We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ponsonby Backpackers

Hostel | 2 Franklin Rd, Ponsonby, Auckland, New Zealand 1011

92.5% Overall Rating

182 out of 187 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/05/2015)

Laura Maidment thinks…

"Great kitchen facilities, clean rooms, homely feeling hostel, friendly atmosphere and helpful staff"

Read all Ponsonby Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please notify us via email before your stay if you will be arriving before 8am or after 9pm as this may be outside reception hours, this will not affect your booking however we will need to leave you room instructions.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Auckland

Uenuku Lodge
18.96 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Brown Kiwi
21.88 USD

Hostel 84.5% 17 reviews
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
21.15 USD

Hostel 89.5% 39 reviews
Freemans Backpackers
20.42 USD

Hostel 83.2% 105 reviews
YMCA Hostel
19.69 USD

Hostel 84.2% 23 reviews
Silverfern Backpackers
14.59 USD

Hostel 66.4% 187 reviews
City Lodge Backpacker
25.34 USD

Hostel 89.8% 231 reviews
BK Hostel
21.15 USD

Hostel 85.4% 243 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.5%

Overall Rating

182 out of 187 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ponsonby Backpackers'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
95.2%
Value
90.4%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 148 of 185 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

29 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ponsonbury is an excellent location with great bars and restaurants close by. The hostel was clean and staff helpful and friendly.

Disliked: We stayed in the cabin room outside and the picture frame fell off the wall in the middle of the night and hit my face. Could be attached better or could cause someone else serious damage if it occurred in the future.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The warm and nice environment of the hostel. The hostel is not noisy and if you need a good night sleep after a long day , this is the place for you. It is also good that the hostel provides lockers in the room for travellers and also there are drawers for us to place our clothes and etc.

Disliked: The shower room and bathroom is quite small.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matej Bella

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2013 Matej would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice Victorian house turned into a hostel. It is probably the nicest cleanest hostel I stayed in.The staff were very nice and helpfull, and would go out of their way. Very good location too, on a vary nice street. I would recommend this to anyone who is going to Auckland.

Disliked: The wi-fi was expensive, but that is the way in New Zealand, and I'm sure other places aren't cheaper.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good people all around (Staff and guests). Great location that but more of a house feel than the bigger hostels around Aukland. Would highly reccomend.

Disliked: Expensive wireless internet. Bathrooms cramped and could be a bit cleaner

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Close to buses and many shops and restaurants on Pononsby Rd.

Disliked: Wi-fi was inconsistent

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place, not too crowded.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fantastic hostel, very friendly I felt like home:)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The lounge and kitchen area are nice and make for a good social atmosphere. They give you a tour around the place when you arrive which I thought was a really nice touch and someone helped me carry my bag up the stairs. I felt very welcome here. Ponsonby is a really nice area and the city is not far, about a 15 minute walk.

Disliked: I was in the single room at the top of the stairs. As this is an old building and the room is on the front, the amount of street noise at night was quite bad through the window even though it was shut properly. Just something to consider. I was disappointed with the cleanliness of the ladies bathroom. The toilets smelt really bad the whole time I was there and desperately needed some bleach. I think the owners should redo the bathrooms to bring them up to the standard of the rest of the communal areas, which is high, they are the only letdown of the hostel.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas Cokonis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

18 November 2012 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: felt a little weird with the windows at street level... seemed like anyone could have walked up and grabbed things out of our room.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Will Aylward

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

15 November 2012 Will would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were great, could not fault them! Good range of ages/genders/nationalities here which was what I wanted. Very clean and secure. Would definately recommend.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location, helpful staff and good kitchen facilities.

Disliked: Bathrooms weren't very clean, loud at night.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean nice room plenty of washrooms staff very helpful and friendly

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, nice athmosphere. Good cooking facilities

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Bains

Alone

City break

16 October 2012 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: A nice place to stay, quiet but in no way dull. Staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms clean. The building and location were well placed and transport links into the CBD were good. A nice location

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Felt safe and homely, and had lots of socialising space,to meet and talk to other residents.

Disliked: bathroom is tiny - though is fully functional with hot showers!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, especially the staff.

Disliked: Shared Bathroom facilities a little cramped.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good price and very helpful staff and also very clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Southern

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

20 September 2012 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Staff, atmosphere, location, facilities, you name it, i liked it!

Disliked: Nothing. Every aspect of this place was great! Felt more like a home than a hostel!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

13 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, facilities, friendly and helpful staff,

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: bedroom

Disliked: kitchen

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: The noisy Australian guest chatting at full volume in the middle of the night - not the hostel's fault.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Troy Keith

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2012 Troy would recommend this property

Liked: For a city hostel its not too big and located in the trendy suburb of Ponsonby only a 20min walk to downtown auckland.

Disliked: Troy left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jason Komutrattananon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2012 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly nature of the travelers there. I should have booked to stay longer.

Disliked: Jason left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

02 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Opportunity to meet people, communal kitchen, big living room, proximity to markets, shops, buses, and downtown Auckland. Yet, a relatively quiet location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The conditions of the rooms and common areas are awesome, everything clean and new. It's located in a very good area.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.