HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Ponsonby Backpackers Auckland Hostel

2 franklin rd , ponsonby , auckland, Auckland, New Zealand

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 81%

Location 90%

Safety 90%

Staff 90%

Value 83%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Please notify us via email before your stay if you will be arriving before 8am or after 9pm as this may be outside reception hours, this will not affect your booking however we will need to leave you room instructions.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 81%

Location 90%

Safety 90%

Staff 90%

Value 83%

Showing 31-40 of 41 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Lovely place in a good location. Kitchen is well kitted out and lounge is a good size too.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for making time to leave us a review, We do love our kitted out kitchen with all those free spices and herbs :)

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very friendly people and clean rooms

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for making time to leave us a review, Have a great trip and see you again at Pb!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: friendly staff, access to secure lockers, access to outdoor eating area, and spacious dorms

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your awesome feedback, please come and visit us again next time you are in Auckland, enjoy NZ!

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: cleanliness of rooms, bathroom and kitchen

Disliked: nothing much to complain

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We allways go all out on our cleanliness hear at Pb! Cheers and enjoy NZ!

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Clean and well organised

Disliked: Female showers really small

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for making time to leaving us a review, Enjoy the rest of your travels!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The location was AMAZING. The room was large and the property was well heated. The kitchen was also a great space to cook!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Cheers for the awesome comments, Ponsonby is a great area to be in! We are lucky to be right in the centre of it :-) Hope to see you again!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Liked: Ponsonby's presents itself with character and friendliness more akin to a share house than a hostel. The set up means that no matter if you are there for a day or a week that people will talk to you and you will feel part of the place.I was greeted by Holly in reception on my arrival and was given excellent information about my location and things to do. Throughout my stay all staff were similarly friendly and helpful. Never once did I feel like this was a hostel and I definitely recommend this to all.

Disliked: Having to leave.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave this awesome feedback! It really was a pleasure to meet you! Hope that you are enjoying being back in Oz with your family, make sure you come and see us again if you return to Auckland :-)

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean, simple and value for money

Disliked: Wifi was very expensive, but that was my only dislike.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for taking the time to leave us some feedback, we are constantly trying to improve the cost of wifi so we appreciate your comments, safe travels!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great property. Nice room. Good staff. Decent kitchen.

Disliked: Common area not big enough for such a popular hostel

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Mathew,

Thanks for your positive comments about our place :-) I am happy that our staff and kitchen were things you liked and it's nice of you to comment so. We have never really had an issue with the size of our common areas in relation to the number of guests, so I am sorry you felt that this was something you disliked, we are always striving to improve where possible so thanks for your feedback. Hope you enjoyed awesome NZ!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location, lovely staff and communal spaces

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the awesome feedback!

Check Availability