HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ponsonby Backpackers

Hostel | 2 Franklin Rd, Ponsonby, Auckland, New Zealand 1011

91.7% Overall Rating

165 out of 169 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/03/2014)

"The staff was very helpful with how to negotiate the city. She called to ask about the bus schedule for me."

Read all Ponsonby Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please notify us via email before your stay if you will be arriving before 8am or after 9pm as this may be outside reception hours, this will not affect your booking however we will need to leave you room instructions.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Auckland

Uenuku Lodge
22.28 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Brown Kiwi
22.28 USD

Hostel 84.2% 15 reviews
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
23.99 USD

Hostel 90.5% 31 reviews
Freemans Backpackers
23.99 USD

Hostel 83.2% 100 reviews
YMCA Hostel
23.13 USD

Hostel 84.6% 18 reviews
Silverfern Backpackers
18.85 USD

Hostel 65.9% 163 reviews
City Lodge Backpacker
32.56 USD

Hostel 87.2% 228 reviews
BK Hostel
24.85 USD

Hostel 83.4% 236 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.7%

Overall Rating

165 out of 169 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ponsonby Backpackers'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
96.0%
Value
91.2%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 134 of 166 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful with how to negotiate the city. She called to ask about the bus schedule for me.

Disliked: There was no top sheet on the bed, just the comforter which probably had not been washed recently. Single room smelled of dirty laundry.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Algirdas Petkevicius

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2014 Algirdas would recommend this property

Liked: Well located, friendly, low cost

Disliked: I liked it

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patrick Williamson

Alone

Business / conference

02 March 2014 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: Awsome helpful staff! I had to move rooms every day, no problems at all the staff did everything for me while I was out.

Disliked: Patrick left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice Hostel! I really enjoyed my stay ther and i met a Lot of friednly persons

Disliked: No free internet Access or free wifi

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nicola Hetzel

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

22 February 2014 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was helpful to adjust to changes in my schedule. Room and bathroom, and kitchen nice and clean. I've slept well. I liked the garden setting and location very much.

Disliked: We arrived late, the key and note on how to find our room was well organized. We didn't have access to fridge to chill our food for breakfast anymore. this is to a degree understandable, but was unexpected. Nothing I would complain about. Next I'll know.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jack Watson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2014 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff were welcoming and helpful, which made this place feel like a home away from home. The hostel is situated in Ponsonby which is a suburban district about 15 minutes by bus from Auckland centre. There are loads of cafes, restaurants and bars in the area: a great place to be situated and explore. The hostel itself is a pretty cool building and the 7 bed dorm was large and airy. There is a nice big kitchen for preparing food, which is what most people staying there (including me!) were doing. There is a spacious garden out back with benches to chillout and meet other travellers too.

Disliked: There were no problems with this place at all. People might have reservations about staying somewhere out of the city centre, but I thought it was a better place to stay, more laid back with all the amenities you could need for a good time. The buses in Auckland are very good and it was easy to travel to and from the hostel and the centre when I needed to, using the regular services. If all else fails, you could even walk which takes about 45 minutes and is a pleasant journey in itself!

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daniel Hosinner

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2014 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Nice garden, next to Ponsonby road with many cafes, restaurants, etc.

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Character

Disliked: Nothing really

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michaela Bastian

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2014 Michaela would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome hostel. I arrived late and had to leave very early and it was not problem to organise this with the staff who were in general very friendly. The hostel is located in a beautiful house, typical for Ponsonby, and has a large, clean kitchen and very nice common areas, both inside and outside the house. Bathrooms very also nice and clean. I really liked that they also offered security lockers in the rooms.

Disliked: It's a bit far to the city center (15 minutes walk), but that obvious from the address given.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Susan Carter

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 December 2013 Susan would recommend this property

Liked: The managers, Holly and John and all their staff, were helpful, informed, always ready to give a recommendation. The staff fosters a family atmosphere that pervades the house and creates a welcoming and safe/secure place to stay and relex. Coming back to the house always felt like coming home. They cheerfully provide towels, etc., that other hostels charge for. There is ample storage room for clothes in each room, secure lockers in shared rooms, great patio out back on which to enjoy a sunny breakfast. They threw a 'kick-ass' Christmas dinner party for all of us staying there!!!

Disliked: Bathrooms could have been cleaner.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property was like a home: comfortable and welcoming. At the same time, the hostel was in a lovely area and the staff members were always willing to offer help.

Disliked: I honestly cannot think of a single think I disliked about this property. It was quiet, clean, friendly, and in a fantastic location.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Hawkins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 December 2013 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely place in a good location. Kitchen is well kitted out and lounge is a good size too.

Disliked: Peter left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly people and clean rooms

Disliked: Nothing!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, access to secure lockers, access to outdoor eating area, and spacious dorms

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joanne Koh

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2013 Joanne would recommend this property

Liked: cleanliness of rooms, bathroom and kitchen

Disliked: nothing much to complain

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

31 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and well organised

Disliked: Female showers really small

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pauline Jones

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2013 Pauline would recommend this property

Liked: Nice decor and atmosphere.

Disliked: Could have had a larger communal area. Mainly it's the kitchen, which is friendly and busy with lots of left behind food if you can use it.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mathew Ladley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2013 Mathew would recommend this property

Liked: Great property. Nice room. Good staff. Decent kitchen.

Disliked: Common area not big enough for such a popular hostel

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was AMAZING. The room was large and the property was well heated. The kitchen was also a great space to cook!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Craig McIntyre

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

15 August 2013 Craig would recommend this property

Liked: Ponsonby's presents itself with character and friendliness more akin to a share house than a hostel. The set up means that no matter if you are there for a day or a week that people will talk to you and you will feel part of the place. I was greeted by Holly in reception on my arrival and was given excellent information about my location and things to do. Throughout my stay all staff were similarly friendly and helpful. Never once did I feel like this was a hostel and I definitely recommend this to all.

Disliked: Having to leave.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, simple and value for money

Disliked: Wifi was very expensive, but that was my only dislike.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caitlin Lister

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2013 Caitlin would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, lovely staff and communal spaces

Disliked: Caitlin left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, welcoming with all the facilities you want when you are travelling

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emmanuelle Peltier

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2013 Emmanuelle would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, quiet

Disliked: Maybe a free wifi or free breakfast would make this place even more amazing ;-)

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luke Morgan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

01 May 2013 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: It feels like you're staying at someones house as opposed to staying at a commercial hostel. John, Holly and the staff are helpful and really know how to make you feel welcome. The hostel is excellently run - toilets and kitchen are always spotless. The couch in the TV room is unbelievably comfortable. The fellow guests are friendly, and the Ponsonby area, being quieter than the CBD, has a fantastic chilled out friendly atmosphere with plenty of bars, restaurants and shops.

Disliked: There is nothing I can mention that is negative about the hostel - an awesome place to stay.

The property's response is...