We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of K Road City Travellers

Hostel | 146 Karangahape Road, Auckland, New Zealand 68884

80.7% Overall Rating

238 out of 255 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/06/2015)

"Very helpful and friendly staff. Ok breakfast, free wifi. I was upgraded to a better room the first night as there was no more space in the kind of room I booked and they finally even left me there the 2nd nights. You…"

Read all K Road City Travellers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 6.37

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Auckland

Newton Lodge
15.28 USD

Hostel 82.3% 58 reviews
BK Hostel
19.73 USD

Hostel 85.4% 243 reviews
YHA Auckland City
14.00 USD

Hostel 82.7% 162 reviews
YHA Auckland International
15.91 USD

Hostel 85.6% 254 reviews
City Lodge Backpacker
24.19 USD

Hostel 89.8% 232 reviews
YMCA Hostel
20.37 USD

Hostel 84.6% 24 reviews
Silverfern Backpackers
13.37 USD

Hostel 67.0% 191 reviews
Columbia Hostel
19.10 USD

Hostel 54.3% 20 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.7%

Overall Rating

238 out of 255 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'K Road City Travellers'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
84.0%
Value
80.0%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 215 of 247 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi, free breakfast, great location in the CBD- close to everything, friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: Not many other people staying when I was there, so a bit quiet. But, that's not the fault of the hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Free WiFi - Breakfast included - Rooms have small lockers for valuables, with locks provided - Very clean - Staff friendly and helpful

Disliked: - Easy to miss from street level (a clearer sign might help) - Shared entrance with a massage parlour (although this did not affect us in ANY way, some people might find it something to note)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

17 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and nicely decorated. Close to the city centre and bus stops for the airbus. Free wifi with a good connection :) I was lucky enough to have a room to myself even though I was in a dorm, which was fantastic as I was really only there to sleep before catching a bus up to Northland the next morning. Was good to have extra blankets in the cupboard as well. Coming from Brisbane, the winter feels a little cooler in Auckland!

Disliked: I don't like leaving my passport and cash anywhere I go without fully being able to lock it up, so prob would have been good to have a locker in the dorms even though I was in a room by myself. Just for a little more peace of mind!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alexander Coombs

Alone

Work / volunteering

16 August 2012 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Good location on the K road next to Queen Street. Eggs, toast and juice for breakfast included and free Wifi which is reasonably quick. Great place if you are in Auckland to get things sorted for a long term stay, to meet other people who are trying the set themselves up in NZ for an extended period of time. Also, cheap scanning and photocopying.

Disliked: Doesn't have the greatest of character but you probably won't stay there for that anyway (it isn't a little beech hidaway after all). Blink and you miss it as well.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

11 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i was very happy with the cleanliness of the place. The kitchen, bathrooms and common areas were cleaned very well every day. I also enjoyed having access to free breakfast items in the morning (eggs, coffee, toast, jam, ham, etc) which you would prepare yourself but nonetheless, i always had enough to eat and could breakfast on my own schedule. I also was very happy with the crowd staying at the hostel: they were all very welcoming and easy to talk to and found myself able to go out with several of them to explore the town together on several occasions. I think the hostelers here are less the very young, backpacker type, and more the 20-30s work-visa, in-transition crowd which is nice. The hostel was also very quiet at night so i always had a good nights sleep (i had a room on the second floor). Overall, i was very happy with this hostel and would def stay here again!! the value for price is terrific!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, hot showers, breakfast provided, FREE WIFI (rare in NZ), good tourist information.

Disliked: No ensuite rooms, but shared showers were very clean.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Goran Segrt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2012 Goran would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location, right in the middle of Auckland. 15-20 min walk to the Ferries and Downtown via Queen Street! Friendly staff and good value for money, especially due to free internet.

Disliked: Parking spots for the car are an issue and expensive close to the Hostel. But it is also Auckland Central.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2012

Liked: The bathroom and kitchens were clean, its a decent enough area and the staff are pretty friendly.

