HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Bon Accord Backpackers Akaroa Hostel

57 Rue Lavaud, Akaroa, Akaroa, New Zealand

Atmosphere 67%

Cleanliness 60%

Facilities 62%

Location 89%

Safety 73%

Staff 78%

Value 69%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Akaroa?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 67%

Cleanliness 60%

Facilities 62%

Location 89%

Safety 73%

Staff 78%

Value 69%

Showing 1-3 of 3 reviews

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very central

Disliked: First experience of backpacking. Disappointing that only one toilet between all guests plus one, seperate, bathroom.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Robert, We are sorry that you haven't been shown all our toilets facilities : in fact we have 3 toilets in the hostel, one in the main house, another in the second house and another for private rooms. I wish you a nice travel. Emma

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nicee location..and friendly staff

Disliked: Windows closed bad

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the location

Disliked: Everything is dirty and broken...

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Pretty good overall.

Disliked: Management were a bit all over the shop.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: character

Disliked: outside shower when inside busy

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Perfect location for exploring Akaroa. We stayed in a lovely outside cottage. Plenty of facilities including kitchens and bathrooms. The best thing was the owner. He was extremely helpful describing the area and walking routes. We were in town for a wedding and he even offered to drive us to the venue if we were unable to get there. Very kind

Disliked: Nothing to dislike. A good friendly backpacking place

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: -50 MB free Wifi-comfortable bed and pillows

Disliked: -old building, needs repair-limited number of bathrooms for the number of rooms-neither owner nor manager were present, a temp worker was our only contact throughout our stay-staff partied at night on the outside patio until early in the morning and didn't even bother to lower there voices while the guests were trying to sleep

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway

Liked: Rustic feel and the staff was quite helpful.

Disliked: The walls are super thin, we could hear everything happening on the next door, plus our room is next to the street, cars driving by at night could be a bit noisy.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability