HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Yaping House

Hostel | 79 Owens Road Epsom, Auckland, New Zealand 1003

66.5% Overall Rating

106 out of 159 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/03/2013)

"Nice people, sort of home from home, no tourist place. Great view and very quiet."

Read all Yaping House reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note, there is a minimum lengths of stay of 7 days for all rooms

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Auckland

Pentlands Backpackers Hostel
20.94 USD

Hostel 83.4% 17 reviews
Newton Lodge
20.10 USD

Hostel 83.1% 49 reviews
Columbia Hostel
23.45 USD

Hostel 54.3% 12 reviews
K Road City Travellers
24.29 USD

Hostel 86.6% 235 reviews
YHA Auckland City
14.24 USD

Hostel 86.2% 152 reviews
BK Hostel
24.29 USD

Hostel 83.4% 236 reviews
YHA Auckland International
15.91 USD

Hostel 81.1% 247 reviews
City Lodge Backpacker
29.10 USD

Hostel 87.2% 228 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
66.5%

Overall Rating

106 out of 159 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Yaping House'

Atmosphere
68.0%
Location
72.8%
Facilities
52.8%
Cleanliness
57.6%
Staff
77.6%
Value
67.2%
Safety
69.6%
Refine your results Showing 101 of 115 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

LU ZHANG

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

02 December 2013 LU would recommend this property

Liked: Sister Yaping is very enthusiastic and helpful.

Disliked: The kitchen is not very big and sometimes we need to wait for a while to cook our food.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice people, sort of home from home, no tourist place. Great view and very quiet.

Disliked: Yaping house is old and needs renovation,decoration and general cleaning. If they could improve on that it could be wonderful, the house is beautiful.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Craig Squires

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: It is nothing like you expect, I can honestly say this is the WORST place I have ever seen in my life, not just hostels but everywhere, I checked in and checked out literally two minutes later. This place should be knocked down, it is horrible, it is soooo old, holes in the floor, walls, paint coming off, old rotten wood, sheets have piss stains on them, kitchen is full of black dirt, smells bad, horrible location. It is run by about 20 Chinese people who cant speak a word of English, bathrooms are dirty and have poo stains in the bowl, bugs everywhere. The old guy from Northern UK is a lovely man and that is the only good thing about this place. It is the kind of place you expect homeless people and crack addicts to stay. Rooms are not safe, I had a private room, I locked the door and pushed it open with my finger. Dorm rooms looked even worse, about 20 people spread out everywhere. I would rather sleep in a box than in this place, DO NOT STAY HERE. I am really annoyed that this place is actually on the hostelbookers site, it should not be allowed to run as a hostel or any kind of hotel for that matter. Even if you are after a bed to sleep in because you are going to getting drunk all night just DO NOT stay here. Appauling, absolutley appauling. And finally when you pay they take the cash and put it in their wallets! and don't give you a receipt, you have to ask for one, very dodgy.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

bryce nelson

Alone

Business / conference

21 February 2013 bryce would recommend this property

Liked: a nice friendly enviroment

Disliked: the internet although free stops working regulerly and is only allowed at 300MB per time

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and nice athmosphere. Perfect location to explore the city, very close to the public transportation system.

Disliked: The house is old, so the facilities are worn, but still ok!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: House was characterful as was the land lady, Yaping! She was very keen to help.

Disliked: No real secure front door policy

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Yapping house is in an awesome location! not to far from the city center, bus stops just down the road so citys easy to get to, Really nice view from the front porch,looking rite over part of the city! Staff is really friendly and they will help you out with any information your after, Its chilled out , im not fond of staying in city centers so this place is in a perfect location ( no big traffic etc ) Its rite beside an old volcano and few other landmarks not far away so plenty to look at

Disliked: Its an old house but really good character about it!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

vishnu challa

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2012 vishnu would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at this place more than six months ago but I only have good memories about the trip and this place. Though I was a little scared when I first entered, it was a different atmosphere by morning. People were friendly, the bathrooms and kitchen were clean enough. I was a lone backpacker. The beds were comfy but the rooms were small. The guy who was running the place was also very friendly and nice. It is pretty close to the Mt.Eden Crater.

Disliked: vishnu left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2012

Liked: The view is great, the beds were actually really comfortable and the free internet makes things a lot easier. And the fridge in the room was nice.

Disliked: There was a mouse in our room. The kitchen really needs a general cleaning. The whole house is a little bit messy and run down. The location is not the best even if the neighborhood is actually pretty nice. The staff was not very helpful. One night i removed my blanket from my room to sit outside and

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, lots of fridge space, 30 minute walk into the center of auckland

Disliked: our room was outside so a pain if you needed the toilet in the night but apart from that nothing!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

23 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Erm... it's location?

Disliked: Just how cold it was at night... Had to use our sleeping bags as well as the duvets provided

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendly owner. Good kitchen facilities although a little dirty

Disliked: Room was a bit damp smelling and walls very thin so could only get to sleep when the people next door did

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 October 2011

Liked: Leaving

Disliked: Filthy

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

17 October 2011

Liked: toilets are clean

Disliked: an property where really needs upgrade

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Philip Tripet

Alone

Events / festivals

16 October 2011

Liked: Not much. I was very dissapointed

Disliked: the computer didn't work, there was no heating, the staff were unhelpful and couldn't figure out how to sell me more internet.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

29 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The village it is in is just very cosy and people are very friendly.

Disliked: small room (I've booked a double room)

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2011

Liked: Funny and friendly staff

Disliked: Ugly, cold and rather dirty rooms, kitchen and bathroom

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Carl Bamlet

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 September 2011 Carl would recommend this property

Liked: it was quite cheap.

Disliked: SMALL room and quite cold.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

William Ritchie

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 April 2011 William would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of staff.

Disliked: Location less than perfect.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

19 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The off street parking and the free internet were the big draw for us and it delivered on both. The reception staff were friendly and keen to offer advice on the area which was very helpful. The room was adequate and the social areas were comfortable. The views from the property are lovely.

Disliked: The building is very run down and the kitchen is way too small for the number of people that can stay here.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice place, nice owner, feels like home, good location

Disliked: The really kitchen needs cleaning

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

donal sullivan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2011 donal would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere and the type of mature travilers that stay there.They look out for every1 by fare the best hostel for a single traviler could stay in.has plenty of space so ur not cramped and sourounded by people the hole time. its amazing in the evening looking out over the city

Disliked: the hill

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2011

Liked: they kept our reservation for the next day as we didnt show up one the expacted date...neighborhood is nice, but that is not a pro for this hostel!!!

Disliked: - it wasnt very clean! - it was dark and cold! - staff was completely useless!! - smelly - not one nice other person there - kitchen wasnt nice - wifi sucked most time and so one! all in all, the first hostel i stayed at in 3 months travelling (Africa, Southamerica) that i wouldnt recommend!!!!!!!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There are nice views from the lounge and veranda. Wifi and car parking are free. Management is friendly and helpfull. Location is quiet as it is in Mt. Eden but frequent buses run to downdown.

Disliked: It's an old house and looks a bit tired.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful view!

Disliked: nothing