We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of K Road City Travellers

Hostel | 146 Karangahape Road, Auckland, New Zealand 68884

79.4% Overall Rating

234 out of 251 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/03/2015)

Susan Gorman thinks…

"We spent two nights in a simple but comfortable double bed room, shared bathroom. We were out exploring the city so we did not spend much time there except to sleep. Staff was friendly and helpful.…"

Read all K Road City Travellers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 7.58

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Auckland

Newton Lodge
18.18 USD

Hostel 83.5% 53 reviews
BK Hostel
21.97 USD

Hostel 85.4% 243 reviews
YHA Auckland City
19.70 USD

Hostel 84.7% 159 reviews
YHA Auckland International
20.45 USD

Hostel 83.7% 251 reviews
City Lodge Backpacker
22.73 USD

Hostel 87.9% 229 reviews
YMCA Hostel
21.97 USD

Hostel 84.0% 22 reviews
Silverfern Backpackers
17.42 USD

Hostel 69.1% 186 reviews
Columbia Hostel
21.21 USD

Hostel 52.2% 18 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.4%

Overall Rating

234 out of 251 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'K Road City Travellers'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
81.6%
Value
79.2%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 211 of 243 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

11 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i was very happy with the cleanliness of the place. The kitchen, bathrooms and common areas were cleaned very well every day. I also enjoyed having access to free breakfast items in the morning (eggs, coffee, toast, jam, ham, etc) which you would prepare yourself but nonetheless, i always had enough to eat and could breakfast on my own schedule. I also was very happy with the crowd staying at the hostel: they were all very welcoming and easy to talk to and found myself able to go out with several of them to explore the town together on several occasions. I think the hostelers here are less the very young, backpacker type, and more the 20-30s work-visa, in-transition crowd which is nice. The hostel was also very quiet at night so i always had a good nights sleep (i had a room on the second floor). Overall, i was very happy with this hostel and would def stay here again!! the value for price is terrific!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, hot showers, breakfast provided, FREE WIFI (rare in NZ), good tourist information.

Disliked: No ensuite rooms, but shared showers were very clean.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Goran Segrt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2012 Goran would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location, right in the middle of Auckland. 15-20 min walk to the Ferries and Downtown via Queen Street! Friendly staff and good value for money, especially due to free internet.

Disliked: Parking spots for the car are an issue and expensive close to the Hostel. But it is also Auckland Central.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2012

Liked: The bathroom and kitchens were clean, its a decent enough area and the staff are pretty friendly.

Disliked: Our double room just wasn't what we expected, due to the description and we have stayed in a lot of hostels.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I love this hostel! Internet is free (if you don't have your own laptop or wi-fi device, there are a handful of computers set up in the lobby), and a satisfying breakfast was included. I arrived earlier than the check-in time, and a very nice staff member checked me in early, offered me breakfast, and showed me around. This hostel is small and cozy, and it's very easy to meet people if you hang out in the common areas. I also had to check out early, and when I informed the staff, they made sure breakfast still available to me in the morning. My room was very clean, and lockers were available in each room. It's located right at the end of the main road in Auckland (Queen Street and K Road), so I was easily able to walk anywhere in town. Great hostel! Very friendly and helpful staff!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lindsay Woolston

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

03 July 2012 lindsay would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, free breakfast and right near all the eateries and pubs down K road/

Disliked: Hard to find until you know what your looking for, could maybe do with a clearer sign.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed here for three nights initially when I arrived into NZ and came back a week or so later before flying out as I'd had a good experience the first time. Place matched precisely the description given on this site, I was looking for somewhere to take stock and spend a bit of time resting and making plans before seeing the rest of the country. It was kept clean and tidy, it never felt like there were too many people there or not enough facilities for the number of guests. It was secure and importantly warm (it was getting quite cold outside), and the breakfast provided was simple and did the trick. Lots of people here staying before they found work/places to live in other parts of the country - had some great conversations with other guests. Staff were also very helpful in taking delivery of a couple of parcels for me whilst I was away and notifying me when they'd arrived, Perfect place to stay upon arrival in New Zealand and definitely one of the better hostels I've stayed in in any city - glad I found it.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Veronica Sanchez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2012 Veronica would recommend this property

Liked: Free internet, free breakfast.Very helpful staff

Disliked: Veronica left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa

18 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean and nice small dormrooms..

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, free internet access, clean dorms and general areas

Disliked: doors of dorms not lockable

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Benedikt Stonawski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2012 Benedikt would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really helpful and the option to make your own breakfast was great. we even had a barbecue which was a lot of fun! definatly recommend the hostel!

Disliked: non

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lucy Yates

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2012 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: A good property, in a good location, nice clean bathrooms and rooms are good quality

Disliked: The kitchen area is pretty small and can only really have a couple of people in at one time.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast, free internet, showers are lovely (hot and powerful!) 50c bus the other side of the road straight to centre of city. Lovely balcony by top kitchen where you can eat/relax/socialise, books, magazines and games for those rainy/lazy days.

Disliked: Struggling to think of something!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Fuentes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi free breakfast. Attracts cool and friendly people. One of the best hostels I have stayed in.

Disliked: It was a very good hostel. I like everything about it

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Andrew Murray

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is very clean and friendly and probably the best hostel I have stayed in in nearly 12 months of travelling. I have been here for nearly 3 weeks and dont intend on leaving yet. The rooms/bathrooms are clean, the people are friendly and the location is great. It is a small and quiet hostel but still manages to be good fun. The free internet/breakfasts are awesome and having a tv to watch in the evenings is also very useful. I would reccomend this place to anyone.

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

02 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast, free use of computers, catering facilities, cleanliness and especially friendliness of staff.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great staff. very friendly. laid back atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniela Buehler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2012 Daniela would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostel i've ever stayed.staff is more than friendly,goog breakfast with eggs!

Disliked: Daniela left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexander Fülbier

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2012 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very nice place to explore the city and get first contacts.

Disliked: The atmosphere was sometimes a little bit anonymous as there were chick changes and some residents.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gevelyn Bretti

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

18 May 2012 Gevelyn would recommend this property

Liked: You can have a room immediately if is ready. I was arrive at 7:30 am and they gave me immediately the room, a triple girl room but i had pay the 5 room mix, and a payed the some money. There is free internet wifi and there are also some computer to use it. The hostel was clean and the staff was very good. I really raccomend it

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juancho Labayo

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife

14 May 2012 Juancho would recommend this property

Liked: It has a good location, free wi-fi, free breakfast, friendly staff

Disliked: Only 2 channels on our tv but that's alright we were'nt there to watch the tele anyways

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

YUMI HEO

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 May 2012 YUMI would recommend this property

Liked: It was so clean and quite at night time also on the main street of the city. There are many kind staff and I can met heaps of friendly friends.

Disliked: YUMI left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Watts

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice hostel, Quiet at night, clean but also in a good location if you want to party.

Disliked: Wi-Fi was really slow, but it's free so cant complain too much! Kitchens are very small.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paula Hunter

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2012 Paula would recommend this property

Liked: The free breakfast and use of computers was great and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Boked this hostel because of free internet and breakfast. Good value for money. In a good location for bus and within walking distance (downhill) to Queen Street. Guy on reception carried my bag to my room for me, I thought this was a nice touch.

Disliked: I had a room at the front of the building which was quite noisy at night. Also a place downstairs selling food so you could smell that too.