We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Airport Skyway Lodge

Hostel | 30 Kirkbride Road, Mangere, Auckland, New Zealand 1730

81.8% Overall Rating

105 out of 118 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/07/2014)

Alan Stock thinks…

"The owner is very friendly and the other staff are friendly and helpful. Cheap ($5 at time of writing) pick-up/drop-off from airport. Single beds rather than bunk beds. Ideal for a stop-over or…"

Read all Airport Skyway Lodge reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Washing machines
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 4.07

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Auckland

Kiwi Airport Backpackers
20.34 USD

Hostel 68.2% 28 reviews
Sudima Auckland Airport
63.06 USD

Hotel 4.5 star Not yet rated
Ibis Budget Auckland Airport
22.17 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.6% 24 reviews
Dukes Midway Lodge
40.69 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Mount Richmond Hotel
42.72 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Sai Motels
78.12 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Allenby Park Hotel
36.21 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Yaping House
17.90 USD

Hostel 66.5% 159 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.8%

Overall Rating

105 out of 118 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Airport Skyway Lodge'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
88.8%
Value
81.6%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 99 of 104 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice big community/tv/dining room, very helpful staff, kitchen facilities are awesome, you even get tea, coffee and milk for free, everything you need one a short stayover is provided

Disliked: the shower was unfortunately freezing cold in the morning, but it might have been a temporary issue, I did not check...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Katie Clarke

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2012

Liked: The airport drop off was efficient and a reasonable price. It is close to the airport.

Disliked: Bit dated and bit odd. We had a room with a cork board on the wall and cards with pics of dogs on the bedside cabinet - odd.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

15 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location; safe and quiet; helpful staff

Disliked: n/a

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jamie Brooks

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2011 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, picked up at 1.00am. Given lots of advice.

Disliked: Nothing, just serves as somewhere to stay near airport. Simple

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Only did a stop over before heading into Auckland, but the chap did a pick up at about 1am and it was cheap. Bus stop to Auckland central just across the road and just a touch under $6 making it much cheaper than the other transfers. We didnt use any of it, but a big kitchen, and pool are there. Loads of leaflets and the bloke was really helpful.

Disliked: From what I could tell there were two showers/toilets between quite a few rooms so there could be a queue at peak time - which this wasnt so it wasnt a bother for us.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine Dick

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2011 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: Scott was really friendly, and there are shops, restuarants and a farm for fruit and veg (and nice icecream) really near. Also buses right outside so easy to get around

Disliked: the showers weren't great

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

13 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Liked the great kitchen, friendly and efficient owners.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

18 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent host, good information about the area. Good pick up from airport.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

13 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: pool, fully equipped kitchen with a lot of stuff for free

Disliked: a little bit old furnished

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

William Emmerson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

13 January 2011 William would recommend this property

Liked: Proximity to the airport & cheap shuttle service to/from the airport

Disliked: Walking distance from the room to the bathroom

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

JIAGANG ZHANG

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

10 January 2011 JIAGANG would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly hosts made us feel at home.

Disliked: N/A

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 October 2010

Liked: easy location for airport

Disliked: The staff were not very helpful, very basic rooms

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Darren Greenfield

28 March 2010 Darren would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staffVery convenient for airport

Disliked: Darren left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

03 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: As it is close to the Auckland Int. Airport, the visitors here are in transit from or to the airpost and thus the usual nuisance of hostels placed downtown - full of intoxicated partying youth simply does not occur here.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Fea Kubala

27 January 2010 Fea would recommend this property

Liked: This was just a stop over for me between two flights, hostel staff were able to pick me up and deliver me back to the airport at a time that suited me both ways.

Disliked: Fea left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

10 January 2010

Liked: very litle. I would rather sleep in my car. Next time i'll defenitely go somewehre else!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel Manager was very friendly and helpful. He even came out to the Airport at 1.30am to pick us up as there were no buses at that time.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melanie White

21 November 2009 Melanie would recommend this property

Liked: Scott was hilarious and was very helpful! Would defo recommend this place to others! Brilliant!

Disliked: Melanie left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

victoria sharples

19 November 2009 victoria would recommend this property

Liked: he picked us up very late at night from airport and was really helpful with all our questions! close to airport, clean and great kitchen etc!

Disliked: victoria left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

James Mortimer

10 November 2009 James would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay if you are in transit through the airport. A little far if you want to experience central Auckland but otherwise a nice cosy place.

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

01 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Shuttle service to and from the airport

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Peter Hendricks

17 October 2009 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Good if you need to stay near the airport.

Disliked: Peter left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

08 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the airport, transfers $5 each way

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

05 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: + Reasonable close to the airport+ Offers pick-up/drop-off at resonable price+ Internet (wireless) available at reasonable price+ Good for overnight stay - if your flight goes early next morning- Pick-up only worked after second call and nearly one hour waiting time- Drop-off waaaaay too early, just to put more passengers together in the bus instead of going twice :-(

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

27 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great, easy to get into Auckland, extremely friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.