HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Yapinghouse Auckland

Hostel

79 Owens Rd Epsom Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand

Atmosphere 68%

Cleanliness 58%

Facilities 53%

Location 74%

Safety 69%

Staff 78%

Value 69%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Please note, there is a minimum lengths of stay of 7 days for all rooms

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 07:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 68%

Cleanliness 58%

Facilities 53%

Location 74%

Safety 69%

Staff 78%

Value 69%

Showing 1-3 of 3 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa

Liked: Sister Yaping is very enthusiastic and helpful.

Disliked: The kitchen is not very big and sometimes we need to wait for a while to cook our food.

Customer would recommend this property

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: It is nothing like you expect, I can honestly say this is the WORST place I have ever seen in my life, not just hostels but everywhere, I checked in and checked out literally two minutes later. This place should be knocked down, it is horrible, it is soooo old, holes in the floor, walls, paint coming off, old rotten wood, sheets have piss stains on them, kitchen is full of black dirt, smells bad, horrible location.It is run by about 20 Chinese people who cant speak a word of English, bathrooms are dirty and have poo stains in the bowl, bugs everywhere. The old guy from Northern UK is a lovely man and that is the only good thing about this place.It is the kind of place you expect homeless people and crack addicts to stay. Rooms are not safe, I had a private room, I locked the door and pushed it open with my finger. Dorm rooms looked even worse, about 20 people spread out everywhere.I would rather sleep in a box than in this place, DO NOT STAY HERE.I am really annoyed that this place is actually on the hostelbookers site, it should not be allowed to run as a hostel or any kind of hotel for that matter.Even if you are after a bed to sleep in because you are going to getting drunk all night just DO NOT stay here.Appauling, absolutley appauling.And finally when you pay they take the cash and put it in their wallets! and don't give you a receipt, you have to ask for one, very dodgy.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice people, sort of home from home, no tourist place. Great view and very quiet.

Disliked: Yaping house is old and needs renovation,decoration and general cleaning. If they could improve on that it could be wonderful, the house is beautiful.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: a nice friendly enviroment

Disliked: the internet although free stops working regulerly and is only allowed at 300MB per time

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly staff and nice athmosphere. Perfect location to explore the city, very close to the public transportation system.

Disliked: The house is old, so the facilities are worn, but still ok!

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: House was characterful as was the land lady, Yaping! She was very keen to help.

Disliked: No real secure front door policy

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Yapping house is in an awesome location! not to far from the city center, bus stops just down the road so citys easy to get to, Really nice view from the front porch,looking rite over part of the city! Staff is really friendly and they will help you out with any information your after, Its chilled out , im not fond of staying in city centers so this place is in a perfect location ( no big traffic etc ) Its rite beside an old volcano and few other landmarks not far away so plenty to look at

Disliked: Its an old house but really good character about it!

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The view is great, the beds were actually really comfortable and the free internet makes things a lot easier. And the fridge in the room was nice.

Disliked: There was a mouse in our room. The kitchen really needs a general cleaning. The whole house is a little bit messy and run down. The location is not the best even if the neighborhood is actually pretty nice.The staff was not very helpful. One night i removed my blanket from my room to sit outside and

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: friendly staff, lots of fridge space, 30 minute walk into the center of auckland

Disliked: our room was outside so a pain if you needed the toilet in the night but apart from that nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Very helpful and friendly owner. Good kitchen facilities although a little dirty

Disliked: Room was a bit damp smelling and walls very thin so could only get to sleep when the people next door did

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability