We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of City Garden Lodge

Hostel | 25 St Georges Bay Road, Parnell, Auckland, New Zealand 1052

83.8% Overall Rating

29 out of 31 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/05/2013)

"The staff exuded friendliness and went above and beyond to make my stay a pleasant one: they were so eager to be helpful, I almost felt bad for not needing their assistance more! Truly wonderful people. The atmosphere…"

Read all City Garden Lodge reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Auckland

Lantana Lodge International Backpackers
21.79 USD

Hostel 77.5% 122 reviews
Arena Hotel
34.63 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 84.0% 12 reviews
City Travellers Auckland
19.45 USD

Hostel 72.3% 37 reviews
The Station Backpackers
21.79 USD

Hostel 82.2% 26 reviews
Jucy Hotel (Prev. Aspen House)
23.09 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.8% 132 reviews
Columbia Hostel
21.79 USD

Hostel 54.3% 12 reviews
Frienz.com Backpackers Accommodation Auckland
18.67 USD

Hostel 79.4% 145 reviews
Nomads Fat Camel
17.90 USD

Hostel 74.5% 320 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.8%

Overall Rating

29 out of 31 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'City Garden Lodge'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
88.8%
Value
81.6%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 23 of 31 reviews
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Anna Schultheis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2013 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Nice neighbourhood

Disliked: House looks run-down, needs renovation - especially the bathrooms.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2013

Liked: Unabke to answer as we dod not end up at city garden lodge

Disliked: They overbooked the hostel and had to move us to the owner's other hostel down the road, Lantana lodge, which was very different and the room was not what we were expecting. Other reviews have mentioned that this has happened before so I wish I had listened.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff exuded friendliness and went above and beyond to make my stay a pleasant one: they were so eager to be helpful, I almost felt bad for not needing their assistance more! Truly wonderful people. The atmosphere was great too -lovely communal spaces warm and open and full of laughter.

Disliked: Only issue was that there were some late-owls who stayed up deep into the night talking which was slightly distracting -but when the staff asked them to keep it down, they complied. So no real complaints!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

katinka verhagen

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

30 April 2013 katinka would recommend this property

Liked: the people who run this lodge were extra friendly. (helpfull with finding me a parkings spot for the car). the room was nice of size. there even was a 2-person couch in our room! the showers were well thought of (devided by a door, not a shower curtain) so no water on the floor after you had showered.

Disliked: there were very few parkingspots in the street. (and we were here in off-season.)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, old house with character, nice neighbourhood

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

09 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helpful staff excellent location ease of access to transport

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: People, Staff, organisation, house.

Disliked: The owner, too strict, too nears his money.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mary Hart Cheyne

Alone

Visiting friends or family

06 December 2012 Mary Hart would recommend this property

Liked: Vacinity to Newmarket and Downtown Auckland good, also good for Auckland Domain and Museum. Good place to brush up on your German and French as the majority of people during my stay were mostly German, and a few less French. Hope it continues good under new owners.

Disliked: Well laid out kitchen was too small when everyone tried to cook at the same time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great old historic house that just feels comfy...and it's kept so clean. The kitchen has several stoves/sinks/refrigerators/lots of food storage areas; the lounge has a wood fire, big couches, and logs of character. Free wifi, computers to use and fast connection. The location is just a block or so off Parnell Road in a fun area of boutiques, small restaurants and lots of good coffee shops...plus the link buses to get everywhere else in town. I especially enjoyed the quiet--guests were very conscious of others and I got a really good rest!

Disliked: nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very calm and peaceful place, a good 20 minute walk outside of the city center. Definitely best for older travelers or families.

Disliked: Wouldn't recommend it for younger, more lively travelers. Too far outside of town and not a whole lot going on. In a suburban area with not a whole lot near by.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Place has character

Disliked: Small kitchen

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Visiting friends or family

10 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful setting for a quiet stay, lovely hammock with shady trees, great space for yoga and resting, productive and pretty vegetable and decorative gardens, good shower pressure, delightfully eccentric long-term residents. It is easy and simple to bus to the center, also walking through nice parks nearly all of the way. I would certainly stay here again.

Disliked: The lack of a decent compost system in the communal kitchen.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean, basic but complete, very friendly operator. Very well priced, especially for the location and level of cleanliness!

Disliked: There was nothing bad about the place.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly, quiet location. Nice spices!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lorna Hampton-Bowes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2011 Lorna would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely hostel, great kitchen and double room. Managers were really friendly and helpful. Only booker for 2 nights ended up staying for 5 will happily use again.

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It seems older then I expected! Arrived late, so didnt have much chance to enjoy most of HR facility. The lounge looks great though!

Disliked: The shower water not warm enough

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great kitchen facilities, loads of space for hanging washing outside to dry, warm fire in the evenings

Disliked: Reception doesn't open until 8am

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ian the owner was really helpful and understanding about a last minute changeto my booking. Great kitchen, nice chill out room with the best book exchange I have encountered in eight months on the road.

Disliked: Perhaps a bit quiet atmosphere wise and a few long term residents who are perhaps slightly haughty towards newcomers

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely location, not far from the city and had free parking. Really nice communal areas with log fire.

Disliked: Kitchen was a bit small for the number of guests and a few more bathrooms would have been good,

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chelsey Needham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2011 Chelsey would recommend this property

Liked: the nice lounge room with fire, kitchen and outside area, room very cosy and warm

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

AnnSofie Saville

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2011 AnnSofie would recommend this property

Liked: great

Disliked: nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

17 December 2009

Liked: Staff were helpful. The location is great for Parnell but is a little out of the way for the rest of Auckland although the bus into the city is about a 3 minute walk away. Generally no problems but I can't help think that there must be better options available.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kathryn leeming

22 June 2009 kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: Really lovely owners, it was very cosy and homely.

Disliked: kathryn left no negative feedback.