We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Base Auckland

Hostel | Level 3, 229 Queen Street, Cnr Queen & Darby Street, Central City Auckland, New Zealand -

78.5% Overall Rating

278 out of 348 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/11/2014)

"Locationn is awesome, useful selling of airbus tickets, good functional laundry, clean secure dorms and ample kitchen"

Read all Base Auckland reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Auckland

Frienz.com Backpackers Accommodation Auckland
18.15 USD

Hostel 82.9% 155 reviews
ibis Styles Auckland (prev. All Seasons Auckland)
44.99 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.2% 19 reviews
Choice Backpackers
15.12 USD

Hostel 71.7% 118 reviews
Surf'N'Snow Backpackers
18.15 USD

Hostel 66.3% 81 reviews
The Attic Backpackers
21.93 USD

Hostel 90.5% 89 reviews
Queen Street Backpackers
20.42 USD

Hostel 74.3% 7 reviews
Nomads Auckland Backpackers
15.88 USD

Hostel 79.9% 461 reviews
Nomads Fat Camel
17.39 USD

Hostel 72.0% 325 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.5%

Overall Rating

278 out of 348 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Base Auckland'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
79.2%
Value
76.8%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 237 of 265 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2015

Liked: Actually nothing apart from the people I got to know.

Disliked: Everything I already mentioned above.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

stephen hodgson

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

10 March 2015 stephen would recommend this property

Liked: it was close to real groovy records which is very important

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marie BELET

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2015 Marie would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Only 3 lifts for 10 floors. On in maintenance, and one not opening on 6th floor

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: So so

Disliked: The kitchen is too old and dirty

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

barry hainsworth

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2015

Liked: Location

Disliked: Staff were not helpful- It took too long to check in. 3 transactions were taken to do 1 booking. Didn't tell us how to get to the room. Didn't tell us that our booking of 2 people were in different rooms until last minute. Appeared to dislike the fact we booked through hostel bookers instead of directly with them. The rooms had no outside windows. The building was a maze. No explanation of layout given.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

sarah-Jane antell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2015

Liked: Central location. Lots of facilities

Disliked: Unfortunately I didn't like this hostel at all. We were put on level one which looked like makeshift rooms on an office floor and it was incredibly loud with idiots all night long. The guy at reception was lovely thoug and moved us to another room on level 7 (which was the size of a shoebox). We saw a member of staff manning the breakfast on the brink of a fight - hardly professional. Never saw the kitchen being cleaned, it's pretty gross. And hardly any utensils for the amount of floors. Weve been travelling for 2 years now and I have a realistic expectation of hostels trust me but I just did not like this place, other people we met have said the same.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location comfy beds

Disliked: 6 beds in 4 persons room, almost no floor area no windows

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

william shackel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2015 william would recommend this property

Liked: The price was good

Disliked: The rooms were to got and small with six beds

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Locationn is awesome, useful selling of airbus tickets, good functional laundry, clean secure dorms and ample kitchen

Disliked: A little expensive at full price, and the lifts are a pain

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

27 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to get to. Seemed popular withbyiung travellers. Even though it was busy I felt pretty safe.

Disliked: Top bunk beds next to the window didnt have a barrier and if i rolled towards the window i would have fallen out the side of the bed onto the ledge. It didnt feel very secure!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jareth Bassett

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

21 February 2014 Jareth would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff, kept us up to date with late check ins. Great facilities and handy location to central Auckland

Disliked: Being checked in before our room had been cleaned.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Michael Grunda

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: The staff! Really good vibe and very welcoming.

Disliked: Not enough showers/toilets and the electronic door was out of order most times resulting in having to trek around the building to get to my room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

30 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: central location

Disliked: street level loud noise Friday night

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Adele Whittington

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2013 Adele would recommend this property

Liked: The check in staff member was very helpful offering to book any travel requirements for us.

Disliked: We were not informed where kitchen or other communal areas etc were located.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 November 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Everything else. Roma were average & the security sometimes hindered access

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steve Haley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Steve would recommend this property

Liked: Wet T-shirt competition in the GLOBE bar!! Not to be missed!!

Disliked: Steve left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

christina lee kay yong

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2013 christina would recommend this property

Liked: The location The cleanliness of the room The cleanliness of the toilet

Disliked: Booked the double room with ensuite bathroom but were told later the double room were not available and had to settle for a double room with shared bathroom The breakfast was a let down No free wifi and had to pay $4 per day

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

21 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: You had enough space of your own if you didnt want to mingle too much with people, or you had oppotunites to meet people and talk in the common areas

Disliked: The toilets were hard to flush in the common girls bathroom was a bit annoying!!!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Scott Matthews

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Work / volunteering

07 October 2013 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: Location was amazing and the fellow guests and most staff were great.

Disliked: Issues with room key card - constant Staff upon check out was very rude Showers on level 6 men's were filthy and one had no lock

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CHAN CHEE XIANG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

25 September 2013 CHAN would recommend this property

Liked: This property was allocated in the convenient location and easily to get and buy those stuff at counter and i'm privilege lovely the kitchen here. That's was really big enough.

Disliked: no, that's really good enough, Awesome !!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and basic. Very big but has a good kitchen and facilities. Good location right in the centre of town.

Disliked: Staff could be more helpful. A bit dirty. Lots of fast food places nearby but no large supermarkets.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 August 2013

Liked: Overall ok

Disliked: Not a good atmosphere

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

16 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly helpful staff

Disliked: The lift

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Naomi Gormley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Bed bugs which I've photographed and will be posting on trip advisor and other hostel booking sites should the manager not reimburse me for the night of the 7th because I would not stay there. For $8 you can get a continental breakfast… cereals and toast does not constitute a continental breakfast. For $ 8 I suggest you look around town for a better deal.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is very clean and have a good location if you want to travel the Auckland center. A hostel that try their best to save water and energy, good for our planet.

Disliked: The shower switch is so special...not the usual type. The kitchen is not that good....