no real complaints.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patrick Kräuter

Alone

City break

17 December 2011 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: Overwhelmingly friendly staff! Really helpful, supporting, and greeting with a smile every time you walk across.

Disliked: Nothing really. Just internet not suitable for skype but everything else was awesome!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

05 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the nicest hostels I've ever stayed in. Perfect for lone travellers who want to make friends easily. Friendly staff, clean rooms, beautiful clean bathrooms, free wifi!!!, free DIY breakfast, good kitchen facilities, roof terrace.

Disliked: Sign outside not very obvious. Walked past 3 times before i found the place

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Joey Liu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2011 Joey would recommend this property

Liked: Being a 10-15 min walk from the city center had its good and bad points - mostly good. It was a bit of a walk, but good exercise, plus it was nice not to be in the middle of all the other hostels and bars. It was quiet and safe, the staff were friendly and there was free wifi. Breakfast was simple and serve-yourself, so I'd get groceries still.

Disliked: Could've been a little more social

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 November 2011

Liked: -Free Wifi -Free Breakfast -Friendly Staff

Disliked: -strange people who slept on the couch in the tv room (day + night) -internet was a bit slow -only one jam at the breakfast, toast (you had no choice) and eggs, which were empty when we came (we weren't late) -many people who didn't make their dishes -there were spots on the sheet (but i think it was washed) -loud washing machines in the tv room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

28 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the funky vibe. It's in a bid of an artsy/dodgy area which gives it a sense of being in the middle of where you want to be. But the facilities are so clean and safe I never felt concerned about theft or personal safely. The Airbus stop is just down the block. Truely could not be in a better location if you want to be close to transportation, cafes and touristy stuff.

Disliked: Unless you bring earplugs, there's no getting away from the throbbing base coming from the nightclub next door or the hollering drunks coming out of the bars.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location very close to the CBD is amazing, the staff were extremely helpful and polite.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Florian Gniech

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2011 Florian would recommend this property

Liked: What a pleasant surprise, especially coming from OZ. Small, cozy hostel with free breakfast and free wifi. Very helpful staff as well. Would have stayed longer and would definitely go back.

Disliked: Nothing really!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near to the city center, nice staff, familiar atmosphere, greets to the ginger and the other guys

Disliked: Everything was fine

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Robert McGraw

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 November 2011 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Free internet/printing is a bonus. I wouldn't stay here longer than a day or two, but a great place to stop to/from the airport . Staff was very helpful--best part of the hostel. Better than staying down by Fort St.

Disliked: Ponsonby is a nicer neighborhood that I enjoyed more. K Rd is in a very urban location. Good for a short term stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Small, clean Hostel right on top of Queen Street. Free breakfast and internet available. Nice, multi-lingual staff. They help you carrying your stuff, even down to the free link-bus, which departs opposite the hostel and try to answer every touristic question coming up.

Disliked: You should book in advance or hope that there is a bed available, otherwise you might have to stay somewhere else.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, great location and complimentary bfast!

Disliked: not much!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Liza van Eijk

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2011 Liza would recommend this property

Liked: Free internet, free breakfast, close to city (by bus or just walking), not a partyhostel.Friendly staff

Disliked: Closed door and ring did not work, but after knocking it worked out. Very friendly staff!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice individual bathrooms, wifi, friendly staff, two kitchens.

Disliked: Bedrooms are a little small

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff. We booked for two beds in a dormitory, but were given a double room instead. Great!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly staff. Home feel

Disliked: Stairs

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are friendly, free internet, free breakfast which is do it yourself so you can have your eggs the way you like them, close to Queens St so striaight walk down to the center of Auckland or free bus from just across the road, clean, never had to queue for the bathroom or the kitchen.

Disliked: Nothing I can think of.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jana Schlichting

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2011 Jana would recommend this property

Liked: This familiar hostel is directly in the city center and i really enjoyed my stay! It's clean with nice big bathrooms and great showers. It's the first hostel i stayed in with a really excellent breakfast including juice, ham and eggs!! Free wifi also in the rooms -24hours! The best is the nice and helpful staff who made my stay even more memorable -especially thanks to Peter!! I recommend this hostel to everybody and i will always come to this familiar place if i'm in the town! Thank you!! :-)

Disliked: everything is great!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We slept in a twin and the beds were really big (one bed like a double in other hostels) and comfortable. The atmosphere was quite good. The breakfast wasnt only toast and jam but for eggs you have to get up earlier then we did :-)

Disliked: absolutely nothing!!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

11 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice place - short ways to shops and city

Disliked: -

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: huge, delicious breakfast...for free! internet is cheaper than in other places

Disliked: hard to find

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Catherine Chaplin

Alone

Visiting friends or family

27 September 2011 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: Good cheap accommodation

Disliked: Too small a sign out the front without their name on it - very hard to find

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2011

Liked: The beds are good, you get free internet

Disliked: Kitchen and toilets were not very clean and very small. Kitchen is not so well-equiped (still ok) and the furnitures are ugly

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free Wifi, Helpful staff, Clean

Disliked: Price

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marta Amoros Sanchez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2011 Marta would recommend this property

Liked: I would like to say thank you! Specially to the staff who speak my lenguage and was extremly friendly and helpful! I recomend this place! The breakfast it is also very good and the location is excelent!

Disliked: Nothing