We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of K Road City Travellers

Hostel | 146 Karangahape Road, Auckland, New Zealand 68884

80.7% Overall Rating

238 out of 255 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/06/2015)

"Very helpful and friendly staff. Ok breakfast, free wifi. I was upgraded to a better room the first night as there was no more space in the kind of room I booked and they finally even left me there the 2nd nights. You…"

Read all K Road City Travellers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 6.37

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Auckland

Newton Lodge
15.28 USD

Hostel 82.3% 58 reviews
BK Hostel
19.73 USD

Hostel 85.4% 243 reviews
YHA Auckland City
14.00 USD

Hostel 82.7% 162 reviews
YHA Auckland International
15.91 USD

Hostel 85.6% 254 reviews
City Lodge Backpacker
24.19 USD

Hostel 89.8% 232 reviews
YMCA Hostel
20.37 USD

Hostel 84.6% 24 reviews
Silverfern Backpackers
13.37 USD

Hostel 67.0% 191 reviews
Columbia Hostel
19.10 USD

Hostel 54.3% 20 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.7%

Overall Rating

238 out of 255 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'K Road City Travellers'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
84.0%
Value
80.0%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 215 of 247 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

YUMI HEO

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 May 2012 YUMI would recommend this property

Liked: It was so clean and quite at night time also on the main street of the city. There are many kind staff and I can met heaps of friendly friends.

Disliked: YUMI left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Watts

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice hostel, Quiet at night, clean but also in a good location if you want to party.

Disliked: Wi-Fi was really slow, but it's free so cant complain too much! Kitchens are very small.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paula Hunter

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2012 Paula would recommend this property

Liked: The free breakfast and use of computers was great and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Boked this hostel because of free internet and breakfast. Good value for money. In a good location for bus and within walking distance (downhill) to Queen Street. Guy on reception carried my bag to my room for me, I thought this was a nice touch.

Disliked: I had a room at the front of the building which was quite noisy at night. Also a place downstairs selling food so you could smell that too.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi and breakfast was great, and easy walk down in to the CBD. Nice balcony on top floor. Our dorm room downstairs had fan and didn't get too hot at night.

Disliked: Place wasnt as clean as the award on the wall makes out - bathrooms were sometimes messy and saw a couple of small cockroaches in shower.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free wifi, free breakfast incl. eggs, friendly staff, free luggage store till late night, late check out possible, nice balcony

Disliked: we had a room without a window

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff and free internet.

Disliked: There was a lot of noise from the street below.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Clarke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 March 2012 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Free wi-fi, one of the only place is NZ to have this, close to town, decent breakfast supplied in the morning, nice bedrooms, all good

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melissa Overbury

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 March 2012 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: awesome staff, love the free wifi, and thanks for the yummy breakfasts (eggs!! :) )

Disliked: it was all good...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christian Bauer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2012 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, clean properties, nice rooms, good value for money

Disliked: Christian left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Naomi Cooper

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2012 Naomi would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel had a nice relaxed atmosphere. It was quite small and therefore had a friendly, family feel to it. The staff were very helpful. We got charged incorrectly without knowing but they were very honest and brought our change around later that evening. There is a nice outside terrace for the sunny days. Bathrooms are clean and wifi is strong in the rooms.

Disliked: The kitchen was a little bit small - nothing else.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had to leave earlier than expected and without asking they refunded the money for the one day :) Pretty nice of you!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HAO-MING HSU

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 February 2012 HAO-MING would recommend this property

Liked: staffs are helpful! free wifi is very useful. and the locatin is also nice!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Philippe van Dam

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

27 February 2012 Philippe would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! I've spent nearly 2 months there! 10 meters from Queen St, the staff is really nice and very helpful too (a special mention to Charles and Candy!) Never seen bathrooms in hostels so clean, free internet connection (most of the hostels in the city charge you for everything even if you are a client) . I definetely reccomend this hostel if you are coming to Auckland, wether you are alone, with people, young or old it doesn't matter, you'll have a good time.

Disliked: Although the breakfast is free, it should have more variety of food in it.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Lundstrom Kyrk

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2012 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Big Free Breakfast. Nice rooms. Free internet in the room.

Disliked: Almost no pressure in the showers.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Chris Hawtin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2012

Liked: Free Internet....although very very slow

Disliked: The door did not close and lock properly.....i was told to "slam" it to make it work! Just what everyone in other room's want at night...slamming door's! The room was tiny, and barely had enough for my stuff, let alone for 2 other's which is what the bed situation call's for in the room The tv aerial was broke on the tv, and when fixed had only 2 channels to choose from! Deluxe indeed! Finally, the window had problem's opening and closing, and when locked with the bolt loosely fitted to the window, all you needed to do was lift the window up and it opened...so technically never locked!! Was not enough room in the fridge provided for everyone's food, so at some pints you had to empty the whole fridge to get to your stuff, as it was at the bottom of stacks and stacks of food!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

14 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location - 5 minute walk from downtown area. Many restaurants, cafes, banks along K road. Room and bathroom were clean.

Disliked: Kitchen was small and not well stocked. The plug-in burners were kind of crappy and the pans needed to be replaced. The kitchen was such a tight squeeze that people had to wait in line to wash their dishes.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful, accommodating, communicative staff who answer emails extremely quickly. Good, hot showers. Good wifi in common areas and room. Laundry on site. Parking close by. Central location. Tons of information about activities throughout New Zealand. Roof deck.

Disliked: Breakfast was underwhelming, but the toaster oven was great. Hot plates are tricky. Not overwhelminglhy social place, so not too easy to meet people. It's literally kind of bland: taupe and grey. Is a bit pricey if you don't have a BBH card.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We enjoyed our stay here, free wifi is very helpful. Free breakfast was good but choice of foods limited.

Disliked: The kitchen was quite small. Not enough toilets or shower facilities.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sarah Weckmans

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: clean, quiet, good place if you wanna rest after a long flight or trip

Disliked: /

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bernd Donner

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2012 Bernd would recommend this property

Liked: quite and clean

Disliked: no recycle bins, water saving at bathrooms doesn't work

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

andreia franzoi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2012 andreia would recommend this property

Liked: Close to airport bus stop, really close! Staff very nice

Disliked: Kichen small

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was very clean with a fridge, TV and desk. Bed was very comfortable and there was free wifi. THe hostel has a nice rooftop terrace and good kitchen.

Disliked: The only problem was the view of next door's wall.