HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of K Road City Travellers Auckland Hostel

146 Karangahape road, Auckland City, Auckland, New Zealand

Atmosphere 73%

Cleanliness 71%

Facilities 79%

Location 80%

Safety 86%

Staff 85%

Value 80%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Postal Service
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 7.54USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 73%

Cleanliness 71%

Facilities 79%

Location 80%

Safety 86%

Staff 85%

Value 80%

Showing 41-37 of 37 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Free and unlimited WIFIFree breakfastGood location, easy to access supermarkets, restaurants, entertainment, etc.Staffs there are very helpful and friendly, always tried to sort problems out for us.My friend recommended it to me, and i will definitely recommend to other friends.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Very sunny balcony with a good view! free internet and free breakfast! good location and very helpful staff!(Charles) very clean and tidy! most of the people that stay here are tourist and will share traveling experience! would totally reccommend to friends!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: It was a very good hostel. Perfect position in the middle of Kroad, clean and the staff was really friendly.I enjoyed a lot my stay there.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: I stayed here for a month in the mixed dorm and was very pleased with my stay. The bathrooms were very clean and I hardly ever had to wait for a shower. The lockers in the rooms were very convenient and there were also drawers to keep extra things in. The balcony was so nice, it was a great place to sit and have a beer in the evening. The location was good, Queen Street is a few steps away and K road has a great atmosphere with little shops and restaurants. Having two kitchens really helped and it was rare that I had to wait to cook anything. The breakfast was very basic but it's better than nothing. The Internet was free with no limits but it could be slow sometimes. I was able to Skype back hope but it lagged a little. They have a washer and dryer on site that was very convenient and only three dollars per load. Its not a party hostel, the vibe is very chill and relaxed. Overall, I would definitely recommend this place.

Disliked: The bunk beds are very noisy and they move a lot, so anytime your bed mate moves you will feel it. The television only has two useful channels, a movie and a sports channel. The Internet doesn't work out on the porch. It can get quite hot in the summertime even with the window open, but if you open the dorm door you can get a cross breeze going that will lower the temperature some.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Quiet, clean, really nice bathrooms and frienly staff.

Disliked: Only 2 showers and 3 toilets a floor but it didn't seem a problem, we were ever kept waiting. Free wifi was slow, but at least they don't charge for it.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Good kitchen and deck to sit and eat.

Disliked: The noise from the local night clubs

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Wifi in rooms.

Disliked: Terrible atmosphere.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: We arrived quite late but the guy on reception was friendly and helpful and gave us a tour before showing us to our room. We had a double room which was fairly big, had a desk, hanging rail, wall mounted TV, full length mirror and plenty of sockets. There was free wifi available. The bathrooms and kitchen were very clean and looked new. The kitchen was well equipped and there was plenty of room inside and out to sit and eat. Other guests were friendly and there was a sense of everyone looking after the hostel. Would definitely stay again.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good Location in walking distance to shopping and harbour area, many bars and restaurants nearby.Staff is helpful, rooms and common area are clean though partly a bit old. Good value, I would go there again.

Disliked: It's a bit noisy there.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Me and my boyfriend liked the fact that it had free internet and that it was quite close to the city centre. We also appreciated the cleanliness of the common bathrooms.

Disliked: We did not like the breakfast: cheapest possible white toast, cheapest possible jam and peanut butter, no real coffee or cereal, and the room definitely was not cosy. Some members of the staff seemed a tad phlegmatic, though some very nice. There were neither hand towels in all of the bathrooms and toilets nor hygienic soap.


The property's response is

Thanks Rjurik for your commons. We will add hand towels and soap in each bathroom. But for breakfast, we can not do much more about it as it is totally free staffs. You might pay couple of dollars more than other hostels, but you get free and unlimited WIFI internet which is very rare in New Zealand. You paid nothing for the breakfast. It is really a bonus for our customers. So please always thanks God for the FREE staffs no matter it is the cheapest one or not.

Check Availability