We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ponsonby Backpackers

Hostel | 2 Franklin Rd, Ponsonby, Auckland, New Zealand 1011

92.5% Overall Rating

182 out of 187 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/05/2015)

Laura Maidment thinks…

"Great kitchen facilities, clean rooms, homely feeling hostel, friendly atmosphere and helpful staff"

Read all Ponsonby Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please notify us via email before your stay if you will be arriving before 8am or after 9pm as this may be outside reception hours, this will not affect your booking however we will need to leave you room instructions.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Auckland

Uenuku Lodge
17.13 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Brown Kiwi
17.79 USD

Hostel 84.5% 17 reviews
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
19.11 USD

Hostel 89.1% 41 reviews
Freemans Backpackers
18.45 USD

Hostel 83.2% 105 reviews
YMCA Hostel
19.11 USD

Hostel 84.6% 24 reviews
Silverfern Backpackers
11.86 USD

Hostel 66.7% 190 reviews
City Lodge Backpacker
25.04 USD

Hostel 89.8% 231 reviews
BK Hostel
20.43 USD

Hostel 85.4% 243 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.5%

Overall Rating

182 out of 187 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ponsonby Backpackers'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
95.2%
Value
90.4%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 148 of 185 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeremias Bauer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 December 2011 Jeremias would recommend this property

Liked: Very familiar and pretty property. Its nice and tidy and got a big kitchen. TRheres a backyard with banks and tables and there is also a toilet in the backyard:). The people were very nice! The staff guides you around in the hostel and tells you what to do in Auckland! A great place to stay.

Disliked: It can get a little bit noisy at night, because the walls are not very thick.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

John Pham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2011 John would recommend this property

Liked: It was a breath of fresh air. It did not feel like a typical hostel. It felt like a house that you're welcomed into. You felt at home while away.

Disliked: The hill from the grocery store to the hostel. That is one is a doozy!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful staff

Disliked: bit of a walk into the city centre

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karl Jarvis

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

12 December 2011 Karl would recommend this property

Liked: Great place. I felt completely at home. Staff were very friendly, went out of their way to help out.

Disliked: Not much to dislike about it. Kitchen access during odd hours might be nice and the bathrooms are not close to all rooms, but neither of those were issues for me.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Grant & Joanne Robertson

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

11 December 2011 Grant & Joanne would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, easy to get to, affordability, clean, helpful and polite staff. We weren't the only middle aged people there! Felt quite at home.

Disliked: nothing to dislike about it at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Edward Sparks

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 December 2011 Edward would recommend this property

Liked: John and Holly. The best hosts you could ask for. The Hostel is excellent. Great atmosphere, well located and just a brilliant allround hostel. Very clean and well stocked kitchen here. Also a BBQ is available which is great. Nice warm fireplace for those chilly nights.

Disliked: Having to leave :-(

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

heidi freihaut

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2011 heidi would recommend this property

Liked: The building had character. Big backyard.

Disliked: Dorm rooms were set out a bit oddly. So I had other roomates standing next to my head several times through the night when I was trying to sleep. Some staff werent that friendly or interested.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: private room was quite big

Disliked: --

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money, very helpful staff and brilliant kitchen and facilities

Disliked: Our outside cabin was quite damp

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: At first the location seems to be very far away from the center, but ponsonby road is a very nice area with authentic shops and cafés.

Disliked: nothing special

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Noémie Brillant

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

14 November 2011 Noémie would recommend this property

Liked: The place and the staff

Disliked: ... nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Conor Daly

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 November 2011 Conor would recommend this property

Liked: Holly and John have to be the most helpful people we have ever dealt with in any hostel. We stayed both before and at the end of RWC 2011 and without doubt one of best hostels we have been at anywhere in the world. Extremely clean, very good facilities incl great kitchen and common rooms as well as large outdoor area. Great location in very nice part of city and close to downtown. Good social hostel without being crazy and loud. However cant understate how helpful both Holly and John were both prior and during our stay. THE ONLY PLACE TO STAY IN AUCKLAND!!!

Disliked: Nothing - Place is perfect!!

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jenny Vogt

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 November 2011 Jenny would recommend this property

Liked: good hostel

Disliked: a bit away from downtown

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i liked the garden and tv room and kitchen/diner

Disliked: rooms were a bit damp and small

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

catrin hughes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2011 catrin would recommend this property

Liked: Very cosy an intimate. Having stayed at other hostels, this is one of the best around, Really miss the place and wish we would have stayed longer.

Disliked: Showers are a bit murky, and needed to wear my flip flops!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Reasonable location for the CBD

Disliked: The hill to walk up to it to return from town!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2011

Liked: You can walk to the citycentre, that's nice. You got 10 dollars worth of free wifi if you book via hostelbookers.

Disliked: The place was full of people that were staying there longer, so they closed themselves of a bit. Not really a nice place to stay if you're alone. Interior was a bit dodgy.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Philander

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 October 2011 William would recommend this property

Liked: John and Holly were amazing.so helpful with everything,probably the best hostel I have stayed in.good location,good kitchen,hot showers and most of all good atmosphere.If you are going to Auckland this is da place to be.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

17 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were excellent and is in a lovely location near lots of BYO restaurants

Disliked: nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Danny Janssen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2011 Danny would recommend this property

Liked: The money paid during the rugby world cup was to much for the accomodation. However it is a fine hostel, clean and a kitchen is available for your own cooking.

Disliked: Showers are clean but very small.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly, helpful staff :)

Disliked: It's a bit of a walk fromtown but no bit problem

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms and facilities, great location.

Disliked: N/a

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice place to stay

Disliked: i prefer that wifi access would be free

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff with a really comfy lounge.

Disliked: our room did smell a little damp due to the condensation gathering and little ventilation. But this wasn't much of an issue

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere, good prices, very central, nice garden :-)

Disliked: Nothing! My girlfriend said the ladies showers weren't that clean ... but the mens showers were!