HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Base Auckland Auckland Hostel

Corner of Queen St and Darby St, Darby Street, Auckland, New Zealand

Atmosphere 68%

Cleanliness 63%

Facilities 67%

Location 91%

Safety 75%

Staff 74%

Value 70%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Fitness Centre"
  • Free City Maps
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Internet café
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Nightclub
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 68%

Cleanliness 63%

Facilities 67%

Location 91%

Safety 75%

Staff 74%

Value 70%

Showing 21-30 of 39 reviews

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location

Disliked: Staff were not helpful- It took too long to check in.3 transactions were taken to do 1 booking.Didn't tell us how to get to the room.Didn't tell us that our booking of 2 people were in different rooms until last minute. Appeared to dislike the fact we booked through hostel bookers instead of directly with them.The rooms had no outside windows.The building was a maze. No explanation of layout given.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Central location. Lots of facilities

Disliked: Unfortunately I didn't like this hostel at all. We were put on level one which looked like makeshift rooms on an office floor and it was incredibly loud with idiots all night long. The guy at reception was lovely thoug and moved us to another room on level 7 (which was the size of a shoebox). We saw a member of staff manning the breakfast on the brink of a fight - hardly professional. Never saw the kitchen being cleaned, it's pretty gross. And hardly any utensils for the amount of floors. Weve been travelling for 2 years now and I have a realistic expectation of hostels trust me but I just did not like this place, other people we met have said the same.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The price was good

Disliked: The rooms were to got and small with six beds

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good locationcomfy beds

Disliked: 6 beds in 4 persons room, almost no floor areano windows

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Nov 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Locationn is awesome, useful selling of airbus tickets, good functional laundry, clean secure dorms and ample kitchen

Disliked: A little expensive at full price, and the lifts are a pain

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Really friendly staff, kept us up to date with late check ins. Great facilities and handy location to central Auckland

Disliked: Being checked in before our room had been cleaned.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff! Really good vibe and very welcoming.

Disliked: Not enough showers/toilets and the electronic door was out of order most times resulting in having to trek around the building to get to my room.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: central location

Disliked: street level loud noise Friday night

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Location

Disliked: Everything else. Roma were average & the security sometimes hindered access

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location The cleanliness of the roomThe cleanliness of the toilet

Disliked: Booked the double room with ensuite bathroom but were told later the double room were not available and had to settle for a double room with shared bathroomThe breakfast was a let downNo free wifi and had to pay $4 per day

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability