We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Frienz.com Backpackers Accommodation Auckland

Hostel | 27-31 Victoria Street East, CBD, Auckland, New Zealand 1010

82.2% Overall Rating

135 out of 154 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/02/2015)

"The location is simply the best you can get. The common area is nice and homey, and it is open all night. You are allowed to drink your own alcohol. Rooftop is nice touch, just like the PCs, some of which are pretty…"

Read all Frienz.com Backpackers Accommodation Auckland reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.76

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Auckland

Base Auckland
21.07 USD

Hostel 79.3% 344 reviews
ibis Styles Auckland (prev. All Seasons Auckland)
56.07 USD

Hotel 3 star 78.1% 18 reviews
Choice Backpackers
15.05 USD

Hostel 71.7% 118 reviews
Surf'N'Snow Backpackers
18.06 USD

Hostel 68.0% 79 reviews
Queen Street Backpackers
20.32 USD

Hostel 74.3% 7 reviews
Nomads Fat Camel
17.31 USD

Hostel 73.8% 324 reviews
The Attic Backpackers
21.82 USD

Hostel 90.5% 89 reviews
Nomads Auckland Backpackers
17.31 USD

Hostel 78.7% 459 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.2%

Overall Rating

135 out of 154 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Frienz.com Backpackers Accommodation Auckland'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
88.8%
Value
82.4%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 136 of 151 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Alessandra Assumpcao

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2013 Alessandra would recommend this property

Liked: Location is pretty good, lots of information on what to do, the computers are really slow but at least free.

Disliked: Property is pretty run down, its hard to make friends there.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, friendly and helpful people

Disliked: -

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff, clean, live fa cup games for breakfast :)

Disliked: horribly slow internet on the public computers

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap, practical and well located.

Disliked: the showers are not very clean.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, secure facilities and right in the centre of town.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2013

Liked: Great location. The reception staff were helpful. Good cooking area and common areas including a reading room.

Disliked: Although the reception staff were great all the other staff we saw (we think residents working for their stay) were surly or even rude. The dorm was really quite dirty, indeed there was a sign saying dorms are only cleaned once a week. In a 12 bed dorm with messy, dirty residents that isn't enough. We had a real issue with lights in the dorm I was in - could have done with a policy to people about lights out and lights on in the mornings. The door to our dorm did have a lock but it was very noisy to close so most residents didn't bother closing the door. As a result our dorm wasn't so secure, plus it was really noisy. The fridges didn't work. It was pretty unfriendly too when we were there - very hard to meet people even though there were so many people there!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

03 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean, friendly service, and overall just really great

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Tim Wang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

28 April 2013 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and friendly staff

Disliked: Quite noisy on weekends

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

18 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the cleanest hostels I've ever stayed in, great location, very friendly & helpful staff, would highly recommend Frienz Hostel!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zmago Fluks

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2013 Zmago would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Its really good hostel.

Disliked: Maybe really the shower... When you open the water is like a strong waterfall... Such a waste of water...but thats the expense of the hostel.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and friendly staff

Disliked: Not that clean

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and clean, perfect location

Disliked: kitchen furniture

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Fredrik Brander

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

27 March 2013 Fredrik would recommend this property

Liked: Staff here is really friendly and helpful! Don't understand how you can wear that big smile all day, but it's really helping us to enjoy our stay! Good area, close to all the main sights and easy to get to and from the airport!

Disliked: Only thing that happend was that when I wanted to extend my stay they didn't wanna give me the same price as when I booked via Hostelbookers, which is really weird and that has never happend to me before and I've been staying at different hostel world wide for the last 3 months... and when I tried to "extend my night" via hostelbookers, it was fully booked.... really weird that you have to book via a website to get the same price as when you make a reservation in the lobby.. bad service. And showers where IMPOSSIBLE to shower in, feels like someone is throwing stones at you.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly Staff, lockers in the room, cleaned two times each day, free internet (5 computers, 2 were in my time broken), rooms not two small, each evening an event,

Disliked: so much people no "family atmosphere", the matress are very very old, the kitchen and fridge are to small for that kind of hostel, the courtyard is in the middle from all rooms what means all the smoke comes inside your room,

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

li zheng

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

24 March 2013 li would recommend this property

Liked: This place is really comfortable and cozy! The atmosphere is good, like a big family!

Disliked: the internet you bought has only 300MB limitation. But, it sounds every hostel here in the city center like this: expensive and has time and date limitation.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maja Ferle

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2013 Maja would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, helpful staff, great atmosphere

Disliked: Maja left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: You can constantly see the place being cleaned during the day and evening.

Disliked: Clean, but the rooms are a bit small so there's no real space to leave bags etc in the room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly staff! The place was excellent and I'd definitely stay again!

Disliked: Couldn't pick out anything I didn't like.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

02 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was very central to the heart of the city, being very easy to reach by bus from and to the airport. The security is well-covered for with lockers in the rooms for guests to use. Atmosphere is great with the main communal areas being a great place to meet people.

Disliked: I didn't have enough time to stay longer

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Charlotte Rollans

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2013 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: It had good amenities - the kitchen was well-equipped, and they had computers available for use. There was a TV lounge, and a nice little reading room that had some good books in it. The room I was in (14 beds) was very spacious.

Disliked: The bathrooms were a bit on the small side, as were the lockers.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Aurelie Poumet

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2013 Aurelie would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, helpful staff, and quiet

Disliked: Aurelie left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jae Eun Noh

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 December 2012 Jae Eun would recommend this property

Liked: It was well managed hostel.

Disliked: Breakfast is not provided.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Franziska Hollender

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2012

Liked: It was quite easy to find coming from the Airport bus. Our double room was fine in size and the bed was comfy. We were able to leave our luggage for a while for free.

Disliked: The comforter and pillows on our bed did not have covers on them. Ick! The computers they have free Internet on are so old and slow, you'll be happy to open any webpage at all. Wifi is $10 a day - dare I say terrible rip-off? Totally unnecessary, maintaining a couple of routers is super cheap for a business. Staff couldn't really explain the cost either, saying that their money goes towards these free computers... Please throw the computers away and make Wifi free, it is 2012 after all. On the 4th floor, only one of the women's showers was working..

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone is very friendly, free internet is a nice perk!

Disliked: It's a bit more run down than advertised, the bunk beds were wobbly, and the stairs were very narrow.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the pub crawl on Thursday, staff was friendly and really helpful

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.