HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Ponsonby Backpackers Auckland Hostel

2 franklin rd , ponsonby , auckland, Auckland, New Zealand

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 81%

Location 90%

Safety 90%

Staff 90%

Value 83%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Please notify us via email before your stay if you will be arriving before 8am or after 9pm as this may be outside reception hours, this will not affect your booking however we will need to leave you room instructions.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 81%

Location 90%

Safety 90%

Staff 90%

Value 83%

Showing 11-20 of 40 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Very clean, great location, lots of bars and shops at the top of the road

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very clean, spacious rooms

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review.
Glad you found our hostel clean and spacious.

Enjoy the rest of travels
The PB team.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location, close to the amazing bars and eateries on Ponsonby road. It doesn't take long to get into the center of town for only a $2 bus ticket.

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review,

Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are lucky to be located in a great suburb- Ponsonby is great for bars and eateries and it's still easy to get into the city.

We do hope you will come and visit us again next time you are visiting Auckland!

Thanks- The Ponsonby BP Team

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It is a nice place to stay.

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review, Really pleasing to hear you enjoyed your stay.

It was great to have you stay with us. If you're ever back in Auckland be sure to come back and stay with us.

Enjoy the rest of your travels.

Thanks PB team

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Location, staff, quietness!

Disliked: not as easy to get to from the airport, but they do provide excellent directions

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Thanks for taking time to leave us a review.

Always happy to hear you enjoyed our awesome location and friendly staff. We do offer awesome directions to the hostel and can also book the supper shuttle that drops you straight outside the door.

It was great to have you stay with us. If you're ever back in Auckland be sure to come back and stay with us.

Enjoy the rest of your travels.

Thanks PB team

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Location (Ponsonby is a great area to stay and 15 min to Queensstreet is doable). Nice building and friendly staff. Reasonable wifi (very good)

Disliked: bathrooms ok but not perfectly clean

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi thanks for leaving us a review,

Nice to hear you enjoyed our awesome location in Ponsonby, and the staff were friendly. Sorry to hear you didn't find the bathrooms clean, we have now just changed over to new company, who are providing us with a very high standard of cleanliness

If you're ever back in Auckland be sure to come back and stay with us.

Enjoy the rest of your travels.

Thanks PB team

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Family Holiday

Liked: Nice Villa and helpful staff.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review, see you next time- Cheers The PB Team

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Extremely friendly staff, and probably one of the cleanest hostels I have stayed in. Very good location, small and cosy rooms and nice people :-)

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your awesome feedback! We do hope you will come and visit us again soon, Cheers- The PB Team

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I love this hostel. I stayed here upon arrival in New Zealand, and for the night prior to my departure. It's very clean, and has a nice and friendly atmosphere. The kitchen is fantastic, and there is a new world supermarket down the street. Also lots of good cafés on ponsonby , right near the hostel. Green bus picks up and drops off nearby, allowing cheap and easy transit into and around the city.The garden behind the hostel is also very relaxing, and the tv lounge is cozy--both are good spots to chill for a few hours.

Disliked: Lack of free wifi, though from a conversation with a staff member, it sounds like they may be changing this soon. Note: I might suggest offering a free voucher for 50 or 100 MB, just so guests can check and send email and perform a few other tasks. The marginal cost would be quite low, but really help out to those needing to contact their families or make some plans.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey James! Thanks for your awesome feedback! Free wifi is something we are working on, though as you mentioned, all hostels in NZ do charge for wifi as it is a higher expense than in other countries. We are always looking for ways to improve and your feedback helps us do just that :-) See you next time! Cheers- The Ponsonby Backpackers Team

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Brilliant location

Disliked: Very strong smell of damp in the dorm. Apparently this is what happens after it rains as its an old building.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your feedback, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location in the cool Ponsonby area. In regards to your negative comments, we have dealt with the issues with the dorm in question and really do hope that this didn't affect your stay too much. Hope to see you next time :-) Thanks, The Ponsonby Backpackers Team

Check Availability