HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Frienz.com Backpackers Accommodation Auckland Auckland Hostel

27-31 Victoria Street East, Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 73%

Location 93%

Safety 87%

Staff 86%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • BBQ
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 3.86USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 73%

Location 93%

Safety 87%

Staff 86%

Value 82%

Showing 11-20 of 29 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: location, value for money, atmosphere

Disliked: noisy doors and "paper" walls

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: cheap , friendly and good location

Disliked: n/a

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: great hostel, I stayed here twice. Big kitchen and dinning area, free internet computers, activities every nught. The rooms are big enough and well organized. I think there are too little showers, but I never had to wait, so its not that bad.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was convenient to the ferry, they were friendly at the desk and it's in an old building so it has character.

Disliked: It was a bit run down, the sheets didn't seem very clean, or they may have been clean but definitely stained. You definitely need sandals to shower.

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Was so noisy all night!! We hated it, we booked a private room thinking we'd get loads of peace however our room was next to the toilets and outdoor smoking area, people shouting, retching, drinking, playing loud music, banging, moving furniture all night long. People shouting outside our door at 3am. Hostel worker walked in our room without knocking at 11pm when we were sleeping inviting us for drinks. Could here people using shower and toilets as the walls were so thin. Couldn't leave window open as it was out on to smoking area so room not secure. Stayed out all night to avoid the place, came in and was kept awake both nights. Bathrooms we're pretty grim too!! Mold all over ceiling and cubicles grotty and run down.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I liked the ambiance of the place.

Disliked: I didn't like the bathrooms. On my floor, there was none (under construction for over 2 weeks)

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The room itself was nice and clean, also had a tv which is rare in most hostels.

Disliked: The toilets\\bathroom on our floor was having building work done, and the toilets on the next floor down only had one toilet. There is a courtyard in the middle of the building and you can hear the shouts and screams echo all the way to the fourth floor.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff is very friendly and helpful. Very nice and easy-going people as well as flexible.

Disliked: My room was too noisy. Victoria St is quite bustling during the night and with the hot weather it was imoossible to close the windows. The curtains allow all the ilumination from outside to get into the room.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The English reception girl was super helpful

Disliked: If you have a window above the courtyard its very bright and noisy at night

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: friendly staff, good facilities, free internet on computers (although kind of slow), near to city centre

Disliked: elevator/lift is only from ground floor, not from entrance. A bit difficult with a wheelchair (2x3 steps to get to the ground floor)...

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability