We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of K Road City Travellers

Hostel | 146 Karangahape Road, Auckland, New Zealand 68884

79.4% Overall Rating

234 out of 251 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/03/2015)

Susan Gorman thinks…

"We spent two nights in a simple but comfortable double bed room, shared bathroom. We were out exploring the city so we did not spend much time there except to sleep. Staff was friendly and helpful.…"

Read all K Road City Travellers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 7.56

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Auckland

Newton Lodge
18.15 USD

Hostel 83.5% 53 reviews
BK Hostel
21.93 USD

Hostel 85.4% 243 reviews
YHA Auckland City
19.66 USD

Hostel 84.7% 159 reviews
YHA Auckland International
20.42 USD

Hostel 83.7% 251 reviews
City Lodge Backpacker
22.68 USD

Hostel 87.9% 229 reviews
YMCA Hostel
21.93 USD

Hostel 84.0% 22 reviews
Silverfern Backpackers
15.88 USD

Hostel 69.1% 186 reviews
Columbia Hostel
21.17 USD

Hostel 52.2% 18 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.4%

Overall Rating

234 out of 251 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'K Road City Travellers'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
81.6%
Value
79.2%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 211 of 243 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kieran parker

Alone

Romantic getaway

14 September 2013 kieran would recommend this property

Liked: Great stay tv in room and free wifi is awesome

Disliked: kieran left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Nice clean rooms and common areas. Friendly staff,

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Small enough so it has a family atmosphere. Nice people working and staying there. Clean bathrooms and showers and always hot water. Washing machine and dryer available. Great location - across the street from the red bus that takes you downtown in minutes. Plenty of food and drink places on the block. Free wifi!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mariane Borges Pereira

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2013 Mariane would recommend this property

Liked: I really loved the clean bathrooms and rooms. Definally I'll be back!

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Juancho Labayo

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife

22 June 2013 Juancho would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money

Disliked: Juancho left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Florent Yorke

Alone

Relaxation/spa

15 May 2013 Florent would recommend this property

Liked: Super convenient location, clean and nice environment, helpful staffs make me feel at home. Free WIFI greatly supported my work during the stay. will definitely comeback and recommend my stay to other travelers.

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rose Wismer

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 May 2013 Rose would recommend this property

Liked: Free and unlimited WIFI Free breakfast Good location, easy to access supermarkets, restaurants, entertainment, etc. Staffs there are very helpful and friendly, always tried to sort problems out for us. My friend recommended it to me, and i will definitely recommend to other friends.

Disliked: Rose left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very sunny balcony with a good view! free internet and free breakfast! good location and very helpful staff!(Charles) very clean and tidy! most of the people that stay here are tourist and will share traveling experience! would totally reccommend to friends!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Virginia Wills

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

10 April 2013 Virginia would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here for a month in the mixed dorm and was very pleased with my stay. The bathrooms were very clean and I hardly ever had to wait for a shower. The lockers in the rooms were very convenient and there were also drawers to keep extra things in. The balcony was so nice, it was a great place to sit and have a beer in the evening. The location was good, Queen Street is a few steps away and K road has a great atmosphere with little shops and restaurants. Having two kitchens really helped and it was rare that I had to wait to cook anything. The breakfast was very basic but it's better than nothing. The Internet was free with no limits but it could be slow sometimes. I was able to Skype back hope but it lagged a little. They have a washer and dryer on site that was very convenient and only three dollars per load. Its not a party hostel, the vibe is very chill and relaxed. Overall, I would definitely recommend this place.

Disliked: The bunk beds are very noisy and they move a lot, so anytime your bed mate moves you will feel it. The television only has two useful channels, a movie and a sports channel. The Internet doesn't work out on the porch. It can get quite hot in the summertime even with the window open, but if you open the dorm door you can get a cross breeze going that will lower the temperature some.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

17 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very good hostel. Perfect position in the middle of Kroad, clean and the staff was really friendly. I enjoyed a lot my stay there.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

11 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet, clean, really nice bathrooms and frienly staff.

Disliked: Only 2 showers and 3 toilets a floor but it didn't seem a problem, we were ever kept waiting. Free wifi was slow, but at least they don't charge for it.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

24 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good kitchen and deck to sit and eat.

Disliked: The noise from the local night clubs

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Troy WHITMARSH

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2013

Liked: Wifi in rooms.

Disliked: Terrible atmosphere.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ruth Reynolds

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2012 Ruth would recommend this property

Liked: We arrived quite late but the guy on reception was friendly and helpful and gave us a tour before showing us to our room. We had a double room which was fairly big, had a desk, hanging rail, wall mounted TV, full length mirror and plenty of sockets. There was free wifi available. The bathrooms and kitchen were very clean and looked new. The kitchen was well equipped and there was plenty of room inside and out to sit and eat. Other guests were friendly and there was a sense of everyone looking after the hostel. Would definitely stay again.

Disliked: Ruth left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good Location in walking distance to shopping and harbour area, many bars and restaurants nearby. Staff is helpful, rooms and common area are clean though partly a bit old. Good value, I would go there again.

Disliked: It's a bit noisy there.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel O'Rourke

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 November 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Really useful to have free WiFi and breakfast

Disliked: Nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2012

Liked: Me and my boyfriend liked the fact that it had free internet and that it was quite close to the city centre. We also appreciated the cleanliness of the common bathrooms.

Disliked: We did not like the breakfast: cheapest possible white toast, cheapest possible jam and peanut butter, no real coffee or cereal, and the room definitely was not cosy. Some members of the staff seemed a tad phlegmatic, though some very nice. There were neither hand towels in all of the bathrooms and toilets nor hygienic soap.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

michael cheeseman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2012 michael would recommend this property

Liked: clean, quiet and good location and Staff

Disliked: Bunk beds new but a bit shakey

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hannes Eggenschwiler

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 November 2012 Hannes would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, close to Airbus stop, clean facilities, nice rooftop terrace

Disliked: A little far from city center but still close to many restaurants and bars in K road

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Thomas Breen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 November 2012

Liked: internet access, location

Disliked: staff on checkout rude, had to wait over an hour to get our towel deposit back as the staff member we gave it to did not log on computer....staff did not care and were not helpful

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping

10 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Environment is very clean and the staffs are very friendly considerate and enthusiasm.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi, free breakfast, great location in the CBD- close to everything, friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: Not many other people staying when I was there, so a bit quiet. But, that's not the fault of the hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Free WiFi - Breakfast included - Rooms have small lockers for valuables, with locks provided - Very clean - Staff friendly and helpful

Disliked: - Easy to miss from street level (a clearer sign might help) - Shared entrance with a massage parlour (although this did not affect us in ANY way, some people might find it something to note)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

17 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and nicely decorated. Close to the city centre and bus stops for the airbus. Free wifi with a good connection :) I was lucky enough to have a room to myself even though I was in a dorm, which was fantastic as I was really only there to sleep before catching a bus up to Northland the next morning. Was good to have extra blankets in the cupboard as well. Coming from Brisbane, the winter feels a little cooler in Auckland!

Disliked: I don't like leaving my passport and cash anywhere I go without fully being able to lock it up, so prob would have been good to have a locker in the dorms even though I was in a room by myself. Just for a little more peace of mind!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alexander Coombs

Alone

Work / volunteering

16 August 2012 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Good location on the K road next to Queen Street. Eggs, toast and juice for breakfast included and free Wifi which is reasonably quick. Great place if you are in Auckland to get things sorted for a long term stay, to meet other people who are trying the set themselves up in NZ for an extended period of time. Also, cheap scanning and photocopying.

Disliked: Doesn't have the greatest of character but you probably won't stay there for that anyway (it isn't a little beech hidaway after all). Blink and you miss it as well.