HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Frienz.com Backpackers Accommodation Auckland Auckland Hostel

27-31 Victoria Street East, Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 77%

Facilities 73%

Location 93%

Safety 87%

Staff 84%

Value 81%

Facilities

  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • BBQ
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 77%

Facilities 73%

Location 93%

Safety 87%

Staff 84%

Value 81%

Showing 41-50 of 78 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Work / volunteering

Liked: This place is really comfortable and cozy! The atmosphere is good, like a big family!

Disliked: the internet you bought has only 300MB limitation. But, it sounds every hostel here in the city center like this: expensive and has time and date limitation.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly Staff, lockers in the room, cleaned two times each day, free internet (5 computers, 2 were in my time broken), rooms not two small, each evening an event,

Disliked: so much people no "family atmosphere", the matress are very very old, the kitchen and fridge are to small for that kind of hostel, the courtyard is in the middle from all rooms what means all the smoke comes inside your room,

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location, helpful staff, great atmosphere

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Liked: Staff here is really friendly and helpful! Don't understand how you can wear that big smile all day, but it's really helping us to enjoy our stay! Good area, close to all the main sights and easy to get to and from the airport!

Disliked: Only thing that happend was that when I wanted to extend my stay they didn't wanna give me the same price as when I booked via Hostelbookers, which is really weird and that has never happend to me before and I've been staying at different hostel world wide for the last 3 months... and when I tried to "extend my night" via hostelbookers, it was fully booked.... really weird that you have to book via a website to get the same price as when you make a reservation in the lobby.. bad service. And showers where IMPOSSIBLE to shower in, feels like someone is throwing stones at you.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay & that you noticed that our staff are always happy. It sounds like you were lucky enough to get an online special price when you originally booked online, these are limited to only a few beds on certain days therefore instead of bad service which you say perhaps you were actually fortunate to get a discount when you arrived. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the powerful showers, we actually get a lot of people who prefer them being that strong!

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: You can constantly see the place being cleaned during the day and evening.

Disliked: Clean, but the rooms are a bit small so there's no real space to leave bags etc in the room.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Extremely friendly staff! The place was excellent and I'd definitely stay again!

Disliked: Couldn't pick out anything I didn't like.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for the awesome review, please come and stay again!!!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: The location was very central to the heart of the city, being very easy to reach by bus from and to the airport. The security is well-covered for with lockers in the rooms for guests to use. Atmosphere is great with the main communal areas being a great place to meet people.

Disliked: I didn't have enough time to stay longer

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It had good amenities - the kitchen was well-equipped, and they had computers available for use. There was a TV lounge, and a nice little reading room that had some good books in it. The room I was in (14 beds) was very spacious.

Disliked: The bathrooms were a bit on the small side, as were the lockers.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very good location, helpful staff, and quiet

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: It was well managed hostel.

Disliked: Breakfast is not provided.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability