HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of K Road City Travellers

Hostel | 146 Karangahape Road, Auckland, New Zealand 68884

86.4% Overall Rating

222 out of 237 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/08/2014)

"Facilities were regularly cleaned, lockers in rooms and free toast and wifi provided."

Read all K Road City Travellers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 7.78

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Auckland

Newton Lodge
18.67 USD

Hostel 83.1% 49 reviews
BK Hostel
22.56 USD

Hostel 83.1% 237 reviews
YHA Auckland City
13.23 USD

Hostel 86.1% 153 reviews
YHA Auckland International
17.90 USD

Hostel 81.1% 247 reviews
City Lodge Backpacker
27.04 USD

Hostel 87.2% 228 reviews
YMCA Hostel
22.56 USD

Hostel 83.3% 21 reviews
Silverfern Backpackers
17.12 USD

Hostel 72.0% 172 reviews
Columbia Hostel
21.79 USD

Hostel 54.3% 12 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.4%

Overall Rating

222 out of 237 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'K Road City Travellers'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
83.2%
Value
85.6%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 201 of 229 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

11 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet, clean, really nice bathrooms and frienly staff.

Disliked: Only 2 showers and 3 toilets a floor but it didn't seem a problem, we were ever kept waiting. Free wifi was slow, but at least they don't charge for it.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

24 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good kitchen and deck to sit and eat.

Disliked: The noise from the local night clubs

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Troy WHITMARSH

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2013

Liked: Wifi in rooms.

Disliked: Terrible atmosphere.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ruth Reynolds

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2012 Ruth would recommend this property

Liked: We arrived quite late but the guy on reception was friendly and helpful and gave us a tour before showing us to our room. We had a double room which was fairly big, had a desk, hanging rail, wall mounted TV, full length mirror and plenty of sockets. There was free wifi available. The bathrooms and kitchen were very clean and looked new. The kitchen was well equipped and there was plenty of room inside and out to sit and eat. Other guests were friendly and there was a sense of everyone looking after the hostel. Would definitely stay again.

Disliked: Ruth left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good Location in walking distance to shopping and harbour area, many bars and restaurants nearby. Staff is helpful, rooms and common area are clean though partly a bit old. Good value, I would go there again.

Disliked: It's a bit noisy there.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel O'Rourke

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 November 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Really useful to have free WiFi and breakfast

Disliked: Nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2012

Liked: Me and my boyfriend liked the fact that it had free internet and that it was quite close to the city centre. We also appreciated the cleanliness of the common bathrooms.

Disliked: We did not like the breakfast: cheapest possible white toast, cheapest possible jam and peanut butter, no real coffee or cereal, and the room definitely was not cosy. Some members of the staff seemed a tad phlegmatic, though some very nice. There were neither hand towels in all of the bathrooms and toilets nor hygienic soap.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

michael cheeseman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2012 michael would recommend this property

Liked: clean, quiet and good location and Staff

Disliked: Bunk beds new but a bit shakey

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hannes Eggenschwiler

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 November 2012 Hannes would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, close to Airbus stop, clean facilities, nice rooftop terrace

Disliked: A little far from city center but still close to many restaurants and bars in K road

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Thomas Breen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 November 2012

Liked: internet access, location

Disliked: staff on checkout rude, had to wait over an hour to get our towel deposit back as the staff member we gave it to did not log on computer....staff did not care and were not helpful

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping

10 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Environment is very clean and the staffs are very friendly considerate and enthusiasm.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi, free breakfast, great location in the CBD- close to everything, friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: Not many other people staying when I was there, so a bit quiet. But, that's not the fault of the hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Free WiFi - Breakfast included - Rooms have small lockers for valuables, with locks provided - Very clean - Staff friendly and helpful

Disliked: - Easy to miss from street level (a clearer sign might help) - Shared entrance with a massage parlour (although this did not affect us in ANY way, some people might find it something to note)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

17 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and nicely decorated. Close to the city centre and bus stops for the airbus. Free wifi with a good connection :) I was lucky enough to have a room to myself even though I was in a dorm, which was fantastic as I was really only there to sleep before catching a bus up to Northland the next morning. Was good to have extra blankets in the cupboard as well. Coming from Brisbane, the winter feels a little cooler in Auckland!

