We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Akaroa hostels

Reviews of Bon Accord Backpackers

Hostel | 57 Rue Lavaud, Akaroa, New Zealand 7520

71.2% Overall Rating

7 out of 11 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/01/2012)

Kevin Boon thinks…

"Perfect location for exploring Akaroa. We stayed in a lovely outside cottage. Plenty of facilities including kitchens and bathrooms. The best thing was the owner. He was extremely helpful describing…"

Read all Bon Accord Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Akaroa?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.2%

Overall Rating

7 out of 11 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bon Accord Backpackers'

Atmosphere
67.3%
Location
89.1%
Facilities
61.8%
Cleanliness
60.0%
Staff
78.2%
Value
69.1%
Safety
72.7%
Refine your results Showing 8 of 11 reviews
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central

Disliked: First experience of backpacking. Disappointing that only one toilet between all guests plus one, seperate, bathroom.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nicee location..and friendly staff

Disliked: Windows closed bad

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2013

Liked: the location

Disliked: Everything is dirty and broken...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Amy Picot

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2013 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty good overall.

Disliked: Management were a bit all over the shop.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: character

Disliked: outside shower when inside busy

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kevin Boon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 January 2012 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location for exploring Akaroa. We stayed in a lovely outside cottage. Plenty of facilities including kitchens and bathrooms. The best thing was the owner. He was extremely helpful describing the area and walking routes. We were in town for a wedding and he even offered to drive us to the venue if we were unable to get there. Very kind

Disliked: Nothing to dislike. A good friendly backpacking place

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2011

Liked: -50 MB free Wifi -comfortable bed and pillows

Disliked: -old building, needs repair -limited number of bathrooms for the number of rooms -neither owner nor manager were present, a temp worker was our only contact throughout our stay -staff partied at night on the outside patio until early in the morning and didn't even bother to lower there voices while the guests were trying to sleep

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Janice Asuncion

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

04 July 2011 Janice would recommend this property

Liked: Rustic feel and the staff was quite helpful.

Disliked: The walls are super thin, we could hear everything happening on the next door, plus our room is next to the street, cars driving by at night could be a bit noisy.


See all Akaroa hostels