HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Top Rated Hostels in Amsterdam, Netherlands

Bees Studio 99%

1. Bees Studio

Apartment
Leliegracht 30B

Atmosphere 99%

Cleanliness 100%

Facilities 98%

Location 100%

Safety 99%

Staff 99%

Value 97%

22 out of 22 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Bees Studio

27 Nov 2015 100%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year City break Shopping Sightseeing & culture

This accommodation was fantastic. We enjoyed our stay thoroughly. We had a warm welcome. Room was very clean and welcoming. We also had a fully stocked fridge with breakfast supplies which was wonderful. We wouldn't hesitate to stay again. Great location, central enough but not in the touristy thick of it.

would recommend this property

11 Sep 2015 100%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture

Loved everything! Superb location, hosts, accommodation, food. Would stay here again and will recommend to others.

would recommend this property

Read all Bees Studio reviews
Generator Amsterdam 93%

2. Generator Amsterdam

Hostel
Mauritskade 57

Atmosphere 100%

Cleanliness 100%

Facilities 100%

Location 67%

Safety 100%

Staff 100%

Value 87%

3 out of 3 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Generator Amsterdam

06 Aug 2016 94%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Events / festivals
Age Range: 31-40

very nice, friendly staff, SUPER clean.

would recommend this property

21 Mar 2016 97%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: City break Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 18-24

Friendly and welcoming staff, clean and atmospheric, good food and drink on offer, interesting environment with auditorium bar/library/etc, great room with good facilities. Would stay again!

would recommend this property

Read all Generator Amsterdam reviews
Cocomama 93%

3. Cocomama

Hostel
Westeinde 18, 1017 ZP Amsterdam

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 90%

Location 90%

Safety 95%

Staff 98%

Value 89%

139 out of 141 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cocomama

12 Feb 2017 86%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: City break Partying / nightlife Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 18-24

One of the best hostels I've ever stayed.

would recommend this property

12 Feb 2017 97%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture Visiting friends or family
Age Range: 31-40

Great vibe overall.

would recommend this property

Read all Cocomama reviews
Lucky Lake Hostel 93%

4. Lucky Lake Hostel

Hostel
Vinkenkade 75, Vinkeveen

Atmosphere 98%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 95%

Location 82%

Safety 95%

Staff 97%

Value 89%

44 out of 46 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Lucky Lake Hostel

12 Aug 2016 97%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 41+

I liked that very nice and helpful stuff. Also the atmosphere all in all was very good.

would recommend this property

06 Aug 2016 83%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Events / festivals
Age Range: 25-30

LOVELY

would recommend this property

Read all Lucky Lake Hostel reviews
Ecomama 90%

5. Ecomama

Hostel
Valkenburgerstraat 124

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 91%

Location 87%

Safety 90%

Staff 94%

Value 86%

25 out of 27 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Ecomama

15 Feb 2017 100%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: City break Partying / nightlife Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 18-24

One of the best hostels i have ever been to. Very charming.

would recommend this property

10 Jan 2017 89%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Events / festivals Partying / nightlife Sightseeing & culture Visiting friends or family
Age Range: 25-30

Lovingly planned, every detail considered.

would recommend this property

Read all Ecomama reviews
Flying Pig Uptown 90%

6. Flying Pig Uptown

Hostel
Vossiusstraat 46

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 86%

Location 87%

Safety 94%

Staff 96%

Value 88%

262 out of 277 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Flying Pig Uptown

16 Feb 2017 86%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Events / festivals Partying / nightlife Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 25-30

It's location

would recommend this property

26 Jan 2017 91%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year
Age Range: 18-24

Fun

would recommend this property

Read all Flying Pig Uptown reviews
Amsterdam Extreme Guesthouse 90%

7. Amsterdam Extreme Guesthouse

Hostel
Oudezijds Voorburgwal 41-2

Atmosphere 91%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 88%

Location 97%

Safety 90%

Staff 94%

Value 91%

33 out of 34 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Amsterdam Extreme Guesthouse

24 Dec 2015 57%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: City break Events / festivals Family Holiday Partying / nightlife Sightseeing & culture

Very well located, easy to find and next to many amenities.

would recommend this property

03 Nov 2015 100%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: City break Sightseeing & culture

Very helpful staff , lovely apartment and great location in city I have stayed 3 times in this place and I woundn't stay any were else in amsterdam

would recommend this property

Read all Amsterdam Extreme Guesthouse reviews
Flying Pig Downtown 90%

8. Flying Pig Downtown

Hostel
Nieuwendijk 100, 1012 MR

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 88%

Location 98%

Safety 94%

Staff 97%

Value 81%

133 out of 144 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Flying Pig Downtown

13 Jan 2017 100%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: City break Partying / nightlife
Age Range: 18-24

Lively, great location, and really secure.

would recommend this property

22 Dec 2016 89%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Partying / nightlife Sightseeing & culture Visiting friends or family
Age Range: 18-24

The hostel is in a great location, super close to everything. The rooms are clean and the sheets were changed daily. The free breakfast was toast, cereal, and fruits. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

would recommend this property

Read all Flying Pig Downtown reviews
The Bulldog 90%

9. The Bulldog

Hostel
Oudezijds Voorburgwal 220

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 86%

Location 95%

Safety 92%

Staff 94%

Value 83%

219 out of 240 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Bulldog

13 Feb 2017 100%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: City break Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 18-24

Everyone was very friendly and welcoming. The atmosphere was perfect for our age range and the price for such a fantastic location was insanely reasonable.

would recommend this property

05 Sep 2016 100%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: City break Partying / nightlife Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 18-24

Loved the location and the whole vibe about the place. All the staff were super friendly and helpful. Great price. I had no problems with cleanliness or other people and felt very safe the whole time.. Overall it was a great place to stay and I will definitely be coming back.

would recommend this property

Read all The Bulldog reviews
Lazy Monkeys 89%

10. Lazy Monkeys

Guesthouse
Geldersekade 106

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 77%

Facilities 86%

Location 100%

Safety 94%

Staff 93%

Value 84%

14 out of 16 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Lazy Monkeys

05 Apr 2016 77%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: City break
Age Range: 25-30

Good Location,

would recommend this property

25 Mar 2016 100%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: City break
Age Range: 25-30

Amazing Hostel. Lazlo is a superfriendly Hostelowner, who gives you helpful recommandations. Perfect location, right in the heart of the redlight-district just minutes away from the mainstation. Cozy, neat and safe rooms. Nice view over the canal. Bikerent possible. Everything was just perfect. We definetly come back some day.

would recommend this property

Read all Lazy Monkeys reviews

Why book with hostelbookers?

Thousands of beds and private rooms, close to the things you’re planning to see and do.
With great value hostels and cheap hotels, everything you want to see and do is just a step away.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Our top-rated Amsterdam hostels have only been scored by hostelbookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Amsterdam. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

Guide to Amsterdam

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Amsterdam. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!