Disliked: I don't like leaving my passport and cash anywhere I go without fully being able to lock it up, so prob would have been good to have a locker in the dorms even though I was in a room by myself. Just for a little more peace of mind!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alexander Coombs

Alone

Work / volunteering

16 August 2012 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Good location on the K road next to Queen Street. Eggs, toast and juice for breakfast included and free Wifi which is reasonably quick. Great place if you are in Auckland to get things sorted for a long term stay, to meet other people who are trying the set themselves up in NZ for an extended period of time. Also, cheap scanning and photocopying.

Disliked: Doesn't have the greatest of character but you probably won't stay there for that anyway (it isn't a little beech hidaway after all). Blink and you miss it as well.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

11 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i was very happy with the cleanliness of the place. The kitchen, bathrooms and common areas were cleaned very well every day. I also enjoyed having access to free breakfast items in the morning (eggs, coffee, toast, jam, ham, etc) which you would prepare yourself but nonetheless, i always had enough to eat and could breakfast on my own schedule. I also was very happy with the crowd staying at the hostel: they were all very welcoming and easy to talk to and found myself able to go out with several of them to explore the town together on several occasions. I think the hostelers here are less the very young, backpacker type, and more the 20-30s work-visa, in-transition crowd which is nice. The hostel was also very quiet at night so i always had a good nights sleep (i had a room on the second floor). Overall, i was very happy with this hostel and would def stay here again!! the value for price is terrific!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, hot showers, breakfast provided, FREE WIFI (rare in NZ), good tourist information.

Disliked: No ensuite rooms, but shared showers were very clean.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Goran Segrt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2012 Goran would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location, right in the middle of Auckland. 15-20 min walk to the Ferries and Downtown via Queen Street! Friendly staff and good value for money, especially due to free internet.

Disliked: Parking spots for the car are an issue and expensive close to the Hostel. But it is also Auckland Central.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2012

Liked: The bathroom and kitchens were clean, its a decent enough area and the staff are pretty friendly.

Disliked: Our double room just wasn't what we expected, due to the description and we have stayed in a lot of hostels.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I love this hostel! Internet is free (if you don't have your own laptop or wi-fi device, there are a handful of computers set up in the lobby), and a satisfying breakfast was included. I arrived earlier than the check-in time, and a very nice staff member checked me in early, offered me breakfast, and showed me around. This hostel is small and cozy, and it's very easy to meet people if you hang out in the common areas. I also had to check out early, and when I informed the staff, they made sure breakfast still available to me in the morning. My room was very clean, and lockers were available in each room. It's located right at the end of the main road in Auckland (Queen Street and K Road), so I was easily able to walk anywhere in town. Great hostel! Very friendly and helpful staff!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lindsay Woolston

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

03 July 2012 lindsay would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, free breakfast and right near all the eateries and pubs down K road/

Disliked: Hard to find until you know what your looking for, could maybe do with a clearer sign.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed here for three nights initially when I arrived into NZ and came back a week or so later before flying out as I'd had a good experience the first time. Place matched precisely the description given on this site, I was looking for somewhere to take stock and spend a bit of time resting and making plans before seeing the rest of the country. It was kept clean and tidy, it never felt like there were too many people there or not enough facilities for the number of guests. It was secure and importantly warm (it was getting quite cold outside), and the breakfast provided was simple and did the trick. Lots of people here staying before they found work/places to live in other parts of the country - had some great conversations with other guests. Staff were also very helpful in taking delivery of a couple of parcels for me whilst I was away and notifying me when they'd arrived, Perfect place to stay upon arrival in New Zealand and definitely one of the better hostels I've stayed in in any city - glad I found it.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Veronica Sanchez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2012 Veronica would recommend this property

Liked: Free internet, free breakfast.Very helpful staff

Disliked: Veronica left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa

18 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean and nice small dormrooms..

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, free internet access, clean dorms and general areas

Disliked: doors of dorms not lockable