HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Mountain House Arthurs Pass Arthurs Pass Hostel

Main Road, Arthurs Pass, New Zealand

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 86%

Location 94%

Safety 85%

Staff 77%

Value 75%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Arthurs Pass?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 86%

Location 94%

Safety 85%

Staff 77%

Value 75%

Showing 1-2 of 2 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: good nights sleep, super friendly staff, quiet, close to parks and city centre, great people staying there, street with nightlife only 5 min walk, burger king with free wifi around the corner

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

I would love to accept this review but it's not actually for us! It's a tiny town and we definitely don't have a burger king! Oh well.

Nic

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was clean for the most part. Many cob webs in curtains and bathroom window.

Disliked: I found the staff from Calgary Canada was very arrogant with a know-it-all attitude. He needs to work on his listening and social skills. The whole time (a good 5 mins) I was talking to him (enquiring about what to do on a rainy day) he was scrutinising my travel plans. He assumed that I had no plans and was going to hitch hike which was totally not the case. Worst customer service experience ever. I left the place feeling appalled and thinking... What just happened?

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: clean, the wood furnishings and set up, friendly and helpful staff, amenities, its surroundings

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: The friendly staff, stunning location and warm atmosphere.

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: We could show up late and all went smooth. The place seemed cool, but I wasn't there for long.

Disliked: We got there at midnight and the lady was so strict about us leaving by 10am - I wasn't even allowed to make my coffee. For what I got, and for the high price that I paid, I would have been better off to have just slept in my car.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Centrally Located, Clean and WARM rooms

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: There is a really nice and warm fireplace in the lounge and the bedrooms have really nice electric heaters.

Disliked: There are mice in the lounge that come out when it's late or quiet.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: great log burner kept the place toasty warm

Disliked: loos were freezing cold

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Well placed.

Disliked: Not very connected to the activities on the site.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very clean kitchen and dorm rooms. lots of facilities and an ideal location in Arthurs Pass.

Disliked: lacked atmosphere.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability