HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Ponsonby Backpackers Auckland Hostel

2 franklin rd , ponsonby , auckland, Auckland, New Zealand

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 77%

Location 86%

Safety 88%

Staff 90%

Value 81%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Please notify us via email before your stay if you will be arriving before 8am or after 9pm as this may be outside reception hours, this will not affect your booking however we will need to leave you room instructions.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 77%

Location 86%

Safety 88%

Staff 90%

Value 81%

Showing 21-30 of 131 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I love this hostel. I stayed here upon arrival in New Zealand, and for the night prior to my departure. It's very clean, and has a nice and friendly atmosphere. The kitchen is fantastic, and there is a new world supermarket down the street. Also lots of good cafés on ponsonby , right near the hostel. Green bus picks up and drops off nearby, allowing cheap and easy transit into and around the city.The garden behind the hostel is also very relaxing, and the tv lounge is cozy--both are good spots to chill for a few hours.

Disliked: Lack of free wifi, though from a conversation with a staff member, it sounds like they may be changing this soon. Note: I might suggest offering a free voucher for 50 or 100 MB, just so guests can check and send email and perform a few other tasks. The marginal cost would be quite low, but really help out to those needing to contact their families or make some plans.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey James! Thanks for your awesome feedback! Free wifi is something we are working on, though as you mentioned, all hostels in NZ do charge for wifi as it is a higher expense than in other countries. We are always looking for ways to improve and your feedback helps us do just that :-) See you next time! Cheers- The Ponsonby Backpackers Team

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Brilliant location

Disliked: Very strong smell of damp in the dorm. Apparently this is what happens after it rains as its an old building.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your feedback, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location in the cool Ponsonby area. In regards to your negative comments, we have dealt with the issues with the dorm in question and really do hope that this didn't affect your stay too much. Hope to see you next time :-) Thanks, The Ponsonby Backpackers Team

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The staff was very helpful with how to negotiate the city. She called to ask about the bus schedule for me.

Disliked: There was no top sheet on the bed, just the comforter which probably had not been washed recently. Single room smelled of dirty laundry.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you found our staff helpful. The reason we do not have top sheets on any of our beds is that, unlike some other NZ hostels, we change all of our linen after EVERY guests stay, so that all of our linen is completely clean and fresh. We are a very clean and sanitary hostel. Thanks again, we hope you will visit us again. The Ponsonby Team

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Well located, friendly, low cost

Disliked: I liked it

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for making time to leave us a review, We glad you enjoyed your stay and enjoy the rest of Nz :)

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Awsome helpful staff! I had to move rooms every day, no problems at all the staff did everything for me while I was out.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey, Thanks for taking time to leave us a review, As we are popular all year around, we do fill up quickly and we try and make the process of moving as easy as possible for our awesome guests :)
Enjoy the rest of your travels!

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice Hostel! I really enjoyed my stay ther and i met a Lot of friednly persons

Disliked: No free internet Access or free wifi

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the review, We are very lucky here at Pb that we get some awesome guests stay with us :) We do monitor the market and hopefully in the near future we can offer internet at a free rate, We also find our prices reasnable compared to other internet facilities in the area.
Cheers and look forward seeing you here again soon!

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Staff was helpful to adjust to changes in my schedule. Room and bathroom, and kitchen nice and clean. I've slept well. I liked the garden setting and location very much.

Disliked: We arrived late, the key and note on how to find our room was well organized. We didn't have access to fridge to chill our food for breakfast anymore. this is to a degree understandable, but was unexpected. Nothing I would complain about. Next I'll know.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey thanks for the great review, Enjoy the rest of your travels....
The Pb Team!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Character

Disliked: Nothing really

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the lovely review!

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Awesome hostel. I arrived late and had to leave very early and it was not problem to organise this with the staff who were in general very friendly. The hostel is located in a beautiful house, typical for Ponsonby, and has a large, clean kitchen and very nice common areas, both inside and outside the house. Bathrooms very also nice and clean. I really liked that they also offered security lockers in the rooms.

Disliked: It's a bit far to the city center (15 minutes walk), but that obvious from the address given.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for making time to leave us a great review, Just wanted to add the journey to the city that also can be done by the local transport, We have 2 bus stops within a 5 minute walk :)
Cheers The Pb team!

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice garden, next to Ponsonby road with many cafes, restaurants, etc.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We do love our Coffee hear at Pb, Such a cool area to relax. Catch you next time at Pb :)

Check Availability