We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Frienz.com Backpackers Accommodation Auckland

Hostel | 27-31 Victoria Street East, CBD, Auckland, New Zealand 1010

79.4% Overall Rating

126 out of 145 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/04/2014)

"great hostel, I stayed here twice. Big kitchen and dinning area, free internet computers, activities every nught. The rooms are big enough and well organized. I think there are too little showers, but I never had to…"

Read all Frienz.com Backpackers Accommodation Auckland reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.89

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Auckland

Base Auckland
20.23 USD

Hostel 80.8% 336 reviews
ibis Styles Auckland (prev. All Seasons Auckland)
38.52 USD

Hotel 3 star 78.1% 18 reviews
Choice Plaza Backpackers
15.56 USD

Hostel 71.7% 115 reviews
Surf'N'Snow Backpackers
18.67 USD

Hostel 67.5% 77 reviews
Queen Street Backpackers
19.45 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Nomads Fat Camel
17.90 USD

Hostel 74.5% 320 reviews
The Attic Backpackers
22.56 USD

Hostel 92.3% 84 reviews
Nomads Auckland Backpackers
17.90 USD

Hostel 82.6% 447 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.4%

Overall Rating

126 out of 145 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Frienz.com Backpackers Accommodation Auckland'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
86.4%
Value
78.4%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 130 of 142 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Eliska Vaclavikova

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2014 Eliska would recommend this property

Liked: location, value for money, atmosphere

Disliked: noisy doors and "paper" walls

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bathroom

Disliked: The kitchen

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2014

Liked: Good located in CBD

Disliked: No free wifi, just old computets to use Old facilities in my room One guy on my room slept without sheeds and pillow case

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

24 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap , friendly and good location

Disliked: n/a

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great hostel, I stayed here twice. Big kitchen and dinning area, free internet computers, activities every nught. The rooms are big enough and well organized. I think there are too little showers, but I never had to wait, so its not that bad.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014

Liked: It was convenient to the ferry, they were friendly at the desk and it's in an old building so it has character.

Disliked: It was a bit run down, the sheets didn't seem very clean, or they may have been clean but definitely stained. You definitely need sandals to shower.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2014

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Was so noisy all night!! We hated it, we booked a private room thinking we'd get loads of peace however our room was next to the toilets and outdoor smoking area, people shouting, retching, drinking, playing loud music, banging, moving furniture all night long. People shouting outside our door at 3am. Hostel worker walked in our room without knocking at 11pm when we were sleeping inviting us for drinks. Could here people using shower and toilets as the walls were so thin. Couldn't leave window open as it was out on to smoking area so room not secure. Stayed out all night to avoid the place, came in and was kept awake both nights. Bathrooms we're pretty grim too!! Mold all over ceiling and cubicles grotty and run down.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the ambiance of the place.

Disliked: I didn't like the bathrooms. On my floor, there was none (under construction for over 2 weeks)

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room itself was nice and clean, also had a tv which is rare in most hostels.

Disliked: The toilets\bathroom on our floor was having building work done, and the toilets on the next floor down only had one toilet. There is a courtyard in the middle of the building and you can hear the shouts and screams echo all the way to the fourth floor.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

PAOLA SOUZA

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2014 PAOLA would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly and helpful. Very nice and easy-going people as well as flexible.

Disliked: My room was too noisy. Victoria St is quite bustling during the night and with the hot weather it was imoossible to close the windows. The curtains allow all the ilumination from outside to get into the room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

fleur kloppenberg

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 January 2014 fleur would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, good facilities, free internet on computers (although kind of slow), near to city centre

Disliked: elevator/lift is only from ground floor, not from entrance. A bit difficult with a wheelchair (2x3 steps to get to the ground floor)...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Mark Booth

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: The English reception girl was super helpful

Disliked: If you have a window above the courtyard its very bright and noisy at night

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

wang yu phua

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2014 wang yu would recommend this property

Liked: almost everything

Disliked: the fridges smelt bad

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Alex Rudzinski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

15 December 2013

Liked: Central Location Relatively cheap in comparison to other Auckland hostels Helpful and friendly staff Useful luggage storage room Good washing machines and tumble driers

Disliked: Very busy and untidy dorm rooms almost nowhere left to store luggage. Dorm rooms were very hot and lacked ventilation, location was near a busy road and so with open windows caused a really poor nights sleep. No curfew on lighting in the dorm so people coming at all times of the day and night disturbing sleep. Poor quality shower rooms and toilets, one shower didn't have a door, and one shower room didn't have a mirror. The quality of the bunk beds was pretty poor and it was virtually impossible to get to the top bunk without waking the person on the lower bunk with shaking and noise. Not a particularly friendly hostel, some of the guests seemed to be there for longer stays and maybe even worked for board giving the place a strange atmosphere that I wouldn't say was the friendliest. My stay was only two days and this definitely a personal point, based on other hostels I have stayed in such as Guess House in Seminyak, Reggae Mansion in KL and ABC Premium in Singapore I would say Frienz was the most difficult to relax in and make friends.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

damien pothier

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 December 2013 damien would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Restroom are dirty

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Work / volunteering

23 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central as location in Auckland city, walking distance to heaps of bars, shops, cafes... Staff were chilled and friendly... Facilities were sweet... Overall had a pretty good vibe.

Disliked: Bathrooms need a bit of maintenance.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Nizar Walji

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2013

Liked: Great location!! Right in the centre of CBD. Staff were very friendly and use of free computers was excellent. Although internet on them was slow.

Disliked: Bathrooms weren't very clean and shower doors were broken. There were times that we had to use bathrooms on other floors as the one on our floor was leaking.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

14 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location right in the city centre

Disliked: Thought it was quite overpriced for the standard of the rooms and bathrooms. Kitchen was okay though

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Stephen Davie

Alone

Shopping

01 October 2013 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Great!

Disliked: Stephen left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Alessandra Assumpcao

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2013 Alessandra would recommend this property

Liked: Location is pretty good, lots of information on what to do, the computers are really slow but at least free.

Disliked: Property is pretty run down, its hard to make friends there.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, friendly and helpful people

Disliked: -

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff, clean, live fa cup games for breakfast :)

Disliked: horribly slow internet on the public computers

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap, practical and well located.

Disliked: the showers are not very clean.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, secure facilities and right in the centre of town.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2013

Liked: Great location. The reception staff were helpful. Good cooking area and common areas including a reading room.

Disliked: Although the reception staff were great all the other staff we saw (we think residents working for their stay) were surly or even rude. The dorm was really quite dirty, indeed there was a sign saying dorms are only cleaned once a week. In a 12 bed dorm with messy, dirty residents that isn't enough. We had a real issue with lights in the dorm I was in - could have done with a policy to people about lights out and lights on in the mornings. The door to our dorm did have a lock but it was very noisy to close so most residents didn't bother closing the door. As a result our dorm wasn't so secure, plus it was really noisy. The fridges didn't work. It was pretty unfriendly too when we were there - very hard to meet people even though there were so many people there!