HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ponsonby Backpackers

Hostel | 2 Franklin Rd, Ponsonby, Auckland, New Zealand 1011

92.3% Overall Rating

169 out of 173 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/08/2014)

"Extremely friendly staff, and probably one of the cleanest hostels I have stayed in. Very good location, small and cosy rooms and nice people :-)"

Read all Ponsonby Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please notify us via email before your stay if you will be arriving before 8am or after 9pm as this may be outside reception hours, this will not affect your booking however we will need to leave you room instructions.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Auckland

Uenuku Lodge
20.23 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Brown Kiwi
23.34 USD

Hostel 84.3% 16 reviews
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
22.56 USD

Hostel 89.6% 35 reviews
Freemans Backpackers
21.79 USD

Hostel 83.2% 100 reviews
YMCA Hostel
22.56 USD

Hostel 83.3% 21 reviews
Silverfern Backpackers
17.12 USD

Hostel 72.0% 172 reviews
City Lodge Backpacker
27.04 USD

Hostel 87.2% 228 reviews
BK Hostel
22.56 USD

Hostel 83.1% 237 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.3%

Overall Rating

169 out of 173 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ponsonby Backpackers'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
96.8%
Value
90.4%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 138 of 171 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caitlin Lister

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2013 Caitlin would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, lovely staff and communal spaces

Disliked: Caitlin left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, welcoming with all the facilities you want when you are travelling

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emmanuelle Peltier

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2013 Emmanuelle would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, quiet

Disliked: Maybe a free wifi or free breakfast would make this place even more amazing ;-)

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luke Morgan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

01 May 2013 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: It feels like you're staying at someones house as opposed to staying at a commercial hostel. John, Holly and the staff are helpful and really know how to make you feel welcome. The hostel is excellently run - toilets and kitchen are always spotless. The couch in the TV room is unbelievably comfortable. The fellow guests are friendly, and the Ponsonby area, being quieter than the CBD, has a fantastic chilled out friendly atmosphere with plenty of bars, restaurants and shops.

Disliked: There is nothing I can mention that is negative about the hostel - an awesome place to stay.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

claire walker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

30 April 2013 claire would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic home from home. It feels like a large house share. Cool and relaxed with the comfiest sofa in the tv room. This was my first stop of my trip so I was a little nervous but felt settled from the offset. Would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Only minor complaint is that the showers a little on the small side in the upstairs bathrooms but not really an issue.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean comfortable rooms. The bathrooms are a bit small but were clean the whole time I stayed there. Ponsonby is a fun area, and it's not a long walk/bus ride to get downtown. Staff was nice and knowledgable.

Disliked: Pillows were a little worn out and uncomfortable.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2013

Liked: The kitchen is fantastic and the people were really lovely - it was just a pity about the room!

Disliked: We Stayed in room 4 and it was very noisy. Firstly we had what we thought was a water tank in the corner of our room and it made noises through the night. Secondly the window was overlooking the garden and people were sitting outside making noise till late every night - the hostel did try to limit this by closing the kitchen at 10:30, but people still stayed to sit outside. Also the room was right next to the bathrooms and you could hear people coming and going at all hours. The hostel was also a bit far from the city.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Daniel Murray

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 April 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere, loads of information about sights and onward travel. Easy 10 minute bus into the city centre.

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Evangeline Leonard

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

18 March 2013 Evangeline would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff and made welcome

Disliked: Heat in room and noise levels as over garden àrea and kitchen

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sarah England

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Honestly, I think the staff were the best part about the hostel. That, and the location was pretty great. We were impressed that they didn't have any problems with bedbugs, that was great.

Disliked: We didn't really enjoy the fact that the kitchen closed down at 10:30, we often found ourselves getting hungry at night, or just getting home too late and not having the access to make dinner. The laundry times were a bit of a pain, too. One more thing was that we found that it was quite noisy outside of our room early in the morning, but I guess that's to be expected.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Miriam Williams

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2013

Liked: Very friendly staff.

Disliked: Had to pay for wi-fi, plus the bathrooms were cramped and a bit dirty. Check-out is pretty early for a backpackers and reception hours (7-12; 2-5; 7-10) are awkward, especially as they weren't clearly advertised in advance.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

16 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and supportive.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kym Coupe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2013 Kym would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone at the hostel is warm, welcoming & friendly. The staff are knowledgeable & helpful. Located in a trendy area of Auckland, short walk or bus ride into the city.

Disliked: Kym left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely homely atmosphere, clean and comfortable and it was very nice and quiet! The location is great. I loved my stay.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked how cozy it was - it reminded me of staying in an old family home back in North America!

Disliked: I can't think of anything I disliked except that the kitchen was locked at night until 6:30 or 7:00 and it was tricky to leave as early as we wanted in the morning.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

29 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ponsonbury is an excellent location with great bars and restaurants close by. The hostel was clean and staff helpful and friendly.

Disliked: We stayed in the cabin room outside and the picture frame fell off the wall in the middle of the night and hit my face. Could be attached better or could cause someone else serious damage if it occurred in the future.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The warm and nice environment of the hostel. The hostel is not noisy and if you need a good night sleep after a long day , this is the place for you. It is also good that the hostel provides lockers in the room for travellers and also there are drawers for us to place our clothes and etc.

Disliked: The shower room and bathroom is quite small.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matej Bella

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2013 Matej would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice Victorian house turned into a hostel. It is probably the nicest cleanest hostel I stayed in.The staff were very nice and helpfull, and would go out of their way. Very good location too, on a vary nice street. I would recommend this to anyone who is going to Auckland.

Disliked: The wi-fi was expensive, but that is the way in New Zealand, and I'm sure other places aren't cheaper.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good people all around (Staff and guests). Great location that but more of a house feel than the bigger hostels around Aukland. Would highly reccomend.

Disliked: Expensive wireless internet. Bathrooms cramped and could be a bit cleaner

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Close to buses and many shops and restaurants on Pononsby Rd.

Disliked: Wi-fi was inconsistent

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place, not too crowded.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fantastic hostel, very friendly I felt like home:)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The lounge and kitchen area are nice and make for a good social atmosphere. They give you a tour around the place when you arrive which I thought was a really nice touch and someone helped me carry my bag up the stairs. I felt very welcome here. Ponsonby is a really nice area and the city is not far, about a 15 minute walk.

Disliked: I was in the single room at the top of the stairs. As this is an old building and the room is on the front, the amount of street noise at night was quite bad through the window even though it was shut properly. Just something to consider. I was disappointed with the cleanliness of the ladies bathroom. The toilets smelt really bad the whole time I was there and desperately needed some bleach. I think the owners should redo the bathrooms to bring them up to the standard of the rest of the communal areas, which is high, they are the only letdown of the hostel.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas Cokonis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

18 November 2012 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: felt a little weird with the windows at street level... seemed like anyone could have walked up and grabbed things out of our room.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Will Aylward

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

15 November 2012 Will would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were great, could not fault them! Good range of ages/genders/nationalities here which was what I wanted. Very clean and secure. Would definately recommend.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...