HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Mountain House

Hostel | PO BOX 12, Arthur's Pass, New Zealand 8140

86.8% Overall Rating

19 out of 19 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/02/2013)

"clean, the wood furnishings and set up, friendly and helpful staff, amenities, its surroundings"

Read all Mountain House reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Arthur's Pass?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.8%

Overall Rating

19 out of 19 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mountain House'

Atmosphere
82.1%
Location
95.8%
Facilities
87.4%
Cleanliness
90.5%
Staff
82.1%
Value
81.1%
Safety
88.4%
Refine your results Showing 16 of 17 reviews
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nathan Smith

As a family with children

Family Holiday

27 February 2014 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly staff, stunning location and warm atmosphere.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, the wood furnishings and set up, friendly and helpful staff, amenities, its surroundings

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

07 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We could show up late and all went smooth. The place seemed cool, but I wasn't there for long.

Disliked: We got there at midnight and the lady was so strict about us leaving by 10am - I wasn't even allowed to make my coffee. For what I got, and for the high price that I paid, I would have been better off to have just slept in my car.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Centrally Located, Clean and WARM rooms

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There is a really nice and warm fireplace in the lounge and the bedrooms have really nice electric heaters.

Disliked: There are mice in the lounge that come out when it's late or quiet.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great log burner kept the place toasty warm

Disliked: loos were freezing cold

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well placed.

Disliked: Not very connected to the activities on the site.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

lisa readyhough

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2011 lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean kitchen and dorm rooms. lots of facilities and an ideal location in Arthurs Pass.

Disliked: lacked atmosphere.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diane Ainsworth

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

19 November 2011 Diane would recommend this property

Liked: This was one of the best places we stayed at, the bedroom kitchen and lounge were really good and modern. Lovely big kitchen with very clean equipment and in a beautiful location just a pity we had rain there.

Disliked: There was nothing to dislike it was perfect.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice room, great kitchen, quiet place.

Disliked: Be prepared for a lot of rain in the area.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and secluded house behind the main street, good facilities.

Disliked: Weird to be in a "sleep out" which meant to get to the kitchen, toilet and shower we had to go outside to the main house. Keas are a usual part of the environment which makes having a rental car a nerve wracking exercise.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: being in a little cottage the cleanliness the size of the bedroom the sensation of being at home

Disliked: the welcoming of the staff

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ralf Wingen

20 April 2010 Ralf would recommend this property

Liked: Missed the TV room and maybe some sinks to brush your teeth (now was only really small sinks at the toilets). For the rest, quite, clean and safe, so perfect place to stay if you wanna do some hikes.

Disliked: Ralf left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and it was comfortable, and although it is next to the main road, there was silence and we were able to have rest.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

21 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet, comfortable, exceedingly clean and located in a place with beautiful views. All my needs and my late check in was accommodated for.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

13 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good location, very good lodge with fireplace, private and clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.