HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Ponsonby Backpackers Auckland Hostel

2 franklin rd , ponsonby , auckland, Auckland, New Zealand

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 81%

Location 90%

Safety 90%

Staff 90%

Value 83%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Please notify us via email before your stay if you will be arriving before 8am or after 9pm as this may be outside reception hours, this will not affect your booking however we will need to leave you room instructions.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 81%

Location 90%

Safety 90%

Staff 90%

Value 83%

Showing 1-10 of 40 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: Clean and freindly

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice clean rooms, very nice and helpful staff and had a kitchen and fridges to use which is useful. Loved it here :)

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel is great. Awesome living room with DVD and Sky. Everyone is friendly and there's a well-stocked kitchen.

Disliked: It was annoying having to buy more internet but not a massive inconvenience. It's pretty cheap and very fast.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review,

We're glad you enjoyed you enjoyed your stay with us and found everyone friendly. Happy to hear you loved hanging in our awesome living room area.

Enjoy the rest of your travels.

Thanks
The PB - Team :)

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: good atmosphere, because of less guests than elsewhere in big Hostels

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed our friendly relaxed atmosphere.

If you're ever in Auckland again we would love to have you stay with us.

Thanks The PB Team :)

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Helpful staff, pleasant and clean rooms, nice common area and yard. The heater in the toom was nice! Good and quiet neighborhood, easy to walk into the city without being in a noisy place. Fun shops nearby. Super great start to our trip!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review,

Always pleasing to hear you found the staff helpful and our rooms clean. We do consider ourselves lucky to be located in a great suburb- Ponsonby is great for bars and eateries and it's still easy to get into the city.

If you're ever back in Auckland we would love for you to come back and stay with us.

The PB Team :)

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Awesome location, good facilities, and a fair price.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi thanks for taking time to leave us an awesome review,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our awesome location in Ponsonby. Pleased to hear you found us to be a fair price with good facilities.

If you're ever back in Auckland we would love to have you stay with us again.
Enjoy the rest of your travels.

Thanks The PB Team :)

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 May 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great kitchen facilities, clean rooms, homely feeling hostel, friendly atmosphere and helpful staff

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey, Thanks for leaving feedback with us. We're glad you enjoyed our stay with us and found our hostel clean with great facilities. Always happy to hear that the staff were very helpful.

Enjoy the rest of your travels.

Thanks
The PB team.

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 May 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Room was OK, we were lucky to have a car to drive into city as only took 5/10 mins but would of been much longer walk.

Disliked: Showers and toilets were dirty, mould on the walls, smell of urine and the smallest shower I've come across. I've been travelling for months and it's the worst bathroom facilities I've come across.


The property's response is

Hi thanks for taking time to leave a review.Ponsonby is a cool little suburb located just outside the city, which is easy accessible by the bus that leaves around the corner or its a nice 20 minute walk. :) We are sorry to hear that you found our toilets dirty, as they are cleaned thoroughly everyday by an outside cleaning company.We take great pride in our cleanliness around the grounds which you can see if you look at the other reviews.

Enjoy the rest of your travels
The Pb Team :)

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location, cool part of town. Very clean and the rooms are very spacious. You have to pay for the internet but its fairly cheap and good quality to skype etc. staff are all really friendly.

Disliked: its a but more expensicve than other hostels in town and they dont offer a weekly rate so not good if your planning to stay long term

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi thanks fro leaving us a review,

We are glad to hear you enjoyed our awesome location in Ponsonby. Our housekeeping staff work really hard to keep a high standard of cleanliness around the grounds and we consider ourselves really lucky to have such amazing friendly staff who help to create a great vibe around the hostel. We would love to have you stay again with us if you're ever back in Auckland.

Enjoy the rest of your travels
The PB team :)

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the locality, cleanliness, friendly, they had everything you needed. Well organised.

Disliked: Upstairs mens shower, the shower rose leaver was broken off.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review.

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be friendly and organised. We have now replaced the shower leaver in the mens toilet with a new shower head.

Enjoy the rest of your travels.

The PB team. :)

Check Availability