We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ponsonby Backpackers

Hostel | 2 Franklin Rd, Ponsonby, Auckland, New Zealand 1011

92.3% Overall Rating

169 out of 173 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/08/2014)

"Extremely friendly staff, and probably one of the cleanest hostels I have stayed in. Very good location, small and cosy rooms and nice people :-)"

Read all Ponsonby Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please notify us via email before your stay if you will be arriving before 8am or after 9pm as this may be outside reception hours, this will not affect your booking however we will need to leave you room instructions.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Auckland

Uenuku Lodge
20.23 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Brown Kiwi
23.34 USD

Hostel 84.3% 16 reviews
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
22.56 USD

Hostel 89.6% 35 reviews
Freemans Backpackers
21.79 USD

Hostel 83.2% 100 reviews
YMCA Hostel
21.01 USD

Hostel 83.3% 21 reviews
Silverfern Backpackers
17.90 USD

Hostel 72.0% 172 reviews
City Lodge Backpacker
23.34 USD

Hostel 87.2% 228 reviews
BK Hostel
22.56 USD

Hostel 83.1% 237 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.3%

Overall Rating

169 out of 173 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ponsonby Backpackers'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
96.8%
Value
90.4%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 138 of 171 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Noémie Brillant

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

14 November 2011 Noémie would recommend this property

Liked: The place and the staff

Disliked: ... nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Conor Daly

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 November 2011 Conor would recommend this property

Liked: Holly and John have to be the most helpful people we have ever dealt with in any hostel. We stayed both before and at the end of RWC 2011 and without doubt one of best hostels we have been at anywhere in the world. Extremely clean, very good facilities incl great kitchen and common rooms as well as large outdoor area. Great location in very nice part of city and close to downtown. Good social hostel without being crazy and loud. However cant understate how helpful both Holly and John were both prior and during our stay. THE ONLY PLACE TO STAY IN AUCKLAND!!!

Disliked: Nothing - Place is perfect!!

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jenny Vogt

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 November 2011 Jenny would recommend this property

Liked: good hostel

Disliked: a bit away from downtown

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i liked the garden and tv room and kitchen/diner

Disliked: rooms were a bit damp and small

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

catrin hughes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2011 catrin would recommend this property

Liked: Very cosy an intimate. Having stayed at other hostels, this is one of the best around, Really miss the place and wish we would have stayed longer.

Disliked: Showers are a bit murky, and needed to wear my flip flops!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Reasonable location for the CBD

Disliked: The hill to walk up to it to return from town!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2011

Liked: You can walk to the citycentre, that's nice. You got 10 dollars worth of free wifi if you book via hostelbookers.

Disliked: The place was full of people that were staying there longer, so they closed themselves of a bit. Not really a nice place to stay if you're alone. Interior was a bit dodgy.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Philander

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 October 2011 William would recommend this property

Liked: John and Holly were amazing.so helpful with everything,probably the best hostel I have stayed in.good location,good kitchen,hot showers and most of all good atmosphere.If you are going to Auckland this is da place to be.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

17 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were excellent and is in a lovely location near lots of BYO restaurants

Disliked: nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Danny Janssen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2011 Danny would recommend this property

Liked: The money paid during the rugby world cup was to much for the accomodation. However it is a fine hostel, clean and a kitchen is available for your own cooking.

Disliked: Showers are clean but very small.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly, helpful staff :)

Disliked: It's a bit of a walk fromtown but no bit problem

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms and facilities, great location.

Disliked: N/a

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice place to stay

Disliked: i prefer that wifi access would be free

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff with a really comfy lounge.

Disliked: our room did smell a little damp due to the condensation gathering and little ventilation. But this wasn't much of an issue

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere, good prices, very central, nice garden :-)

Disliked: Nothing! My girlfriend said the ladies showers weren't that clean ... but the mens showers were!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

15 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the helpful staff and the good location. very near lots of bars and resturants as well as being round the corner from the local supermarket.

Disliked: was abit chilly but a heater was provided :)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

martijn boogaard

Alone

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

14 September 2011 martijn would recommend this property

Liked: great helpfull staff

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica McArdle

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 September 2011 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was really homely and the staff were unbelievably friendly and helpful recommending great spots in the area and saving us a fair bit of money. Great place.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and beautiful building.

Disliked: It doesn't look so good like in the pictures. Our room was too small.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin O'Connor

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 September 2011 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has a lot a character and it is very laid back and comfortable. The staff are superb and my overall experience was delightful! :)

Disliked: Nothing bad to say at all.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

louisa stewart

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2011 louisa would recommend this property

Liked: great staff, nice in and outdoor common areas, clean, central.

Disliked: not much, but if i was to give a suggestion free tea and coffee is always a nice touch!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ross williams

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

03 August 2011 ross would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly nature and hospitality of the management team made our stay at The Ponsonby Backpackers most enjoyable. Ideally located away from the noisy city center but within comfortable walking distance to all of Auckland's major sites. The rooms were clean and the facilities were great; the kitchen was superbly organised and equipped giving us the ability to make good meals despite being away from home. The staff were always friendly and took an interest in what were doing offering us advice and a helping hand. We would not hesitate to book with them again.

Disliked: Nothing, it was great!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Almost everything about this place is great!

Disliked: The rooms are bit dull.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Josie Collyer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2011 Josie would recommend this property

Liked: Great friendly hostel with cosy rooms, clean kitchen and good living spaces. The staff were fantastic - helping me plan my trip around NZ, and have lots of experience of travelling in NZ. Ponsonby is a lovely location, quiet neighbourhood but easy walk into town.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday

09 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice staff and fantastic location

Disliked: Cramped dormrooms