Disliked: Our double room just wasn't what we expected, due to the description and we have stayed in a lot of hostels.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I love this hostel! Internet is free (if you don't have your own laptop or wi-fi device, there are a handful of computers set up in the lobby), and a satisfying breakfast was included. I arrived earlier than the check-in time, and a very nice staff member checked me in early, offered me breakfast, and showed me around. This hostel is small and cozy, and it's very easy to meet people if you hang out in the common areas. I also had to check out early, and when I informed the staff, they made sure breakfast still available to me in the morning. My room was very clean, and lockers were available in each room. It's located right at the end of the main road in Auckland (Queen Street and K Road), so I was easily able to walk anywhere in town. Great hostel! Very friendly and helpful staff!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lindsay Woolston

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

03 July 2012 lindsay would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, free breakfast and right near all the eateries and pubs down K road/

Disliked: Hard to find until you know what your looking for, could maybe do with a clearer sign.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed here for three nights initially when I arrived into NZ and came back a week or so later before flying out as I'd had a good experience the first time. Place matched precisely the description given on this site, I was looking for somewhere to take stock and spend a bit of time resting and making plans before seeing the rest of the country. It was kept clean and tidy, it never felt like there were too many people there or not enough facilities for the number of guests. It was secure and importantly warm (it was getting quite cold outside), and the breakfast provided was simple and did the trick. Lots of people here staying before they found work/places to live in other parts of the country - had some great conversations with other guests. Staff were also very helpful in taking delivery of a couple of parcels for me whilst I was away and notifying me when they'd arrived, Perfect place to stay upon arrival in New Zealand and definitely one of the better hostels I've stayed in in any city - glad I found it.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Veronica Sanchez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2012 Veronica would recommend this property

Liked: Free internet, free breakfast.Very helpful staff

Disliked: Veronica left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa

18 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean and nice small dormrooms..

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, free internet access, clean dorms and general areas

Disliked: doors of dorms not lockable

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Benedikt Stonawski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2012 Benedikt would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really helpful and the option to make your own breakfast was great. we even had a barbecue which was a lot of fun! definatly recommend the hostel!

Disliked: non

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lucy Yates

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2012 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: A good property, in a good location, nice clean bathrooms and rooms are good quality

Disliked: The kitchen area is pretty small and can only really have a couple of people in at one time.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast, free internet, showers are lovely (hot and powerful!) 50c bus the other side of the road straight to centre of city. Lovely balcony by top kitchen where you can eat/relax/socialise, books, magazines and games for those rainy/lazy days.

Disliked: Struggling to think of something!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Fuentes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi free breakfast. Attracts cool and friendly people. One of the best hostels I have stayed in.

Disliked: It was a very good hostel. I like everything about it

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Andrew Murray

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is very clean and friendly and probably the best hostel I have stayed in in nearly 12 months of travelling. I have been here for nearly 3 weeks and dont intend on leaving yet. The rooms/bathrooms are clean, the people are friendly and the location is great. It is a small and quiet hostel but still manages to be good fun. The free internet/breakfasts are awesome and having a tv to watch in the evenings is also very useful. I would reccomend this place to anyone.

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

02 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast, free use of computers, catering facilities, cleanliness and especially friendliness of staff.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great staff. very friendly. laid back atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniela Buehler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2012 Daniela would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostel i've ever stayed.staff is more than friendly,goog breakfast with eggs!

Disliked: Daniela left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexander Fülbier

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2012 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very nice place to explore the city and get first contacts.

Disliked: The atmosphere was sometimes a little bit anonymous as there were chick changes and some residents.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gevelyn Bretti

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

18 May 2012 Gevelyn would recommend this property

Liked: You can have a room immediately if is ready. I was arrive at 7:30 am and they gave me immediately the room, a triple girl room but i had pay the 5 room mix, and a payed the some money. There is free internet wifi and there are also some computer to use it. The hostel was clean and the staff was very good. I really raccomend it

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juancho Labayo

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife

14 May 2012 Juancho would recommend this property

Liked: It has a good location, free wi-fi, free breakfast, friendly staff

Disliked: Only 2 channels on our tv but that's alright we were'nt there to watch the tele anyways