We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ponsonby Backpackers

Hostel | 2 Franklin Rd, Ponsonby, Auckland, New Zealand 1011

92.5% Overall Rating

182 out of 187 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/05/2015)

Laura Maidment thinks…

"Great kitchen facilities, clean rooms, homely feeling hostel, friendly atmosphere and helpful staff"

Read all Ponsonby Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please notify us via email before your stay if you will be arriving before 8am or after 9pm as this may be outside reception hours, this will not affect your booking however we will need to leave you room instructions.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Auckland

Uenuku Lodge
18.96 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Brown Kiwi
21.88 USD

Hostel 84.5% 17 reviews
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
21.15 USD

Hostel 89.5% 39 reviews
Freemans Backpackers
20.42 USD

Hostel 83.2% 105 reviews
YMCA Hostel
19.69 USD

Hostel 84.2% 23 reviews
Silverfern Backpackers
14.59 USD

Hostel 66.4% 187 reviews
City Lodge Backpacker
25.34 USD

Hostel 89.8% 231 reviews
BK Hostel
21.15 USD

Hostel 85.4% 243 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.5%

Overall Rating

182 out of 187 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ponsonby Backpackers'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
95.2%
Value
90.4%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 148 of 185 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Hawkins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 December 2013 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely place in a good location. Kitchen is well kitted out and lounge is a good size too.

Disliked: Peter left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly people and clean rooms

Disliked: Nothing!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, access to secure lockers, access to outdoor eating area, and spacious dorms

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joanne Koh

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2013 Joanne would recommend this property

Liked: cleanliness of rooms, bathroom and kitchen

Disliked: nothing much to complain

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

31 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and well organised

Disliked: Female showers really small

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pauline Jones

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2013 Pauline would recommend this property

Liked: Nice decor and atmosphere.

Disliked: Could have had a larger communal area. Mainly it's the kitchen, which is friendly and busy with lots of left behind food if you can use it.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mathew Ladley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2013 Mathew would recommend this property

Liked: Great property. Nice room. Good staff. Decent kitchen.

Disliked: Common area not big enough for such a popular hostel

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was AMAZING. The room was large and the property was well heated. The kitchen was also a great space to cook!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Craig McIntyre

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

15 August 2013 Craig would recommend this property

Liked: Ponsonby's presents itself with character and friendliness more akin to a share house than a hostel. The set up means that no matter if you are there for a day or a week that people will talk to you and you will feel part of the place. I was greeted by Holly in reception on my arrival and was given excellent information about my location and things to do. Throughout my stay all staff were similarly friendly and helpful. Never once did I feel like this was a hostel and I definitely recommend this to all.

Disliked: Having to leave.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, simple and value for money

Disliked: Wifi was very expensive, but that was my only dislike.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caitlin Lister

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2013 Caitlin would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, lovely staff and communal spaces

Disliked: Caitlin left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, welcoming with all the facilities you want when you are travelling

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emmanuelle Peltier

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2013 Emmanuelle would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, quiet

Disliked: Maybe a free wifi or free breakfast would make this place even more amazing ;-)

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luke Morgan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

01 May 2013 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: It feels like you're staying at someones house as opposed to staying at a commercial hostel. John, Holly and the staff are helpful and really know how to make you feel welcome. The hostel is excellently run - toilets and kitchen are always spotless. The couch in the TV room is unbelievably comfortable. The fellow guests are friendly, and the Ponsonby area, being quieter than the CBD, has a fantastic chilled out friendly atmosphere with plenty of bars, restaurants and shops.

Disliked: There is nothing I can mention that is negative about the hostel - an awesome place to stay.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

claire walker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

30 April 2013 claire would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic home from home. It feels like a large house share. Cool and relaxed with the comfiest sofa in the tv room. This was my first stop of my trip so I was a little nervous but felt settled from the offset. Would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Only minor complaint is that the showers a little on the small side in the upstairs bathrooms but not really an issue.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean comfortable rooms. The bathrooms are a bit small but were clean the whole time I stayed there. Ponsonby is a fun area, and it's not a long walk/bus ride to get downtown. Staff was nice and knowledgable.

Disliked: Pillows were a little worn out and uncomfortable.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2013

Liked: The kitchen is fantastic and the people were really lovely - it was just a pity about the room!

Disliked: We Stayed in room 4 and it was very noisy. Firstly we had what we thought was a water tank in the corner of our room and it made noises through the night. Secondly the window was overlooking the garden and people were sitting outside making noise till late every night - the hostel did try to limit this by closing the kitchen at 10:30, but people still stayed to sit outside. Also the room was right next to the bathrooms and you could hear people coming and going at all hours. The hostel was also a bit far from the city.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Daniel Murray

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 April 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere, loads of information about sights and onward travel. Easy 10 minute bus into the city centre.

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Evangeline Leonard

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

18 March 2013 Evangeline would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff and made welcome

Disliked: Heat in room and noise levels as over garden àrea and kitchen

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sarah England

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Honestly, I think the staff were the best part about the hostel. That, and the location was pretty great. We were impressed that they didn't have any problems with bedbugs, that was great.

Disliked: We didn't really enjoy the fact that the kitchen closed down at 10:30, we often found ourselves getting hungry at night, or just getting home too late and not having the access to make dinner. The laundry times were a bit of a pain, too. One more thing was that we found that it was quite noisy outside of our room early in the morning, but I guess that's to be expected.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Miriam Williams

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2013

Liked: Very friendly staff.

Disliked: Had to pay for wi-fi, plus the bathrooms were cramped and a bit dirty. Check-out is pretty early for a backpackers and reception hours (7-12; 2-5; 7-10) are awkward, especially as they weren't clearly advertised in advance.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

16 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and supportive.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kym Coupe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2013 Kym would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone at the hostel is warm, welcoming & friendly. The staff are knowledgeable & helpful. Located in a trendy area of Auckland, short walk or bus ride into the city.

Disliked: Kym left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely homely atmosphere, clean and comfortable and it was very nice and quiet! The location is great. I loved my stay.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked how cozy it was - it reminded me of staying in an old family home back in North America!

Disliked: I can't think of anything I disliked except that the kitchen was locked at night until 6:30 or 7:00 and it was tricky to leave as early as we wanted in the morning.