HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Ponsonby Backpackers Auckland Hostel

2 franklin rd , ponsonby , auckland, Auckland, New Zealand

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 81%

Location 90%

Safety 90%

Staff 90%

Value 83%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Please notify us via email before your stay if you will be arriving before 8am or after 9pm as this may be outside reception hours, this will not affect your booking however we will need to leave you room instructions.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 81%

Location 90%

Safety 90%

Staff 90%

Value 83%

Showing 41-39 of 39 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly, welcoming with all the facilities you want when you are travelling

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Clean, quiet

Disliked: Maybe a free wifi or free breakfast would make this place even more amazing ;-)

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

That would be amazing....we'll work on it ;-)

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: It feels like you're staying at someones house as opposed to staying at a commercial hostel. John, Holly and the staff are helpful and really know how to make you feel welcome. The hostel is excellently run - toilets and kitchen are always spotless. The couch in the TV room is unbelievably comfortable. The fellow guests are friendly, and the Ponsonby area, being quieter than the CBD, has a fantastic chilled out friendly atmosphere with plenty of bars, restaurants and shops.

Disliked: There is nothing I can mention that is negative about the hostel - an awesome place to stay.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Love the awesome feedback, thanks a bunch Luke....You were a great guest, come back again next time!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: Fantastic home from home. It feels like a large house share. Cool and relaxed with the comfiest sofa in the tv room. This was my first stop of my trip so I was a little nervous but felt settled from the offset. Would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Only minor complaint is that the showers a little on the small side in the upstairs bathrooms but not really an issue.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Claire,

Thanks you for taking the time to leave this awesome feedback, we really appreciate it. We seem to get a lot of comments about our comfy sofas, they are very cosy :-) In regards to the showers, we are of course aware of this issue, but we try our best to keep them spotlessly clean to make up for it ;-) Glad we made a good first impression on your trip to our wonderful country... enjoy your time in NZ, look forward to seeing you again next time!

Cheers

The PB Team

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean comfortable rooms. The bathrooms are a bit small but were clean the whole time I stayed there. Ponsonby is a fun area, and it's not a long walk/bus ride to get downtown. Staff was nice and knowledgable.

Disliked: Pillows were a little worn out and uncomfortable.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Really friendly staff were welcoming and helpful, which made this place feel like a home away from home. The hostel is situated in Ponsonby which is a suburban district about 15 minutes by bus from Auckland centre. There are loads of cafes, restaurants and bars in the area: a great place to be situated and explore. The hostel itself is a pretty cool building and the 7 bed dorm was large and airy. There is a nice big kitchen for preparing food, which is what most people staying there (including me!) were doing. There is a spacious garden out back with benches to chillout and meet other travellers too.

Disliked: There were no problems with this place at all. People might have reservations about staying somewhere out of the city centre, but I thought it was a better place to stay, more laid back with all the amenities you could need for a good time. The buses in Auckland are very good and it was easy to travel to and from the hostel and the centre when I needed to, using the regular services. If all else fails, you could even walk which takes about 45 minutes and is a pleasant journey in itself!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thansk for taking time to leave a great in depth review :) We glad you enjoyed your stay, Enjoy the rest of Nz and we will catch you on your return!

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Good atmosphere, loads of information about sights and onward travel. Easy 10 minute bus into the city centre.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for leaving us a review Daniel, we appreciate you taking the time :-)

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The kitchen is fantastic and the people were really lovely - it was just a pity about the room!

Disliked: We Stayed in room 4 and it was very noisy. Firstly we had what we thought was a water tank in the corner of our room and it made noises through the night. Secondly the window was overlooking the garden and people were sitting outside making noise till late every night - the hostel did try to limit this by closing the kitchen at 10:30, but people still stayed to sit outside. Also the room was right next to the bathrooms and you could hear people coming and going at all hours. The hostel was also a bit far from the city.


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time to leave these comments. I'm sorry to hear you were unhappy with your room, room 4 is usually praised by guests for its brightness and space and the fact it overlooks the sunny garden area. The fact that the room is next to the bathrooms is usually commented on as a positive as it means easy access. We do try and keep noise levels down to a minimum and apologise for disturbance you may have been caused. Thanks again and we appreciate your feedback, enjoy NZ :-)

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Helpful staff and made welcome

Disliked: Heat in room and noise levels as over garden àrea and kitchen

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Honestly, I think the staff were the best part about the hostel. That, and the location was pretty great. We were impressed that they didn't have any problems with bedbugs, that was great.

Disliked: We didn't really enjoy the fact that the kitchen closed down at 10:30, we often found ourselves getting hungry at night, or just getting home too late and not having the access to make dinner. The laundry times were a bit of a pain, too. One more thing was that we found that it was quite noisy outside of our room early in the morning, but I guess that's to be expected.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Sarah, Thanks for taking the time to leave us this review, Your feedback is much appreciated. We have award winning staff and do see them as our best asset to running a great hostel. The reason for the kitchen closure is due to security as the back kitchen door opens onto the garden meaning we have to close the kitchen at night to secure the building. We do feel 10:30pm is a reasonable time for closure. Please visit us again on your next trip to Auckland! :)

Check Availability