HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Ponsonby Backpackers Auckland Hostel

2 franklin rd , ponsonby , auckland, Auckland, New Zealand

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 77%

Location 86%

Safety 88%

Staff 90%

Value 81%

Facilities

  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Please notify us via email before your stay if you will be arriving before 8am or after 9pm as this may be outside reception hours, this will not affect your booking however we will need to leave you room instructions.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 77%

Location 86%

Safety 88%

Staff 90%

Value 81%

Showing 11-20 of 131 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location, cool part of town. Very clean and the rooms are very spacious. You have to pay for the internet but its fairly cheap and good quality to skype etc. staff are all really friendly.

Disliked: its a but more expensicve than other hostels in town and they dont offer a weekly rate so not good if your planning to stay long term

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi thanks fro leaving us a review,

We are glad to hear you enjoyed our awesome location in Ponsonby. Our housekeeping staff work really hard to keep a high standard of cleanliness around the grounds and we consider ourselves really lucky to have such amazing friendly staff who help to create a great vibe around the hostel. We would love to have you stay again with us if you're ever back in Auckland.

Enjoy the rest of your travels
The PB team :)

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the locality, cleanliness, friendly, they had everything you needed. Well organised.

Disliked: Upstairs mens shower, the shower rose leaver was broken off.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review.

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be friendly and organised. We have now replaced the shower leaver in the mens toilet with a new shower head.

Enjoy the rest of your travels.

The PB team. :)

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Very clean, great location, lots of bars and shops at the top of the road

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very clean, spacious rooms

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review.
Glad you found our hostel clean and spacious.

Enjoy the rest of travels
The PB team.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location, close to the amazing bars and eateries on Ponsonby road. It doesn't take long to get into the center of town for only a $2 bus ticket.

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review,

Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are lucky to be located in a great suburb- Ponsonby is great for bars and eateries and it's still easy to get into the city.

We do hope you will come and visit us again next time you are visiting Auckland!

Thanks- The Ponsonby BP Team

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It is a nice place to stay.

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review, Really pleasing to hear you enjoyed your stay.

It was great to have you stay with us. If you're ever back in Auckland be sure to come back and stay with us.

Enjoy the rest of your travels.

Thanks PB team

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Location, staff, quietness!

Disliked: not as easy to get to from the airport, but they do provide excellent directions

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Thanks for taking time to leave us a review.

Always happy to hear you enjoyed our awesome location and friendly staff. We do offer awesome directions to the hostel and can also book the supper shuttle that drops you straight outside the door.

It was great to have you stay with us. If you're ever back in Auckland be sure to come back and stay with us.

Enjoy the rest of your travels.

Thanks PB team

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Location (Ponsonby is a great area to stay and 15 min to Queensstreet is doable). Nice building and friendly staff. Reasonable wifi (very good)

Disliked: bathrooms ok but not perfectly clean

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi thanks for leaving us a review,

Nice to hear you enjoyed our awesome location in Ponsonby, and the staff were friendly. Sorry to hear you didn't find the bathrooms clean, we have now just changed over to new company, who are providing us with a very high standard of cleanliness

If you're ever back in Auckland be sure to come back and stay with us.

Enjoy the rest of your travels.

Thanks PB team

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Family Holiday

Liked: Nice Villa and helpful staff.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review, see you next time- Cheers The PB Team

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Extremely friendly staff, and probably one of the cleanest hostels I have stayed in. Very good location, small and cosy rooms and nice people :-)

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your awesome feedback! We do hope you will come and visit us again soon, Cheers- The PB Team

Check Availability