HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of City Garden Lodge Auckland

Hostel

25 St Georges Bay Road, Parnell, Auckland, New Zealand

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 76%

Location 82%

Safety 85%

Staff 88%

Value 80%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 76%

Location 82%

Safety 85%

Staff 88%

Value 80%

Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:

Liked: Its a quite lovely and authentic place.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I used to do reception in a hostel in London and while this place isn't quite as crazy I highly recommend it, it has loads of character!!! It was super chilled to stay at! I slept well. Location is great. No problem with staff � I know people always complain about how clean places are this place is CLEAN.....We will definitely stay againThanks

Disliked: Nothing..... I didn't really talk much with staff or guests but that was all good everyone was kinda doing their own thing

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Communal spaces; layout of whole property; friendly vibe between travellers

Disliked: NA

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly staff, small kitchen but provided many sauces and spices. Beds were okay.

Disliked: Worker hostel. My 8-bed-dorm was a giant mess, everybody spread his belongings (including weed) across the floor. I was silently rebooked onto another hostel (Lantana Lodge instead of City Garden Lodge). For a 8-bed dorm of this kind, and in a remote location, I found 34$ a lot for a night.

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location is fair, room for 2 was good size. Good areas outside of house to socialise or chill.

Disliked: Reception not open when claimed which caused problems in returning hire car. Kitchen was infested with flies due to rubbish bins for food not having lids. Toilets and showers all unisex, badly designed and not enough of them for the number of guests.Management cram even more guests in by using tents in the grounds and one caravan. One definately to avoid

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Peaceful, cozy Place!

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Unabke to answer as we dod not end up at city garden lodge

Disliked: They overbooked the hostel and had to move us to the owner's other hostel down the road, Lantana lodge, which was very different and the room was not what we were expecting. Other reviews have mentioned that this has happened before so I wish I had listened.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: The staff exuded friendliness and went above and beyond to make my stay a pleasant one: they were so eager to be helpful, I almost felt bad for not needing their assistance more! Truly wonderful people. The atmosphere was great too -lovely communal spaces warm and open and full of laughter.

Disliked: Only issue was that there were some late-owls who stayed up deep into the night talking which was slightly distracting -but when the staff asked them to keep it down, they complied. So no real complaints!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: the people who run this lodge were extra friendly. (helpfull with finding me a parkings spot for the car). the room was nice of size. there even was a 2-person couch in our room! the showers were well thought of (devided by a door, not a shower curtain) so no water on the floor after you had showered.

Disliked: there were very few parkingspots in the street. (and we were here in off-season.)

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice neighbourhood

Disliked: House looks run-down, needs renovation - especially the bathrooms.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability