We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Frienz.com Backpackers Accommodation Auckland

Hostel | 27-31 Victoria Street East, CBD, Auckland, New Zealand 1010

79.4% Overall Rating

126 out of 145 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/04/2014)

"great hostel, I stayed here twice. Big kitchen and dinning area, free internet computers, activities every nught. The rooms are big enough and well organized. I think there are too little showers, but I never had to…"

Read all Frienz.com Backpackers Accommodation Auckland reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.89

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Auckland

Base Auckland
21.79 USD

Hostel 80.6% 335 reviews
ibis Styles Auckland (prev. All Seasons Auckland)
42.41 USD

Hotel 3 star 78.1% 18 reviews
Choice Plaza Backpackers
15.56 USD

Hostel 72.8% 114 reviews
Surf'N'Snow Backpackers
18.67 USD

Hostel 67.5% 77 reviews
Queen Street Backpackers
19.45 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Nomads Fat Camel
17.90 USD

Hostel 74.5% 320 reviews
The Attic Backpackers
22.56 USD

Hostel 92.3% 84 reviews
Nomads Auckland Backpackers
19.45 USD

Hostel 86.6% 443 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.4%

Overall Rating

126 out of 145 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Frienz.com Backpackers Accommodation Auckland'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
86.4%
Value
78.4%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 130 of 142 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

03 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of people!! If your keen for a party but if you need a rest stay away!

Disliked: Dirty Kitchen and Bathroom!!!! Stay away from level two!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff! I was feeling anti-social and they were still lovely. Would definitely recommend. :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leslie Sanderson

Alone

27 September 2010 Leslie would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms, great location, free internet was appreciated (though charging for wifi was unexpected...). Nightly entertainment was good.

Disliked: Didn't expect to have to pay for wifi access ($10/day) and sometimes had to wait for quite a while to use the free internet computers.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Milligan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2010 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Free internet

Disliked: Rooms were quite cold and very noisy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free internet and free tea and cakes in the afternoon! main street right on the door step

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Torben Minnes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2010 Torben would recommend this property

Liked: they clean often

Disliked: the fridges are crowded

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Giles Pickett

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2010 Giles would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and value for money. Free internet is great.

Disliked: A lot of the toilets and showers were not working during our stay as well as some of the Gas hobs, leak in the kitchen roof. A shame people don't clean up after themselves.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jack Wenbourne

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2010 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Good communal area. Big free food and stuff section. Free internet. Kitchen is cleaned 3 times a day.

Disliked: Jack left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

craig keane

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2010 craig would recommend this property

Liked: location is great

Disliked: it was so loud at night. the need better windows!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location in the city is good, and quiet enough to actually be able to sleep when you want to. The FREE internet is also a bonus.

Disliked: The smell of weed outside the dorm on my floor.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Holly Hollamby

03 June 2010

Liked: Staff not very helpful as we were needomg a bank account etc and they weren't very helpful, an ok place to stay however i would not return

Disliked: Holly left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Caitlin Smith

02 April 2010 Caitlin would recommend this property

Liked: this hostel was good fun and very interactive. got everyone involved, great for meeting people. however, although it does appear clean i think there were bed bugs as i woke up one day with a trail of bites on my leg. even still, i liked this hostel.

Disliked: Caitlin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

21 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and general atmosphere of the hostel was vibrant and welcoming. The facilities had a lot to offer with ample shower and cooking equipment while also having a lot of room in the bedrooms to happily hold the customers while also having space to socialize and relax. The overall hostel has a very laid back atmosphere which allows you to feel right at home.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nathaniel Janks

21 March 2010 Nathaniel would recommend this property

Liked: I have done a lot of travelling around the world and I can honestly say that this is one of the best hostels I have EVER stayed at. The location is very central, there is free internet, the kitchen is pretty well equipped, it's nice and clean but best of all the staff really go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable, organising great nights out and in!

Disliked: Nathaniel left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

STEVE HALEY

19 March 2010 STEVE would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel!! Super showers and the Staff are Awesome!!Great location,Great kitchen, big screen Sky tv to watch live English Football and FREE Internet!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Nuff said!

Disliked: STEVE left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

15 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a great place to stay . Excellent location , staff friendly , inmates fun and cozy facilities ....I'd easily recommend "Frienz . com Backpackers accommodation "in Auckland to my friends.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

shaun kim

14 February 2010 shaun would recommend this property

Liked: Simply the best hostel I've ever been! Great Staffs..Every day activities bring a lot of fun! I would recommend Both Frienz.com Backpackers(Auckland and Christchurch)!

Disliked: shaun left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

14 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was very clean. Very friendly and helpful staff. Free Internet, free BBQ on fridays.The only bad thing was that there were no lockers in the rooms.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stacey Kingman

06 December 2009 Stacey would recommend this property

Liked: Mark (the manager of the place) is a great guy who is lots of fun and goes out of his way to make you feel like part of the group.We met lots of lovely people and enjoyed the comfort of a nice place after a couple of bad experiences in other hostels..

Disliked: Stacey left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Veronica Petermann

10 October 2009 Veronica would recommend this property

Liked: Friendely and helpful staff

Disliked: Veronica left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

23 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the location and the people the most.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

13 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, right in centre of Auckland. Very clean & staff extremely helpful & friendly. Only criticism would be the very thin walls, but I would definitely recommend it as a cheap place to stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

09 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, new clean hostel. Good location, only round the corner from Sky tower and Queen Street. Free internet., however it is pretty slow and disconnects often so is a bit annoying.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

03 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free internet!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.