HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Ponsonby Backpackers Auckland

Hostel

2 franklin rd , ponsonby , auckland, Auckland, New Zealand

Atmosphere 91%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 82%

Location 91%

Safety 91%

Staff 92%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Please notify us via email before your stay if you will be arriving before 8am or after 9pm as this may be outside reception hours, this will not affect your booking however we will need to leave you room instructions.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 91%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 82%

Location 91%

Safety 91%

Staff 92%

Value 86%

Showing 21-30 of 52 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The staff was very helpful with how to negotiate the city. She called to ask about the bus schedule for me.

Disliked: There was no top sheet on the bed, just the comforter which probably had not been washed recently. Single room smelled of dirty laundry.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you found our staff helpful. The reason we do not have top sheets on any of our beds is that, unlike some other NZ hostels, we change all of our linen after EVERY guests stay, so that all of our linen is completely clean and fresh. We are a very clean and sanitary hostel. Thanks again, we hope you will visit us again. The Ponsonby Team

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Well located, friendly, low cost

Disliked: I liked it

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for making time to leave us a review, We glad you enjoyed your stay and enjoy the rest of Nz :)

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Awsome helpful staff! I had to move rooms every day, no problems at all the staff did everything for me while I was out.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey, Thanks for taking time to leave us a review, As we are popular all year around, we do fill up quickly and we try and make the process of moving as easy as possible for our awesome guests :)
Enjoy the rest of your travels!

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice Hostel! I really enjoyed my stay ther and i met a Lot of friednly persons

Disliked: No free internet Access or free wifi

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the review, We are very lucky here at Pb that we get some awesome guests stay with us :) We do monitor the market and hopefully in the near future we can offer internet at a free rate, We also find our prices reasnable compared to other internet facilities in the area.
Cheers and look forward seeing you here again soon!

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Staff was helpful to adjust to changes in my schedule. Room and bathroom, and kitchen nice and clean. I've slept well. I liked the garden setting and location very much.

Disliked: We arrived late, the key and note on how to find our room was well organized. We didn't have access to fridge to chill our food for breakfast anymore. this is to a degree understandable, but was unexpected. Nothing I would complain about. Next I'll know.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey thanks for the great review, Enjoy the rest of your travels....
The Pb Team!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Character

Disliked: Nothing really

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the lovely review!

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Awesome hostel. I arrived late and had to leave very early and it was not problem to organise this with the staff who were in general very friendly. The hostel is located in a beautiful house, typical for Ponsonby, and has a large, clean kitchen and very nice common areas, both inside and outside the house. Bathrooms very also nice and clean. I really liked that they also offered security lockers in the rooms.

Disliked: It's a bit far to the city center (15 minutes walk), but that obvious from the address given.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for making time to leave us a great review, Just wanted to add the journey to the city that also can be done by the local transport, We have 2 bus stops within a 5 minute walk :)
Cheers The Pb team!

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice garden, next to Ponsonby road with many cafes, restaurants, etc.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We do love our Coffee hear at Pb, Such a cool area to relax. Catch you next time at Pb :)

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The managers, Holly and John and all their staff, were helpful, informed, always ready to give a recommendation. The staff fosters a family atmosphere that pervades the house and creates a welcoming and safe/secure place to stay and relex. Coming back to the house always felt like coming home. They cheerfully provide towels, etc., that other hostels charge for. There is ample storage room for clothes in each room, secure lockers in shared rooms, great patio out back on which to enjoy a sunny breakfast. They threw a 'kick-ass' Christmas dinner party for all of us staying there!!!

Disliked: Bathrooms could have been cleaner.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Sue,

It was lovely to meet all of you guys and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our bathrooms are cleaned every day, so it's a shame you did not feel that they were quite clean enough. We will be sure to put this right straight away, your feedback is valued. Thanks again for your comments and we hope you enjoy awesome NZ! Please visit us next time you are in Auckland,

Cheers The PB Team

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The property was like a home: comfortable and welcoming. At the same time, the hostel was in a lovely area and the staff members were always willing to offer help.

Disliked: I honestly cannot think of a single think I disliked about this property. It was quiet, clean, friendly, and in a fantastic location.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Great review it was a pleasure having you stay with us.
Cheers the Pb team!

Check Availability