HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Base Auckland Auckland Hostel

Corner of Queen St and Darby St, Darby Street, Auckland, New Zealand

Atmosphere 68%

Cleanliness 65%

Facilities 67%

Location 91%

Safety 77%

Staff 74%

Value 69%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Fitness Centre"
  • Free City Maps
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Internet café
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Nightclub
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 68%

Cleanliness 65%

Facilities 67%

Location 91%

Safety 77%

Staff 74%

Value 69%

Showing 11-20 of 39 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Good centre location

Disliked: Need to provide free wifi

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Great location Good amount of facilities - job centre/travel

Disliked: Rooms were extremely stuffy - no windows/air vent/ conditionerRooms not clean - toe nails all over floor/ full rubbish binsNo real atmosphere in the place

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The beds were comfortable, but the walls are paper thin and the RIDICULOUSLY LOUD nightclub next door did an excellent job making sure we didn't sleep.

Disliked: Lack of truth in advertising. This is not somewhere one can SLEEP with all the ruckus going on outside and the paper thin walls. We could hear quiet conversations clearly in both neighboring rooms.

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It's convenience as a place to rest one's head.

Disliked: A bit too big, noisy and staff not so friendly but mostly because they seem overworked and overwhelmed.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Actually nothing apart from the people I got to know.

Disliked: Everything I already mentioned above.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: it was close to real groovy records which is very important

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Only 3 lifts for 10 floors. On in maintenance, and one not opening on 6th floor

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: So so

Disliked: The kitchen is too old and dirty

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location

Disliked: Staff were not helpful- It took too long to check in.3 transactions were taken to do 1 booking.Didn't tell us how to get to the room.Didn't tell us that our booking of 2 people were in different rooms until last minute. Appeared to dislike the fact we booked through hostel bookers instead of directly with them.The rooms had no outside windows.The building was a maze. No explanation of layout given.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Central location. Lots of facilities

Disliked: Unfortunately I didn't like this hostel at all. We were put on level one which looked like makeshift rooms on an office floor and it was incredibly loud with idiots all night long. The guy at reception was lovely thoug and moved us to another room on level 7 (which was the size of a shoebox). We saw a member of staff manning the breakfast on the brink of a fight - hardly professional. Never saw the kitchen being cleaned, it's pretty gross. And hardly any utensils for the amount of floors. Weve been travelling for 2 years now and I have a realistic expectation of hostels trust me but I just did not like this place, other people we met have said the same.

Check Availability