HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Jorplace The Hague

Hostel

Keizerstraat 296, The Hague, Netherlands

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 82%

Location 89%

Safety 86%

Staff 90%

Value 81%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

Important note:
At check-in we ask a 20 euro cash deposit per person. There is also a tourist tax payable on arrival of 1.8 Euros p/person p/night.

Bookings for more then 6 people are considered a group booking. When a reservation based on a group larger than 6 guests, the reservation can only be confirmed when Jorplace Beach Hostel has been contacted and paid directly. Jorplace will contact you within 3 days. Failure to provide full payment for your group will result in the booking been cancelled. . Please contact our groups department group@jorplace.nl with payment.

Cancellations
In case of cancellation more then 14 days before arrival we charge 50% of the total reservation.
In case of cancellation more then 7 days before no refund will be given.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 08:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to The Hague?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 82%

Location 89%

Safety 86%

Staff 90%

Value 81%

Showing 1-10 of 15 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The unique fixtures and fittlings are great and the clever use of lighting all over the property is fantastic. The staff could not be more helpful and friendly.There was some free spare food boxes and a free breakfast during the week.

Disliked: The pool table is ruined. They are trying to get a new one.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Jorplace has an amazing atmosphère, thanks to the decoration and the staff members who are smily and helpfull. Jordi if you are reading it, thanks for thursday night we had lots of fun! The beach is just art the end of the street, and facilities are nearby.

Disliked: We stayed in the 24 people dorm, with bunk beds for three peo people ( 3 beds). A bit crowed....

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The character of this hostel is great. Jorplace is located in a quiet wee street in Den Haag just around the corner from a main tram line. Getting into central Den Haag is easy as pie on the tram. I only stayed one night so didn't get to see much of the area but did find it really nice. I especially appreciated being able to check-in early (11pm instead of 4pm) as I was able to have a much needed nap.

Disliked: All the signs in the hostel and in the dorms state meals are available for an extra cost but the reception staff advised that they only cook for groups now (at the time I stayed). This was somewhat disappointing as I was counting on having meals at the hostel (without cooking myself) to make life easier for the 24 hours I was staying. There is a supermarket 3 doors down so it wasn't the end of the world and in the end I didn't end up wanting dinner (or breakfast) so it wasn't an issue.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Nimue,
Thanks for your review. We are very pleased that you had a pleasant stay and next time we will cook for you hihi ;)! We are offering you a 10% discount on your next stay here with us at Jorplace Beach Hostel Scheveningen! We hope to see you soon! Cheers, Jorcrew

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I was close to the beach.

Disliked: I think it is better to stay at the Hauge and commute to the beach which is a 30 minute tram ride. The rooms were overcrowded and not particularly clean. The room I was in (number 2) has a long term resident that used the only table for all his bathroom needs and turned on the light at any time of the night without regard for anyone else.


The property's response is

Hi Winfried

Thankyou for your review and feedback.If you are sleeping in our biggest room with 24 beds, there is a huge possibility that people walk in or out at any time of the day, there is unfortunately nothing that we can do about this.For the next time we advice you to book in the private room!We would appreciate it if you immediatly come to us when the problem is at hand, so that we can directly solve the issue. We do our upmost best to give our guests the best stay possible.

Jorcrew

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: The beach bar was cool, and the walk to the beach was short. Liked the free pool table.

Disliked: Way too many people in one room, and way too few bathrooms for the number of people! We didn't even try to take a shower while we were there; they were dirty and small.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Big lockers. Good wifi.

Disliked: Small kitchen. Noisy on the weekend from people outside on the street and the thumping nightclub on the ground floor.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: The breakfast was cheap and nice. And easily found near the tramBed was comfortable

Disliked: We booked a 4 bed and got a 6 bed. The rooms were pretty lifeless and the 6 bed dorm was pretty jam packedThe shower was pretty awful and stopped working so had to queue

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Liked: a hostel with a great atmosphere and a good location, you can walk to the beach and there is a tram line in the near of the hostel which brings you to the city center.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very distinct style, with nice bar and smoking room that makes non-smokers jealous. The founder must be an experienced travelor, for everything a tourist need is catered to (from the equipment to the house rules), and the hostel also offer travel tips for new bees.

Disliked: The location. It is not the easiest thing to find when it is your first time there, especially if you arrive on a cold and windy winter night.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The property is quirky, with interesting decorations, and a friendly enough atmosphere.

Disliked: It is not particularly clean, although it wasn't dreadful as we only stayed one night. The lockers in the 24 bed dorm were mostly broken and so not secure. Within the 24 bed dorm it was not made clear that the beds would be 3 story bunk beds, which didn't feel very stable when you were stuck at the top!

Check Availability